• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Win 7 showing 746gb for 3tb drive?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#1
I recently purchased a WD 3TB green internal hardrive for backups. Upon booting into windows, the drive only shows 746gb's.

I've already gone into device manager and updated the Nforce Serial ATA and the bios shows 3000. (I assume that is for the 3tb's?)

I am not trying to install windows on the drive, but just use it as another drive for backup needs.
I have tried to go to disk management and format the drive but it will not allow me.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

_______________________________________
EVGA 780i SLI
Q9550
Primary - WD 1TB Black
Backup - WD 2TB Black
Backup - External WD 2TB elements
*Backup - WD 3TB Green
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#2
Extend the partition?
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#3

Attachments

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#4
Don't you need a UEFI BIOS and a GPT partition to use a 3TB partition?
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#6
You need UEFI to boot off a 2TB+ disk (I think it's technically 2.2TB)

To use 2TB+ disk for storage, it needs to be partitioned as GPT, not MBR. Just select GPT when partitioning in disk management.
Thanks for the clarification. How do I partition it to GPT? I don't even see MBR... :eek:
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,623 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,345
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
disk management has the option when you format it.
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#8
Edit: See next post.

Upon right click on the drive -> Format

The only options I am given:

volume label: "New Volume"
file system: NTFS
allocation size: Default
[ ]perform a quick format
[ ]enable file and folder compression

I can't seem to locate GPT.
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#9
After deleting the volume, I was able to select GPT; however, it still shows the maximum volume as 764307Mb
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#10
Windows and GPT FAQ

Q. What about mixing and matching GPT and MBR disks on the same system?

A.
GPT and MBR disks can be mixed on systems that support GPT, as described earlier. However, you must be aware of the following restrictions:
Systems that support UEFI require that boot partition must reside on a GPT disk. Other hard disks can be either MBR or GPT.
Both MBR and GPT disks can be present in a single dynamic disk group. Volume sets can span both MBR and GPT disks.
Manipulating GPT Disks and Their Contents

Q. How do I create a GPT disk?

A. You can create a GPT disk only on an empty, unpartitioned disk (raw disk or empty MBR disk).
For more information about creating GPT disks, see Using GPT Drives.
You need to remove the partition you have created first.
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#11
You need to remove the partition you have created first.
Thanks Viper, I came across that link earlier as well. After covering to GPT, it still only shows a maximum volume of 746gb.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#12
Did you check to see if you got the option to convert to GPT while it is unallocated?
And, then partition...
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#13
Attached SS.

Behind shows 746.39 GB Unallocated

I've already rebooted to see if that would do anything, but no luck.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#14
Quote:

Q. What about mixing and matching GPT and MBR disks on the same system?

A.
GPT and MBR disks can be mixed on systems that support GPT, as described earlier. However, you must be aware of the following restrictions:
Systems that support UEFI require that boot partition must reside on a GPT disk. Other hard disks can be either MBR or GPT.
Both MBR and GPT disks can be present in a single dynamic disk group. Volume sets can span both MBR and GPT disks.
You may need to move the boot partition to that drive for it's capacity to be recognized properly. Your boot partition is on C: which is an MBR disk.

You can use EasyBCD to do this. -->EasyBCD download (Just click "download" you don't need to enter any info)
Changing the Boot Partition <-- Info on the EasyBCD WIKI
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#15
Hmm, but I am not trying to use it as a boot drive, simply just extra storage. These drives come with a controller/driver to help older mobos recognize the entire drive...


May as well return it and get a 2 TB drive instead... such a fucking nightmare!
Additionally, having an old mobo doesn't help either. :mad:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,631
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#16
Large drive are a pain. You just need to delete the partition and start over. Has nothing to do with your mb. Use a boot disk like Hirens or active kill
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#17
Large drive are a pain. You just need to delete the partition and start over. Has nothing to do with your mb. Use a boot disk like Hirens or active kill
Installed the free version. 746GB of unallocated space.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,631
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#18
Ok I was wrong Active Kill will not delete or create the partitions. Get Hiren's. Delete and creat one GPT partition
 

johnboy

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
#19
Has anyone found a solution to this? I have exactly the same issue.

I have installed a Western Digital 3TB HD. When I go into the BIOS the drive is listed as having 3TB of space, but according to Windows 7 disk management the drive space is 746.39 GB.

The drive is unallocated but I have the GPT partition style selected. If I attempt to create new partition the maximum size is 746GB.

I have also tried a couple of third-party partitioning tools and get the same result unfortunately.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,984
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#20
what about making partition through windows installer
its kinda confusing
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,103 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,531
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#21
are you guys on the latest service packs for your OS? can you try another machine?
 

johnboy

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
#22
Ok, so I finally got it to work, although I must admit I'm still not entirely sure what the issue was. I did the following:

1). Download and burn Gparted to a CD.
2). Go to Disk Management (right click computer->Manage).
3). Right click the box to the left of the volume and set partition style to GPT.
4). Right click on the volume->create new simple volume.
5). Create a new volume with the maximum size (~740GB).
6). Format the disk volume as NTFS (I set allocation unit size to 4kb, but am not sure whether this was necessary).
7). Put in the Gparted CD and reboot windows.
8). Follow the command line instructions to boot Gparted.
9). Load up the disk tool then select your volume from the dropdown menu in the top-right.
10). I saw the full disk space (3TB) split into a 740GB region allocated and the remainder unallocated.
11). Right click on the allocated region and click Grow / Shrink.
12). Drag the bar at the top so your volume covers the whole 3TB.
13). Click apply.
14). Reboot from Gparted, remove the disk and boot into Windows.
15). The disk was then 3TB in size in Windows.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,906 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,000
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#23
How is the drive connected to the computer? I've had problems with computers not being able to consistently see all 3TB of a drive when connected via USB.

Also, it's possible the drive is no good. I would run Data LifeGuard Diagnostics and see what it concludes.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#24
Yeah, something is not right here. Even if it is formatted as MBR, Disk Management should still see all the space, it will just list the extra space that can't be used due to to MBR as unallocated.

Edit: After some quick googling it seems to be an Intel RST driver issue.
See here: http://www.servethehome.com/fix-746gb-3tb-hard-drive-issue/

Updating Intel RST seems to fix the issue.
 

johnboy

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
#25
I have an AMD processor, so in my case this wasn't the issue.

The drive was connected by SATA.

Other system deets:

System Type: x64-based PC
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) Dual Core Processor 4450e, 2300 Mhz, 2 Cores(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 5.17, 09/10/2008
SMBIOS Version: 2.4
 
Status
Not open for further replies.