• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official Statement from AMD on the PCI-Express Overcurrent Issue

Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1,109 (0.41/day)
System Name desktop
Processor i7-4770k
Motherboard Asus z87-plus
Cooling Corsair h80
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ares @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (ACX 3.0)
Storage 2x Samsung 1tb 850evo SSD, 3x WD drives, 2 seagate
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU 27inch IPS G-Sync 165hz
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster x-FI Platium, Turtle beach Elite pro 2 + superamp.
Power Supply OCZ Z Series 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Keyboard Logitch G710+
yeah i know how it works, i have seen it in practice. my point is since we havent seen many mobos die from this problem why all the panic?
Card has been out for what 3-4 days at most. if MB's died already from it image what rate could be in say 3 months, or 6 months, etc. That is the real issue.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
646 (0.16/day)
Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
System Name Ryzen/Laptop
Processor R7 2700X/i7 6700HQ
Motherboard AsRock X470 Taichi/Acer
Cooling Corsair H115i pro with 2 Noctua NF-A14 chromax/OEM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB @3200/16GB DDR4 2666 HyperX impact
Video Card(s) TUL Red Dragon Vega 56/Intel HD 530 - GTX 950m
Storage Samsung 960evo NVMe 250GB,Samsung 860evo 1TB, 3x4TB WD gold enterprise /Transcend 830s, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) Philips FTV 32 inch + Dell 2407WFP-HC/OEM
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe/Acer Barebone
Audio Device(s) SoundBlasterX AE-5 (Dell A525)(HyperX Cloud Alpha)/mojo
Power Supply Seasonic focus+ 850 platinum (SSR-850PX)/165 Watt power brick
Mouse G502 Hero/M705 Marathon
Keyboard G19
Software Win10 pro 64bit
Lately every new tech product is plagued with some sort of issues due to haste... that's the electronics biz... it has been like that always really.
indeed!!

Card has been out for what 3-4 days at most. if MB's died already from it image what rate could be in say 3 months, or 6 months, etc. That is the real issue.
i havent read anything about dead mobos, im not saying that this isnt an issue, i just dont think its a safety hazard either.
this should be helpful
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1,109 (0.41/day)
System Name desktop
Processor i7-4770k
Motherboard Asus z87-plus
Cooling Corsair h80
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ares @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (ACX 3.0)
Storage 2x Samsung 1tb 850evo SSD, 3x WD drives, 2 seagate
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU 27inch IPS G-Sync 165hz
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster x-FI Platium, Turtle beach Elite pro 2 + superamp.
Power Supply OCZ Z Series 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Keyboard Logitch G710+
i havent read anything about dead mobos, im not saying that this isnt an issue, i just dont think its a safety hazard either.
this should be helpful
you haven't read anything about dead mobo's well some may not be dead dead, but it has messed up some and killed others, have a read. > https://community.amd.com/thread/202410
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,398 (2.04/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
It is a definite problem and it's not so easy to say it's trivial. However, it's only going to affect a very few people (who own older spec boards without the required PCI-E magic to allow the extra pull through the lane). If the fix through drivers sorts it then the problem is gone - easy as that. It is a technical oversight on AMD's side that they 'flexed' power draw rules or they thought nobody would notice. This is very similar to the 3.5Gb issue where a technical issue was thought irrelevant and to be fair is to most users.
I imagine the most vocal protests will come from people who don't use RX 480's (ahem, Nvidia peeps) in the exact same way it was AMD users who had a field day over the 3.5Gb memory 'thing'.

It's a real thing that is being looked at, that affected few people, being hijacked by morons. Just like the 970 non issue.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,483 (0.67/day)
Location
Tokyo, Ota
Processor i5 - 7300HQ
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1060 6GB
Storage 180GB m.2 SATA | 250GB 850Evo SATA
Display(s) FHD 15" Gsync IPS + Acer H243H
Mouse Rival 300 with Omron main switches.
Keyboard Apex m500 (mx red)
Seems to me the custom boards will fix everything in a weeks time.
 

Massiverod

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2016
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
BEST CARD EVER FOR THE PRICE!! Every company has little setbacks with brand new products on the market. I can't wait to get mine!!! I can't wait, I can't wait!!!
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.50/day)
It is a definite problem and it's not so easy to say it's trivial. However, it's only going to affect a very few people (who own older spec boards without the required PCI-E magic to allow the extra pull through the lane). If the fix through drivers sorts it then the problem is gone - easy as that. It is a technical oversight on AMD's side that they 'flexed' power draw rules or they thought nobody would notice. This is very similar to the 3.5Gb issue where a technical issue was thought irrelevant and to be fair is to most users.
I imagine the most vocal protests will come from people who don't use RX 480's (ahem, Nvidia peeps) in the exact same way it was AMD users who had a field day over the 3.5Gb memory 'thing'.

