• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Oculus Rift S USB 3.0 Issue (Please Help)

Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,113 (1.11/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
Hi everybody!

I have a odd problem with a clients PC and her Bday gift (Oculus Rift S) that wont work because of a USB 3 error, basically its plugged into a USB 3 port like your meant to but it thinks it is not a USB 3 port and or its saying its running at USB 2 speeds. Now what I think the issue is that its a Sandybridge System and on the gigabyte website it only has W7 official USB 3.0 Drivers and she is running windows 10 with im guessing an unofficial USB driver. Her motherboard is a GA-H77M-D3H which runs a Intel USB3 Driver and I cant find anywhere if there is a update for an official W10 USB 3.0 Driver. Does anyone on here have any ideas on this? or come across this issue before?

Otherwise I was thinking of installing a USB3.0 expansion card that has proper W10 support that might be able to fix or by pass the issue so she can use her Oculus Rift S.

:toast:
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,864 (1.68/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
what does the Device Manager say? Have you tried other USB3 devices in the same port? Is there other software settings for the headset?

other thoughts:
checked the usb3 cable connection to the motherboard?
Is there a BIOS setting possibly set wrong?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,113 (1.11/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
what does the Device Manager say? Have you tried other USB3 devices in the same port? Is there other software settings for the headset?

other thoughts:
checked the usb3 cable connection to the motherboard?
Is there a BIOS setting possibly set wrong?
Device manager says its working fine and fully up to date with whatever driver Windows 10 has installed for it. No I havent tried any other USB 3 devices as I havent got the machine here with me sadly.

Its hard wired to the Motherboard and I also tried the front USB 3 port still no difference.
No BIOS should be fine as it was my old Motherboard I used but I run 7 on it and it worked fine with the USB 3
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,864 (1.68/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Its hard wired to the Motherboard and I also tried the front USB 3 port still no difference.
hmm.. I wonder about that, does the motherboard have a separate USB3 socket?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
890 (0.61/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2650 V2 (OC-3,4Ghz-ALL*CORES)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1510Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14063,Cinebench R15=1289,Cinebench R20=2538.Passmark=15670,Geekbench=23623 multi
When You installing Oculus Home make sure that your device is unplugged first and when installation is finished then plugged in your Rift in USB 3 port sometimes this can fix the certain issues...GL
 

Amanoe

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2020
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Hello i'm litteraly having the same problem my motherboard is a Gygabites H310M S2H 2.0 i've been trying a lot of things to fix it (Clean uninstall + oculus install ; Remove the drivers ; Update every drivers ; Disable power management on the usb devices ; Disable legacy drivers ; rollback firemware) but i can't find a solution.

The weird part is that i didn't have a problem with it during my first three days and suddenly it stopped recognizing my USB ports (It doesn't make sense) i tried my oculus on my laptop and it's being detected so the rift works (i had doubts about the cable at first)

The only thing that i haven't tried yet is the reformat the whole system and make a new windows installation but i don't want to do that (Too much troubles). i sent a ticket to the oculus support yesterday still waiting for a replay but i think they're just gonna ask me to buy an USB 3.0 card.

If someone can help me here i'll be grateful thank you !
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,113 (1.11/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
hmm.. I wonder about that, does the motherboard have a separate USB3 socket?
What do you mean exactly? It has a USB header and then your native USB ports at the back, thats it.

When You installing Oculus Home make sure that your device is unplugged first and when installation is finished then plugged in your Rift in USB 3 port sometimes this can fix the certain issues...GL
Yeah we tried many times this and other combos to see if it would work but it keeps saying that the USB 3 port isnt USB3
Hello i'm litteraly having the same problem my motherboard is a Gygabites H310M S2H 2.0 i've been trying a lot of things to fix it (Clean uninstall + oculus install ; Remove the drivers ; Update every drivers ; Disable power management on the usb devices ; Disable legacy drivers ; rollback firemware) but i can't find a solution.

