• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSA: AMD's Graphics Driver will Eat One CPU Core when No Radeon Installed

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,524 (3.53/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
When you point at those difficulties in getting accurate readings, I believe you have to use the benchmark. Even if you don't like it. Because you want to compare video cards, or cpus under the absolute same conditions. You do extra performance tests when you are reviewing the game to see how specific hardware, does in all those different situations and how the game's graphic engine performs in different areas of the game. In a city with multiple NPCs visible, in the woods with plenty of vegetation, in an open field with just that dynamic weather. Running the game under a specific scenario, for example in a city, could be making it more CPU bound giving an extra advantage in high IPC CPUs, in the woods maybe it needs higher memory bandwidth from the graphics card favoring those cards and in an open field maybe it can hide in a small degree the differences in performance between different hardware because the scene is less demanding from both CPU and GPU.
I guess this will end up "agree to disagree", but for everyone else:

I do compare them under the same conditions, using my own test scene. I played through the whole game to pick that scene, and I do claim my results will give you a more accurate representation than the benchmark of what to expect when you play the game. Obviously you can always pick a spot in any game that will give you different results than any other result. If you prefer to play the benchmark, so be it, look at other reviews. Don't you think my life would be MUCH easier if I just tested the benchmark, vs playing the same scene for hundreds of times? Another problem with nearly every integrated benchmark is that you are taking results off a cold card, which will boost much higher. For 30 seconds, and then performance drops. Ask your favorite reviewers about that.

Ultimately you'll have to trust me a little bit to do the right thing, if you don't, then you should absolutely not read my reviews.

but the settings app and services are still run in background.
By default, Windows will not start anything in background for non-present devices. You actually have to do work (and not care about your non-customers) to launch something, separately from the OS logic
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,425 (0.24/day)
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor FX-8350 vishera
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+;1450/2000 Mhz
Storage SSD :840 pro 128 Gb;Iridium pro 240Gb ; HDD 2xWD-1Tb
Display(s) Benq XL2730Z 144 Hz freesync
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Riotoro Enigma G2 850W
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win10 64bit ltsc
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
I guess this will end up "agree to disagree", but for everyone else:

I do compare them under the same conditions, using my own test scene. I played through the whole game to pick that scene, and I do claim my results will give you a more accurate representation than the benchmark of what to expect when you play the game. Obviously you can always pick a spot in any game that will give you different results than any other result. If you prefer to play the benchmark, so be it, look at other reviews. Don't you think my life would be MUCH easier if I just tested the benchmark, vs playing the same scene for hundreds of times? Another problem with nearly every integrated benchmark is that you are taking results off a cold card, which will boost much higher. For 30 seconds, and then performance drops. Ask your favorite reviewers about that.

Ultimately you'll have to trust me a little bit to do the right thing, if you don't, then you should absolutely not read my reviews.


By default, Windows will not start anything in background for non-present devices. You actually have to do work (and not care about your non-customers) to launch something, separately from the OS logic

@W1zzard is this "bug" present in older driver also or it can be pinned exactly from when appeared if case?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,524 (3.53/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
@W1zzard is this "bug" present in older driver also or it can be pinned exactly from when appeared if case?
I haven't checked, discovered it on 20.11.2 and only verified the newer drivers in case AMD fixed it in the meantime
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
14,244 (6.16/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (34'' 3440x1440x)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Maybe they can't find good graphics driver engineers in US/CA, they do not exactly grow on trees.

Mhm yeah they also totally havent been making and hopefully nurturing a driver team since forever, right?

This is inexcusable for such a big company. The only reason is what we have always suspected: lack of talent is cheaper. Its how they have kept both AMD and RTG afloat with minimal expense.

Its a trend, not an occurrence. And AMD condones the shit quality code. Driver and microcode oopsies happen all the time. Fix forward seems to be the approach and overall strategy. It is for that reason also that such anomalies in code exists. The impossible was forced to possible with dirty tricks. If you roll back and fix, you dont need those.

 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Low quality post by RainingTacco
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
4,320 (1.82/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
This is inexcusable for such a big company. The only reason is what we have always suspected: lack of talent is cheaper. Its how they have kept both AMD and RTG afloat with minimal expense.
I think thats called outsourcing here.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
14,244 (6.16/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (34'' 3440x1440x)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
I think thats called outsourcing here.