It's a real thing that is being looked at, that affected few people, being hijacked by morons. Just like the 970 non issue.
You can't ever fix the 3.5 GB issue/nonsense. RX480 glitches can be and will be fixed. Just like GTX 1080 fan speed nonsense. It was stupid, we joked about it and they fixed it.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
150 (0.08/day)
Location
Emperor's retreat/Naboo Moenia
System Name Order66
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard ASUS CrosshairV Formula-Z (socketAM3+)
Cooling ArcticFreezer13 CO
Memory 20GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX1080 Gamerock (Premium Edition)
Storage WD 5003ABYX 500gb SataII
Display(s) Asus VE228HR
Case Corsair Carbide series SPEC-03
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Software Windows10 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3dmark time spy total score: 6365 / graphics score: 7802 ( https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6040126 )
BEST CARD EVER FOR THE PRICE!! Every company has little setbacks with brand new products on the market. I can't wait to get mine!!! I can't wait, I can't wait!!!
Yeah, very cheap, especially if i have to give another +-100$ to replace my likely damaged/fried motherboard!!:fear:
No matter what people have said in this thread, that's the 1st time i read a review (*2 reviews actually, TPU & Tom's) that recognises the GPU as a possible threat for the rest of the hardware !!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,540 (5.20/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
on topic: this doesnt seem to be such a major problem, and i love how people have blown it way out of proportion, what do you think happens when you oc a card geniuses?
In a properly designed card that extra power is pulled from the external PCI-E power connectors. But properly designed cards are also built with extra power headroom, so even if you overclock you aren't likely to exceed the power rating of the connectors. That is why most cards that draw close to 150w usually come with either 2x6-pin or an 8-pin. If they would have just gone with a single 8-pin connector the card would have been good for up to 225w, and this wouldn't be an issue.

bta seems asleep, I saw the email after crawling out of bed with my gf, so I thought "let's get this out to the people"


i have seen it in practice. my point is since we havent seen many mobos die from this problem why all the panic?
I have seen a motherboard suffer damage, and a power supply die from this problem. Just not with the RX 480, rather it was a pair of GTX480s.
 
Last edited:

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,812 (4.32/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
I would think it will possibly be only a matter of hours before something is done assuming that a driver update would alleviate the issue, AMD know better than most that anything negative associated with a new product launch if not dealt with promptly could have long term implications.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,048 (0.59/day)
System Name The Stone that the Builders Refused / iJayo
Processor R5 1600/ R5 1600X
Motherboard Asrock AB350 Pro4 / Gigabyte B450 I Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Cryorig M9 / Artic Freexer 33
Memory G skill 16 Gigs ddr4 / 16 gigs PNY ddr4
Video Card(s) MSI r9 270 / MSI RX 570 Armor
Storage 120gig 840 evo, 120gig adata sp900 / 512 Scandisc M.2 ssd 2 x 1tb seagate hdd 120 gig Hyper X ssd
Display(s) 42" Nec retail display monitor/ 42" Nec retail display monitor
Case Pink Enermax Ostrog / NZXT 200i
Audio Device(s) Altec Lansing Expressionist Bass/ M-Audio monitors
Power Supply Corsair450 /Seasonic Focus 650 fx
Mouse corsair vengence M65 / Func Ms3
Keyboard corsair k70 cherry blue /corsair k95 cherry red
Software Window 10 pro / Windows 10 pro
Benchmark Scores meh... feel me on the battle field!
.....to everyone who said its a non issue....please forward the good news to ail the users out there who have lost one/all their pcie lanes. Amd is known as a value brand so their is a lot of value boards out there....Do you think Amd is going to cut checks to the "FEW" that this did happen to? Maybe you all can come together and start a go fund me for them to replace their motherboard. Its only a non issue until it happens ro you..... AND NO DRIVER UPDATE IS GOING TO FIX THE ALREADY DAMAGED BOARDS.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.50/day)
Yeah, very cheap, especially if i have to give another +-100$ to replace my likely damaged/fried motherboard!!:fear:
No matter what people have said in this thread, that's the 1st time i read a review (*2 reviews actually, TPU & Tom's) that recognises the GPU as a possible threat for the rest of the hardware !!
It's almost as if NO ONE in this thread has actually read AMD's OFFICIAL statement... Drivers will address the excessive current draw from PCIe. Considering I'm fiddling with my GTX 980 that has similar fully configurable power control logic, I know it can be also controlled through driver (which is just an extension of BIOS). Meaning what AMD said isn't just load of BS and that it is a valid solution.