The weird part is that i didn't have a problem with it during my first three days and suddenly it stopped recognizing my USB ports (It doesn't make sense) i tried my oculus on my laptop and it's being detected so the rift works (i had doubts about the cable at first)

The only thing that i haven't tried yet is the reformat the whole system and make a new windows installation but i don't want to do that (Too much troubles). i sent a ticket to the oculus support yesterday still waiting for a replay but i think they're just gonna ask me to buy an USB 3.0 card.

If someone can help me here i'll be grateful thank you !
I was thining I can try another clean OS on it but I think getting a USB 3.0 add in card will be the easy way to work around this issue, well I hopeing it will be!
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,113 (1.11/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
Well after all that it was just Windows 10 been a Sh@t and I had to wip it clean delete all the partitions and format it completely and it fixed the issue.

Bloody Windows 10!!!!!!!!
 

Sabbath

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
3 (0.03/day)
I have had the same problem for ages, Rift headset showing as USB 2 but it is plugged into a USB 3, 70% it comes up as USB 2 and the other 30% it comes up as USB 3, and today I noticed that now one of my sensors is showing as USB 2 and it is still plugged into the same USB 3 port it has been for over a year (I did have a windows accumulation update today so that's probably why my sensor is now showing as USB 2). When I click on to set up the Rift again and the circles go round whilst it is finding the 2 sensors and Headset, it all comes back as USB 3, then when I start oculus home it shows as USB 2. I am going to have to live with it as I really cant be bothered formatting and reinstalling windows. I definitely wont be buying another Oculus as they know about the problem but they just try and put it back on the user.

Screenshot (8).pngScreenshot (9).pngScreenshot (11).pngScreenshot (12).png
Headset USB 2.0 1st sensor USB 2.0, Headset USB 2.0, Headset USB 3.0 1st sensor USB 2.0, Headset USB 2.0 1st sensor USB 3.0


All screen shots taken after restarting my PC
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,145 (8.21/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ H110i (4.3GHz 1.2v/4.35 1.275v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz c14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Eleventy
powered USB 3.0 hubs are also a great solution and solved a stutter issue with my rift S on my ryzen 1400 system... the rifts are a little fussy when it comes to USB support
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
815 (0.96/day)
Location
Haswell, USA
System Name Bruh
Processor 8700K 4.9Ghz 1.28V | i7 7920HQ 3.6Ghz -180Mv | i7 6700HQ 3.1Ghz -80Mv | i5 3350P
Motherboard Z390 Gaming X | Apple QMS180 | MSI HM170 | Zotac H77 ITX B-E
Cooling Thermalrite Macho Rev B | Laptop HS | Intel copper stock cooler
Memory DDR4 16GB 3000Mhz CL16 | LPDDR3 16GB 2133Mhz CL20 | DDR4 16GB 2933Mhz CL15 | 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz CL9
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Ti (~2Ghz/8.8Ghz)|Radeon Pro 560 (1150Mhz/1655Mhz)|GTX 1063(1.8Ghz/8.5Ghz)|GTX960=1360/7Ghz
Storage 512GB 660P,8TB Seagate,2TB M9T,512GB OCZ4|1TB 960 Pro|256GB PM851+2TB 2.5" WD|512GB PM841,2TB HDD
Display(s) S2719DGF, HP Z27i, Z24n| 1800P 15.4" + ZR30W + iPad Pro 10.5 2017|1080P 15.4" 120Hz| 1080P 40"
Case Matrexx 55 RGB | MBP 2017 15" Silver | MSI GE62VR | Elite 120 Advanced
Audio Device(s) Lol imagine caring about audio
Power Supply EA-650W | Apple 87W USB-C | MSI 180W | CX750 White Label
Mouse Whatever I have on hand + trackpads
Keyboard Whatever I have on hand
Software W10 1909 Entreprise/MacOS 10.13|W10 1803 LTSC/MacOS 10.15|W10 Entreprise 1909/MacOS 10.15|W10 1803
Benchmark Scores No.
afaik oculus (oculi?) don't like USB ports run off certain controllers, its best to plug into a native 3.0 port if you have one
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,944 (1.72/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling Modified Alphacool Eisbaer 240
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD + WD Green 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C Window
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
Running on a cheap ebay USB3.0 card myself and no problems here. Sensors are on motherboard's USB2.0.

