• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Vista: 2gb or 4gb?

Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
367 (0.10/day)
Likes
40
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.6ghz (1.25v)
Motherboard Evga 680i SLI
Cooling ASUS Arctic Square
Memory 4GB GSKILL PI Black (2x2GB) 4-4-4-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 275 Superclocked
Storage WD 320GB (B3 revision)/WD 160GB
Display(s) Acer X241W
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
As I have to order a new DVD-RW (Mine randomly broke :() drive off of Newegg anyway, I was thinking about picking up an extra 2 gigs of memory for my PC. I currently have 2gigs of Corsair ram in my system (4-4-4-12 @ 2.1v):

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.aspx?item=N82E16820145034

I was thinking, will an extra 2gigs help much? I noticed whenever I am done with playing Halo 2 or AOE3, my ram usage is lower than normal, which means Vista is filling the page file with its stuff instead. The extra 2 gigs should give Vista more room to leave its files in memory.

But, will it make much of a difference? Anyone seen noticeable performance gains? I saw this article, http://www.bcchardware.com/index.php?option=content&task=view&id=3135&Itemid=40&limit=1&limitstart=0, which they have about a 10-15% average gain in FPS. That's a start, but maybe not noticeable without FRAPS displaying the FPS.

I mostly just do the occasional gaming, but that's mostly it.

The ram is only $29 after the rebate, but that's still $29 which could go to something else.

I also have Vista x64, so my computer is able to address that much memory.

Thanks. :toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.24/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#2
Maybe not the best technical advice, but the more the merrier. And as you found in that article, and I know there is a similar thread on here too, having more memory generally does help improve how everything runs, games programs, and that stuff. Personally I would get more ram.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#3
vista is a memory hungry beast. 4 gigs would really help your system.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.99/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#4
when it comes to vista ... more the merrier ..
 
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,083 (0.49/day)
Likes
267
System Name Not named
Processor Q6600 @ 3.65ghz 1.4375v w/Ultra 120 Extreme
Motherboard Asus P5K-E/WIFI-AP P35 (Pencil Mod)
Cooling 4x 120mm 1x 200mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR2 G.Skill @511mhz (5-5-5-15)
Video Card(s) Asus 7870
Storage Hitachi Deskstar 7K500 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 22Inch Samsung 2220WM
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech HDA X-PLOSION 7.1 DTS / Z-5500 logitech
Power Supply Corsair Tx750 watt
#5
Well as someone who recently switched from 2gb to 4gb in vista i have to say that there is a difference... so long as you're running something intensive. In just general vista use there wasn't a big deal but if i was playing a heavy game like crysis the extra ram helped huge. If its cheap just pick it up, i doubt ddr2 will get much cheaper.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
367 (0.10/day)
Likes
40
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.6ghz (1.25v)
Motherboard Evga 680i SLI
Cooling ASUS Arctic Square
Memory 4GB GSKILL PI Black (2x2GB) 4-4-4-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 275 Superclocked
Storage WD 320GB (B3 revision)/WD 160GB
Display(s) Acer X241W
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
Hmm, alrighty. Thanks everyone. I dont run *too* much. I do however do a bit of video/image editing every once in a while, so it should help out there.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
3,503 (0.97/day)
Likes
428
System Name Xazax
Processor 6700k
Motherboard ASrock Fatal1ty z170
Cooling H240X
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800mhz
Video Card(s) Gtx 980ti
Storage 1TB Mushkin
Display(s) ASUS PG27 G-sync
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35
Power Supply Corsair 1500w Digital
Keyboard Patriot Viper
Software Windows 10
#7
I run Vista 64-bit and can tell you safe YOU NEED 4GB, i sold 2GB of my 4GB of A-DATA and dear god what a hit happend.... just trust me get a 2x2GB kit and you'll be happy.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
254 (0.07/day)
Likes
16
Location
Cerritos, California
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard P67 Maximus Extreme
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory G Skil SniperDDR3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 480GB SSD, 2 TB WD 2001FASS
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift
Case Silverstone RV02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatality
Power Supply Enermax Revolutions 1050
Software W7 x64
#8
ya i would recommend 4gb on Vista 64, a 2x2gb kit would be better though. but it does make a noticeable difference
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
367 (0.10/day)
Likes
40
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.6ghz (1.25v)
Motherboard Evga 680i SLI
Cooling ASUS Arctic Square
Memory 4GB GSKILL PI Black (2x2GB) 4-4-4-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 275 Superclocked
Storage WD 320GB (B3 revision)/WD 160GB
Display(s) Acer X241W
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
Just bought 2 more gigs of memory.

