• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Win 7 showing 746gb for 3tb drive?

Status
Not open for further replies.

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,556
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#26
It still might be a outdated chipset driver issue.
 

chck

New Member
Joined
May 16, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#27
Ok, so I finally got it to work, although I must admit I'm still not entirely sure what the issue was. I did the following:

1). Download and burn Gparted to a CD.
2). Go to Disk Management (right click computer->Manage).
3). Right click the box to the left of the volume and set partition style to GPT.
4). Right click on the volume->create new simple volume.
5). Create a new volume with the maximum size (~740GB).
6). Format the disk volume as NTFS (I set allocation unit size to 4kb, but am not sure whether this was necessary).
7). Put in the Gparted CD and reboot windows.
8). Follow the command line instructions to boot Gparted.
9). Load up the disk tool then select your volume from the dropdown menu in the top-right.
10). I saw the full disk space (3TB) split into a 740GB region allocated and the remainder unallocated.
11). Right click on the allocated region and click Grow / Shrink.
12). Drag the bar at the top so your volume covers the whole 3TB.
13). Click apply.
14). Reboot from Gparted, remove the disk and boot into Windows.
15). The disk was then 3TB in size in Windows.
I have almost spent an entire workday on trying to fix this same problem, and this finally worked!!

I had already tried Gparted before I read this, but I had not created the 746GB volume before, and this indeed did the trick! Gparted even told me that there was unallocated space that might not be recognized by certain OS's before it let me grow the region.

Cheers mate, you made my day! :toast:
 

sdnsdf

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#28
This Worked.

I've been trying to get my Red WD 3TB to work for a day and tried everything but this is the only think that worked. I had to initialise the drive in Win XP thought cause I couldn't see it in admin tools in Win 7. Then set it to GPT with diskpart in Win 7 command prompt. WD should just write a utility that does all this. Segate did.

Thanks johnboy.
 

Arachne

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#29
EASY FIX...

I run Windows 7 64bit Home Premium with a 1.5 TB internal HDD and found that I had to use 2 WD 2TB external HDDs to keep myself backed up and maintaining several system images. However, when I purchased my 2 new WD 3TB external HDs, I ran into this problem: One of the backup files could not be created. (0x8078002A) Additional Information: The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error, (0x8007045D).

In the searches that I performed to find a fix for this problem, most advised partitioning so I tried it and didn't like it as it allowed me a 2TB allocated partition and another partition just under 1TB which was unallocated and I could not get it allocated. I removed the partitions and came across the better solution after a bit of research. Using WD's Quick Formatter http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3868/session/L2F2LzIvc25vLzEvdGltZS8xMzg5NDAwODg0L3NpZC9nVER6ajNLbA%3D%3D, I went through the steps in the video, However, because "Default" was not a choice, I chose to reformat to Windows Vista, 7, and 8 and, I was able to get the drive to work as a 3TB HDD should. WD is not the only external drive to get the error message as Seagate is doing the same. However, you have to find your own fix for Seagate, but don't go the way of the partitions. There is also an option for those who still use Windows XP.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
54 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor Intel Core i7-3770k (@3.5Ghz)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H
Cooling Corsair Hydro H60 Water Cooling
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3 (4X4)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 780 3GB
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB, Seagate 2TB
Display(s) 3x ASUS VS238H 23" Monitors (NVIDIA Surround)
Case Corsair 300R
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply Raidmax 850W Gold
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#30
I have a 2TB drive and one 1.81 is usable
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,079 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,206
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#31
As you should.
2,000,000,000,000 / 2^40 = 1.818989403545856475830078125 TiB

3TB...
3,000,000,000,000 / 2^40 = 2.7284841053187847137451171875 TiB


The real mystery is why 750 GB? Looking through MBR information, I see no genuine explanation why it would hit a wall at 750 GB. 1 TiB would make sense (256 bytes per sector instead of 512 bytes per sector) but nothing lands on 750 GB.

