• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen DRAM Calculator by 1usmus

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,275 (4.29/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Give it a try..... gen 1.
 

warcraft

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2019
Messages
10 (0.05/day)
i did put dram current voltage to 1.36 and this is the result:
i successfully loged into windows .the question is: are these timings stable ? how can i test it ?any special program ?(sorry im newbie at this)
another thing: i put number 292 for tRFC but it jumps to 288 and tRTP jumps to 12 automaticly . why is that?

132474
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 21, 2013
Messages
499 (0.21/day)
Anyone here have Hynic J-Die based memory? I recently bought Kingston HyperX 3200 CL16 (2x8) and expected to get C-Die (CJR) but got J-Die (JJR) instead.

Thankfully it seems to clock as good as CJR when comparing the results. Currently running at 3733Mhz 16-19-18-36 1T in 1:1 mode with IF at 1867 on X570 Aorus Master.

There's literally no info about this J die i can find. It's fairly new on my kit. Manufactured in the middle of august in Keelung, Taiwan at 18nm.

Obviously the calclulator does not have this listed. Hopefully if the creator is monitoring this topic it will be added in the future version. In the meantime i used CJR option when calculating timings tho i can only calculate safe timings for some reason. It's a start but i can basicly tighten most things the calculator recommends.

Untitled3.jpg
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
664 (0.13/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor Intel Core i5 4670k
Motherboard Asrock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu Mark II
Memory 2x8GB Kingston DDR3 1600 CL11
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1070 Katana
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD + Kurtzweil KS-40A bookshelf
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Oh wow there is Samsung OEM RAM now which is what I use, judging by the calculator it gets very close to what I could get by manually tweaking them. I disable Gear Down mode though. Probably I could tweak it a bit more.

132505
 

warcraft

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2019
Messages
10 (0.05/day)
Here it is Overclocked DRAM. Actually it's working at the base clock 3000Mhz - but i improved timing and got better passmark rank. i think i can get better clock speed 3200Mhz. but i don't want to mess with her :)) also i didn't do any stress tests.

however i did a couple of benchmarking programs as stability test. and also have played several games such as (Control - Wolfenstein Youngblood - Deus Ex - Mankind Divided) and some more. i think its stable now. i don't agree with stress testing rams and cpus to inform stability.

132540
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
664 (0.13/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor Intel Core i5 4670k
Motherboard Asrock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu Mark II
Memory 2x8GB Kingston DDR3 1600 CL11
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1070 Katana
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD + Kurtzweil KS-40A bookshelf
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Here it is Overclocked DRAM. Actually it's working at the base clock 3000Mhz - but i improved timing and got better passmark rank. i think i can get better clock speed 3200Mhz. but i don't want to mess with her :)) also i didn't do any stress tests.

however i did a couple of benchmarking programs as stability test. and also have played several games such as (Control - Wolfenstein Youngblood - Deus Ex - Mankind Divided) and some more. i think its stable now. i don't agree with stress testing rams and cpus to inform stability.
I do agree that running stress test is unnecessary, I usually load the RAM to max by opening browser with multiple tabs then running games that require lots of RAM. Can be a pain if you progressing the game and it crashed, if so I just resorted to using RAM stress test for about 5-15 minutes. It should spew error within that timeframe
 

warcraft

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2019
Messages
10 (0.05/day)
Hello
i have two different Drams.
1-Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 3000MHz - Samsung E-Die
2-Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB 3000MHz - Micron E-Die
and i got these timings for each one.From (Ryzen DRAM Calculator 1.6.2)
my question is which timing should i set into BIOS to get best result?

Elite.png
sport.png
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,248 (1.97/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Hello
i have two different Drams.
1-Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 3000MHz - Samsung E-Die
2-Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB 3000MHz - Micron E-Die
and i got these timings for each one.From (Ryzen DRAM Calculator 1.6.2)
my question is which timing should i set into BIOS to get best result?