As for 8pin being a solution, just a small hint since everyone is screaming EVERYONE SHALL FOLLOW PCIe SPECS!!!!11111oneoneone. 8pin is actually not officially supported by PCI Express certifying body. Meaning, if card has 8pin power connector it's kinda violating PCIe specifications (well, not violating, just not following it). Dual 6pin, no problem. single 8pin or 6pin+8pin ain't officially supported by PCIe specifications.

Also, going single 6pin ensures maximum compatibility with wide range of PSU's. If you go with single 8pin, it's already questionable if target PSU's even have it. Because I think cheaper ones still only have just 6pin...
 

jg_nwi

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2016
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Good they're addressing it but they can't blame the memory speed. The GTX 1070 runs at the 'unprecedented' 8Gbps.

Then again, not a huge issue as only really affected much older mobos?
From everything I've read, it's due to the fact that they attempted to gimp the PSU connections required to make the card available for the masses. Unfortunately, the ones that don't have the extra power are also the ones whose mobos are going to blow.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
646 (0.16/day)
Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
System Name Ryzen/Laptop
Processor R7 2700X/i7 6700HQ
Motherboard AsRock X470 Taichi/Acer
Cooling Corsair H115i pro with 2 Noctua NF-A14 chromax/OEM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB @3200/16GB DDR4 2666 HyperX impact
Video Card(s) TUL Red Dragon Vega 56/Intel HD 530 - GTX 950m
Storage Samsung 960evo NVMe 250GB,Samsung 860evo 1TB, 3x4TB WD gold enterprise /Transcend 830s, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) Philips FTV 32 inch + Dell 2407WFP-HC/OEM
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe/Acer Barebone
Audio Device(s) SoundBlasterX AE-5 (Dell A525)(HyperX Cloud Alpha)/mojo
Power Supply Seasonic focus+ 850 platinum (SSR-850PX)/165 Watt power brick
Mouse G502 Hero/M705 Marathon
Keyboard G19
Software Win10 pro 64bit
you haven't read anything about dead mobo's well some may not be dead dead, but it has messed up some and killed others, have a read. > https://community.amd.com/thread/202410
i read alot in there, most of it was bullshit that cannot be checked, you cant guarantee objectivity in a forum where anyone can post anything.. again im not saying its not an issue, i just dont think its as big as people make it to be. and its affecting people with older hardware.
Yeah, very cheap, especially if i have to give another +-100$ to replace my likely damaged/fried motherboard!!:fear:
No matter what people have said in this thread, that's the 1st time i read a review (*2 reviews actually, TPU & Tom's) that recognises the GPU as a possible threat for the rest of the hardware !!
are you serious? your 750ti is already bottle-necked by your ancient system and you would buy this card?! that would be a waste of money, and i dont think you would do that, you are just whining with no reason whatsoever. and since you think that amd is the devil for killing little baby seals..
https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/862417/windows-10-geforce-drivers-are-killing-samsung-and-lg-notebook-lcd-display-panels/
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
150 (0.08/day)
Location
Emperor's retreat/Naboo Moenia
System Name Order66
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard ASUS CrosshairV Formula-Z (socketAM3+)
Cooling ArcticFreezer13 CO
Memory 20GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX1080 Gamerock (Premium Edition)
Storage WD 5003ABYX 500gb SataII
Display(s) Asus VE228HR
Case Corsair Carbide series SPEC-03
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Software Windows10 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3dmark time spy total score: 6365 / graphics score: 7802 ( https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6040126 )
It's almost as if NO ONE in this thread has actually read AMD's OFFICIAL statement... Drivers will address the excessive current draw from PCIe. ...................................

