1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SPDTool: Read, Edit and Flash your Memory's SPD

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by W1zzard, Nov 17, 2006.

  1. up4it New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Frequency

    Much appreciated James...no wasn't talking about Chinese ram - more Korean / Japanese

    You're right i'm running Windows 7 64bit, so 8gb seems the best first target.
    The only sticks I've seen anywhere running reasonably better timings are Patriot CL5 - so maybe the right target..wonder if anyone has the spd profile for these.

    You also mentioned frequency would be worth looking at - but is this an option in my case? Would changing the top 400mhz frequency of the DDR2 SODIMMs to 533 lead to the motherboard accepting this and maybe even overclocking the cpu that way??? Tried to look at cpu overclocking a while back through setFSB only to find that the bios on my motherboard wouldn't support it.
     
  2. SetsunaFZero

    SetsunaFZero

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    175 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Austria
    i thought i should upload my XMP profiles "Thaiphoon Burner only"
    1600 is from an Corsair Vengeance LP CML8GX3M2A
    and 1866 from CMZ8GX3M2A

    can anyone upload the 2133 and 2400 Corsair Vengeance profiles?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. TerryG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    SPDTool fixed my memory!

    I realize this is very old, but what a find for me.

    I recently bought 2 2gig 800MHz ddr2 sticks from Nemix. They would not run at 800, only 667. After considerable research I found this tool and used it to copy the file from the eprom on one stick to the other eprom (the timings were not identical).

    Bingo! The memory now runs at 800.

    And it passed the Win7 memory test, FWIW.:D

    TR
     
  4. maxionline New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Patriot 2x8gb

    Hi, i bought a 16gb (2X8GB) patriot viper 3 kit (PV316G160C0K). This mem are 1600mhz cas 10 1.5v.

    I was trying to oc this beyond 1866mhz but is impossible, it dont have an XMP profile over 1600mhz. Someone can post for me one XMP profile from a Patriot Viper 3 1866/2133mhz 8gb to flash in my mem and see if it work fine?

    Thx!

    (sorry, my english sucks)
     
  5. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,889 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,813
    I know this isn't supported, but I actually need this for an older PC.

    Can anyone reupload? Link is broken.
     
  6. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,270 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    try this might work depending on your chipset
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. pulse New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm in the same predicament. Can't find SPDTool anywhere :-/
     
  8. Bambooz

    Bambooz

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    143 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Germany
    ^ http://ks3096924.kimsufi.com/TPU/SPDTool_063.zip
    :toast:

    edit: removed the derpybird.tk domain since freenom decided they don't want me as a (paying!) customer
    (removed all options to renew the domain 10 days before it expired.. totally not on purpose to redirect to spamvertising crap later.. naaaah)
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2015
  9. ntinos kotsoulis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi.. I have an Asus 1101ha netbook and i cant SPD my RAM..What utility can i use for that?
    the link above does not exists.. :/
    Thank you in advance..
     
  10. c0V3Ro

    c0V3Ro

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brazil
    Got a Dell 5421 that I'd love to hack OEM rams :]
     
  11. Ascii2

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks W1zzard for the useful SPDTool software.

    Please note that I have found the following problems with the SPDTool 0.63 software:
    • When editing DDR SDRAM SPD data, CAS Latency selection of 2 actually applies CAS Latency setting of 2.5.
    • When editing DDR SDRAM SPD data, CAS Latency selection of 4 actually applies CAS Latency setting of 3 and shows CAS Latency setting of 4 in Timing Summary.
    • When editing DDR2 SDRAM SPD data, CAS Latency selection of "3, 5, 6" actually applies CAS Latency settings of 3, 5, and 6, but Timming Summary shows 4,5,6.
    • Selection of 2.5 for CAS Latency of DDR SDRAM is not available.
    • No way to remove or undefine a frequency/timings combination.
    It also seems like there could be other issues with the CAS Latency selection option, especially for DDR SDRAM.


    For future versions of the software, I request the following features/changes:
    1. Indicate what file or module is open
    2. Compare to a file
    3. Ability to import from Clipboard
    4. Ability to manually modify Hex editor data
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2014
  12. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    752 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    I realize this thread is old, is there a newer version of the tool that supports DDR3 Kingston HyperX 8GB and Also Corsair Vengeance 8GB modules ?

    Error MSG.PNG

    That is the what i get when i open the tool
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2015
  13. jtleon

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    215 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Southern Arizona, USA
    Greetings TPU Gurus,
    Thought I would drop in again (once every 5 years, more than enough right?).
    Again I must praise our Most Excellent & Merciful W1zzard, for this thy miraculously powerful SPDTool !!!:respect::respect::respect:
    I am trying to nail down the highest performing timings for Intel's G33 chipset.
    I have gotten "lucky" (trial & error) with timings on the HP Nettle 2 boards (MCP61), and am seeing similar gains on the G33 board (Dell), using the exact same SPD settings.
    I am hoping that one of you might know of a G33 expert archive, etc., that might have value.

