• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Radeon HD 4850 Voltmods

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#77
I could not get more then 1.28 with that first one, I had to use the 2nd one to get my desired voltage, and be very careful how much you put on the 2nd one, a few strokes and it goes up like a bitch.

Of course, the pencil I'm using could just be crap.
 

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#78
I've shaded it to 500Ohms and set 1,15V in BIOS to reach 1,4V. That's all you need.
I just measured that resistor, it's 1880ohms, so I need to shade it down to 500ohms?

Edit: I shaded it down to 1730ohms, I got 1.275v under load now. I'm maxed out in CCC at 700mhz core but only 1085mhz on mem (I didn't do the vmem mod). I'm sure I could get to maybe 725-750mhz on the current voltage. Hopefully There will be a third party tool supporting it, or the RBE 1.14 release will fix the checksum correct flash.
 
Last edited:

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
#79
I just measured that resistor, it's 1880ohms, so I need to shade it down to 500ohms?

Edit: I shaded it down to 1730ohms, I got 1.275v under load now. I'm maxed out in CCC at 700mhz core but only 1085mhz on mem (I didn't do the vmem mod). I'm sure I could get to maybe 725-750mhz on the current voltage. Hopefully There will be a third party tool supporting it, or the RBE 1.14 release will fix the checksum correct flash.
You can use AMD GPU Clock Tool or newest ATI Tray Tools. Which pencil mod have you used? The first one or the second one?
 

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#80
I did the first pencil mod. I tried the newest ATI Tray Tools, it worked great. Now I'm at 725mhz core.
 

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
#81
I did the first pencil mod. I tried the newest ATI Tray Tools, it worked great. Now I'm at 725mhz core.
You sure you shaded it to 1730Ohms and reached 1,275V? Seems a bit too high for me at 1730Ohms.
 

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#82
Stock is 1880ohms, and I shaded it down to 1730ohms. It gives me 1.275v (measured) with Racedriver Grid loaded (CCC set to 700mhz). But after I got ATI Tray Tools, I set the voltage option to 1.158v, that gave me 1.325v (measured) with Grid loaded. I have a Asus brand 4850 btw.
 

ASOrkan

New Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#83
When i was erasing my pencilmod i think i erased too much and i cleaned up the black area of the solder (circuled one in the picture). Now its totally silver. Should i replace it with something or leaving it with this situation gives nothing bad to my card?

 

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
#84
ASOrkan, it won't cause any damage to your card, you can use it without any troubles.
 

ARH

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#85
my 4850 died

I tried 3th voltmod method for increasing Vgpu up to 1.4 but I didn't find pencil in our lab, so I try to short between point with small zero resistance, when I finished soldering, the card did not shows any thing in the screen and it's Fan speed riched to highest value.
after this, I tried to remove the contact between points . then card works well but when I install the Driver in the windows, it's can't show any graphical image like windows desktop image. the Vgpu after removing zero resistance increased automatically by 0.036 volt.
also I try it under crossfire configuration in slave mode, but it didn't accept slave crossfire mode to. note that my soldering was very accurate and nothing in the board damaged in this work.
Please let me know your idea about this problem or probable solution to solve it.
what is the best solution for me in order to increase Vgpu in 4850 ?
 
Last edited:

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
#86
ARH, I'm not sure, but I think that you could have killed your card by soldering between these points. Your card could have been fed with more than 1,6V voltage.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#87
Sorry to say arh,but unless you are sure of what you are doing,you should not volt mod.

You need to use a pencil for the pencil mod,by shorting the contacts,you have used zero resistance,thereby feeding your gpu 1.6volts at least,you have probably killed the gpu.

If you get another one,please do not try to vmod it unless you are 100% sure of what you are doing.

There are loads of people on here who can guide you through the process before you jump in and try it.:)
 

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
#88
What's more, I bet he did this with stock cooler :(. Another card in the heaven :(.
 

ARH

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#89
hi

thanks for your comments friends. hope Gigabyte RMA accept my damaged video card, and I can try again with your respect guides.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#90
I think if you get a new card arh,you should just run it stock.
 

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
#91
I think you should run your card at stock settings too. However, if you really want to pencil mod it, then you'll have to use PENCIL and always measure resistance.
 

ARH

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#92
I think if you get a new card arh,you should just run it stock.
I need to do this volt mode guys, If I can get new card I will do it with your valuable aids.you know that volt mode is a risk and when I decide to do this, I have accepted this risk. I should appreciate for your guides again.
 

Folken

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#93
And what about Sapphire's 4850? They have different PCB design. Dark-blue PCB, VGPU supply between the chip and DVI connectors, VMEM supply near the 6pin power connector. Anyone tried to solder or pencil-mod them?
 