All I can think of is that however you're trying to format it is specifying 750 GB maximum petition size instead of 3 TiB. This should be corrected by formatting it and explicitly specifying 2738484 MiB.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,976 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,337
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#32

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,079 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,206
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#33
Yeah, diskpart is the way to go. Explicitly define the size of the partitions using it. If diskpart errors then there is something bigger going on.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
54 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor Intel Core i7-3770k (@3.5Ghz)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H
Cooling Corsair Hydro H60 Water Cooling
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3 (4X4)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 780 3GB
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB, Seagate 2TB
Display(s) 3x ASUS VS238H 23" Monitors (NVIDIA Surround)
Case Corsair 300R
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply Raidmax 850W Gold
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#34
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel I7 3770K @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 Classified
Storage Kignston 240GB SSD; Seagate 500GB; Seagate 3TB
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
#35
Hello! I'm having a very similar issue to this. I just installed a new Seagate Baracuda XT 3Tb to my system but only 746gb show up. The difference is that even in the BIOS it is recognized as a 746Gb drive. Im running it on a Asus Sabertooth Z77 with Windows 8.1 64 bit. I've already tried every fix i could find: used different programs and managers on windows but they never show unallocated regions , tried changing settings on the BIOS, updated the BIOS, tried different sata ports and even the Gparted fix above ( managed to merge a 150mb unallocated partition to the 746Gb lol). Any other ideas?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,175 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,826
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#36
look at your disk manager. Make sure its a GPT partition. If not google how to change it to a GPT

 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel I7 3770K @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 Classified
Storage Kignston 240GB SSD; Seagate 500GB; Seagate 3TB
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
#37
I already changed it to a GPT partition. As a matter of fact, when i changed it from MBR to GPT the drive shrank about 50mb. No idea why. Should the BIOS recognize it as a 3tb drive? Or that is normal to have it as a 746gb drive even in the BIOS when having this issue?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,175 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,826
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,079 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,206
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#39
I already changed it to a GPT partition. As a matter of fact, when i changed it from MBR to GPT the drive shrank about 50mb. No idea why. Should the BIOS recognize it as a 3tb drive? Or that is normal to have it as a 746gb drive even in the BIOS when having this issue?
GPT requires more space than MBR. UEFI BIOS should recognize it as 3TB.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,761 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,166
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#40
Issue with motherboard bios
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,520 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,600
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#41
Is your SATA controller configured to run in AHCI mode?
How big does the BIOS say the drive is? If the BIOS is misidentifying the drive size, then it's the motherboard's fault.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel I7 3770K @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 Classified
Storage Kignston 240GB SSD; Seagate 500GB; Seagate 3TB
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
#42
I tried it and the installer says i have a newer version of it already intalled.

I took some screenshots of the BIOS tabs. The drive is the ST33000651AS

140222115808.png


And here at the Boot tab

140222115845.png


Earlier i tried to set up the drive in a diferent SATA port ( ASMedia 1061 SATA controller ) but it didn`t fix the issue, so i returned it to the other port (Intel Z77 controller)
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,382 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,294
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#43
Is your SATA controller configured to run in AHCI mode?
How big does the BIOS say the drive is? If the BIOS is misidentifying the drive size, then it's the motherboard's fault.
Not really my board detects my 3 tb drive as like 800gb but it works fine in windows
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel I7 3770K @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 Classified
Storage Kignston 240GB SSD; Seagate 500GB; Seagate 3TB
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
#44
Use
Acronis® Disk Director® 11 Home.
It says in their website that windows 8.1 is not supported. :(
Should i try a fresh install of windows 8.1? Maybe there are conflicting drivers.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,079 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,206
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#45
Hard drives operate on firmware, not drivers. The only driver is for the controller (Intel Z77). Have you ever updated the Z77 chipset drivers?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel I7 3770K @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 Classified
Storage Kignston 240GB SSD; Seagate 500GB; Seagate 3TB
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
#46
I downloaded all updates available at Asus page regarding SATA and chipset. Installed all, rebooted but still nothing. Disk Manager says it is a 746.52 GB drive
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,079 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,206
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#47
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel I7 3770K @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 Classified
Storage Kignston 240GB SSD; Seagate 500GB; Seagate 3TB
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
#48
The drivers were up to date:

Screenshot 2014-02-22 19.20.37 (2).png


And the RST still didn't fix it:

Screenshot 2014-02-22 19.29.01.png



I tried changing the SATA configuration to RAID but when I did, Windows blue screened while loading.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,520 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,600
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#49
Hard drives operate on firmware, not drivers. The only driver is for the controller (Intel Z77). Have you ever updated the Z77 chipset drivers?
I don't think that would matter considering that the BIOS is miss-reading the drive size. I'm inclined to think there may be something wrong with the drive.

I don't like recommending this, but if your BIOS lets you, you could try setting the number of sectors, cylinders, and tracks in the BIOS manually if the BIOS is miss-reading that from the drive which might be the most likely explanation I can think of for the odd-size that comes up.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.92/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#50
Am I the only one that noticed in Image 1 above there are 3 Drives plugged in -- P1 SSD, P2 Seagate, P5 WD -- but in the boot options in Image 2 it shows 2 different Seagate HDD's linked to P2?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.