1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what CPU do you have vote! part 2

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Athlon2K15, Jul 29, 2010.

?

What CPU do you have?

  1. Intel Core 2 Duo

    18.5%
  2. Intel Core 2 Quad

    15.8%
  3. Intel Core i3

    2.8%
  4. Intel Core i5

    15.4%
  5. Intel Core i7

    27.1%
  6. Intel "Gulftown"

    2.3%
  7. AMD Phenom II X6

    10.5%
  8. AMD Phenom II X4

    16.9%
  9. AMD Phenom II X3

    2.4%
  10. AMD Phenom II X2

    3.5%
  11. AMD Phenom X4

    3.5%
  12. AMD Phenom X3

    0.9%
  13. AMD Athlon II X4

    2.5%
  14. AMD Athlon II X3

    2.1%
  15. AMD Athlon II X2

    6.5%
  16. AMD Sempron

    1.8%
  17. AMD Sempron X2

    0.4%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    482 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    i7 will use more at idle than either of those cpu's but makes up for it with performance.

    I can't give you a baseline figure because there are too many variables, like the type of motherboard, ram choices even psu choices.

    And the last one is tricky cause I've seen systems with idle and load power going slightly up or down depending on the quality psu in use.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. alfieabel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Mine Favourite mine votes goes not one but:
    AMD Phenom II X6
    Intel Core i5
    Intel Core 2 Duo
     
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Voted i7 and C2D (i7 860, C2D P8600). Lack of older hardware makes my Pentium M server sad :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Wish I could vote again, since I have a AMD Phenom II X4 now...
     
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,095 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,215
    Location:
    Pune
    Hi5! i have one too! :p
     
    Radical_Edward says thanks.
  6. GENTLEMEN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    198 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines
    voted. I got my x2 (no unlock, horrible oc), x3 (unlocked + oc at 3.4ish) and phenom II x6 not BE (24/7 at 3.5ish at slightly under stock volts). I might go Intel IF Sandy Bridge lives up to the hype (and the OC-ability)
     
  7. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,527 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    331
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    PII 925 (x4) at 3.2Ghz stock volt
     
  8. ЭИiḠ₥Ѧ™

    ЭИiḠ₥Ѧ™ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a van down by the river!!
    Intel Xeon X5470 (x2) It surfs porn good...
     
  9. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,203 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    602
    :toast: Me too X4 940BE
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  10. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,095 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,215
    Location:
    Pune
    thats not a 945 :x
    its a "940"
     
  11. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    i7 920 D0@ 186*21 at 1.35v. Poor chip, it needs 1.41 to do 4000 and 1.45 for 4100!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. genta3d New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Still in love with my E8500 hehehe...
    Well you now what my really reason T_T
     
  13. KennethM

    KennethM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Laguna, PH
    Vote casted.
     
  14. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    I did some quick stats...

    Out of 410 CPUs* currently owned by TPU members
    55.85% are Intel
    44.15% are AMD

    Out of 284 people surveyed thus far there is an
    80.63% chance that a particular person owns an Intel CPU*
    63.73% chance that a particular person owns an AMD CPU*

    The average TPU member has 1.44 CPUs*.

    There's a 102.6% margin of error. :)

    *From the list.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2010
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,010 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    only 1.44CPUs? Man TPU is weaksauce :roll:
     
  16. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Yea... 1.44 seem's rather low :eek:
     
  17. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    lol

    A lot of us don't have the money to spend on multiple CPU's...

    And the older CPU's we do have we tend to sell them off for the better.
     
  18. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,010 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    I first custom built computer I got back in August 2010.... and I already have 2 CPUs (athlon x4 630 and an i7 920 D0, though I had a c0 before) :pimp:
     
  19. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I have an AMD Athlon 3200+, QX6700 as well as a E4400 laying around.(and of course my current i7 920)

    And the only real reason what i still have them is because the 3200+ is sitting in an older machine that might get put to use one day, and i'm not even 100% sure where the E4400 is, but if it was found i would have been sold it. And as for the QX6700, i think i lost it lol. But who knows it could be around here somewhere.
     
  20. Charly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    i7 980X
     
  21. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,203 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    602
    :toast:

    I've an 4800+ x2 (skt939) still in use and 3700+ (skt754) my son uses that for the small amount of time he spends on the PC thats all he needs
     
  22. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,203 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    602
    Lucky you I'd have liked to go with one of those but at over Intel Core i7 Extreme 980X 3.3GHz Socket 1366 Box $1,593.16 + new mobo and ram I just couldn't defend spending that amount
     
  23. tianhui

    tianhui New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    US
    Voted Intel Quad...
    Have yet to overclock my Q6600 :p
     
  24. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Recently purchased the AMD 1090T :D Liking it allot so far.
     
  25. lisburnni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    your the only one lol ,

    mines i7 950 , 186x 23 @1.35V

    it will last me many years like my old Q6600 SLACR
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)