• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC restarts once or twice before POSTing with default RAM speed and fluctuating CPU Clocks & CPU Voltages

Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
1,909 (1.90/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander w/ TL-D14X + TL-C12 Pro, 4x 120x38 Panaflo, TY-143, TY-147B
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200C14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Classified
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
If you went from 4 sticks to two, or vice versa, don't forget to clear your cmos in between. The board will set up tighter secondary's when running two sticks, and looser with four.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,321 (3.56/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3733MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
1. First check if the 2 kits have the same chips (ICs). Part number could be the same but internally 2 kits could be different.

1617113379217.png

2. Do a reset to defaults and then try to enable XMP.
3. Try the 2 kits separately. Since the "old" one is working try with the "new" 2x8GB kit and see if it can run the same.
If yes compare settings between them with this while on XMP.

1617113682354.png

4. Going from 2 sticks to 4 sometimes the UMC (unified memory controller) is stressed more and requires a little more voltage.
You may need to increase VSOC (SoC/IO Die) and maybe CLDO VDDP (UMC) voltages but this should be done last if anything else wont work.

True, but in practice it's basically all the same but with different names to the settings and like @Zach_01 wrote he also has non-fluctuating clocks and voltages on his Ryzen 5 3600, which is ideal when you OC RAM in my opinion and that is what i want to be able to have too.
I meant in BIOS as I understood it wrong. In windows Ryzens fluctuate like crazy. Its normal and as intended by the engineers. Depending the powerplan you're using a Ryzen 3000/5000 can fluctuate speed/voltage from 50 to 1000 times per second from the lowest state (under 3.0GHz) or even the sleep state up to the max boost (around 4.2GHz for a 3600).

Use this as its the best tool for monitoring the system
Red boxes = Speed and voltage fluctuation (see current, min, max, avg values)

HWiNFO_30_03_2021.png
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
1,909 (1.90/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander w/ TL-D14X + TL-C12 Pro, 4x 120x38 Panaflo, TY-143, TY-147B
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200C14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Classified
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
How do you get it all Christmassy like that?
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,321 (3.56/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3733MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
Forgot this:

The HWiNFO window is sensors only mode and by the main settings the snapshot CPU polling is enabled. This settings can make a difference in reported values for the CPU speed, voltage and C-States.

HWiNFO_29_03_2021_b.png


How do you get it all Christmassy like that?
You can choose a different color for each sensor. I did it once and now they stay the same every time I update to newer version. As long as I dont do a "reset preferences".
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
17,169 (3.36/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ AMD 3900X+NH-D15
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ ASRock AM4 X570 Pro 4
Memory Samsung low profile 2x8GB \ Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage 2xIntel 80Gb (SATA2) Crucial MX500 \ Samsung 860 1TB +Samsung Evo 250GB+500GB Sabrent 1TB Rocket
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ LG 43UN700
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( VE2000BWS ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000\Paradigm P Studio 20, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 650w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
apparently they are not :( i messed up big time when i bought these... but how come the PC worked fine with 16GB of these sticks and not fine with 32GB?


my RAM aren't even on the q-list for this motherboard, i messed up when i bought them. might be the issue, but it's weird how the PC worked fine with 16GB of them though.

Try 3200 and see if it stabilizes.

Try without XMP all so, my system will not get 3000 with XMP used and have to fiddle a bit in bios, then it does 3600 without issue with timing like 16\22\22\22 1T.
 

Lundstrm

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
28 (0.36/day)
1. First check if the 2 kits have the same chips (ICs). Part number could be the same but internally 2 kits could be different.

View attachment 194511

2. Do a reset to defaults and then try to enable XMP.
3. Try the 2 kits separately. Since the "old" one is working try with the "new" 2x8GB kit and see if it can run the same.
If yes compare settings between them with this while on XMP.

View attachment 194512

4. Going from 2 sticks to 4 sometimes the UMC (unified memory controller) is stressed more and requires a little more voltage.
You may need to increase VSOC (SoC/IO Die) and maybe CLDO VDDP (UMC) voltages but this should be done last if anything else wont work.


I meant in BIOS as I understood it wrong. In windows Ryzens fluctuate like crazy. Its normal and as intended by the engineers. Depending the powerplan you're using a Ryzen 3000/5000 can fluctuate speed/voltage from 50 to 1000 times per second from the lowest state (under 3.0GHz) or even the sleep state up to the max boost (around 4.2GHz for a 3600).

