• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Strange CPU temp

Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
158
Likes
14
Location
Sofia, Bulgaria
System Name Ales Alitis
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Cooling Xigmatek RED SCORPION-S1283; 2*120 + 1*140 case fans
Memory 4GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ALBTRON 8800GT 512MB
Storage 2*Seagate SATA 160GB RAID 0; Seagate SATA 320GB; Samsung 500GB on eSATA
Display(s) KTC K-W2205S-T 22"
Case Cooler Master CM 690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Auzen X-Plosion
Power Supply Chieftech CFT-650A-14C
Software Windows 7 RC x64
#1
I'm runing E8400 with Xigmatek S1283 cooling at stock. Everest shows CPU temp at 32°C and core1 and core2 at 50+°C.
Is this normal? I'm planing on bringing the CPU up to 4GHz but first I need to sort this out.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#2
I'm runing E8400 with Xigmatek S1283 cooling at stock. Everest shows CPU temp at 32°C and core1 and core2 at 50+°C.
Is this normal? I'm planing on bringing the CPU up to 4GHz but first I need to sort this out.
I suppose it depends on your ambient temps and case flow.

Core temps are usually about 10*C higher than CPu temp.

What does coretemp and realtemp show for temps?

Either that or you got an e8400 with a bad sensor (seems quite common)

Also are these idle or load temps?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,743
Likes
6,002
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#3
With realtemp you can do a sensor check to make sure they are working properly, if they are not or one of them is not then your readings will be skewed.
 
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
158
Likes
14
Location
Sofia, Bulgaria
System Name Ales Alitis
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Cooling Xigmatek RED SCORPION-S1283; 2*120 + 1*140 case fans
Memory 4GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ALBTRON 8800GT 512MB
Storage 2*Seagate SATA 160GB RAID 0; Seagate SATA 320GB; Samsung 500GB on eSATA
Display(s) KTC K-W2205S-T 22"
Case Cooler Master CM 690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Auzen X-Plosion
Power Supply Chieftech CFT-650A-14C
Software Windows 7 RC x64
#4
The ambient temp is 28°C - 30°C. I'll check with coretemp and realtemp when I'm home (I'm at work now).
How to do a sensor check with realtemp?

Edit: These are idle temps.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,743
Likes
6,002
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#5
The ambient temp is 28°C - 30°C. I'll check with coretemp and realtemp when I'm home (I'm at work now).
How to do a sensor check with realtemp?

Edit: These are idle temps.
Just click on the button in realtemp, it will then give you a figure for each core with instructions, that will tell you.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
1,065
Likes
146
#6
If I remember correctly that CPU had problems with certain mobos regarding this same issue. So it could be that the program is just reporting the temperature wrong.
 
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
158
Likes
14
Location
Sofia, Bulgaria
System Name Ales Alitis
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Cooling Xigmatek RED SCORPION-S1283; 2*120 + 1*140 case fans
Memory 4GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ALBTRON 8800GT 512MB
Storage 2*Seagate SATA 160GB RAID 0; Seagate SATA 320GB; Samsung 500GB on eSATA
Display(s) KTC K-W2205S-T 22"
Case Cooler Master CM 690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Auzen X-Plosion
Power Supply Chieftech CFT-650A-14C
Software Windows 7 RC x64
#7
Thanks, mates. I've just got home and I'll run Realtemp and see what will hapan. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
158
Likes
14
Location
Sofia, Bulgaria
System Name Ales Alitis
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Cooling Xigmatek RED SCORPION-S1283; 2*120 + 1*140 case fans
Memory 4GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ALBTRON 8800GT 512MB
Storage 2*Seagate SATA 160GB RAID 0; Seagate SATA 320GB; Samsung 500GB on eSATA
Display(s) KTC K-W2205S-T 22"
Case Cooler Master CM 690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Auzen X-Plosion
Power Supply Chieftech CFT-650A-14C
Software Windows 7 RC x64
#8
It shows 34°C-38°C with 10%-15% load and ambient temp of 32°C. Thats more normal.

Now is there software which I can use to control the speed of the CPU fan? It's runing at full speed becouse Windows think my CPU is overheating.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#9
try speedfan
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274
Likes
10,359
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Your motherboard BIOS should allow you to control the speed of the fan.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,743
Likes
6,002
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#11
Your motherboard BIOS should allow you to control the speed of the fan.
+1......normally under "hardware monitor" or a similar name.
 
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
158
Likes
14
Location
Sofia, Bulgaria
System Name Ales Alitis
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Cooling Xigmatek RED SCORPION-S1283; 2*120 + 1*140 case fans
Memory 4GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ALBTRON 8800GT 512MB
Storage 2*Seagate SATA 160GB RAID 0; Seagate SATA 320GB; Samsung 500GB on eSATA
Display(s) KTC K-W2205S-T 22"
Case Cooler Master CM 690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Auzen X-Plosion
Power Supply Chieftech CFT-650A-14C
Software Windows 7 RC x64
#12
Speedfan doesn't seems to work. I'll see what I can do in BIOS.