1)I'm sorry but untill AMD release these drivers and fix this problem, i will continue to consider it as an existing problem.
2) Through drivers they will likely undervolt the card right? won't this reduce the performance? i think it's the obvious outcome.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,590 (0.34/day)
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Master
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 2x8GB @ 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,540 (5.20/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
As for 8pin being a solution, just a small hint since everyone is screaming EVERYONE SHALL FOLLOW PCIe SPECS!!!!11111oneoneone. 8pin is actually not officially supported by PCI Express certifying body. Meaning, if card has 8pin power connector it's kinda violating PCIe specifications (well, not violating, just not following it). Dual 6pin, no problem. single 8pin or 6pin+8pin ain't officially supported by PCIe specifications.
You are combining two different statements, made by different people, and trying to say they are both invalid because they contradict each other. The point is that power specifications for the different connectors should be adhered to, and this isn't the first time AMD has ignored them(to be fair nVidia has done it in the past too). It doesn't matter that the 8-pin isn't officially supported by PCI-SIG, the 8-pin connector's power capability is specified in the ATX spec, just like the 6-pin connector, and any other connector on your PSU. Those are the specs we should be following for those connectors. PCI-SIG set the power limit for the PCI-E connector, because they created it, and for that connector we should follow their specification of max 75w.

Also, going single 6pin ensures maximum compatibility with wide range of PSU's. If you go with single 8pin, it's already questionable if target PSU's even have it. Because I think cheaper ones still only have just 6pin...
There is a lot wrong with this statement. No one running a PSU with just a single 6-pin should be running this card. When you have the likes of the bottom of the barrel $30 eVGA 430w that has a 8-pin, if your PSU doesn't have an 8-pin at this point, it's shit. Go buy a new one, it's only $30!

Plus, if the PSU only has a single 6-pin it is probably very close to the edge of actually being able to provide enough power to actually use that 6-pin, so going over spec on power consumption is probably a very bad thing. You're talking about generic shit units that might be rated for 500w, but probably can't do 250w reliably. Do you really think people with those types of power supplies should be using a card that consumes 170w?

Do you really think AMD wanted people with those types of units to use the card? I don't. I think the real reason behind the single 6-pin was marketing. They wanted to hype the card, to say "look at how power efficient it is, it only uses a single 6-pin!" But it backfired on them.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
150 (0.08/day)
Location
Emperor's retreat/Naboo Moenia
System Name Order66
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard ASUS CrosshairV Formula-Z (socketAM3+)
Cooling ArcticFreezer13 CO
Memory 20GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX1080 Gamerock (Premium Edition)
Storage WD 5003ABYX 500gb SataII
Display(s) Asus VE228HR
Case Corsair Carbide series SPEC-03
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Software Windows10 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3dmark time spy total score: 6365 / graphics score: 7802 ( https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6040126 )
.......................
are you serious? your 750ti is already bottle-necked by your ancient system and you would buy this card?! that would be a waste of money, and i dont think you would do that, you are just whining with no reason whatsoever. and since you think that amd is the devil for killing little baby seals..
https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/862417/windows-10-geforce-drivers-are-killing-samsung-and-lg-notebook-lcd-display-panels/
-Buddy, my system remains ancient for a certain reason. If i would like, i could replace it within a heartbeat! it's not a question of money!
-P.S. I won't hide my feelings for AMD. I clearly remember the period before FuryX's release. They have been brainwashing us for months about the tremendeous capabilities of the HBM memory, making us believe that they will release somekind of rocket instead of a GPU that will destroy every competition!! And when they finally released this "rocket" it would struggle to surpass a 980Ti reference model !! EDIT: This was the LAST time i took them seriously!!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
752 (0.29/day)
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
It's almost as if NO ONE in this thread has actually read AMD's OFFICIAL statement... Drivers will address the excessive current draw from PCIe. Considering I'm fiddling with my GTX 980 that has similar fully configurable power control logic, I know it can be also controlled through driver (which is just an extension of BIOS). Meaning what AMD said isn't just load of BS and that it is a valid solution.

As for 8pin being a solution, just a small hint since everyone is screaming EVERYONE SHALL FOLLOW PCIe SPECS!!!!11111oneoneone. 8pin is actually not officially supported by PCI Express certifying body. Meaning, if card has 8pin power connector it's kinda violating PCIe specifications (well, not violating, just not following it). Dual 6pin, no problem. single 8pin or 6pin+8pin ain't officially supported by PCIe specifications.

Also, going single 6pin ensures maximum compatibility with wide range of PSU's. If you go with single 8pin, it's already questionable if target PSU's even have it. Because I think cheaper ones still only have just 6pin...
Actually... 8-pin PCI-E does exist in the PCI specification, but it was never implemented as specified. Namely the additional two pins (as compared with 6-pin) were supposed to be used for the voltage sense and regulation signal return path. However, now both pins carry the GND/COM wires, which don't really help all that much with making power delivery more stable.

