1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X79 and/or rampage IV OC'ing thread for those of us still left....

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dalekdukesboy, Aug 21, 2016.

  1. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    I can't find anything resembling "new" threads or even replies to old threads about poor, little neglected x79 and 2011 v1! users not 2011-3 threads which I'm sure are all over those who still have money to upgrade an entire system...which currently I don't. So I got my system tweaked with new memory and re-exploring its' capabilities after finally getting new mobo to replace a failed one. So I hoped maybe there's a few more of me out there who have this platform and might be willing to share OC'ing results particularly Sandy Bridge-E since that's what I've got atm.

    This is my best result thus far with memory and OC of the cpu.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2016
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Thats not bad, what kinda cooling do you have?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Not bad? lol jee thanks:). Honestly the CPU is not at max overclock it was the new memory I had that I was really testing...cooling is ok it's a noctua nh d14 which I put a high cfm replacement fan on with one other fan and my main problem I think is the "stuck" diode I have on one of the cpu cores...if you look closely again at the results you'll see one is wildly higher than the rest at ideal and the max. Then I have one that is stuck low and shows 0 degrees and single digits mostly. So biggest problem is I don't really have reliable way to know how hot cores really are other than an averaging of the numbers plus I just touch the heat sink near bottom and feel how warm it gets...but even when it ran that benchmark it was only mildly warm even at the bottom and rest of heatsink was cool. So I'm thinking that one core is reading very high because it starts at like 65 on idle.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    My old Sandy Bridge-E was solid at 4.5GHz but any farther needed too much voltage for 24/7 usage. My ram didnt overclock very well maybe because I was using 8 sticks. It would do 800MHz at 8-8-8-24 but no matter what voltage it wouldnt go much farther.

    Your temps looked so funny I thought you might be using sub zero cooling and the sensors were cold bugged.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Nope, the temperature diodes are just whacky on this ES. Awesome CPU that memory is only rated for 1600 mhz 8 cas timings and I got it to 4.5 ghz cpu with mem at 2400 with 11 cas timings fairly easily once I figured out voltages. The only thing I don't know and I'm going to test is due to that stupid high stuck sensor is if when I artificially hit tjmax if this thing will throttle or not, but I'm going to intentionally up volts at some point just to test that out and see what happens. Yeah I have a retail 3930k I got with my new mobo when old mobo crapped out but from my little testing and affirmation from the former owner it's not nearly as capable and requires higher voltage. What impressed me most about this cpu is to get 4.5 ghz it only needs 1.33 volts. And that is with clocking the memory at 2400 mhz so it's also got a very good memory controller. I am pushing to try and get 10-11-11 timings stable it boots...but blue screens with clock interval not received error so the cpu is crapping out so far in trying to do 2400 mhz with 10 cas.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Have you tried a better temp monitor? That realtemp gt was meant for older chips. EDIT: yeah it looks like sandy bridge-e is supported in that version.

    I've been using hwinfo64
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2016
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Yeah at this point Sandy Bridge E IS an older chip lol. I bought it almost when it was brand new and even then was out a while and that was 2012 believe it or not...but thanks I downloaded 64 bit version of that to see how it fares for hee haws, can't hurt to have another one even if it isn't any different.

    Wow I use that temp gt just because of how simple it is and just displays temps etc at a quick glance...That's pretty neat the program you showed me this tells me all sorts of stuff.

    Still monkeying around with it but I got at least a 1 MB test to complete 10 times with CAS 10 2400mhz. No idea if any way if I push it with my usual 10 gig test it will hold up but it's a start. Only would go 2-5 times before I got voltages better.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2016
    T-Bob and rtwjunkie say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4,628 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,257
    Location:
    Behind a VPN
    I have one of those board
    downloadfile-1.jpeg
     
    dalekdukesboy says thanks.
  9. Ithanul

    Ithanul

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    497 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Alabama country side
    I have a x79. I just need to get it setup and OCing it since it replacing the 1090T/990FX in my folder.

    Its a 3930K and a RIVBE mobo. Even manage to nab the water blocks for the RIV.
     