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#94
You sure you shaded it to 1730Ohms and reached 1,275V? Seems a bit too high for me at 1730Ohms.
Just got a new multimeter and redid the mod. Now I got it to 658ohms but it gave me 1.36v underload. I got the Zerotherm cooler and it kept my temp at 76c, so I think I'm ok temp-wise.
 
Last edited:

superfly

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#95
Hi,

I have the HIS 4850 Turbo ICEQ4, but it dosnt seem to have the reference board?! its got the same memory component to pencil mod but for the GPU mod theres no component there, theres just a gap!!!

Does anyone know where this component has moved to and how to pencil mod this card?

So far i have managed to overclock using Ati Tray Tools with voltage of 1.158(1.2v) which gets me a core at 700 and mem at 1159 (so far) but i think im nearing my limit on the core so i really need to find how to pencil mod its voltage to get more!

I have a pencil and a voltmeter ready. :)

My cooling is good, and the card at its current overclocked load state never gets above 60 and idles at 38, so im not too scared of temps.

So the Questions:-
1) is there anyone else who has successfully pencil modded this card?
2) if i am able to mod the mem voltage, what limit should i aim for, it dosnt say in the guide?
3) when volted to the max, what core/mem could i expect...750/1250???

Thanks, any advice is welcome and appreciated.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel Quad Q6600, 3300 MHz (9 x 367)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R
Cooling 3 chassi, 1 CPU Thermaltake BigTyp 120 VX
Memory Crucial 4 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-18 @ 400 MHz) (4-5-5-15 @ 333 MHz)
Video Card(s) ASUS ENGTX260/HTDP 896 MB
Storage 4-Raid0, Samsung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 225BW(G)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC885/889A/890 @ Intel 82801IB ICH9 - High Definition Audio Controller
Power Supply XiON 650Watt
Software Windows Vista x64
Benchmark Scores updating...
#96
Voltmods on Gigabyte Radeon HD 4850 OC 1GB???

Hi guys please help me :respect:

I wanted to do this pencil mod on my Gigabyte Radeon HD 4850 OC 1GB. So I removed my GFX and for a about 1 hour I tried to find where to do the modding!

My card is blue not red. I figured that ATI/AMD made all the cards and all that was different was the "cooling solution" and the bios? I must be mistaking, because I cant seem to find those numbers RC85, C659, R710 shown on the pictures :banghead: so i have no clue where to do the modding. I guess GigaByte have named things differently. I really need your help it must be possible to do this volt mods on the Gigabyte Radeon HD 4850 OC 1GB as well right? ...

PS: Sorry for my bad English (grammar)
 

Folken

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#97
To Wizzard (and other people who invent pencil-mods):
How do I determine which component to shade if no voltmods are described yet for my PCB? The component layout is slightly different. Nevertheless, I've found where to solder for the soldering mod, but I need to keep the warranty for the card, so pencil mod is my only option...

BTW, here's the board itself (Sapphire Radeon HD4850 non-reference):
http://i1.sinaimg.cn/IT/h/2008-09-16/6dae2c0ac1e8a733d8c0378afdc27c09.jpg
http://i2.sinaimg.cn/IT/h/2008-09-16/9e72db2903228e31b106c6e03ff89c13.jpg
http://i1.sinaimg.cn/IT/h/2008-09-16/3e306e3a61e5143c68d680e0e0f67bbb.jpg
Note the location of the power circuitry.
 
Last edited:

kohan69

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
59 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#98
I'm having trouble with:



I've used mechanical and wood #2 pencils, and the lowest I could get it is ~1500Ohms

is there any other way to pencil mod?

Is the first mod on resistor illustrated above required for:


?

How do i check the resistance decrease using the second one?

:shrug:

:help:
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
199 (0.06/day)
Likes
8
Location
New zealand
System Name Home built or is that bank built :P
Processor I7 4960X
Motherboard rampage IV Black edition
Cooling stock standard with one xtra 120mm server case fan cooler master GTS V8
Memory 32gig ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 780TI
Storage 1Tb sata
Display(s) acer 42" lcd tv running thru hdmi monster cable
Case coolmaster csx falcon CX-632 ATX full tower case.
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1000W
Software Windows 7 64bit
#99
whats the point in doing these mods? what will it achieve in the long run?
 

kohan69

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
59 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
whats the point in doing these mods? what will it achieve in the long run?
long run?
greater voltage = greater maximum overclock. Same as for a CPU

So increasing the voltage from the bios's max 1.2v to 1.4v or higher will yield to greater clock speeds. From ~700MHz on stock voltage to 800MHz+ on 1.4v