Like said above, rebooting usually helps.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,113 (1.11/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
powered USB 3.0 hubs are also a great solution and solved a stutter issue with my rift S on my ryzen 1400 system... the rifts are a little fussy when it comes to USB support
afaik oculus (oculi?) don't like USB ports run off certain controllers, its best to plug into a native 3.0 port if you have one
Running on a cheap ebay USB3.0 card myself and no problems here. Sensors are on motherboard's USB2.0.

Like said above, rebooting usually helps.
All 3 of these methods were tried and sadly none of those fixed the issue, in the end it was whatever USB3 driver that W10 installed just didnt work till the whole OS was reinstalled and the issue disappeared.

Im surprised people are still commenting on this thread haha
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,944 (1.72/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling Modified Alphacool Eisbaer 240
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD + WD Green 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C Window
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
Im surprised people are still commenting on this thread haha
Checked the subforum and noticed this thread, better later than never I guess.. :D
 

Straycatuk

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
1 (0.03/day)
I had the same problem for a few days , tried different USB 3 ports all on my mother board , it didn't matter which one i tried , the rift kept declaring that it was in a USB 2 port , Tried different chipset drivers and different stuff ... what I did was go to device manager , universal serial bus controllers and uninstall all drivers and install generic ones for the USB ports , restart Pc then all should be good . if you find that the rift is still displaying that's its connected to usb 2 , uninstall only these drivers , Generic SuperSpeed USB hub and also Generic USB Hub . works for me everytime
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,113 (1.11/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
I had the same problem for a few days , tried different USB 3 ports all on my mother board , it didn't matter which one i tried , the rift kept declaring that it was in a USB 2 port , Tried different chipset drivers and different stuff ... what I did was go to device manager , universal serial bus controllers and uninstall all drivers and install generic ones for the USB ports , restart Pc then all should be good . if you find that the rift is still displaying that's its connected to usb 2 , uninstall only these drivers , Generic SuperSpeed USB hub and also Generic USB Hub . works for me everytime
I had also tried this method at the time and it still refused to work, the only solution (and i used a different HDD AND OS to test) was to reinstall W10 fresh on the PC and the problem went away and I havent heard from the client since!
 

CallMeNoah

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2020
Messages
1 (0.09/day)
Not sure about anyone else, but I am having the issue with the CV1, My sensors come up as 3.0 but when I swap them out with my headset USB cable, it shows as 2.0, I don't get why. I did multiple restarts, a windows clean install on a separate drive (didn't want to lose my data) and the same problem still occurs. Any ideas?

Mobo: MSI x570 Gaming Edge
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
GPU 1070 Ti
OS: Windows 10 Pro
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
957 (1.36/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus b450 elite 2. z270-a asus prime
Cooling 1.soft tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. soft loop cpu only
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB 2. Sapphire Nitro+ rx580 8gb @1450 3. gtx 1060 3gb
Storage 1.256gb M.2,500gb ssd, 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 2tb 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50inch UHD , oculus rift VR headset with touch. 2 SONY bravia1080p flat pannel 3. 17 inch
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. loop
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.seasonic gx 850w 2. thermaltake 600w rbg
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
Software 1. win 10 enterpise 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
i remember i had the same prob about two years ago with the rift saying it was usb 2 when it was plugged into a usb3 but the headset still worked allright it got resolved sometime with a update never noticed when but just checked and everything is showing usb3. not sure how this will help but thought id mention it.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
7,208 (1.71/day)
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / AMDHasRyzen
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / GIGABYTE B450 AORUS M
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / EVGA RTX 2070 Black
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
I bought the preferred USB 3.0 card on oculus from Amazon. I had some issues with a 3.1 usb port. I'm lucky enough that I don't have any issue with my onboard usb 3.0, just the 1x 3.1 port.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,145 (8.21/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ H110i (4.3GHz 1.2v/4.35 1.275v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz c14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Eleventy
With the exact same hardware, changing the CPU from a Ryzen 1400 to a Ryzen 2700x improved the USB port detection issues... it's weird, but some are direct from the CPU so i guess it makes sense.
 
Top