View attachment 134601View attachment 134602
Do you have them both in the same system at the same time? As two separate bought dual channel kits?.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,248 (1.97/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
If you have both at the same time always use the higher (worse) timings.
I would say if you have it working consider leaving it but the higher settings might not be loose enough especially on TRC and trfc times to accommodate that many sticks, worth a try though.
 

warcraft

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2019
Messages
10 (0.05/day)
Do you have them both in the same system at the same time? As two separate bought dual channel kits?.
i have them at the same system at the time.

If you have both at the same time always use the higher (worse) timings.
that's what i thought. but tRFC number is bothering me.what is this huge deference for? both sticks are 3000Mhz from same company.
these are timings i have set- i picked (higher) value from each column . how should i know if drams are stable or not ?

current.png

i have played couple of games - control + Wolfenstein Youngblood - every thing is okay till now. any other tests should i run?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,248 (1.97/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
i have them at the same system at the time.


that's what i thought. but tRFC number is bothering me.what is this huge deference for? both sticks are 3000Mhz from same company.
these are timings i have set- i picked (higher) value from each column . how should i know if drams are stable or not ?

View attachment 134606
i have played couple of games - control + Wolfenstein Youngblood - every thing is okay till now. any other tests should i run?
The ryzen calc includes a stability test.
Try looser trc and trfc settings if it fails.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2013
Messages
499 (0.21/day)
Samsung has much tighter secondary timings than Micron or Hynix. The company that produced the stick does not matter in this case. What matters is the chip supplier. Roughly there are 3 companies that make DRAM chips: Samsung, SK Hynix and Micron. You may buy two kits from the same manufacturer like for example Crucial in you case (they are actually a subsidiary of Micron). They have the same speeds, same price. Same looks and perhaphs even the same XMP timings.

Because XMP only sets the voltage, frequency and primary timings people often think it's ok to use these kits together because they appear to be the same. But they are not the same. Generally you never mix and match two different kits together. That's just asking for trouble.

I had that experince on DDR3 days where i bought one G.Skill kit. And later bought a second G.Skill kit that even had the same product code and was identical by all accounts. It was not until i installed both kits on the motherboard that i found that the newer kit actually had worse secondary timings. And even setting both kits to use those worse timings was not enough to achieve stability.

You should run memtest86 from a bootable usb stick (full 7 hour test) or run memtest64 in windows.
I would not worry about tRFC too much. Despite the high number it does not have as massive impact on performance as the number would suggest. Infact the difference between 292 and 504 may only be visible in benchmarks.
 

warcraft

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2019
Messages
10 (0.05/day)
Samsung has much tighter secondary timings than Micron or Hynix. The company that produced the stick does not matter in this case. What matters is the chip supplier. Roughly there are 3 companies that make DRAM chips: Samsung, SK Hynix and Micron. You may buy two kits from the same manufacturer like for example Crucial in you case (they are actually a subsidiary of Micron). They have the same speeds, same price. Same looks and perhaphs even the same XMP timings.

Because XMP only sets the voltage, frequency and primary timings people often think it's ok to use these kits together because they appear to be the same. But they are not the same. Generally you never mix and match two different kits together. That's just asking for trouble.

I had that experince on DDR3 days where i bought one G.Skill kit. And later bought a second G.Skill kit that even had the same product code and was identical by all accounts. It was not until i installed both kits on the motherboard that i found that the newer kit actually had worse secondary timings. And even setting both kits to use those worse timings was not enough to achieve stability.

You should run memtest86 from a bootable usb stick (full 7 hour test) or run memtest64 in windows.
I would not worry about tRFC too much. Despite the high number it does not have as massive impact on performance as the number would suggest. Infact the difference between 292 and 504 may only be visible in benchmarks.
i got it - thank you so much for your time.
thats became interesting... so what Must i set as Memory Type in Ryzen DRAM Calculator 1.6.2 program for each Dram ?
111.png
22222.png
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2013
Messages
499 (0.21/day)
The types you set before were correct. The Ballistix Sport is defenetly Micron E-Die even if for some reason the Raw card designer shows SK Hynix for some reason. If the memory kit has AES in it's module number/product code then it is guaranteed Micron E-Die.
The Ballistix Elite does seem Samsung E-Die.