Yep and we are as customers way too lenient on the results of that business approach. Complexity = up, overall quality = down.

We see this with many software suppliers... and it fits well with us doing beta testing for free or even at cost, if you consider early access.

Ridiculous and Im not accepting it. Shit code? No buy
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
6,959 (2.19/day)
Location
Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
System Name Monster Panzer Max [MPM]/Nostalg33k/Huawei Mediapad M5/Xiaomi Mi Box S/Redmi Note 9 Pro
Processor i5-6600K 3.9/E8500/Kirin960 4xA73/4xA53 /S905X 4X1.5 A53/Snapdragon 720G
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7/XFX 650i Ultra/uh?/uh?/uh?
Cooling Corsair H115i /Alphacool Eisberg /aluminum heatsink/Aluminum heatsink/Heatpipe
Memory 4x4gb HyperX Predator 2800 CL14/2gb DDR2 800/4gb LPDDR4/2gb LPDDR3/6gb LPDDR4X dual channel
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 ARMOR 8gb OC/Asus 8800 Ultra/Mali G71MP8/Mali 450MP5/Adreno 618
Storage 120gb VertexIII,1tb/8gb SSHD,2x1tb,NVMe 512gb,ext1tb P1+Arion/none/32gb+256gb/8gb/64gbUFS 2.1+256gb
Display(s) X58222 32"5ms OC 75hz 2880x1620/8.4" 2560x1600/273E3LHSB 27"1ms 1920x1080/~4" 480x800/6.67 inch FHD+
Case Cougar Panzer Max/none/Aluminum and tempered glass/None/back/front glass GG5
Audio Device(s) Fiio Q1 Mark II+Logitec Z333/SB Audigy2 Platinum/AK4376+Harman Kardon speaker/HDMI/Fiio Fa1
Power Supply Seasonic M12II Evo 750 /Enermax Coolergiant 480/12v 1.5A/J5 Create QC3.0 9-12V 1.96A
Mouse Speedlink Sovos Vertical-Asus ROG Spatha-Logitech MX Ergo/touch/Xiaomi XMRM-006/touch
Keyboard GMMK TKL+Gateron Red+white keys/touch/none/touch
Software Win10 64/none/Android 5.1.1 custom/Android TV 8.1/Android 9.1.0
Benchmark Scores bench...mark? i do leave mark on bench sometime, to remember which one is the most comfortable. :o
oh well, not uninstalling driver lead to issues... who knews ...



more seriously, hummm not a good thing indeed but nothing to scream at AMD who is doing quite fine this year and compared to Nv i will write it again : on AMD i had never to rollback a driver but once (the famous "ZOMGZOMG TEH NEW DIRVER WIL KEEL JOR R9 290!!!!" although not really a rollback ... as usual with drivers i let 3-5 weeks before updating, so, if any issues pop up, i stay on the previous one) on Nvidia? CTD TDR whatever you name it... always using a 6 month older driver than the current new one ... cool right?


well once the price madness will settle down ... i still think a 5600X (or above) and a RX 6800 (XT or heck even a RX 5700 XT would be an upgrade in my case ) are still in order ...


(for the fanboy calls ... please read my sys spec before blurting ineptness )
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
Messages
2,627 (1.30/day)
System Name My all round PC
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire 380 OC... sold, waiting for Navi
Storage 256GB Samsung SSD + 2Tb + 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung 40" A650 TV
Case Thermaltake Chaser mk-I Tower
Power Supply 425w Enermax MODU 82+
Software Windows 10
So this is settings software, not driver, tested in a weird condition (card by another manufacturer).

I doubt QA of any of any of the 3: Intel, AMD, Nvidia would bother checking that weird use case, mostly applicable to a small group called reviewers (and no, not to PC enthusiasts as those tend to reinstall entire windows system, and certainly the drivers)

Let's bitch about "AMD drivers" now, shall we, green FUD was not as intense recently, let's make up for it.

Something something, DLSS is better than 4k if you ignore blur and detail loss, something, something but RT in a handful of games is so very important, something.

