• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade advice - what would you suggest if it were your own rig?

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#1
I refer to my rig in system specs.

After building it in May 2007, oc'ing it to 3.0Ghz and upgrading from 8600GTS to 8800GT I feel the upgrade bug strike me again... :ohwell:

For now I'm excluding graphics card upgrade because my 8800GT serves me well, and also motherboard upgrade because were I to get a new motherboard I'd prefer to save up some $$$ and get one with at least 2 pci-e slots and ddr3 which is not practical for me now at all.

The piece which needs most priority in upgrading (correct me if I'm wrong) is me E4300, and I don't exclude getting Vista and investing in 2GB more RAM (I sooo want DX10 graphics!:cry:).

My motherboard is the Asus P5B:

- Support Intel® next generation 45nm Multi-core CPU
- Intel LGA775 Platform
- Intel® Quad-core CPU Ready
- Intel® Core™2 Extreme / Core™2 Duo Ready
- Intel® Pentium® Extreme / Pentium® D / Pentium® 4 / Celeron® D Ready
- 1066/800/ 533 MHz
- Dual-channel DDR2 800/667/533
- 1x PCI Express x16
- 6x SATA 3Gb/s
- RTL8111B PCI-E Gb LAN
- 8-channel HD Audio
- AI NOS™ / AI Gear / AI Nap

What I'd like to know is what is the best quad core I can put in this thing. Does the 1066 limitation mean that I cannot put in a processor which runs at 1333? Does the 800 limitation mean that I cannot put in RAM which runs at 1066?

I want to get the best quad core possible, with good cache and with a high multiplier because I want to oc it.

My budget... I'm looking to spend around less than USD500 though I could stretch that a bit.

So... what would be the best quad core and best RAM I could opt for right now?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.94/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#2
1066 means the processor has STOCK has to run at that speed and no higher but can be lower a bit. Although u can overclock to a higher FSB which is possible and same goes for the RAM situation. The best quad core for its price is the Q6600 and some G.Skill 2 x 2 GB or CBT 2 x 2
GB.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017
If you don't care about price get this RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148180 or just get the regular SLI Ready CBT's: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148076 but sorry that they are only 2 x 1 GB.
If you do care about price then get this RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231122


EDIT: Also if ur gonna get a Quad, get a G0 Revision.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.22/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#3
q6700 would be the one to get w/ that price range and fsb.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.62/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#4
You have a nice system as it is, save your money towards nehalem or am3.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.22/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#5
You have a nice system as it is, save your money towards nehalem or am3.
+1, that would be my choice as well.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.37/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 7700K
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
#6
You want a 9800GX2? ;)

I have got one.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#7
No I wasn't thinking about graphics. Thanks just the same. ;)

I was more geared towards a Q9450. My P5B supports quads and 45nm technology but I am unsure about the 1333Mhz FSB of the Q9450.

If I can't go further than Q6600 or Q6700 I think I'll take Farlex85's and KBD's advice... and wait it out!
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2005
Messages
461 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Peterborough, UK
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe
Cooling Akasa EVO 120
Memory 2 x 1Gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1066Mhz 6,6,6,18
Video Card(s) GeCube ATi X1950Pro 512Mb PCIe (Accelro X2)
Storage Samsung 320Gb SATA2
Display(s) Samsung SM206BW 20" Widescreen TFT 1680x1050
Case Coolermaster Centurion 532
Audio Device(s) On board AC'97
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580W
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
Benchmark Scores See my OC Blog @ http://www.rowan-house.net/
#8
I'd save up. If you buy an unsupported CPU it may well work fine OC'd but it will still be unsupported in BIOS a depending on your mobo that might mean error messages on boot and it won't be recognised properly in cpuz etc.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#9
I would get a xigmatek cooler, maybe a 2x2gb set of ram, and a beefy power supply. and when I say beefy, I mean like a 2 lb premium steak with A1 sauce all over it beefy.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#10
Keep what you have and install a 260 or a 280 card in the coming weeks.:)

If it's just games a GPU is going to do a lot more. Even if it does bottle neck like everyone is going to say. A slow cpu and a faster gpu is always the best way to go.

A Quad would help, BUT for games the faster the video card the better.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
1,801 (0.49/day)
Likes
307
Location
Toronto, CA
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield L724A629 @ 3.8Ghz 423x9 1.47v
Motherboard Abit IP-35 Pro Beta 16.B04 (vDroop)
Cooling 6x Scythe S-Flex SFF21F, EK Multi Option 2 Port, dB-1 Compact, Swiftech MCR80, Swiftech Apogee GT
Memory 2x1 OCZ Flex XLC PC-9200 @ 5-5-5-18 1220 2.3v
Video Card(s) Inno3D Geforce 8800GTS 320
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 226BW 22"
Case Cooler Master RC-690
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer 7.1
Power Supply Thermaltake ToughPower 1000
#11
do you have any idea how much a Geforce 280 will cost in Europe. a Bios update that we talked about E7200 and 4GB Kit is all you need.

- Christine