• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vega 56 Pulse Instability

Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,146 (1.27/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Greetings,

So I have been trying to figure out what to do with this GPU and now that my new Ryzen rig is ready to go, I really need to deal with it.

So the main problem is that it completely locks up at times while playing. It is most notable in The Division 2 but last night it happened in Greedfall which it has never done before. That said, I was messing with settings so I will write that one off.

I have been overclocking and undervolting by about -75 to -100mv. The clocks I have set are 1625 Core and 820 HBM. The temps are running about 72C for each core and memory. It seems like it is the 72C memory that is causing the issue as when that temp hits is when it is most likely to crash. I have tried undervolting the HBM to keep temps down but I don't think that really made any impact. I have tried leaving the mem at stock and just running the overclocked core and still had issues.

This problem did occur with Destiny 2 as well but I can't specifically recall any other games doing it.

As in my other thread, I am really close to throwing in the towel and picking up a new GPU but with new cards likely to come out soon(ish) - I hate to. I have also thought about looking into doing the soft tables mod but if it is truly a temp issue than I don't think those will help.

Ideas?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,758 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
Greetings,

So I have been trying to figure out what to do with this GPU and now that my new Ryzen rig is ready to go, I really need to deal with it.

So the main problem is that it completely locks up at times while playing. It is most notable in The Division 2 but last night it happened in Greedfall which it has never done before. That said, I was messing with settings so I will write that one off.

I have been overclocking and undervolting by about -75 to -100mv. The clocks I have set are 1625 Core and 820 HBM. The temps are running about 72C for each core and memory. It seems like it is the 72C memory that is causing the issue as when that temp hits is when it is most likely to crash. I have tried undervolting the HBM to keep temps down but I don't think that really made any impact. I have tried leaving the mem at stock and just running the overclocked core and still had issues.

This problem did occur with Destiny 2 as well but I can't specifically recall any other games doing it.

As in my other thread, I am really close to throwing in the towel and picking up a new GPU but with new cards likely to come out soon(ish) - I hate to. I have also thought about looking into doing the soft tables mod but if it is truly a temp issue than I don't think those will help.

Ideas?
Look into not an apple fan on YouTube ,he reduced his thermal issues the same way gamers nexus did , increasing the clamping pressure on the Gpu with plastic washers.
But overclocking and undervolting can increase instabilities as can a free riegn on fps, always use an fps cap on unstable game's is my opinion it can be above what you want, just, because often games crank out frames in menus and it can cause increased stress.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,146 (1.27/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Look into not an apple fan on YouTube ,he reduced his thermal issues the same way gamers nexus did , increasing the clamping pressure on the Gpu with plastic washers.
I forgot about the washers. Thanks for the reminder. I generally don't have runaway frames, it's usually the opposite - needing frames lol.

I think I am just going to restart from the beginning with the OC.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,758 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
I forgot about the washers. Thanks for the reminder. I generally don't have runaway frames, it's usually the opposite - needing frames lol.

I think I am just going to restart from the beginning with the OC.
I will say it's probably a temperature thing, mines got custom Lc and the only limit that matters is the temp , at high clocks , when it hits that temp limit I get a very hard crash , sometimes the cards link goes missing and I've had it be "funny" for a boot or two , and yhe temps the hot spot trmp specifically ,when it hits 75 boom , though 65 is my cards start to throttle limit(can clear this limit with all p states to max but that makes 75 hit harder)
I have used powerplay mods to get higher watts and done all sorts but that temp limit cannot be disabled, AFAIK, would love to try despite danger , I've seen 1806 mhz core 1100 memory but no higher with a fair few BIOS tried including founders ed.
I think I could do better.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,523 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Greetings,

So I have been trying to figure out what to do with this GPU and now that my new Ryzen rig is ready to go, I really need to deal with it.

So the main problem is that it completely locks up at times while playing. It is most notable in The Division 2 but last night it happened in Greedfall which it has never done before. That said, I was messing with settings so I will write that one off.

I have been overclocking and undervolting by about -75 to -100mv. The clocks I have set are 1625 Core and 820 HBM. The temps are running about 72C for each core and memory. It seems like it is the 72C memory that is causing the issue as when that temp hits is when it is most likely to crash. I have tried undervolting the HBM to keep temps down but I don't think that really made any impact. I have tried leaving the mem at stock and just running the overclocked core and still had issues.

This problem did occur with Destiny 2 as well but I can't specifically recall any other games doing it.

As in my other thread, I am really close to throwing in the towel and picking up a new GPU but with new cards likely to come out soon(ish) - I hate to. I have also thought about looking into doing the soft tables mod but if it is truly a temp issue than I don't think those will help.

Ideas?
@fullinfusion
@INSTG8R
@AlienIsGOD
@FordGT90Concept can help
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,860 (2.29/day)
I forgot about the washers. Thanks for the reminder. I generally don't have runaway frames, it's usually the opposite - needing frames lol.

I think I am just going to restart from the beginning with the OC.
Isn't the washer trick for the 5700's?

Also @eidairaman1 don't need to ping us all the time, we can read and our deal doesn't include overclocking failures ;)

If the OP can just click reset in wattman driver a couple of times and then try the game then feel free to post how things went.

Otherwise once you start messing with the PT editor your just asking for trouble..
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,523 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Isn't the washer trick for the 5700's?

Also @eidairaman1 don't need to ping us all the time, we can read and our deal doesn't include overclocking failures ;)

If the OP can just click reset in wattman driver a couple of times and then try the game then feel free to post how things went.

Otherwise once you start messing with the PT editor your just asking for trouble..
Washers are for VII
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
38 (0.11/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard Asrock X370 Master SLI
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 3400 Mhz 2x8GB
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage OCZ RD400 512GB
Display(s) HP OMEN 32
Case Phanteks P400S
Power Supply XFX TS 750 Gold
Hello, I'm going to try and help you if I can.
For starters, 72C on the memory is safe so that's not the problem.
-Now uninstall MSI afterburner if you're using that and open Wattman like a true AMDer.
-Create a custom profile with stock clocks and p7 voltage of 1000 and p6 of 950mV. Decrease the other pstates by 50mV intervals. Leave the HBM at stock for now and max out power limit (only to avoid any power throttling)
-Test it with any benchmark (Unigine superposition is a good one)
If it's stable decrease voltage a bit or increase if it's unstable. For reference mine's stable at 960mv P7.

Report your findings!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,523 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
The washer trick is for the 5700XT cards and NOT the VII..

Here
Hey bro its for this too

Probably could be used across all cards with the same mounting mechanism
 
Top