• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PC problem?

dant

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello. I some advice please. I just mounted a new PC based on MSI B350 Mortar Arctic + Ryzen 5 1600.
All this was added to what I had: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 11 650W, Nvidia 1080TI Fe, 32GB DDR4 Crucial, SSD, HDD.
Everything was functional on an Intel system without any problem.

After switching to AMD, I mounted everything I needed, but it seems like AMD system does not start when I power on. The beep sounds at the PSU is like a "POW" sound, I think it's some kind of protection, but the PSU itself does not start either. I repeat: with 1080Ti FE mounted on the motherboard. Nothing starts. No PSU, no motherboard.
I pulled it off, I checked the source back on Intel computer, everything OK. The last bios from MSI is present, one RAM in the indicated slots, RAM removed, without SSD, HDD, with them, with fans off/on, etc. It does not start. As if it had not power. Even the PSU. Just the "POW" sound.

OK so I go back and pull off the video card. It starts. Everything OK. I mount a 980 and it starts, it runs, everything OK. Back with the 1080Ti again. Nothing happens. I take everything except the CPU and motherboard and mount it back with the same PSU on Intel, it works. With the 1080 Ti mounted.
I have the same components from the moment when the 1080Ti came out and the PSU it worked fine on Intel.

Please. Any ideas?
Thank you.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,028 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,631
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
Bad PCIe slot on the AMD board MSI B350

Try the other slot
 

dant

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#3
I tried with a 980 in that B350 and it works. Only with 1080Ti it does not start.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,485 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,248
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#4
Try 1080ti in another system. If it works, its the board.. a bad pci slot potentially.
 
Last edited:

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,179 (2.11/day)
Likes
8,943
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i5 6500 / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + Scythe 1200rpm + 4 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#5
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,485 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,248
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
So do you have the system inside the case already?

Breadboard it and try.
 

dant

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#8
So I tried with a bigger PSU 750. Same thing. Plugged the card into 2nd pcie. Same thing. As it received no power. No PSU, no mb, nothing. Plugged the card into another Intel system. It works. Only thing to do. Try the 1080ti on a different AM4 system?
Back on the 980 everything is fine with the original PSU.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,028 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,631
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#9
We've seen this here before. Don't remember what the issue was.
 

dant

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#10
It's driving me nuts. It's crazy. Have to find someone with AM4 to try the 1080 Ti. Don't understand why on Intel it's working with the same PSU...:(
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,028 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,631
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#11
And the 980 works in both?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,485 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,248
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#12
Does the GPU have an updated BIOS on its webpage? May want to check that...
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,984
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#13
try to reset your bios too, clean up the contact on your slot and the card then test it again
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,028 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,631
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#14
Doesn't he board have a molex power for sli ?

Doesn't look like it
 

dant

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#15
And the 980 works in both?
Yes. Both systems. Both PCIex slots on AM4.

Doesn't he board have a molex power for sli ?

Doesn't look like it
Nope...:(

try to reset your bios too, clean up the contact on your slot and the card then test it again
The motherboard was sealed. Came with the latest bios. If I try to go back to one older version, do you think it will help? I don't have a Ryzen 7 or another AM4 platform to be able to start if it can't see Ryzen 5 CPU ...
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,028 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,631
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#16
No don't try that. I would RMA the board first.
 

dant

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#17
Which one? And why? They would try with another video card and if it's working they will say everything is OK. Just like I did with the 980.
The 1080 Ti does not have warranty, it was received as a prize.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,271 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,175
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#18
Breadboard it and try.
I'll second that. Remove it from the case and try running it there. Sure sounds like a short to me, and I expect that the 1080 Ti is heavier and causing the short to happen. To me, the mounting holes for that motherboard are not quite what I'd expect from a uATX.
The 1080 Ti does not have warranty, it was received as a prize.
What brand? That should not preclude you from a warranty.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
841 (0.46/day)
Likes
216
System Name N/A
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX
Cooling stock
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 1TB WD and 1TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 21.5" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT
Mouse R.A.T3
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#19
Maybe a bad card?
 

dant

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#20
Thank you for your time guys.
980 HOF is heavier.
1080 TI FE.
Bad card? But it worked on Intel...
Now I run with 980 HOF on AM4 system.

OK. I will try to remove it from the case and see what happens. It will take some time.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#21
Thank you for your time guys.
980 HOF is heavier.
1080 TI FE.
Bad card? But it worked on Intel and I played with it for hours...
Now I run with 980 HOF on AM4 system.

OK. I will try to remove it from the case and see what happens. It will take some time.
yes take your time don't rush when you rush that's when things get broken
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,271 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,175
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,163 (3.80/day)
Likes
3,840
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 3x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh + 2x Dell E178FP
Case Phantec Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse G.Skill MX780 RGB
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#23

Seems of similar issue.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#24
Psus this day typically are single rail...
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2016
Messages
23 (0.04/day)
Likes
12
Processor Intel Pentium G3260
Motherboard AsRock B85M Pro3
Memory 4x 2GB DDR3 1333Mhz Kingmax
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GT 1030 2GH OC
Storage WD Blue 1TB WD10EZEX
Display(s) LG 22M38D-B
Case Segotep AND Black-Red
Audio Device(s) C-Media CM108 USB
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-380 Bronze 380W
Mouse A4Tech Bloody V7M Black
Keyboard A4Tech X7 G300
Software Win 7 X64
#25

Seems of similar issue.
In that video he start with gpu 1 placed in Intel system and gpu 2 in the AMD system. He checks the gpu 1 bios version, move gpu 1 into AMD system and check again the gpu 1 bios version again but he never checks the gpu 2 bios version after placing it in the Intel system. If you look at the Intel system after he put the gpu 2 in it Windows is installing the drivers (at least this is how it looks to me) if gpu 1 and gpu 2 were identical then no driver install would had happen, but I have the feeling that gpu 1 and gpu 2 don't have the same dev id, and if gpu1 and gpu2 don't have the same dev id then even if the bios version is reported as identical the actual bios content on the 2 gpu is not identical.

Even if gpu 1 and gpu 2 have 100% identical bios (when u compared the bios dump u get an 100% match) the 2 gpus are not actually physicaly identical (tehnicaly u can't clone a cap, chip and so on).

There is also no PSU swap in the video. Maybe for some reason gpu 2 is pushing that psu over the limit while gpu 1 is not doing that.
 
Last edited: