1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please save me from a reinstall

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Bundy, Apr 20, 2010.

  1. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,132 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Last night, my main rig didn't shut down properly (it seemed to be stalled) so I forced a shut down, only to find this morning that I've got no BOOTMGR. Can I get it back?

    Details so far:

    OS : Vista 64
    HDD: Intel Raid 0
    BIOS shows the RAID is ok
    RAID utility shows the Raid is ok
    Windows recovery can browse the RAID
    Windows recovery cannot find an OS, and cannot repair
    Bootrec /scanos finds Vista on the correct drive (RAID)
    Bootrec /rebuildbcd finds vista but gives error when adding installation, element not found
    Bootrec /fixboot gives error, element not found
    Bootrec / fixmbr says it worked just fine

    Despite all of the attempts above, the rig will not boot on my RAID. WTF.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,153 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    try booting with one drive then the other, see if that helps .
     
    Bundy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,487 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,969
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    eww! i hate to say it but i had this problem on my HTPC with NTLDR was missing and i tried EVERYTHING to fix but finally had to reinstall windows
     
    Bundy says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,132 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Im not sure what you mean. Split the RAID?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,132 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    yea ive got that sinking feeling. Why Bill Gates, Why?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,530 (4.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,267
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Looks like you've tried everything, Bundy. As the Windows disc cannot find an OS, I'd say just byte the bullet and re-install (your data is already backed up of course... ;) ) If anything, I'd say that now is a good time to buy 7, if you haven't got it yet. A TechNet sub is fantastic value and is the way I recommend you buy it.
     
  7. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,132 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Most of my data is backed up but I'll copy the remaining files off before I reinstall if I have to.
    Thats the annoying bit, the drive is fine. Chkdsk gives it the all clear as well.

    I'll have to go to bed soon, looks like Im doing a reinstall tomorrow night:ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,153 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    yes thats what i mean if it can be done, I have never had raid settup.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    I see you have tried the bootrec commands, but have you tried the first set of commands here, to completely rebuild the BCD -

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927392

    Or if you have another drive you could install XP/Vista and then see if EasyBCD can repair the issue, see here -

    http://neosmart.net/wiki/display/EBCD/Recovering+the+Vista+Bootloader+with+EasyBCD


    Not sure if these will work, but worth a shot if you dont want to re install.


    EDIT: Or here are some instructions for doing it with a Vista DVD.

    http://neosmart.net/wiki/display/EBCD/Recovering+the+Vista+Bootloader+from+the+DVD
     
    Bundy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Check your sata cables, unplug your HD's and plug them back in,
    Make sure they are in there good, attached to the mobo and the drives.
    Make sure your powered down. Good luck.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,132 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Ok thanks for all the suggestions. Unfortunately none worked for me in the end.
    There are some files I would like to recover from the RAID (they are not essential but I'm going to try anyway) so I had a go last night at getting to them with Knoppix. No joy there either.

    Tonight, I'll install Vista on a separate new drive and then have a go at going into the RAID and copying out the files.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,530 (4.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,267
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Sorry to hear that, Bundy. Sometimes a system craps out and there's no shortcut to avoiding the pain.

    How about this happening at the mere change of a graphics card on XP? I have several graphics cards and swapping one out caused the OS to destabilise and half work, spontaneously do controlled shutdowns at startup, blue screens, semi-catatonic, you name it, it was fkd. I was so pissed, I didn't give up for a week, but eventually, after much stress (and even more swearing) threw in the towel and did a clean install. :cry: Yup, I been there too, buddy. :toast:

    What do you think about my suggestion earlier on for getting 7, though? It makes for a very nice, stable upgrade to Vista.

    Let us know how your reinstall goes.
     
  13. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,132 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    grits teeth, I'm gunna get them back.

    Qubit - I like your suggestion and had a look at the MS site. Right now, I'm not keen on spending that kinda money but can do so in a few weeks time. So for now, I'll use Vista.

    I'll install it temporarily on my new 1.5 tb backup drive, copy the files over, then do another reinstall on to the RAID. That way I get my docs and IE favourites/cookies back.
     
    qubit says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,530 (4.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,267
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Guess what, I'm gonna join you in an OS install on my brand new WD Caviar Black 640GB (WD6402AAEX) HD: been running 7 64-bit since it came out. However, I've got into servers lately, what with my IT job and going on an Active Directory course, so I'm just about to install Windows Server 2008 R2. It's basically Windows 7 with knobs on. Will take all the same drivers, run all the same games, do all the same stuff and more...

    And now just wait for my new thread tomorrow, where I'm tearing my hair out because something important just refuses to work! :laugh:
     
  15. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,960 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,525
    How about diskpart?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,132 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Thanks for all the help guys, I'm back and working 100% now.

    Had a delay of a day cos I had to fix my wifes sewing machine first:wtf:

    I couldnt get the original build back so I installed Vista on a spare drive like I said I would. Copied all the wanted info off the old RAID and then did a second re install onto the RAID. All good!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,530 (4.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,267
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Hey, nice one. :toast:

    Yeah, Windows craps out sometimes and you just gotta byte that bullet!
     
  18. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,366 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,104
    Location:
    Home
    I learnt my lesson not to save anything on the OS drive. It craps out regularly and when you least expect it. Now if I have any problem, I would not hesitate to reformat/reinstall Windows, I have everything I need tucked away :D
     
  19. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,261 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    178
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    one for the future

    try swapping your sata cables

    my machine gets damned awkward sometimes with port 0 no reason why :wtf:

    the damned machine just refuses to see that port but only ocassionally
    (i usually have to switch the power of at the wall to get it sorted i'e just switching of at the pcs power button makes no difference):eek:
     
  20. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,817 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,629
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    LOL ... You're a good guy Bundy :toast:
    Glad you got it all straightened out.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,132 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Total system crashes never seem as bad when you have moral support.:toast:

    A question - Since I re installed, there have been LOTS of driver updates. Is this avoidable? i.e. Is there any software that can see RAID 0 and image it?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,530 (4.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,267
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Hard Disc Manager 2010 Professional is the one you want. I've been buying this product for the last three generations now and it's excellent.

    www.paragon-software.com/home/hdm-professional/comparison.html
     
    Bundy says thanks.
  23. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,429 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,063
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Consider this a sign to upgrade to windows 7. :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)