    T-Bob, rtwjunkie and dalekdukesboy say thanks.
  10. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    614 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    Location:
    Nebulas
    I miss my 3930k & R4BE, 4.7GHz around 1.325 volt.
     
    dalekdukesboy says thanks.
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,402 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,726
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    I have RIVBE and 4960X @ 4.6 GHz w/ 2800 MHz Dominator Platinums still running.
     
    dalekdukesboy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Maybe you do, but considering you have same speed with what you got now you wouldn't go back to it:)

    Thanks all for posting been away from the game too long and benchmarking and just enjoying it. So I will continue to fiddle with my new system see what I can get out of it...2666 was a no go won't post so far. However I don't know if RAM is capable of it or processor, I would need RAM rated for it at least to know how good the memory controller is. Barring that I will play with memory dividers and see if I can keep good timings with this RAM maybe get it near 2500 or something...stay tuned!

    Yeah, Ivy Bridge e would be nice for the memory overclocking, and if you're lucky and can cool it down and get a good sample it can overclock well, however I saw lots of reviews and people who bought processors and they ran hot as hell and weren't great on mhz for OC'ng. Maybe down the road I can pick up a decent 4960 etc because at that speed and if you got decent timings and density at 2800mhz that's not a far cry from a decently overclocked x99 system...least not far enough away that you'd know the difference gaming etc.

    Also those who do still have it feel free to post and leave screenshots etc, I'm particularly interested in settings/voltages etc. Obviously some may not help me but those that do great, and still cool to see what this board can do with newer Ivy Bridge too.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2016
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Caring1

    Caring1

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    5,294 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,269
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Use "Multi quote" to reply to more than one post at a time in the one reply.
    Mods get annoyed having to clean up multiple posts in to one.
     
    dalekdukesboy says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,284 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,303
    Location:
    Houston
    I run a 3820k/gb x79 at work for password crunching it does fine for what it is. Not really any slower than the 4770k that runs beside it in my hackintosh
     
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Ithanul

    Ithanul

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    497 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Alabama country side
    Once I get my slow butt to installing the 3930K into my folder I will take screenshots. Just warning it won't be running on Windows. My folder only runs on Linux distro.

    Actually I will be definitely get it setup once the 5960x/x99 shows up for my main rig. Can do comparison runs with them. See how well a thread on each can haul butt through BOINC tasks. If wondering, no, I did not pay no where near a grand for that chip. I'm to cheap for that. Hehe, I lurk sales sites like crazy. Peeps be jelly enough for what I paid for the 3930k/RIVBE/16GB RAM when buying it off someone. Note, I have not bought a brand new computer part in years. All of it is used and 2nd hand. Heck, even the water blocks. :p
     
  16. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Sorry I forget that ability plus I have a bad habit of replying to one thing, then reading another or thinking of something else so I do it all individually and don't put it all together, thanks for reminding me! Also will make my thread more readable for the people on it not seeing 15 of my msgs all in a row with 2 sentences each.

    Nice I look forward to it!

    Ok, well feel free to share some of your bargain sites/secrets here as well:). Fleabay is where I often end up and get great deals on hardware, the RIVE is still a ridiculously expensive board to get when you can find it for its' age, I got this one and the processor in it on Ebay for roughly the price I've seen for the board itself anywhere and it works great.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Ithanul

    Ithanul

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    497 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Alabama country side
    I usually lurk here, OCN, craigslist (miss it when I was station in California, electronic goodness everywhere), and other forums for used parts. The x79 setup I grabbed off peep for like 300 bucks from OCN (they go through electronics like it is out of style). Right now it seems they are dumping x99 setups atm. Already seen used 1XXX GPUs too, but no where near the price range I would bite at.

    At least there most peeps will tell what OC they get and tell you their BIOS setup to get it. Reason I can't wait for this 5960x to show up (peep had it at 4.6GHz). The 3930k suppose to be a higher clocker too, and that was on an air build. It going full custom water cool when I get it setup. Should allow me to push it farther.

    Sometimes I find good deals on Ebay. It just getting lucky on the bidding at times.
     
  18. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Capture153.jpg Wow, you didn't really get entire x79 setup for 300 bucks? The Rive board by itself goes for more than that still everywhere I look, and even 3930k is 100 plus and 3960 more like 200 everywhere I look. Yeah I was in somewhat a hurry but little over 400 bucks for my rive and the 3930k and that was best I saw anywhere for this board...most sold it for MORE than that by itself!

