• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAID vs AHCI mode

Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#1
Hi.
I have a GA-MA74GM-S2H mobo, and a Seagate SATAII 150 GB Hard disk and I have installed Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit. I have enabled the AHCI mode for the SATA ports on BIOS
I am wondering if RAID mode is better than AHCI mode, though I have only one disk.

I enabled it anyway and Windows 7 refuses to boot (it restarts continously before the desktop is reached), I reverted to AHCI and it runs fine again.
Many thanks
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#2
RAID stands for Random Array of Inexpensive Disks, since you don't have an array but a single disc I'm not surprised it won't boot! Sorry, just stick with AHCI if thats working for you.

Welcome to TPU BTW!
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,694 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,367
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#3
but if you did indeed have two drives or more then raid0 is faster by far.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
373 (0.09/day)
Likes
93
Location
Arizona, USA
Processor Intel Core i5 3450
Motherboard Asus P8H77-M Pro
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory 2x2GB G-Skill DDR3-2000
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660ti 2GB
Storage 128GB Samsung 830, 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) 23" Dell U2311H
Case Silverstone FT03 (titanium color)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892
Power Supply SeaSonic X series SS-460FL
Software Windows 8 Professional 64-bit
#4
That is a setting that can only be changed when you are installing the operating system. If you try and change it afterward you have to enable/install a different storage driver or reinstall the operating system with AHCI or RAID enabled.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2006
Messages
833 (0.19/day)
Likes
187
Location
UK, Brighton
System Name Wallet Killer
Processor i7 5930K
Motherboard ASUS X99-A/USB 3.1
Cooling Dual Loop, Custom
Memory 16GB Corsair Dimonator Platinum
Video Card(s) KFA 980Ti Hall Of Fame WC
Storage Samsung 950 256gb M.2, Crucial M4 128gb, 3TB Archive
Display(s) Acer XB270H @144hz
Case MM U2-UFO Extended CYO
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense & AKG K550 Headphones
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 1250watt
Mouse Zowie FK1
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Win 10 Pro X64
#5
is AHCI faster than IDE?

i have always wondered about this setting, sorry to ask a question on Ur thread buddy :toast:

i have had problem with setting it to AHCI though, it wont boot. but if i set it to AHCI and do a new install of windows i start having problems. :(

EDIT: NOT TO WORRY I FOUND A THREAD :toast:
 
Last edited:

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#6
RAID stands for Random Array of Inexpensive Disks, since you don't have an array but a single disc I'm not surprised it won't boot! Sorry, just stick with AHCI if thats working for you.

Welcome to TPU BTW!
Yes, it's random. Sometimes they make them out inexpensive hard disks, some times in expensive stone disks found on the beach. Though they really have to be disk shaped (not just rocks). I once made a RAID array of random phaistos disks, I have no clue what those are, I googled it. Point is, it's all random.


Or perhaps it means Redundant instead.
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#7
Oh you awkward sod, yeah, you' got me. Redundant.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
1,050 (0.27/day)
Likes
114
Location
indiana
Processor c2d e8400@ 3.8ghz 24/7
Motherboard Abit IP-35e 80$ lol
Cooling zalman cnps9700 led
Memory 2 x 2 gig patriot viper
Video Card(s) evga Gtx 285 oc
Storage 2 x 300gig sata seagate 7200.10 in raid 0/ 1.5TB for backup
Display(s) acer 24" TFT LCD AL2416WBSD
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro series
Power Supply ocz gamextreme 700w
Software windows 7 ultimate
#8
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,628 (0.34/day)
Likes
554
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X Base Clock @4.000.000.000 Hz
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (BIOS 3008)
Cooling Hydro H110i V2 High Performance
Memory 2x8 GB Dominator CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 500 GB w. EKWB EK-M.2 NVMe nickel heatsink / UV400 480 GB / Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / JDS Labs O2 AMP / K550 headphones
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse KANA
Keyboard K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64 / KIS 2018
Benchmark Scores 2141 lightyears per hour.......
#9
eehhh ... RAID is "Redundant Array of Independent Disks"......
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#10
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
519 (0.14/day)
Likes
60
Location
U of WY, USA
System Name Fusilli
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 C3 @ 3.9GHz (200x19.5, 1.51V)
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum 790FX/SB600 (AM2+)
Cooling Zalman 9700NT, 2x silent 80mm & 2x 120mm Scythe & Enermax
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.1V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4870 512MB @ 825/1050 (3x heatpipes)
Storage 2x 250GB RAID 0 - Seagate 7200.10 16MB on Promise FastTrak
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2450 & VX1940
Case Lian-Li PC60 PlusII
Audio Device(s) Auzen X-Fi Prelude, Denon AH-D1000 headphones
Power Supply OCZ GameXtreme 600W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage - P10909
#11
i chuckled at that one, i learned in school years ago: redundant array of independent drives
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#12
As the link I posted shows, it can be either, I learnt the original (albeit I mixed up the Random and Redundant bit).

