• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official Statement from AMD on the PCI-Express Overcurrent Issue

Joined
Apr 19, 2013
Messages
257 (0.11/day)
System Name Darkside
Processor i7 3770K
Motherboard GA-Z77X-UD5H
Cooling Zalman CNPS20LQ with 2x Corsair SP120
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme 16GB 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080
Storage many
Display(s) Samsung C27JG5x
Case Corsair Vengeance C70 (Arctic white)
Audio Device(s) iFi xDSD
Power Supply EVGA 750W G2
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
Benchmark Scores Not sure, don't care
Why is this an issue? Both the GTX 750 Ti and the GTX 950 both drew significantly more than 75W from the PCI bus! In short bursts, there is absolutely no problem with brief power spikes. Shitty deal if you have an older/cheap mobo and this is an issue; Seriously, quality motherboards are dirt cheap!

:toast:
 

ppn

Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
528 (0.34/day)
Because you don't SLI 750 Ti (which is 57 watts by the way reviews/NVIDIA/GeForce_GTX_750_Ti/23.html) but CF RX 480 is advertised, that's 150 watts and add 25+ watts DDR3 and all that on 4 pin +12V.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
796 (0.25/day)
The ATX 24 pins delivers one or 2 12V wires to the motherboard, providing power for the PCI-express and all. Any modern budget motherboard also carries a 4 pins power for the CPU. And still on some motherboards that powerline is shared as well.

If you think that the extra 16 watts should be a problem then buy a proper motherboard, or a 10 $ PCI-express "booster"
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2013
Messages
257 (0.11/day)
System Name Darkside
Processor i7 3770K
Motherboard GA-Z77X-UD5H
Cooling Zalman CNPS20LQ with 2x Corsair SP120
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme 16GB 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080
Storage many
Display(s) Samsung C27JG5x
Case Corsair Vengeance C70 (Arctic white)
Audio Device(s) iFi xDSD
Power Supply EVGA 750W G2
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
Benchmark Scores Not sure, don't care
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
752 (0.29/day)
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
This is such a storm in a glass of water....

If both the 6 pins and motherboard provide a 75W for a total of 150 watts, and the card exceeds at 166 watts, this means that 16 watts split by two (8 watts) is being pulled more then it should.

I think any motherboard is capable of doing more then 25 watts on top, otherwise that system or motherboard would already be at it's limits.
The problem is most budget motherboards aren't as capable as you'd like... During the Bitcoin GPU mining craze, I've seen dozens of fried slots and 24-pin ATX connectors...

The connector itself will carry up to 14A (7A per wire pair, two +12V wires + two GND/COMs on the connector) which is 168W. And that's at 20°C, less at higher temps.
Wouldn't be a problem if the card only made brief excursions into 75W territory, but it consistently draws that much from the slot. Adding another one to a CF setup without additional power connectors for +12V on the board and you can be pretty sure you're running at the very limit of the ATX connector's capabilities. As for the individual PCI-E slots, I imagine that depends on the quality of the MoBo itself...

Even so, most people will probably be just fine. Some problems, which could've been avoided, are to be expected though.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
796 (0.25/day)
Was'nt that Bitcoin cards could be tweaked for maximum efficiency? I.e clock down the memory to get best power-usage and highest possible MH's a second?

If you stack multiple cards in just one motherboard and expect that only one 24 pins ATX connector is going to supply each card of sufficient power, then i think you should reconsider a better motherboard with external PCI-express source or the use of PCI-express boosters (nothing but an add-in card that provides extra current for the PCI-express bus).

I dont think that again 16watts should cause huge problems. Shared your still talking about 8W in maximum usage.
 

Divenity

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Good they're addressing it but they can't blame the memory speed. The GTX 1070 runs at the 'unprecedented' 8Gbps.

Then again, not a huge issue as only really affected much older mobos?
the GTX1070 also has an 8 pin power connector, not a 6 pin, so it wouldn't need to overdraw the PCI-E slot.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.50/day)
So much drama about something AMD already confirmed as fixable via something as simple as DRIVERS most retarded noobs can install. Jesus christ, everyone stop losing your shit already.

Lets just wait for this driver and see if things are resolved. Then whine about it if it wont' actually be fixed.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,494 (3.03/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
So, a driver will limit power draw to 150w. Now....what will this do to the AIB boards that are adding more power connectors, to up the power available for higher clocks?