I'm more of an IDA user
That stuff was always from "way too expensive" territory for me (on top of lack of reverse-engi-ng x86 code skills).
I know people who wrote decompilers of ECMAScript like language by just examining ARM code disassembly... to me it is some unholy magic.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,975 (0.91/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 10 64-bit Core i7 6700
Processor Intel Core i7 6700
Motherboard Asus Z170M-PLUS
Cooling Corsair AIO
Memory 2 x 8 GB Kingston DDR4 2666
Video Card(s) Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
By default, Windows will not start anything in background for non-present devices. You actually have to do work (and not care about your non-customers) to launch something, separately from the OS logic
It seems like they chose a complete wrong part of the boot process to do any kind of initialization of a feature such as video streaming... the lifecycle part when you don't know either if device exists and it's not yet loaded, or it doesn't exist and it will never be loaded. I thought that's why drivers are separated into modules/containers, so that one module at the last boot lifecycle step initializes/activates everything safely.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2020
Messages
65 (0.22/day)
amd gpu drivers are usual BETA ones, but nvidia WHQL certified.


sure if drivers are beta, they are not ready,they are under testing and finalysing...

also dont waiste your time to get your 3Dmarks score for HOF table or any table there. cant,must be WHQL certified.

just thinking, why release out beta drivers? why??
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
362 (1.44/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 32 Gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3080 AMP Holo
Storage 1 Tb Samsung 970 EVO NVMe + 1 Tb SSD WD Blue
Display(s) MSi Optix G27 + Samsung C24RG50
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-06
Power Supply EVGA G3 750W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
Benchmark Scores 3dMark TimeSpy - 16852(CPU 12525 - GPU 17959) Cinebench R20 - 515/7331
That’s so typical of AMD drivers...
They have excellent hardware engineers, but very poor software developers.

I'm so confused about the point of this issue.. why would you have the driver installed without a radeon card? Drama queen...
Easy. You had a Radeon card (i.e. an old 480) and upgraded the system with an Nvidia GPU (i.e. a GFX 1660 Super).
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,553 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
amd gpu drivers are usual BETA ones, but nvidia WHQL certified.


sure if drivers are beta, they are not ready,they are under testing and finalysing...

also dont waiste your time to get your 3Dmarks score for HOF table or any table there. cant,must be WHQL certified.

just thinking, why release out beta drivers? why??
To support new game's and fix issues.

And so that driver change can be further tested by a larger demographic, you aren't forced to use betas and of course AMD releases whql driver's like wut the fff.

So a few external Devs loose work over this hyperbolic tension, just uninstall the driver's, it's not rocket science.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,666 (3.00/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Xc
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 6TB WD Black; 1x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 4TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
It seems like pretty specialized subject, not something for your average programmer. Nvidia probably hoard them all anyway
Apparently Nvidia is just hoarding them, as you say, instead of actually having them write code, because they have had numerous bad drivers the last 5 years...on the order of 3 or 4 a year.

You cant fix stupid and this article is just that
For you to think that, you literally have no clue about him.
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
362 (1.44/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 32 Gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3080 AMP Holo
Storage 1 Tb Samsung 970 EVO NVMe + 1 Tb SSD WD Blue
Display(s) MSi Optix G27 + Samsung C24RG50
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-06
Power Supply EVGA G3 750W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
Benchmark Scores 3dMark TimeSpy - 16852(CPU 12525 - GPU 17959) Cinebench R20 - 515/7331
So a few external Devs loose work over this hyperbolic tension, just uninstall the driver's, it's not rocket science.

it's not rocket science maybe, except AMD developers aren't able to fix a very basic issue (you don't have the hardware, don't load the driver).
Not every user is aware of this problem. But AMD developers should be.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,666 (3.00/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Xc
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 6TB WD Black; 1x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 4TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Rather than admit his mistake he then tries to spin to into some news item. This is some end user level stuff if I ever saw it.
Apparently you have reading comprehension issues. His article clearly said he made a user-level mistake. Go back and try again. His investigation, code breakdown, and further, the programs he has written as well as his history of testing clearly show he is well above a standard level of intelligence and competence.