Im not a memory expert but from what i know of these chips the Samsung E-Die has better secondary timings to run at stock but is not so good for overclocking, but the Micron E-Die has worse secondary timings but is much better for overclocking.
 

warcraft

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2019
Messages
10 (0.05/day)
The types you set before were correct. The Ballistix Sport is defenetly Micron E-Die even if for some reason the Raw card designer shows SK Hynix for some reason. If the memory kit has AES in it's module number/product code then it is guaranteed Micron E-Die.
The Ballistix Elite does seem Samsung E-Die.

Im not a memory expert but from what i know of these chips the Samsung E-Die has better secondary timings to run at stock but is not so good for overclocking, but the Micron E-Die has worse secondary timings but is much better for overclocking.
very appreciated to you:love:
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
647 (0.17/day)
System Name Sky OC
Processor i5-6500T@ 4400 MHz
Motherboard Z170 K4/D3
Cooling i7 stock cooler
Memory DDR3 @2400 MT/s 9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64
Storage Silicon Power A80
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Logi
Keyboard Logi
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
Love your program. Requesting some insight on Hynix D 17nm.

135150
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
10 (0.06/day)
Location
Poland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Msi B450 Tomahawk MAX Agesa 1.0.0.4
Cooling Thermalright Hr-02 Macho Rev. B
Memory HyperX Predator RGB, DDR4, 16 GB,3200MHz, CL16 (HX432C16PB3AK2/16 ) @ 3733-16-19-19-19-36 1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Nvidia RTX 2070Super 8GB
Storage ADATA SX8200PNP 512GB - PLEXTOR PX-256M6Pro 256GB - ST2000DM008-2FR102 2TB
Display(s) Predator XB 241H
Case Fractal Meshify C
Audio Device(s) Xonar DX
Power Supply Seasoonic Focus Plus Gold 650W
Software WIN 10 1909 Home
Anyone here have Hynic J-Die based memory? I recently bought Kingston HyperX 3200 CL16 (2x8) and expected to get C-Die (CJR) but got J-Die (JJR) instead.

Thankfully it seems to clock as good as CJR when comparing the results. Currently running at 3733Mhz 16-19-18-36 1T in 1:1 mode with IF at 1867 on X570 Aorus Master.

There's literally no info about this J die i can find. It's fairly new on my kit. Manufactured in the middle of august in Keelung, Taiwan at 18nm.

Obviously the calclulator does not have this listed. Hopefully if the creator is monitoring this topic it will be added in the future version. In the meantime i used CJR option when calculating timings tho i can only calculate safe timings for some reason. It's a start but i can basicly tighten most things the calculator recommends.