If the driver affects all R 480's, then it seems AMD eill be dooming the AIB makers to lackluster performance and sales.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,494 (3.03/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
If it comes to that, rtw, I'm sure they will fix it.
I hope you're right. Not sure how they would do that without unnecessarily confusing things by adding specific model recognition into those drivers. It really needs a hardware fix, and send out rev. 02 cards. That way the AIB's can get on with making these cards better.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.50/day)
So, a driver will limit power draw to 150w. Now....what will this do to the AIB boards that are adding more power connectors, to up the power available for higher clocks?

If the driver affects all R 480's, then it seems AMD eill be dooming the AIB makers to lackluster performance and sales.
How do you think NVIDIA is separating founders edition (reference models) of GTX 1080 with messed up fan profiles from the custom models?

EDIT:
There is no need for a "hardware" fix. Have you ever fiddled with Maxwell II Tweaker? It does exactly what AMD will fix via drivers. It's what I'm doing with my GTX 980. It's what thousands of Maxwell 2 users are doing. It's not rocket science once you figure it out and considering AMD knows where is what in their BIOS, it's a walk in the park. They can tap in with drivers easily, basically their new Wattman is what will they most likely use anyway.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,494 (3.03/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
How do you think NVIDIA is separating founders edition (reference models) of GTX 1080 with messed up fan profiles from the custom models?
I thought NVIDIA said BIOS update, not driver? AMD are saying here driver update, which is a more sweeping application.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,831 (1.89/day)
Location
Texas
System Name SnowFire / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 8700K 5.0ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon E52650v2 / Intel i7 7700HQ
Motherboard Asus Z370 Prime-A / Dell Dual Socket (R720) / HP Omen Stock
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / HP Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb DDR4 3000 CL 16 / 1600mhz DDR3 128gb 16 x 8gb / 12gb DDR4 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / RX 580
Storage Samsung 512gb SSD RAID 0 and 2tb HDD x4 RAID 5 / 300gb x8 RAID 5 / NVME 240gb SSD and 1tb HDD
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor / 1080p 60hz Freesync display
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R720 Rack Mount Case / HP Omen 17
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Home
Still foolish not to just put an 8 pin as the default... If they wanted to do this to the 4gb and limit the board spec to 150 with a 6 pin then it's fine, but they should have at least with the 8gb given an 8 pin reference.

This was just a foolish design choice.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.50/day)
I thought NVIDIA said BIOS update, not driver? AMD are saying here driver update, which is a more sweeping application.
NVIDIA fixed fan issues with a driver. They can tap into anything, they are the makers of hardware and BIOS. Same goes for AMD in this case. If RX480 has similar power delivery logic as GTX 9xx and GTX 10xx series (which I suspect it does), they can do exactly the same thing via drivers. They don't need to issue complicated and risky BIOS updates, they can do it via driver update that simply taps into specific parameters between driver, BIOS and hardware. It's how they fixed certain issues with R9 290X cards if you remember. I think it was about thermal throttling and fan profiles as well. It's how you fix things the easiest. BIOS is just too complicated and risky for average users. Where installation of drivers is a thing of few clicks every noob can do basically risk free.

Still foolish not to just put an 8 pin as the default... If they wanted to do this to the 4gb and limit the board spec to 150 with a 6 pin then it's fine, but they should have at least with the 8gb given an 8 pin reference.

This was just a foolish design choice.
Costs my friend, costs. They wanted to make really affordable product. Placing 8pin instead of 6pin could result in higher price. They always say this when bulk components could cost 5p to the final product, but it then somehow becomes a $20 addition...
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,266 (0.58/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Still foolish not to just put an 8 pin as the default... If they wanted to do this to the 4gb and limit the board spec to 150 with a 6 pin then it's fine, but they should have at least with the 8gb given an 8 pin reference.

