1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what CPU do you have vote! part 2

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Athlon2K15, Jul 29, 2010.

?

What CPU do you have?

  1. Intel Core 2 Duo

    18.5%
  2. Intel Core 2 Quad

    15.8%
  3. Intel Core i3

    2.8%
  4. Intel Core i5

    15.4%
  5. Intel Core i7

    27.1%
  6. Intel "Gulftown"

    2.3%
  7. AMD Phenom II X6

    10.5%
  8. AMD Phenom II X4

    16.9%
  9. AMD Phenom II X3

    2.4%
  10. AMD Phenom II X2

    3.5%
  11. AMD Phenom X4

    3.5%
  12. AMD Phenom X3

    0.9%
  13. AMD Athlon II X4

    2.5%
  14. AMD Athlon II X3

    2.1%
  15. AMD Athlon II X2

    6.5%
  16. AMD Sempron

    1.8%
  17. AMD Sempron X2

    0.4%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. cheezburger

    cheezburger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    i would say core 2 duo......because until now amd still couldn't able to fight back..

    nehalem art isn't surprising me....a merely improve and add l3 cache, ram controller (gpu for low end) that's all...
     
  2. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,019 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    oh my core i7 is popular... wonder how many are lga 1366, like us cool boys
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,443 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,002
    I'm not that cool:(
     
    n-ster says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,438 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,536
    can't vote. not in the list.
     
  5. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,019 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    No problem! we can fix this... buy my i7 920 C0 and mobo and RAM xD
     
  6. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    482 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Voted i7 FTW!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,716 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    770
    Location:
    Portugal
    As of now, same number of people with C2D and PII x4. Interesting.
     
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,019 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    yea, C2Q, C2D and PII x4 are awfully close

    i7 PWNS ALL W00t :p

    (Chuck Norris has an lga 1366 i7 !@!@!)
     
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    WOW ! I am still on my Q9650 This thing is still a huge monster . I think I can get some more mileage out of it ! :D :rockout: Wonder just how much though :twitch:
    I really hate the fact that i7 came out like 6 months after I got the Q9650 ! God I am so pissed ! :banghead: :mad:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    A Q9650 at 4Ghz should last you a pretty good while. Especially if all you really do is gaming.

    The way gaming is in it's current state, that chip should last you a good two more years if PC gaming doesn't change a bunch in the coming years.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,926 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,791
    I want to change my vote, as I now have an AII X3. It was cheap and it performs quite well. :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah I figure as much too .

    Still ticks me off though , But kinda not as well DDR3 RAM was really expensive back then and the CPU and MB . Man this stuff piles up fast . An i7 is not going to happen maybe bulldozer if it gets better ? I am looking past i7 now .
    One thing is for sure Intel has the most users . Intel ? Can this be ???
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2010
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    591 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    Location:
    SATX
    I have a Phenom X3 8650 which makes me :respect: to all of the newer CPUs.
     
  14. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    C2D vote added.
     
  15. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    AMD Phenom 2 X2 550BE HDZ550WFK2001
     
  16. Exile_Chavez

    Exile_Chavez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    283 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Amd 3.2ghz quad right here. Had I known about overclocking when I built my computer I would have saved the money and oced a 2.8
     
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,095 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,216
    Location:
    Pune
    how come erocker has all the CPUs ??
     
  18. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I'm not sure if it's the first page of this thread ... or another one with a poll on, anyway's... you know how there is always that one person who want's to be different...well it seem's to be erocker :roll: :p
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  19. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,232 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    I really can't believe 8 people admitted to owning an stumpron

    me haves a new Phenom II x4 940BE to replace old crusty athlon x2 7750BE
     
  20. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,095 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,216
    Location:
    Pune
    people with intel seem to have an amd as well...??
    but peoplw with inly amds are content :)

    am i getting somewhere here?
     
  21. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,232 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    yup i was happy with the 7750BE but now I'm gaming at 1920x1080 it just doesn't cut the mustard anymore so a small upgrade to an mid range AMD quad was just what the doctor ordered and now the HD5770 has a bit more legs now too
     
  22. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,926 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,791
    They're extremely cheap, so I don't see why not for lowlowlow end builds and home servers and such.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,232 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    cheap or not I'd never use one
     
  24. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    meh... I currently put a Sempron in my sister's rig :rockout:
     
  25. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,632 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,095
    Location:
    US
    i5 M430
    Core 2 Quad 9550
    AMD 939
    P4 2.4


    Power usage has got a little crazy over the years and i really like the i5 even if it is a laptop with it's power usage a little less than a P4@2.4..

    P4 60w
    i5 55w
    AMD 939 150w
    9550 200w

    All idle although the P4 and the i5 take little more when at full load. And yeah i know about chipset \ video cards make the difference but over the time the power draw to play games that i want to has gone up a fair bit at over twice as much.
    Whats a i7 take idle ?
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)