Vista will be quite happy! :roll:

Thanks everyone again.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,256
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#10
Yes!
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
1,073 (0.27/day)
Likes
52
Location
Chicago
System Name Blue by you
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K Devils Canyon
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-G1 Gaming 5
Cooling Cooler Master D92 MX-4 4 Corsair 120mm Blue led case fans 2 intake 2 exhaust
Memory G.Skill Trident X DDR3 2666 2X8gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 Gaming Geforce GTX 970
Storage Sandisk Extreme Pro 240GB boot drive Samsung 950 Pro NVME 256gb Seagate 1TB platter
Display(s) Benq GW2765 2560X1440 27 inch
Case Corsair 88R Carbide SFF
Audio Device(s) nada
Power Supply Corsair HX 850i watt Professional
Software Windows 10
#11
Well, I decided to max the board out with ram. Everything seems a little crisper verses 4 gig. Plus as already stated in this thread, ddr2 is so cheap. Just do it.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
367 (0.10/day)
Likes
40
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.6ghz (1.25v)
Motherboard Evga 680i SLI
Cooling ASUS Arctic Square
Memory 4GB GSKILL PI Black (2x2GB) 4-4-4-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 275 Superclocked
Storage WD 320GB (B3 revision)/WD 160GB
Display(s) Acer X241W
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#12
Lol, very nice.

Yeah DDR2 ram is so cheap now. There was an article on Toms which they had 8gb of memory, and they were even able to disable to pagefile. :p There was a bit of a performance increase as well.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#13
i wonder when ddr3 will be as cheap as ddr2 is now...
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
1,073 (0.27/day)
Likes
52
Location
Chicago
System Name Blue by you
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K Devils Canyon
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-G1 Gaming 5
Cooling Cooler Master D92 MX-4 4 Corsair 120mm Blue led case fans 2 intake 2 exhaust
Memory G.Skill Trident X DDR3 2666 2X8gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 Gaming Geforce GTX 970
Storage Sandisk Extreme Pro 240GB boot drive Samsung 950 Pro NVME 256gb Seagate 1TB platter
Display(s) Benq GW2765 2560X1440 27 inch
Case Corsair 88R Carbide SFF
Audio Device(s) nada
Power Supply Corsair HX 850i watt Professional
Software Windows 10
#14
Lol, very nice.

Yeah DDR2 ram is so cheap now. There was an article on Toms which they had 8gb of memory, and they were even able to disable to pagefile. :p There was a bit of a performance increase as well.
I thought about disabling the pagefile. Greg at the Mushkin forums said some programs look for a pagefile and will crash if not detected. Even though it has 8 gig to work with, go figure.:rolleyes: So I took his advice and set it to the lowest possible = locked at 400mb
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#15
If you're gaming, 4GB. I'm gaming on two, and it's rough. Although, I do only have Vista 32 grr.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#16
I have found that OC the RAM is more difficult on 4 sticks of 1GB than it was with 2 Sticks of 1GB. For instance my Tracers would clock higher, now they just won't boot at the same settings they were on with 2?
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,256
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#17
what happena if i add 2x1gb of ram to my current 2x1gb setup and the ram timings on both sets are different?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#18
I run Vista 64-bit and can tell you safe YOU NEED 4GB, i sold 2GB of my 4GB of A-DATA and dear god what a hit happend.... just trust me get a 2x2GB kit and you'll be happy.