This was just a foolish design choice.
Honestly I think Nvidia pushed AMD with their new gpu's.
The fact that you can barely OC the RX480 makes me believe AMD quickly issued as high a clock out of the box as possible to make the cards look good in the performance section, but that originally they were not meant to run this high.
I guess its best to get a custom designed RX480 from a partner that indeed has an 8pin connector and more cooling capability.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,934 (1.03/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
This was just a cheaper design choice.
ftfy

Just like we have a saying "I'm not rich enough to buy cheap things", AMD should say "we are not rich enough to do cheap designs" :laugh:
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,051 (0.37/day)
Location
Indonesia
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard ASUS STRIX X470-F
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 POWER
Memory G.Skill FlareX 16 GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PALIT RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock LE
Storage 512 GB Samsung 850 Pro | 500GB Crucial MX500 SATA M.2 | 2 x 4 TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 650W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard KIRA EXS
Software Windows 10 1903 x64 + Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,079 (0.21/day)
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
bta seems asleep, I saw the email after crawling out of bed with my gf, so I thought "let's get this out to the people"
It wasnt worth it.Should have stayed in bed with your gf.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,982 (0.58/day)
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard ASUS Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Dark Rock TF
Memory 2x8 GB Gskill Trident Z
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 960 evo 500G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case NZXT H500
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus + 650
Mouse Zowie EC2-A
Keyboard Logitech G513
Software Win10 pro 64bit
I guess AMD is just going to keep silent on the fact that this is somewhat of an issue on PCIe 3.0 but a huge problem for PCIe 2.0 boards, like every single AM3+ board on the market.
:banghead:
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
150 (0.08/day)
Location
Emperor's retreat/Naboo Moenia
System Name Order66
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard ASUS CrosshairV Formula-Z (socketAM3+)
Cooling ArcticFreezer13 CO
Memory 20GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX1080 Gamerock (Premium Edition)
Storage WD 5003ABYX 500gb SataII
Display(s) Asus VE228HR
Case Corsair Carbide series SPEC-03
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Software Windows10 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3dmark time spy total score: 6365 / graphics score: 7802 ( https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6040126 )
250$ (edit: i just noticed that they are £ not $, so even more expensive than i thought)
. Exactly the price that i had predicted in the past for the RX480 8GB version, but when i said that, lot of people dissagreed. ( https://hardforum.com/threads/radeon-rx-480-competition-poll.1903083/page-3#post-1042373817 )

RejZoR said:
Costs my friend, costs. They wanted to make really affordable product. Placing 8pin instead of 6pin could result in higher price. They always say this when bulk components could cost 5p to the final product, but it then somehow becomes a $20 addition...
Yeah, that's the hole point: when a company decides to become dirty-cheap and transfer the cost from them to the customer, then i'd say that we are having a problem:rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,860 (2.65/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Seagate Enterprise Capacity 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
is it really that serious of a problem though? because people seem to be panicking about this..
If you have a junky motherboard, maybe, but I doubt any mainstream brands don't build in A LITTLE reserve.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2015
Messages
111 (0.08/day)
Yeah, very cheap, especially if i have to give another +-100$ to replace my likely damaged/fried motherboard!!:fear:
No matter what people have said in this thread, that's the 1st time i read a review (*2 reviews actually, TPU & Tom's) that recognises the GPU as a possible threat for the rest of the hardware !!
The design of the PCB is certainly not cheap, according to pcperspective. The 480 has a better 6+1 power phase design in addition to better beefier VRM setup. It seems that this issue only effects older motherboards. Newer ones don't have that problem.[/QUOTE]
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,860 (2.65/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Seagate Enterprise Capacity 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
Was'nt that Bitcoin cards could be tweaked for maximum efficiency? I.e clock down the memory to get best power-usage and highest possible MH's a second?
Going over bitcoin 12V draw on the PCIe rail war normal in mining. If you had a cheap board, it can and would burn up with 5 cards in it all drawing over spec. Not unheard of, I experienced it once even. It doesn't smell good.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,494 (3.03/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
NVIDIA fixed fan issues with a driver. They can tap into anything, they are the makers of hardware and BIOS. Same goes for AMD in this case. If RX480 has similar power delivery logic as GTX 9xx and GTX 10xx series (which I suspect it does), they can do exactly the same thing via drivers. They don't need to issue complicated and risky BIOS updates, they can do it via driver update that simply taps into specific parameters between driver, BIOS and hardware. It's how they fixed certain issues with R9 290X cards if you remember. I think it was about thermal throttling and fan profiles as well. It's how you fix things the easiest. BIOS is just too complicated and risky for average users. Where installation of drivers is a thing of few clicks every noob can do basically risk free.
Ok, thanks for the update and correct info!
 
Top