This is the kind of thing that average users do in large numbers every year. So yes, this information is useful, worth reading, and hopefully educating some of those many users who will do internet searches for the exact same type problem.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,553 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
it's not rocket science maybe, except AMD developers aren't able to fix a very basic issue (you don't have the hardware, don't load the driver).
Not every user is aware of this problem. But AMD developers should be.
Hyperbolic Bs in bold, aren't able ,,balls they weren't aware and should definitely now be.

Hell no most, like 90% of users couldn't tell you what GPU is in the prebuilt they bought.
Out of the 10% that do how many are getting tripped over by this issue?! , Not many at all like in the few 0.0001%, probably less, Drammaaa.

AMD need to fix this shit no doubt but get a grip ,of that 10% , those that do upgrade GPU ,do typically do so correctly.

Not like this.
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
362 (1.44/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 32 Gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3080 AMP Holo
Storage 1 Tb Samsung 970 EVO NVMe + 1 Tb SSD WD Blue
Display(s) MSi Optix G27 + Samsung C24RG50
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-06
Power Supply EVGA G3 750W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
Benchmark Scores 3dMark TimeSpy - 16852(CPU 12525 - GPU 17959) Cinebench R20 - 515/7331
Hyperbolic Bs in bold, aren't able ,,balls they weren't aware and should definitely now be.

Hell no most, like 90% of users couldn't tell you what GPU is in the prebuilt they bought.
Out of the 10% that do how many are getting tripped over by this issue?! , Not many at all like in the few 0.0001%, probably less, Drammaaa.

AMD need to fix this shit no doubt but get a grip ,of that 10% , those that do upgrade GPU ,do typically do so correctly.

Not like this.
why do you fell the need to defend AMD on every matter, even when they clearly are wrong like this, is something beyond my understanding...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,553 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
why you fell the need to defend AMD on every matter, even when they clearly are wrong like this, is something beyond my understanding...
I said they need to fix this issue.

I took issues with your hyperbolic statement.

Why do you feel the need to throw hyperbolic statements out?.


And wtaf anyway I don't even post in every AMD thread unlike your neg AMD pro Intel self.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
81 (0.02/day)
Easy. You had a Radeon card (i.e. an old 480) and upgraded the system with an Nvidia GPU (i.e. a GFX 1660 Super).

Who swaps things like GPUs without uninstalling the drivers and/or software first? That should be basic knowledge for people who know how to change parts.
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
362 (1.44/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 32 Gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3080 AMP Holo
Storage 1 Tb Samsung 970 EVO NVMe + 1 Tb SSD WD Blue
Display(s) MSi Optix G27 + Samsung C24RG50
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-06
Power Supply EVGA G3 750W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
Benchmark Scores 3dMark TimeSpy - 16852(CPU 12525 - GPU 17959) Cinebench R20 - 515/7331
I said they need to fix this issue.

I took issues with your hyperbolic statement.

Why do you feel the need to throw hyperbolic statements out?.


And wtaf anyway I don't even post in every AMD thread.


from the article itself:

If you're a programmer you'd have /facepalm'd by now

quite clearly you are not.
This is an amateurish mistake. There is no "hyperbolic statements" pointing this out.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,666 (3.00/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Xc
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 6TB WD Black; 1x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 4TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Who swaps things like GPUs without uninstalling the drivers and/or software first? That should be basic knowledge for people who know how to change parts.
You’d be surprised at the vast numbers of people who want to upgrade their GPU and just do it, without knowing any of this. Many of these average users luck out and nothing gets screwed up (that time), while others are left scratching their heads.
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
362 (1.44/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 32 Gb G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3080 AMP Holo
Storage 1 Tb Samsung 970 EVO NVMe + 1 Tb SSD WD Blue
Display(s) MSi Optix G27 + Samsung C24RG50
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-06
Power Supply EVGA G3 750W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
Benchmark Scores 3dMark TimeSpy - 16852(CPU 12525 - GPU 17959) Cinebench R20 - 515/7331
Who swaps things like GPUs without uninstalling the drivers and/or software first? That should be basic knowledge for people who know how to change parts.
it really takes 2 minutes to swap a video card.
Everyone is able to do that. Most of the new cases are tools free.

But an uninformed user could think "Windows will take care of the software, once I install the right drivers" since Windows is supposed to be plug&play since a while. And in this case Windows really is, but AMD developers messed thing up nevertheless...
 
Top