• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Partition size for Windows 7 dual boot?

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,977 (2.19/day)
Likes
2,180
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#1
Somewhere I read it should be 16GB... somewhere else I read it should be 10GB... what would you suggest?

Another thing, I never dual booted before so I'm very noob on this - To play all my games on Windows 7 would I have to reinstall them under the new OS? I am assuming so but thought I'd ask just in case.
If yes... then I'd be needing to make my Windows 7 partition at least 50 or 60GB... (I've got 150GB free HDD space on my desktop).

Thanks for the help :)
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,215 (6.17/day)
Likes
8,082
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water+AMD VEGA FE
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#2
16GB should be fine mines @19GB with stuff installed/DL'd
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.88/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#3
D

Duxx

Guest
#4
You really only need i think 9, it was 8xxx mb or something but always having a little extra is nice, I have 12, and I probably should have made it larger, too lazy to re-partition though so it works. :)
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,977 (2.19/day)
Likes
2,180
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#5
What about installing on a separate partition on raid0 drives (ie my laptop)? Could things get complicated?

I'll be doing it first on the desktop, but if I like it and see it worth I'll also install it on the lappie... if that wouldn't be problematic...
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,477 (2.31/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#6
When i tried win7,my partition size was 40gb,it was using about 15-20gb of said space.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,166 (3.67/day)
Likes
1,429
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#7
I'm eatting 20GB and I have not had this os installed but a few days with no games installed.....
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,477 (2.31/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#9
I think 40gb is a good size for a vista/win7 install,it gives the os room to breath.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.86/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#10
I think 40gb is a good size for a vista/win7 install,it gives the os room to breath.
+1

I wouldn't go for less than 40GB because you might realize you like it and the limitations of a drive closer to 20GB will manifest really fast.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,669 (3.84/day)
Likes
5,032
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#11
My win 7 ultimate install is 12.8GB without so i would say 30GB at least to give it some space at least.


If you plan to use it a lot concider doubling that at least.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,166 (3.67/day)
Likes
1,429
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#12
What about installing on a separate partition on raid0 drives (ie my laptop)? Could things get complicated?

I'll be doing it first on the desktop, but if I like it and see it worth I'll also install it on the lappie... if that wouldn't be problematic...
Just install Vmware(that was created by a woman btw:rolleyes:) and test out 7 in your current o/s.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,166 (3.67/day)
Likes
1,429
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#13

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,977 (2.19/day)
Likes
2,180
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#14
+1

I wouldn't go for less than 40GB because you might realize you like it and the limitations of a drive closer to 20GB will manifest really fast.
So, if say I make a partition of 40GB and install 7 on it, when I log into 7 rather than Vista it'd be like my HDD is only 40GB big?
Or am I confusing things?:confused:
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.86/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#15
So, if say I make a partition of 40GB and install 7 on it, when I log into 7 rather than Vista it'd be like my HDD is only 40GB big?
Or am I confusing things?:confused:
Exactly, when you log into to 7 your "C:\" will be 40GB you will still have access to the other partitions and HDD space available.

Make sense?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,977 (2.19/day)
Likes
2,180
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#16
Exactly, when you log into to 7 your "C:\" will be 40GB you will still have access to the other partitions and HDD space available.

Make sense?
Lol would you believe me if I say I never did this before? :eek: I normally just install the OS and put the whole disk as an entire 'partition' so to speak... Never dual booted so never seen the need to play around with this before.

So (I'm burning the 7 iso as we speak) will my partitions have different letters like my normal C disk will be divided into C which is for Vista and another letter which would be for 7?

Someone said I don't need to reinstall my games. That means if for example I got Fallout3 I can keep same game same saves and choose whether to play it under Vista or 7 depending on the choice I make when I boot?

IE I don't need to do anything else? Win 7 will use the same Program Files and registry where my games are, same mobo drivers, graphics, sound card drivers which I use for vista? Same antivirus will also work?:confused:
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.86/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#17
Before you install Windows 7 have you partitioned the disk yet? Partioning a disk that already contains data or an OS is not usually recommended but can be done. How do you plan to do this.


To your questions ....

All the drivers for Vista should work but there can be unforeseen compatibility issues.

Knowing a little about how partitions work is useful but not necessary. In the capture below you see a visual representation of a single HDD that has several partitions on it. One is the OS, one is for data, and one if from DELL that contains OEM crap.



