• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

The New EVGA Dual GTX 560 Ti That Thinks It's A GTX 585

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#1
EVGA has just announced a new dual GPU card based on the GF114 GPU – check out the product launch page here and the product page here. If their performance graph on that launch page is accurate, then the card is around 30% faster than a GTX 580 when running the Unigene Heaven benchmark. The output panel contains three DVI connectors for NVIDIA 3D Surround, along with a mini HDMI port. The cooler has three fans, which should make for a well-cooled and reasonably quiet card. The marketing blurb says:
Introducing the EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2Win
It may not be called a GTX 585, but it's the next best thing. This card harnesses the power of two EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti GPU's for blistering fast DirectX 11 performance, including tessellation performance that destroys the competition. Experience a whole new level of interactive gaming and combine up to three displays off a single card for the ultimate in 3D entertainment, or disable Surround and combine up to four displays for maximum productivity. With these features and more, the EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2Win gives you double the GPU's and double the win!
Show full news post
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
1,453 (0.51/day)
Likes
227
System Name 2K Gamer
Processor AMD 8370 @ 4.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Pro Gaming / Aura 970
Cooling Corsair H60 AIO
Memory 16GB G. Skill RipJaw @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP! GTX 1070
Storage Samsung 600 Gig HDD (Raid 0 @ 7,500) / WD 1TB Blue @ 7,200 / PNY 128 GB SSD For Linux
Display(s) 27'' ASUS 144MHZ G-SYNC Read 1400p Gaming Monitor / 23'' LG LCD Flatron W2361VG 1080p @ 50,000:1
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Realtek
Power Supply 750w Corsair HX
Mouse Cougar Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse
Software Windows 10 64bit Education Edition
#2
meh..its a nice card, don't get me wrong. But, only 1GB VRAM? :shadedshu
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#3
It's a good card indeed but I think that EVGA made a big mistake by not increasing the VRAM from 1GB to something more... as Anand pointed out the price tag is such of an high end card and surely it isn't aimed at gaming on 1080p because a single 560ti would just do it, the problem is that with 1GB per GPU you would surely hit the wall at which you'd be suffering by using this instead of what to say a 6950 2GB CFX or a 580 3GB even 1,5GB

As Qubit already mentioned by using a dual GPU solution you'd be exposed to the microstuttering phenomenom that as far as I know it's going to outweigh the 30% framerate advantage over a single 580.
I'm still of the way of thinking of going for the fastest single chip before thinking a dual gpu configuration, then if the fastest single chip is not enough then you'd be going for a dual solution based on the fastest chip... of course if possible.
 
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,514 (0.48/day)
Likes
257
Location
South California, The desert.
System Name My Computer
Processor Core 2 Q9550 4Ghz 1.23volts
Motherboard Gigabyte
Cooling Corsair
Memory OCZ
Video Card(s) Galaxy
Storage Western Digital
Display(s) Acer
Case Lian li
Audio Device(s) Asus
Power Supply Corsiar
Software Microsoft
Benchmark Scores 25,000 3dmark06 at 4.35Ghz processor, 835core card!
#4
Love the card, Love that they whore'ed on the cooling for the card(its going to need it).

I just have to note this to anybody interested:


*NOTE*** "CAN give you the performance 2Win!!"

What they need to do is release a card that is shown and proven, in multiple setups that it really does have great dual GPU performance, and you do not need to have the selected hardware and tweaks to actually be a Win. I might be wrong though, express the criticism :)

But, If I remember right, Sometimes the second gpu never gets fully utilized, Sometimes there are stuttering issue's, Sometimes there are power issue's, Sometimes there are Unsafe Heat Issue's, and Sometimes there are under utilization issue's that are huge in some cases.

But great for the uni bench!!!


meh..its a nice card, don't get me wrong. But, only 1GB VRAM? :shadedshu
1GB vram per GPU, 2gb overall total...
But If I am right, I believe you are talking about issue's that will arise, when 1 GPU is maxed out on Vram, and software utilization and frame-rate lockups will occur,
Very possible, and is a negative in some aspects.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#5
Love the card, Love that they whore'ed on the cooling for the card(its going to need it).

I just have to note this to anybody interested:
http://img.techpowerup.org/111105/Capture347.jpg

*NOTE*** "CAN give you the performance 2Win!!"

What they need to do is release a card that is shown and proven, in multiple setups that it really does have great dual GPU performance, and you do not need to have the selected hardware and tweaks to actually be a Win. I might be wrong though, express the criticism :)


But, If I remember right, Sometimes the second gpu never gets fully utilized, Sometimes there are stuttering issue's, Sometimes there are power issue's, Sometimes there are Unsafe Heat Issue's, and Sometimes there are under utilization issue's that are huge in some cases.

But great for the uni bench!!!
There was a good article on Tom's that was linked on this forum some time ago that analyzed microstuttering, one of the simpliest way to avoid it was to add a third GPU to the mix to even the minimum framerate, as far as I know this one does not have the SLI bridge.