    As always, thanks in advance.
    (P.S. Also looking for the OEM's BIOS logic for toggling CR1 and CR2, based on timings.)
     
  14. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,694 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,461
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Brought that back from the dead didn't you

    this is just a STACK of Necro's isnt it?

    if your genuinely looking for information regarding G33 timing's, may i suggest You create a thread specifically geared toward that? it may bear more fruit.

    Good Luck, and Welcome back
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2016
    qubit says thanks.
  15. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,889 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,813

    To be fair, what he's asking can only be found in the dusty tombes of a computer necropolis...
     
    qubit and jboydgolfer say thanks.
  16. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,694 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,461
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    yeah, i *edited* and pointed out that it might be easier if He created a thread geared specifically @ that G33 timing issue

    either way, i dont mind necros, kinda liked the Avatar of that user a couple posts up ;)...itsl ike lookign into a time capsule
     
  17. jtleon

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    215 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Southern Arizona, USA
    Many Thanks Jboy & R-T-B for the quick responses, and advisement, I will try to web search on G33 details more extensively, before creating a fresh "necropolis" thread on the subject. No doubt most G33 boards have been "Gold Harvested" by now.
    However, we still have dial up internet speeds here in the desert, so who's foolin' who?
    All the Best !
     
    R-T-B and jboydgolfer say thanks.
  18. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,694 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,461
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Best of luck in your search you're a more determined person than I am ...

    :toast:
     
    jtleon says thanks.
  19. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,889 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,813
    Duh-duh-dial up?

    Forget the thread necropolis, that's scary shit man.

    Good luck!
     
  20. jtleon

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    215 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Southern Arizona, USA
    All Good Gents,
    Found plenty, so far, using our blessed SPDTool - and memtest checked, here is the latest numbers;
    CPU Type QuadCore Intel Xeon L5430, 2666 MHz (8 x 333)
    Motherboard Name Dell Vostro 410, Motherboard Chipset Intel Bearlake G33
    System Memory 3328 MB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM), Module Name Corsair XMS2 CM2X2048-6400C5JTL
    Serial Number None, Module Size 2 GB (2 ranks, 8 banks)
    Module Type Unbuffered DIMM, Memory Type DDR2 SDRAM
    Memory Speed DDR2-800 (400 MHz), Module Width 64 bit
    Module Voltage SSTL 1.8, Error Detection Method None
    Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh
    Memory Timings:
    @ 400 MHz 4-4-4-12 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 16-51-3-6-3-3 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
    @ 333 MHz 3-4-4-10 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 14-43-3-5-3-3 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
    @ 266 MHz 2-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 11-34-2-4-2-2 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
    Memory Module Features:
    Analysis Probe Not Present, FET Switch External Disabled, Weak Driver Supported

    I am hesitant to drive these to CAS 3, don't really want to learn how to recover them, yet. Will advise when I learn more.
    Thanks,
     
  21. jtleon

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    215 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Southern Arizona, USA
    HOLY FREAKIN' JEBUS,

    Thanks so much to cka3o4nuk - if you are still out there !!! I just debricked my module using this technique. When I first read this, I thought it was a joke - it is not - it works perfectly, as long as you have a bootable module in another slot ! Just pre-seat the bricked module as far as possible, before contact, powerup, then fully seat after post. If you don't believe, see which module below should not be working (at least would not post when seated fully).

    Motherboard Chipset Intel Bearlake G33
    DIMM1: Corsair XMS2 CM2X2048-6400C5JTL 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (4-4-4-12 @ 400 MHz) (3-4-4-10 @ 333 MHz) (2-3-3-8 @ 266 MHz)
    DIMM3: Corsair XMS2 CM2X2048-6400C5JTL 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (3-4-4-12 @ 400 MHz) (2-4-4-10 @ 333 MHz)

    Now the CAS 3 module above has been restored to CAS 4 - and all is working !

    Yes I understand the risks so many of you detailed, but Christ, it works ! Will I do it again, nope, not a gambler.

    Thanks again!

    (Hmmm, what if I could seat two CAS2 modules after booting on a CAS4 - then pull the CAS4....)
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2016
  22. aplikasiandroid New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    1 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    anyone would kindly share the spd file from a corsair cm2x1024-6400?
     
  23. jtleon

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    215 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Southern Arizona, USA
    Hmmmm....So this should work, if you adjust the capacity to 1 Gb. Note that this file is at the max possible speed - it might not work on your system.
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)