    Speaking of, this is my latest results I got 2450 stable with memory downclocking cpu to 4.1 and increasing bclock a few ticks. As well as loosening memory to 12 CAS and few voltage upticks on processor. So board will go over 2400 and so will memory while being higly stressed so not great overall settings but encouraging result.

    I just managed to figure out minimum voltage for vcca and vtt or at least pretty close....1.275 is about the least I can give it where it will pass burntest as shown in latest photo.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 22, 2016
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Ithanul

    Ithanul

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    497 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Alabama country side
    Yep, the 3930K, the 16GB of Trident X ram, and the RIVBE all for 300 bucks. Saw it right when he posted it. So I went straight for it super fast. Reason I always keep spare bucks on hand when I see deals like that. Then right after another guy over there posted RIVBE mosfet water blocks. Nabbed those too. Sometimes just lurking about and waiting can pay off.

    Also nabbed both my Tis from other there. Peeps over there tend to dump a few months out before new GPUs drop. Usually since they want to get rid of the GPUs bad enough you can talk them down or fix up a deal if they have more than one for sale. Reason I found it so funny when the 1080 came out and other Ti owners felt butt hurt. I'm over here with my two that I bought with water blocks and backplate installed way cheaper than they bought theirs for on launch day. That considering if I don't count on the money I made back from selling the two OG Titans earlier this year. Darn crazy how those held value for so long.
     
    dalekdukesboy says thanks.
  20. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Still playing around with just shy of 2500 mhz on memory and boots etc just not stable, lot left in the tank of this cpu/memory. Biggest enemy I have is heat even around the cpu socket when I touched the transistor boxes etc they were hot hot so lot of stress to run memory at high speed on this platform.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,284 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,303
    Location:
    Houston
    [​IMG]

    This is the one I use at work.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2016
    dalekdukesboy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Well thanks to that wonky sensor I have unless I really lower the clocks on this to push memory it thermal throttles trying 2500 mhz even at only 4.2 ghz or so because the vtt and vcca voltages are fairly high...I'm kinda tired of this nh-d14 cooler anyway it's so huge and there are newer air coolers that I'm sure can beat it. I may try another high cfm fan on it and see how far I can get this to go but ultimately I'd like the absolute best air cooler out there now or probably better yet the best AIO watercooling which will take up much less space and not stress my board with weight and I imagine would work better...any thoughts on this?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    austria
    you could try to lower cpu pll volts.
    i always set mine to 1,60 to 1,70 volts.
    you have to test every cpu behaves little different on that volt
     
  24. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Thanks, part of the problem is that sensor starts at about 65 degrees in idle and this cpu has a fairly low tjmax 82 so appears the sensor is more accurate under load but still gets to 82 quicker than I'd like if I start stressing heavily in burntest etc. I'm not sure how low I can go with pll considering the memory is so overclocked but I will try to lower it and see how far I can go before it won't pass the test.

    Success today! I finally got all the cables in my case and put the side cover on....which isn't easy with a non-modular power supply and the GPU is setup so the connections face out rather than towards front of case where cables wouldn't be so hard to hide etc, only thing I don't like about the msi gtx 980 custom is yes it's easy to get cables to plug in when they are facing out but that means your cables are arced out of the case and hard to bend in particularly since they aren't that pliable they're so damn thick. Anyway, I also added one fan to the dh 14 Noctua so now I have three rather than two plus now the pressure is much higher in the case with the side closed so it really pushes the hot air out like a wind tunnel. Anyway all those things together got me my first 2500 mhz ram result! With the cpu at nearly 4.5 ghz with bus overclocked to get the memory higher from 44 multiplier. Capture157.jpg
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2016
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Kanan

    Kanan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,815 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,521
    Location:
    Europe
    Got myself a 3960X from ebay for 190 bucks. Clocks like hell I mean very good. Got it up to 5 GHz (didn't try more) halfway stable with auto voltage, just didn't want to push it further, was running with 1.45V. After that I got 4.8 GHz stable with auto (1.45V still) and decided to clock it to 4.5 GHz and undervolt it to 1.3V (-50mV) for stable economic daily use. CPU is a C2 revision, seems I got lucky in the lottery.
     
    dalekdukesboy says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)