EDIT : by looking another time at the pics it seems to have the SLI bridge so it seems you can add another one to counter micro stutter

EDIT2 : here I've found the thread for who might be interested and maybe missed it ;)
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=151155
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#6
Good points people

Yes, that 1GB RAM is quite a limitation for a graphics card at this performance level. Well spotted.

Makes the thing a bit of a sidegrade, doesn't it?

@radrok: The SLI bridge is actually listed in the specs in the article. :)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#7
Yes, that 1GB RAM is quite a limitation for a graphics card at this performance level. Well spotted.

Makes the thing a bit of a sidegrade, doesn't it?

@radrok: The SLI bridge is actually listed in the specs in the article. :)

:toast:Thanks, I totally missed it, maybe it's time to take a nap, it's 2:00 AM :eek:
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
3,111 (1.16/day)
Likes
1,552
System Name The "Oh shit we have competition"
Processor Core i7 8700K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Ultra Gaming
Cooling Custom WC & 240MM Rad
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4 DDR4 2666Mhz 16GB
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream GTX 1080 OC 8GB
Storage 5TB HDDs + 1TB SSDs
Display(s) U2713HM + 2433T + XL2430T 144Hz
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Mouse The almighty Logitech G400
Keyboard Cougar 600K Cherry-MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Pro
#8
I'd take two HD6950 2GB's graphics cards K10XBI
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#9
Its a well funky looking unit, a lot of releases lately, especially dual/triple fan and dual gpus on one card. Good to have the choice though, i would have thought it would support more than 3 monitors?
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
559 (0.24/day)
Likes
22
Location
Islamabad
System Name Hhumas-PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Extreme CPU X9650 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS 9700 NT 110mm 2 Ball Ultra Quiet
Memory OCZ Platinium 2x2GB
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5
Storage WD Green 500 GB , WD 500 GB
Display(s) Dell U2410F
Case Casecom
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit
#10
I was planing to get GTX 560ti ... but i think i should go for it ...
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#11
Id have a really good look around before i got this card, it seems somewhat overpriced to me, just my opinion though.

Its a dual config setup even though its one card, you could get two 2gb radeons for around the same outlay, that would total 4 gb memory in dual config.If you are using more than 1 monitor, the extra memory is the go far as i know.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#12
Id have a really good look around before i got this card, it seems somewhat overpriced to me, just my opinion though.

Its a dual config setup even though its one card, you could get two 2gb radeons for around the same outlay, that would total 4 gb memory in dual config.If you are using more than 1 monitor, the extra memory is the go far as i know.
Yeah but remember, in SLI/Cfx configuration the VRAM does not add, it mirrors, if you have a pair of 2GB VGA you'll have a total of 2GB anyway! :)
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.75/day)
Likes
345
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
#13
SMH why not actually improve cards instead of just adding dual gpu crap.....
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#14
Seems like this card was made to compete with the HD6870x2 2GB.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,103 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,531
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
1GB vram per GPU, 2gb overall total...
But If I am right, I believe you are talking about issue's that will arise, when 1 GPU is maxed out on Vram, and software utilization and frame-rate lockups will occur,
Very possible, and is a negative in some aspects.
ram isnt additive in SLI, so its only 1GB of usable VRAM.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
867 (0.29/day)
Likes
207
Location
London, UK
System Name The one under the desk / Media Centre
Processor Xeon X3730@3.6GHZ / Phenom II X4 805E
Motherboard Gigabyte P55M-UD4 / Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Corsair H70 + 2*PWM fan / Arctic Alpine 11
Memory 16GB DRR3-1333 9-9-9-27 / 4GB Crucial DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU GTX 680 / Gigabyte 560TI
Storage Kingston V200 128GB, WD6400AAKS, 1TB Seagate 7.2kRPM SSHD / Kingston V200 128GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343BW + Dell Ultrasharp 1600*1200 / 32" TV
Case C'M' Silencio 550 / Some ancient SilverStone brushed aluminium media centre
Audio Device(s) No.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W / EVGA 430W
Mouse Mionix Naos 3200 / Generic PS2
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro / Evoluent Mouse Friendly Keyboard (Logitech OEM)
Software Windows 7 Ult x64
Benchmark Scores Nah.
#16
Won't this end up using more power than a 590?
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#17
<SNIP>

EDIT : by looking another time at the pics it seems to have the SLI bridge so it seems you can add another one to counter micro stutter
<SNIP>
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=151155
From http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/foru...-geforce-gtx-560-ti-2win-dual-gpu-review.html

"There is also an SLI connector but since quad SLI isn’t supported for the GTX 560 Ti in NVIDIA’s driver stack, there is currently no way to run two of these cards in parallel for additional performance."
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,984
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#18
nice card, but the cover like that would reduce intake air?
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#19
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#20
Doesn't EVGA tends to get special love from nVidia? :p
In have no idea, I merely quoted a reviewer on another website.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
If their performance graph on that launch page is accurate, then the card is around 30% faster than a GTX 580 when running the Unigene Heaven benchmark.
Until you raise the settings to the point that the 1GB of graphics memory is overwhelmed and performance in the benchmark hits the shitter...:wtf:

But really, in real world game play 1GB will be the limiting factor, but not as limiting as a lot would thing. The GTX560 Ti scales beautifully in SLI, even with only 1GB of VRAM. Yes, in extreme situations this card will probably lag down to the level of a GTX580 or slightly lower, which is probably why it is priced right at the same price point as the GTX580. I don't think they are trying to get people to move over from a GTX580 to this card, I think they are trying to just give people a different option that are thinking of upgrading.