Use this as its the best tool for monitoring the system
Red boxes = Speed and voltage fluctuation (see current, min, max, avg values)

View attachment 194516
i checked in thaiphoon burner - they're all the same. check my previous answer on page one where i found a temporary solution to the issue in the current bios version which might be the cause of the issue
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,321 (3.56/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3733MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
i checked in thaiphoon burner - they're all the same. check my previous answer on page one where i found a temporary solution to the issue in the current bios version which might be the cause of the issue
As you said it... it’s a temporary workaround. Just because it’s working doesn’t mean that it’s optimal.
So do the run now at 3600MHz all 4 sticks together? And how about the CPU? Does it work as it should? I may doubt that since you set the voltage manually to 1.0V. Was that the core voltage or anything else? Like the Vsoc
 

Lundstrm

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
28 (0.36/day)
As you said it... it’s a temporary workaround. Just because it’s working doesn’t mean that it’s optimal.
So do the run now at 3600MHz all 4 sticks together? And how about the CPU? Does it work as it should? I may doubt that since you set the voltage manually to 1.0V. Was that the core voltage or anything else? Like the Vsoc
Yes, yes and yes, i set the CPU core voltage to 1.0 V at first and then i slightly increased it to 1.02V afterwards since that was closer to where it was before the fluctuations started happening and i haven't noticed any issues whatsoever after it.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,202 (0.58/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
The ripjaws are a lower bin. I would simply raise the dram voltage to 1.37v to 1.4v and not mess with the cpu/soc voltages at all. The fluctuations... you're assuming a bunch of stuff wrong. Either google the AMD Zen architecture just leave it alone.
 

Lundstrm

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
28 (0.36/day)
The ripjaws are a lower bin. I would simply raise the dram voltage to 1.37v to 1.4v and not mess with the cpu/soc voltages at all. The fluctuations... you're assuming a bunch of stuff wrong. Either google the AMD Zen architecture just leave it alone.
Possible, but i'm not gonna change the dram voltage if my system is stable as it is now after some minor changes.

I might be wrong about the fluctuations but from my own experience of setting up the BIOS the fluctuations never occured like this when i've disabled all the CPU power saving & OC stuff, not even on my old Intel system where i did the same thing in the BIOS and the clocks and voltages of the CPU never moved around like this with about the same settings disabled.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
1,148 (0.61/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon X5675 Westmere-EP B1 SLBYL 4.20ghz @ 1.256v
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, Redux Noctua 1500rpm fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 x6
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050 ti oc expedition esport edition
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 500 seagate 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22 inch samsung curved
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse no brand
Keyboard normal usb keyboard
Software Windows 10 1909 version
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 = 2046cb
As far as I know you can turn off the memory training option in the bios can't remember the name of it. As one of my friends turns off his pc almost every couple of days and he find it annoying that it reboots two to three times before it posts. Since I fixed it posts every single time without reboot.

As for voltages all of them are set to manual and set to the lowest possible along with the vcore set on static 1.35v. As for Dram set according to the memory requirement. I disabled anything that said auto. The voltages never fluctuated one bit when I tested it for my friend. All the timings set manually according to the Aida64. No issues with the pc since
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,202 (0.58/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
As far as I know you can turn off the memory training option in the bios can't remember the name of it. As one of my friends turns off his pc almost every couple of days and he find it annoying that it reboots two to three times before it posts. Since I fixed it posts every single time without reboot
You can't do that on AMD afaik.
Possible, but i'm not gonna change the dram voltage if my system is stable as it is now after some minor changes.

I might be wrong about the fluctuations but from my own experience of setting up the BIOS the fluctuations never occured like this when i've disabled all the CPU power saving & OC stuff, not even on my old Intel system where i did the same thing in the BIOS and the clocks and voltages of the CPU never moved around like this with about the same settings disabled.
lmao, don't know why I bother.
 