i have vista x64 2x2GB i can tell you i also have a 2x1GB kit i throw in to tinker with stuff and the 4gb well lets just say ill only go up never down...ever

what happena if i add 2x1gb of ram to my current 2x1gb setup and the ram timings on both sets are different?
you adjut the voltage and timings to make them play nice but honestly if their both the same rated speed you should be fine its when their diff speeds they get angry
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
3,503 (0.97/day)
Likes
428
System Name Xazax
Processor 6700k
Motherboard ASrock Fatal1ty z170
Cooling H240X
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800mhz
Video Card(s) Gtx 980ti
Storage 1TB Mushkin
Display(s) ASUS PG27 G-sync
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35
Power Supply Corsair 1500w Digital
Keyboard Patriot Viper
Software Windows 10
#19
I dont know about you Solaris, but when i played company of heroes trying to alt-tab out with 2GB was a NIGHTMARE, and even using my 8800GTS i was forced to use lower settings because my memory started becoming maxxed out.. When i finally got 4GB back i was far happier... and load times improved...
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#20
o ya most deff 4GB all the way lol when me and erocker and some of the other ut3 guys got together i was alt-tabing and posting while playing the game..smooth as glass to
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.97/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#21
Mine runs a ok with 2 gig but an extra 2 gig will not only give ya better performance but also futureproof your system.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
367 (0.10/day)
Likes
40
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.6ghz (1.25v)
Motherboard Evga 680i SLI
Cooling ASUS Arctic Square
Memory 4GB GSKILL PI Black (2x2GB) 4-4-4-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 275 Superclocked
Storage WD 320GB (B3 revision)/WD 160GB
Display(s) Acer X241W
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#22
2 more gigs are in the mail now. :D That will make my system have 4x1gb in it, which is pleanty for me.

I thought about disabling the pagefile. Greg at the Mushkin forums said some programs look for a pagefile and will crash if not detected. Even though it has 8 gig to work with, go figure. So I took his advice and set it to the lowest possible = locked at 400mb
Yeah. I think some of the older applications do that. One of them which I know is Photoshop, not CS2 or 3. When there isn't one they freak. :shadedshu
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,227 (0.61/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight
Processor QX9650 @4.4GHz max OC
Motherboard DFI x48 Dark Knight
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory 8 Gb Geil Esoteria rev.2
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 2 x 500 Gb wd (ext. port), 1 x 1.500 Gb Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate (AC Ryan box)
Display(s) LG M2094D-PZ 20'' HD (1920 X 1080)
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
Benchmark Scores 18509 single 4870 - 23996 3dmark06 4870 crossfire(vista ult.64@4Ghz)/ P16213 3dmark vantage
#23
I recently installed vista64 on both my PCs (one is the one shown in specs, and the other is a Media center with e4500, 9600gt silent) it was apparent that 2gb of ram was not enough for the type of useage of each PC... The first I use for gaming, with all settings on high, while many things running in the background, and the second (htpc) I use for movies, as a hi-fi, but also for decoding video and sound, with also many things happening in the background.... Now I use 4x1GB (geil) 800mhz@ :rockout: 960 mhz for the first and 4x2GB (mushkin) 800mhz, no OC.

The results are great....:D
To give you an example.... when playing {The Witcher} with only 2gb ram, the game would crash after about a couple of hours, but after adding the extra 2gb...Never had a single memory problem....:roll:
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
367 (0.10/day)
Likes
40
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.6ghz (1.25v)
Motherboard Evga 680i SLI
Cooling ASUS Arctic Square
Memory 4GB GSKILL PI Black (2x2GB) 4-4-4-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 275 Superclocked
Storage WD 320GB (B3 revision)/WD 160GB
Display(s) Acer X241W
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#24
All I can say is wow...

Newegg delivered them yesterday, speedy shipping!

Vista is much snappier, and alt-tab'ing out of anything is so easy. The 2 extra gigs even raised my FPS in Halo 2 from 29-30-ish to 41-42 fps on the title screen. Min-fps is also much higher. There used to be a 0-1 min fps (on loading), but now it hasn't dropped below 20. :twitch:

Such an improvement for just $29! :roll:

I'm quite happy. :D
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
3,503 (0.97/day)
Likes
428
System Name Xazax
Processor 6700k
Motherboard ASrock Fatal1ty z170
Cooling H240X
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800mhz
Video Card(s) Gtx 980ti
Storage 1TB Mushkin
Display(s) ASUS PG27 G-sync
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35
Power Supply Corsair 1500w Digital
Keyboard Patriot Viper
Software Windows 10
#25
:toast: good to hear! enjoy.