Anyway, I was kind of expecting this, considering the GF114 is pin compatible with GF104, so when they announced the GTX460 2Win after the GTX500 series already launched, I knew they would just make a GTX560 2Win using the same PCB once they used up the GF104 cores.

EDIT : by looking another time at the pics it seems to have the SLI bridge so it seems you can add another one to counter micro stutter
Nope. When they originally designed the PCB, they were hoping to get 4way SLI working with two of the cards combined, but never did. So the SLI finger on the PCB is useless.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#22
Yeah but remember, in SLI/Cfx configuration the VRAM does not add, it mirrors, if you have a pair of 2GB VGA you'll have a total of 2GB anyway! :)
Ok didnt know that, good to know, thankyou.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#23
If they double the vram it'd be over $600. Not because it adds that much to the cost of course. It's cause they're dicks.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
1,453 (0.51/day)
Likes
227
System Name 2K Gamer
Processor AMD 8370 @ 4.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Pro Gaming / Aura 970
Cooling Corsair H60 AIO
Memory 16GB G. Skill RipJaw @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP! GTX 1070
Storage Samsung 600 Gig HDD (Raid 0 @ 7,500) / WD 1TB Blue @ 7,200 / PNY 128 GB SSD For Linux
Display(s) 27'' ASUS 144MHZ G-SYNC Read 1400p Gaming Monitor / 23'' LG LCD Flatron W2361VG 1080p @ 50,000:1
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Realtek
Power Supply 750w Corsair HX
Mouse Cougar Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse
Software Windows 10 64bit Education Edition
#24
Until you raise the settings to the point that the 1GB of graphics memory is overwhelmed and performance in the benchmark hits the shitter...:wtf:

But really, in real world game play 1GB will be the limiting factor, but not as limiting as a lot would thing. The GTX560 Ti scales beautifully in SLI, even with only 1GB of VRAM. Yes, in extreme situations this card will probably lag down to the level of a GTX580 or slightly lower, which is probably why it is priced right at the same price point as the GTX580. I don't think they are trying to get people to move over from a GTX580 to this card, I think they are trying to just give people a different option that are thinking of upgrading.

Anyway, I was kind of expecting this, considering the GF114 is pin compatible with GF104, so when they announced the GTX460 2Win after the GTX500 series already launched, I knew they would just make a GTX560 2Win using the same PCB once they used up the GF104 cores.

Nope. When they originally designed the PCB, they were hoping to get 4way SLI working with two of the cards combined, but never did. So the SLI finger on the PCB is useless.

Correct. However, games like BF3 and other future technology games are going to require more VRAM through out time. BF3 uses over 2GB VRAM

This is what is keeping me from not buying this card.

Recent video cards are now more commonly equipped with 2 GB of VRAM. Such cards need 64-bit Windows. We advocate using 64-bit Windows 7 for gaming as this provides the expanded memory capacity to use more VRAM.

Looking forward we expect to see 4 GB on top model gaming cards soon. Even 8 GB cards are not outside the range of technology. Memory is usually a smaller die size so more can be made from a given wafer.

Better fabs can make higher density memory chips making this practical. Intel's new 14 nm line could even provide 16 GB memory for video cards easily. For this reason we expect VRAM will continue to increase. Intel is spending $5 billion on the facility located in Arizona. The new line is called Fab 42 and it will be placed near the existing Fab 32 facility. We expect Intel will be able to achieve 10-11 nm towards 2015.
edit: what i am trying to say is that this card should've been at least 2GB for a bang buster. However, due to the price of a GTX 580 and current sales, they wouldn't want to endanger that aspect of the market. A Dual GTX 560 TI 2GB would be around the same price as a GTX 580 and would dissemblance their [nVidias] g-spot.

I am waiting for ATI 7xxx coming rumored Dec 2011 and nVidia's GTX 6xx Kepler in Feb 2012
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
3,111 (1.16/day)
Likes
1,552
System Name The "Oh shit we have competition"
Processor Core i7 8700K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Ultra Gaming
Cooling Custom WC & 240MM Rad
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4 DDR4 2666Mhz 16GB
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream GTX 1080 OC 8GB
Storage 5TB HDDs + 1TB SSDs
Display(s) U2713HM + 2433T + XL2430T 144Hz
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Mouse The almighty Logitech G400
Keyboard Cougar 600K Cherry-MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Pro
#25
Correct. However, games like BF3 and other future technology games are going to require more VRAM through out time. BF3 uses over 2GB VRAM
When i tested BF3 1920X1200 ultra settings 4XAA it took about 1320MB of VRAM at max. And dont get your hopes high, you wont see kepler before may