Lundstrm

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
28 (0.36/day)
As far as I know you can turn off the memory training option in the bios can't remember the name of it. As one of my friends turns off his pc almost every couple of days and he find it annoying that it reboots two to three times before it posts. Since I fixed it posts every single time without reboot
It's called "memory try it" in my MB and yes i have it disabled. The PC runs fine now that i've set the CPU core voltage and CPU clock manually in the BIOS and with XMP enabled of course.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
1,148 (0.61/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon X5675 Westmere-EP B1 SLBYL 4.20ghz @ 1.256v
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, Redux Noctua 1500rpm fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 x6
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050 ti oc expedition esport edition
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 500 seagate 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22 inch samsung curved
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse no brand
Keyboard normal usb keyboard
Software Windows 10 1909 version
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 = 2046cb
It's called "memory try it" in my MB and yes i have it disabled. The PC runs fine now that i've set the CPU core voltage and CPU clock manually in the BIOS.
Yeah that correct now I remembered :)
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,321 (3.56/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3733MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
As far as I know you can turn off the memory training option in the bios can't remember the name of it. As one of my friends turns off his pc almost every couple of days and he find it annoying that it reboots two to three times before it posts. Since I fixed it posts every single time without reboot
Memory training is there for a reason and if it even could be disabled, when memory failed to run specific settings it wouldn't run at all I think.

It's called "memory try it" in my MB and yes i have it disabled. The PC runs fine now that i've set the CPU core voltage and CPU clock manually in the BIOS.
This is slightly different from "classic" memory training that all boards do. "Memory try it" is configuring RAM from top to bottom and not all boards have it.
MSI has it only? Please someone, correct me if I'm wrong.

Possible, but i'm not gonna change the dram voltage if my system is stable as it is now after some minor changes.

I might be wrong about the fluctuations but from my own experience of setting up the BIOS the fluctuations never occured like this when i've disabled all the CPU power saving & OC stuff, not even on my old Intel system where i did the same thing in the BIOS and the clocks and voltages of the CPU never moved around like this with about the same settings disabled.
You do realize that you're forcing the CPU to underperform right? Its your system and we are just saying that the way you run it its not optimal for performance, and was not meant to run like this. 3.6GHz is the base frequency only. It should boost up to 4.1~4.2GHz.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
1,148 (0.61/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon X5675 Westmere-EP B1 SLBYL 4.20ghz @ 1.256v
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, Redux Noctua 1500rpm fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 x6
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050 ti oc expedition esport edition
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 500 seagate 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22 inch samsung curved
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse no brand
Keyboard normal usb keyboard
Software Windows 10 1909 version
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 = 2046cb
That why I would usually set the timings manually according to aida64 spd spec than letting the bios mess with the timings
 

Lundstrm

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
28 (0.36/day)
Memory training is there for a reason and if it even could be disabled, when memory failed to run specific settings it wouldn't run at all I think.


This is slightly different from "classic" memory training that all boards do. "Memory try it" is configuring RAM from top to bottom and not all boards have it.
MSI has it only? Please someone, correct me if I'm wrong.


You do realize that you're forcing the CPU to underperform right? Its your system and we are just saying that the way you run it its not optimal for performance, and was not meant to run like this. 3.6GHz is the base frequency only. It should boost up to 4.1~4.2GHz.
I just don't want any fluctuations, i want a stable stock CPU clock with XMP enabled.
I want it at 3.6Ghz and i don't care about that 2-5% extra performance that i can get if it goes up to 4.2Ghz or whatever.

Shouldn't be that difficult to understand, no?
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
1,148 (0.61/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon X5675 Westmere-EP B1 SLBYL 4.20ghz @ 1.256v
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, Redux Noctua 1500rpm fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 x6
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050 ti oc expedition esport edition
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 500 seagate 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22 inch samsung curved
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse no brand
Keyboard normal usb keyboard
Software Windows 10 1909 version
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 = 2046cb
I just don't want any fluctuations, i want a stable stock CPU clock with XMP enabled.
I want it at 3.6Ghz and i don't care about that 2-5% extra performance that i can get if it goes up to 4.2Ghz or whatever.

Shouldn't be that difficult to understand, no?
You want it to run at full speed @3.60ghz regardless then you have to open the oc menu in the bios then set the cpu ratio to 36
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
206 (0.41/day)
System Name Still waiting for a 5900x/3080 or 6800xt...or not.
Processor I9 9900kf w/ HEATKILLER IV PRO Copper Nickel
Motherboard MSI MEG Z390 ACE
Cooling BarrowCH Boxfish 200mm-HWLabs SR2 420/GTX&GTS 360-BP Dual D5 MOD TOP-Koolance PMP 450-EK D5 PWM G2
Memory 4x8gb HyperX Predator RGB DDR4 4000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Duke 8G OC w/ Byski N RTX2080TI X
Storage XPG SX8200 PRO 1TB NVMe M.2 / Crucial MX500 1TB
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case ThermalTake X71 w/5 Noctua NF-A14 2000 IP67 PWM/3 Noctua NF-F12 2000 IP67 PWM/3 CorsairML120 Pro RGB
Audio Device(s) Klipsch Promedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G502 SE
Keyboard Black Aluminun Mechanical Clicky Thing With Blue LEDs, hows that for a name?!
Software Win10pro updated to whatever the latest MS crap is.
i think what everyone is trying to say in a roundabout way is it may be stable right now with no load but once you try running a game or something that stresses your rig you may run into issues. so going with some of the suggestions they are giving may help you maintain stability in the long run.

