• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem with Kaspersky

Joined
Oct 6, 2014
Messages
1,424 (0.59/day)
System Name octo1
Processor dual Xeon 2687W ES
Motherboard Supermicro
Cooling dual Noctua NH-D14
Memory generic ECC reg
Video Card(s) 2 HD7950
Storage generic
Case Rosewill Thor
Has anyone else had this problem?

I started getting messages from Kaspersky about certain connections being unsecured. Most were coming from various Google sites. It was saying something about the certificate transmitted for the https sites being invalid.

Finally I called them about this and it seems to be a known issue. But in the meantime, I had to go into the network section of the settings options and disable all of the protocols using ssl - so https, smtp ssl, etc. There were 5 all together.

They said that they're going to fix this is an update but currently it looks like I'm not inspecting certificates for these connections and I feel a little naked.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
5,268 (1.31/day)
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Nvidia RTX2060 6GB
Storage 2TB Samsung 860 EVO SSD//2TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Linux Mint 19.3
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
All browser up to date?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2014
Messages
1,424 (0.59/day)
System Name octo1
Processor dual Xeon 2687W ES
Motherboard Supermicro
Cooling dual Noctua NH-D14
Memory generic ECC reg
Video Card(s) 2 HD7950
Storage generic
Case Rosewill Thor
They asked me about that. I have firefox 39.0. They also asked about the system time and expiration date for my license. Everything was copacetic. From what I could tell, since it is a known problem, I assumed the issue was on their end, especially since they said it would be resolved in a future update.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,794 (2.85/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Juliette // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 9700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390X-A // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12 Black // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1Tb, Intel 665p Series M.2 2280 1TB // Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Haven't had any issue. AV or IS. 2014 or 2015? I have Kas on about 6 PCs not one issues like this

I have had the message asking if I want to update from 2014 to 2015. BTW your license will work on new versions when they come out
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,482 (3.36/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I run KIS and haven't seen anything like this, no. I know they've admitted that it's an issue, but I wonder if it's one of the settings that's different between yours and mine which is the cause of the difference in behaviour? Or could it be something in the configuration of your PC or router which is tripping it up?

I'm sure you're running the latest version, but it's worth double checking it. The About page on mine shows version 15.0.2.31(c). Note that (c) right at the end, as the letters often denote small, but significant improvements. I can't confirm if I have the very latest version by with a cursery glance at their forum, but I suspect that it is.

For everyone, their forum has tons of information and help on their products and is available here: http://forum.kaspersky.com
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,468 (4.18/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
I used to get this a lot more often, now its every once in a while. No need to panic unless you are poking around some questionable sites shall we say. Ive never had a problem otherwise.
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
9,017 (1.96/day)
Just wondering... Is the time and date in your bios and windows correct?
 
Top