I'll try to explain the drivers letter (assume the drive has 2 partitions for this example). If you boot into Vista you will see c:\ and d:\ for your local disks. Vista is installed on c:\. If you boot into 7 you will still see c:\ and d:\ in this case 7 is installed on c:\. Whichever OS you boot into will assume the drive letter c:\ and the other OS is on d:\

The OS you are using will always be c:\

If you boot into 7 you can launch any game installed on the Vista partition. Transferring your saved games can be a little more complicated but the games will work.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,977 (2.19/day)
Likes
2,180
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#18
Thanks again Triptex, I was going to do the partition using Vista's disk management. My original problem was because some say 10Gb are enough, others say you need 17 or 20GB and yet others say you need 40 or 50GB for the partition... and that's what got me confused. I solve that... then work it out from there... :)
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,669 (3.84/day)
Likes
5,032
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#19
Lol would you believe me if I say I never did this before? :eek: I normally just install the OS and put the whole disk as an entire 'partition' so to speak... Never dual booted so never seen the need to play around with this before.

So (I'm burning the 7 iso as we speak) will my partitions have different letters like my normal C disk will be divided into C which is for Vista and another letter which would be for 7?

Someone said I don't need to reinstall my games. That means if for example I got Fallout3 I can keep same game same saves and choose whether to play it under Vista or 7 depending on the choice I make when I boot?

IE I don't need to do anything else? Win 7 will use the same Program Files and registry where my games are, same mobo drivers, graphics, sound card drivers which I use for vista? Same antivirus will also work?:confused:
Some games will require reinstall, what i do is just install over were it was installed to with the other OS.

Just copy your saves games

It be some thing like this were they are
C:\Users\Admin\Documents\My GamesFallout3

I'm in XP at the moment but should be pretty right still though if not right.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
3,302 (0.86/day)
Likes
713
Location
BC.CAN
#20
Thanks again Triptex, I was going to do the partition using Vista's disk management. My original problem was because some say 10Gb are enough, others say you need 17 or 20GB and yet others say you need 40 or 50GB for the partition... and that's what got me confused. I solve that... then work it out from there... :)
No problem, I hope some of what I wrote makes sense. :cool:

I still think 40Gb is the least space you should use.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,977 (2.19/day)
Likes
2,180
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#21
Thanks guys! Come to think of it I needn't make a fuss... I did a clean install of Vista 2 weeks ago and the only game I got on this pc is Fallout so I'll just copy the save games and be ready to go. I'll probably partition 50GB to be on the safe side.

If I like the way Win7 works I might try it on the lappie... but there it's a different story because I really got lots of games and stuff on it... Come to think of it my fallout is more updated on the laptop...

Edit: currently formatting 50GB partition on desktop...
 
Last edited:

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,977 (2.19/day)
Likes
2,180
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#22
Ewww.

This is just a half-hearted attempt to get a cross between XP and Vista!:wtf:

I say again ewww.

It's bland.... It's like XP trying to imitate a vista interface...

Well I dunno. I just installed, got on the net, and gave my first 5 minute impression here.
Maybe I might change my mind?
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,166 (3.67/day)
Likes
1,429
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#23
You will, and to tell you the truth I like the 6850 build a little better than the 7000......

Adding quick links in 7000 pissed me off they got rid of them. IDK.

7 is the best o/s I have ever used.


wait your laptop does not have a 128meg video card so your !@!@ed when it comes to seeing the extra good in 7 over vista......
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,977 (2.19/day)
Likes
2,180
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#24
wait your laptop does not have a 128meg video card so your !@!@ed when it comes to seeing the extra good in 7 over vista......
You're kidding right?

Firstly I'm testing this on my desktop with an 8800GT.

Secondly.... check laptop configuration in my system specs ;)

You saying "your laptop does not have a 128meg video card so your !@!@ed when it comes to seeing the extra good in 7 over vista" lol that just reminds me of that math thread of yours...work out the addition yourself and check whether 2 8800GTX 512MB in SLI on a laptop might add up to a "128meg video card" :laugh:

Siggy material!!! :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
230 (0.06/day)
Likes
21
Processor Core i7 920 @ stock atm
Motherboard Foxconn BloodRage X58
Cooling Cooler Master V8 - water soon
Memory 6GB GSkill DDR3 @1600 MHz
Video Card(s) 896MB EVGA GTX 260 (55nm)
Storage 120GB Intel X-25 M | 1.5TB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Acer AL2216W
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sonar X-Fi
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Windows 7
#25
I set aside 20 GB. With the OS, drivers and FireFox installed, I have 2.1 GB free.
 
Top