The term was first coined when larger drives were very expensive, so the idea was to chain together a number of cheaper, smaller drives to achieve the effect.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
519 (0.14/day)
Likes
60
Location
U of WY, USA
System Name Fusilli
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 C3 @ 3.9GHz (200x19.5, 1.51V)
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum 790FX/SB600 (AM2+)
Cooling Zalman 9700NT, 2x silent 80mm & 2x 120mm Scythe & Enermax
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.1V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4870 512MB @ 825/1050 (3x heatpipes)
Storage 2x 250GB RAID 0 - Seagate 7200.10 16MB on Promise FastTrak
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2450 & VX1940
Case Lian-Li PC60 PlusII
Audio Device(s) Auzen X-Fi Prelude, Denon AH-D1000 headphones
Power Supply OCZ GameXtreme 600W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage - P10909
#13
JBOD: just a bunch of drives

that one sounds funny, but is actually correct lol
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#14
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
373 (0.09/day)
Likes
93
Location
Arizona, USA
Processor Intel Core i5 3450
Motherboard Asus P8H77-M Pro
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory 2x2GB G-Skill DDR3-2000
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660ti 2GB
Storage 128GB Samsung 830, 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) 23" Dell U2311H
Case Silverstone FT03 (titanium color)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892
Power Supply SeaSonic X series SS-460FL
Software Windows 8 Professional 64-bit
#15
Back on topic maybe?
The OP isn't asking what RAID stands for, they want to know what BIOS setting should be used and when.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,628 (0.34/day)
Likes
554
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X Base Clock @4.000.000.000 Hz
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (BIOS 3008)
Cooling Hydro H110i V2 High Performance
Memory 2x8 GB Dominator CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 500 GB w. EKWB EK-M.2 NVMe nickel heatsink / UV400 480 GB / Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / JDS Labs O2 AMP / K550 headphones
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse KANA
Keyboard K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64 / KIS 2018
Benchmark Scores 2141 lightyears per hour.......
#16
Hi.
I have a GA-MA74GM-S2H mobo, and a Seagate SATAII 150 GB Hard disk and I have installed Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit. I have enabled the AHCI mode for the SATA ports on BIOS
I am wondering if RAID mode is better than AHCI mode, though I have only one disk.

I enabled it anyway and Windows 7 refuses to boot (it restarts continously before the desktop is reached), I reverted to AHCI and it runs fine again.
Many thanks
I had the same problem, back when I was running with single disks.
On my Win7 64 bit I had to disable AHCI when installing...afterwards I then could enable AHCI mode again and the OS was running fine...I don´t know what the course is....

A little note: RAID0 is faster than AHCI when running - BUT...the boot-up time on a RAID
system is much slower due to the RAID controllers initializing of the disks/arrays.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#17
Hello, first, sorry for the late reply :(
Many thanks to all!
Then If I don't have more than one disk, the RAID mode is useless and should I use the AHCI? And if in the future I want to add another disk, then should I enable RAID mode and reinstall Windows?
And yeah the bootup time is faar slower because the mobo have to initialize the controller ... :-(and it used a RAID0/JBOD mode...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
IDE = the old standard
AHCI = IDE + NCQ and hotswap support
RAID = same as AHCI, but the ability to use RAID modes.


If you change a drive in/out of RAID, it has to be formatted. So yes, you have to reinstall windows if you use RAID at a later date. You do NOT need RAID to have multiple drives.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.37/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#19
mikek75 was right with Random array it is either.

Anyroad, as regards to RAID vs AHCI - Intel actually recommend that you use RAID instead of AHCI even if you're not using RAID features as this gives you...

"Maximum flexibility, due to the issues caused when the mode is switched once an operating system has already been installed."

... it is possible, if our nub 'technicians' built a machine with IDE enabled (AHCI is a requirement for our builds) I'd have to come in and swap 'em over to AHCI with Windows installed, from my own experience the RAID mode that Intel recommend you use doesn't offer any more benefits than AHCI unless you're going to bung in another drive and RAID them.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#21
No it is either inexpensive or independent, R always means redundant. Random makes no sense whatsoever.
^ what he said. JBOD is the only raid that would make sense with random
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#22
I already admitted I'd f***** up with the R abbreviation.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.37/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#23
No it is either inexpensive or independent, R always means redundant. Random makes no sense whatsoever.
I'll have to find the literature I have that states random - actually Mussels stated it before I finished my post. It's JBOD I was thinking of.