The real issue here is that the card seems to draw excessive amounts of power from the PCI-E slot, which is at most fed by two +12V wires on the 24-pin ATX connector, and those are meant for all +12V needs of the motherboard and all connected devices, sans the CPU. Add to that the fact that power traces leading to the PCI-E slot aren't normally very beefy; and the fact that there are only 5 flimsy less-than-paper-thin pins on the card accepting the delivered power and you have a situation where you really want to limit PCI-E slot power delivery as much as possible.

It would actually be fine if the card drew 120W from the 6-pin and up to 50W from the slot, the unnecessary drama would be far less pronounced.
The 6-pin may only be declared as 75W-capable; in reality it can handle the full 150W quoted for the 8-pin in the majority of cases... The only time it can't is if it's on a shitty PSU with wires thinner than 18AWG and cheaply made pins (like on a $15 Diablotek).

Which brings us to...

There is a lot wrong with this statement. No one running a PSU with just a single 6-pin should be running this card. When you have the likes of the bottom of the barrel $30 eVGA 430w that has a 8-pin, if your PSU doesn't have an 8-pin at this point, it's shit. Go buy a new one, it's only $30!

Plus, if the PSU only has a single 6-pin it is probably very close to the edge of actually being able to provide enough power to actually use that 6-pin, so going over spec on power consumption is probably a very bad thing. You're talking about generic shit units that might be rated for 500w, but probably can't do 250w reliably. Do you really think people with those types of power supplies should be using a card that consumes 170w?

Do you really think AMD wanted people with those types of units to use the card? I don't. I think the real reason behind the single 6-pin was marketing. They wanted to hype the card, to say "look at how power efficient it is, it only uses a single 6-pin!" But it backfired on them.
Even the aforementioned Diablotek could handle powering one of these, paired with a latest-gen Skylake CPU, a couple sticks of RAM and some storage. It would all easily fit into a 250W envelope (absolute peak power draw, realistically less than that), which even the worst of the worst PSUs can manage, at least for a while.

That being said, everyone should have the common sense not to skimp on the PSU. No need to go crazy, a nice $30-or-so PSU from a reputable manufacturer should do fine, as @newtekie1 pointed out.
 

iO

Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
395 (0.15/day)
Location
Germany
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard B450i Gaming
Cooling Accelero Mono CPU Edition
Memory 16 Gig VLP
Video Card(s) RX580 Armor w/ Accelero Mono
Storage 850 EVO 512
Display(s) LG 27UM67 UHD
Power Supply SS G-650
Simply lowering the power target to like -10% or so by default should do the trick.

And they might limit OC capabilities in Overdrive drastically as the card still could violate the specs when OCed...
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
1,440 (0.46/day)
Location
Greece
Processor AMD FX-8350 4GHz@1.3V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev3.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS5X Performa
Memory 2*4GB Patriot Venom RED DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 GTS 4GB
Storage Sandisk SSD 120GB, 2 Samsung F1 & F3 (1TB)
Display(s) LG IPS235
Case Zalman Neo Z9 Black
Audio Device(s) Via 7.1 onboard
Power Supply OCZ Z550
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Trust GXT280
Software Win 7 sp1 64bit
Benchmark Scores CB R15 64bit: single core 99p, multicore 647p WPrime 1.55 (8 cores): 9.0 secs
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,266 (0.58/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Oh well, I was disappointed in the card already....GTX1060 pls be good enough and affordable
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
796 (0.25/day)
This is such a storm in a glass of water....

If both the 6 pins and motherboard provide a 75W for a total of 150 watts, and the card exceeds at 166 watts, this means that 16 watts split by two (8 watts) is being pulled more then it should.

I think any motherboard is capable of doing more then 25 watts on top, otherwise that system or motherboard would already be at it's limits.
 
Joined
May 1, 2015
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Well basically. It's not a big deal, the 960 does it way worse. You are blowing it out of proportion because people love to hate on AMD. This is like an action to head off the idiots at the pass. So people like you have one less reason to spread fear and FUD about amd for no reason. The situation in which the non issue happens is 4k on game that runs at 10fps...which no sane person would play at. Really, the nvidia community is the worst. Just be happy your cards are cheaper. Your video cards are not dogma.
 

ppn

Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
528 (0.34/day)
ut to 25 watts from the slot or avoid the card. simple as that. i dun trust in power target - 10% solutions.
 
Top