View attachment 132494
ad c-die sent for warranty and sent me J-die could you give me your exact timing settings so that you can reach your rating? from cpu-Z e.g. photo? and the voltage you gave on these memories ... for now so, but unfortunately 1 error pops up in memtest 5 ...
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 21, 2013
Messages
499 (0.21/day)
ad c-die sent for warranty and sent me J-die could you give me your exact timing settings so that you can reach your rating? from cpu-Z e.g. photo? and the voltage you gave on these memories ... for now so, but unfortunately 1 error pops up in memtest 5 ...
Im using 1.45v. These are the settings DRAM Calculator recommends. The performance i get currently and the actual settings from BIOS. Hope this helps.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
10 (0.06/day)
Location
Poland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Msi B450 Tomahawk MAX Agesa 1.0.0.4
Cooling Thermalright Hr-02 Macho Rev. B
Memory HyperX Predator RGB, DDR4, 16 GB,3200MHz, CL16 (HX432C16PB3AK2/16 ) @ 3733-16-19-19-19-36 1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Nvidia RTX 2070Super 8GB
Storage ADATA SX8200PNP 512GB - PLEXTOR PX-256M6Pro 256GB - ST2000DM008-2FR102 2TB
Display(s) Predator XB 241H
Case Fractal Meshify C
Audio Device(s) Xonar DX
Power Supply Seasoonic Focus Plus Gold 650W
Software WIN 10 1909 Home
Im using 1.45v. These are the settings DRAM Calculator recommends. The performance i get currently and the actual settings from BIOS. Hope this helps.
I have the msi b450 tomahawk max disc but I hope that even though the 3600 will reach ... and I have a question, did you test memory stability after oc? Eg TestMem5 from this Russian publisher? because it's very important how you can run the test if you have any errors
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2013
Messages
499 (0.21/day)
I have the msi b450 tomahawk max disc but I hope that even though the 3600 will reach ... and I have a question, did you test memory stability after oc? Eg TestMem5 from this Russian publisher? because it's very important how you can run the test if you have any errors
I used Memtest x86 from a bootable USB stick. It ran for 60 minutes and completed almost 2 passes. No errors were reported so i considered it stable. So far i have not noticed any problems using the computer for a month. I believe these settings are also somewhat motherboard and CPU dependant. For example my 3800X does not go over 1867 IF clock so i have to limit the memory to 3733Mhz too. If this was not the case this kit would do over 4000Mhz easily.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
10 (0.06/day)
Location
Poland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Msi B450 Tomahawk MAX Agesa 1.0.0.4
Cooling Thermalright Hr-02 Macho Rev. B
Memory HyperX Predator RGB, DDR4, 16 GB,3200MHz, CL16 (HX432C16PB3AK2/16 ) @ 3733-16-19-19-19-36 1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Nvidia RTX 2070Super 8GB
Storage ADATA SX8200PNP 512GB - PLEXTOR PX-256M6Pro 256GB - ST2000DM008-2FR102 2TB
Display(s) Predator XB 241H
Case Fractal Meshify C
Audio Device(s) Xonar DX
Power Supply Seasoonic Focus Plus Gold 650W
Software WIN 10 1909 Home
Memtest 86 not good for ddr4... 3733 is good for infinity fabric max next go to low timings 20=>19 its my thanks for you help 3200 to 3733 very good

I used Memtest x86 from a bootable USB stick. It ran for 60 minutes and completed almost 2 passes. No errors were reported so i considered it stable. So far i have not noticed any problems using the computer for a month. I believe these settings are also somewhat motherboard and CPU dependant. For example my 3800X does not go over 1867 IF clock so i have to limit the memory to 3733Mhz too. If this was not the case this kit would do over 4000Mhz easily.
infinity fabric ends at this setting, therefore, for ryzenów 3600 memories are recommended because 3733 are not sold at 4000, the asychnorical setting is already set and then the performance drops ... it would be worth fighting for lower timing cl 16 here is ok but those that have 20 e.g. go down to 19 or 18
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 21, 2013
Messages
499 (0.21/day)
Memtest 86 not good for ddr4... 3733 is good for infinity fabric max next go to low timings 20=>19 its my thanks for you help 3200 to 3733 very good


infinity fabric ends at this setting, therefore, for ryzenów 3600 memories are recommended because 3733 are not sold at 4000, the asychnorical setting is already set and then the performance drops ... it would be worth fighting for lower timing cl 16 here is ok but those that have 20 e.g. go down to 19 or 18
Perhaps. I have not had time to test with other programs. I did test 16-19-18-36 but it was not stable in memtest although it was stable in windows. 16-19-19-36 was also not stable. 16-20-20-36 is stable from what i can determine. Atleast at 3733Mhz.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
10 (0.06/day)
Location
Poland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Msi B450 Tomahawk MAX Agesa 1.0.0.4
Cooling Thermalright Hr-02 Macho Rev. B
Memory HyperX Predator RGB, DDR4, 16 GB,3200MHz, CL16 (HX432C16PB3AK2/16 ) @ 3733-16-19-19-19-36 1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Nvidia RTX 2070Super 8GB
Storage ADATA SX8200PNP 512GB - PLEXTOR PX-256M6Pro 256GB - ST2000DM008-2FR102 2TB
Display(s) Predator XB 241H
Case Fractal Meshify C
Audio Device(s) Xonar DX
Power Supply Seasoonic Focus Plus Gold 650W
Software WIN 10 1909 Home
Ok 1.45 v is goot for 24/7?? Norma this ram 1.25 xmp 1. 35
 
Top