EDIT- asking for help and then ignoring the help...maybe isnt the wisest choice?
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
1,148 (0.61/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon X5675 Westmere-EP B1 SLBYL 4.20ghz @ 1.256v
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, Redux Noctua 1500rpm fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 x6
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050 ti oc expedition esport edition
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 500 seagate 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22 inch samsung curved
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse no brand
Keyboard normal usb keyboard
Software Windows 10 1909 version
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 = 2046cb
Well that true to the point. :)
 

Lundstrm

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
28 (0.36/day)
You want it to run at full speed @3.60ghz regardless then you have to open the oc menu in the bios then set the cpu ratio to 36
that's what i did. but i didn't have to do it like that before, it stayed stable even on "Auto" before the latest bios version.
i think what everyone is trying to say in a roundabout way is it may be stable right now with no load but once you try running a game or something that stresses your rig you may run into issues. so going with some of the suggestions they are giving may help you maintain stability in the long run.
i do take their suggestions into account and i'll deal with those issues if they ever occur, don't worry.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,321 (3.56/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3733MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
I just don't want any fluctuations, i want a stable stock CPU clock with XMP enabled.
I want it at 3.6Ghz and i don't care about that 2-5% extra performance that i can get if it goes up to 4.2Ghz or whatever.

Shouldn't be that difficult to understand... no?
No its not difficult, and yes it is. I understand the "need" of anyone to run his/her system the way he/she wants. What I don't understand is why people are so afraid to run their CPUs to stock settings/boost to get the performance. And the difference between 3.6 and 4~4.2GHz is not 2~5%. Its like 10~15%. You paid for R5 3600 and you run it below a 3100X when it comes to single core performance or gaming.
What exactly is this fluctuation phobia that is creeping around lately? Cripples performance... I wonder if there are some out there spreading lies about how a Ryzen will damage it self the way is running, and that AMD engineers don't know what their doing.
Have it up to 3.6GHz its not stock operation. Stock settings (auto) is configuring CPU to run all the way up to full speed/boost (4.2GHz for R5 3600). This is called Precision Boost (PB), or core performance boost.

You want it to run at full speed @3.60ghz regardless then you have to open the oc menu in the bios then set the cpu ratio to 36
He wants the max speed to be 3.6 and not have it locked at 3.6 if I'm not mistaken. To do that you just disable PrecisionBoost (core performance boost). There is no need for locked multi or voltage.

At least if you're going to do something "wrong"... do it the right way.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
1,148 (0.61/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon X5675 Westmere-EP B1 SLBYL 4.20ghz @ 1.256v
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, Redux Noctua 1500rpm fan
Memory Corsair XMS3 CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 x6
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050 ti oc expedition esport edition
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 500 seagate 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22 inch samsung curved
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse no brand
Keyboard normal usb keyboard
Software Windows 10 1909 version
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 = 2046cb
Try disabling these settings in the oc menu and set the vcore 1.35v and disable
CPU Loadline Calibration ControL
Core Performance Boost
Downcore Control
 

Lundstrm

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
28 (0.36/day)
To do that you just disable PrecisionBoost (core performance boost).
If you read what i have written earlier you would understand that i have disabled this ages ago. It still fluctuated with it disabled by the way.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,321 (3.56/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3733MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
Try disabling these settings in the oc menu and set the vcore 1.35v and disable
CPU Loadline Calibration ControL
Core Performance Boost [Auto]
Downcore Control [Auto]
Why the heck are you suggesting 1.35V with Core Performance Boost disabled?
If you just disabled that, the CPU will get the appropriate voltage which shouldn't be more than 1.0~1.08V

You only need to disable Core Performance Boost and change nothing else.
 
Top