• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X79 and/or rampage IV OC'ing thread for those of us still left....

Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
951 (0.23/day)
Likes
239
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#1
I can't find anything resembling "new" threads or even replies to old threads about poor, little neglected x79 and 2011 v1! users not 2011-3 threads which I'm sure are all over those who still have money to upgrade an entire system...which currently I don't. So I got my system tweaked with new memory and re-exploring its' capabilities after finally getting new mobo to replace a failed one. So I hoped maybe there's a few more of me out there who have this platform and might be willing to share OC'ing results particularly Sandy Bridge-E since that's what I've got atm.

This is my best result thus far with memory and OC of the cpu.
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,180 (0.26/day)
Likes
442
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#2
Thats not bad, what kinda cooling do you have?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
951 (0.23/day)
Likes
239
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#3
Not bad? lol jee thanks:). Honestly the CPU is not at max overclock it was the new memory I had that I was really testing...cooling is ok it's a noctua nh d14 which I put a high cfm replacement fan on with one other fan and my main problem I think is the "stuck" diode I have on one of the cpu cores...if you look closely again at the results you'll see one is wildly higher than the rest at ideal and the max. Then I have one that is stuck low and shows 0 degrees and single digits mostly. So biggest problem is I don't really have reliable way to know how hot cores really are other than an averaging of the numbers plus I just touch the heat sink near bottom and feel how warm it gets...but even when it ran that benchmark it was only mildly warm even at the bottom and rest of heatsink was cool. So I'm thinking that one core is reading very high because it starts at like 65 on idle.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,180 (0.26/day)
Likes
442
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#4
My old Sandy Bridge-E was solid at 4.5GHz but any farther needed too much voltage for 24/7 usage. My ram didnt overclock very well maybe because I was using 8 sticks. It would do 800MHz at 8-8-8-24 but no matter what voltage it wouldnt go much farther.

Your temps looked so funny I thought you might be using sub zero cooling and the sensors were cold bugged.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
951 (0.23/day)
Likes
239
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#5
Nope, the temperature diodes are just whacky on this ES. Awesome CPU that memory is only rated for 1600 mhz 8 cas timings and I got it to 4.5 ghz cpu with mem at 2400 with 11 cas timings fairly easily once I figured out voltages. The only thing I don't know and I'm going to test is due to that stupid high stuck sensor is if when I artificially hit tjmax if this thing will throttle or not, but I'm going to intentionally up volts at some point just to test that out and see what happens. Yeah I have a retail 3930k I got with my new mobo when old mobo crapped out but from my little testing and affirmation from the former owner it's not nearly as capable and requires higher voltage. What impressed me most about this cpu is to get 4.5 ghz it only needs 1.33 volts. And that is with clocking the memory at 2400 mhz so it's also got a very good memory controller. I am pushing to try and get 10-11-11 timings stable it boots...but blue screens with clock interval not received error so the cpu is crapping out so far in trying to do 2400 mhz with 10 cas.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,180 (0.26/day)
Likes
442
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#6
Have you tried a better temp monitor? That realtemp gt was meant for older chips. EDIT: yeah it looks like sandy bridge-e is supported in that version.

I've been using hwinfo64
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
951 (0.23/day)
Likes
239
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#7
Yeah at this point Sandy Bridge E IS an older chip lol. I bought it almost when it was brand new and even then was out a while and that was 2012 believe it or not...but thanks I downloaded 64 bit version of that to see how it fares for hee haws, can't hurt to have another one even if it isn't any different.

Wow I use that temp gt just because of how simple it is and just displays temps etc at a quick glance...That's pretty neat the program you showed me this tells me all sorts of stuff.

Still monkeying around with it but I got at least a 1 MB test to complete 10 times with CAS 10 2400mhz. No idea if any way if I push it with my usual 10 gig test it will hold up but it's a start. Only would go 2-5 times before I got voltages better.
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

Knoxx29

Xeon Owners Club
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
5,574 (3.33/day)
Likes
3,987
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8700K 5.0GHz 1.296V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V 3000MHz 32GB/ G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133Hz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#8
I have one of those board
downloadfile-1.jpeg
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
522 (0.53/day)
Likes
337
Location
Beachy Gulf Beach
System Name RadActive Dragon & Black Dragon
Processor i7 5960X & 1090T
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD3P & Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling EK EVO & Corsair H50
Memory GSkill TridentZ 32GBs 3200MHz & Vegeance 8GBs 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x 980Ti & 960 FTW
Storage Samsung Pro 256GB & Intel 120GB
Case Heavy modded Haf X & NZXT Apollo
Power Supply AX1200 & AX1200i
Software Windows 7 & Ubuntu 15.04
#9
I have a x79. I just need to get it setup and OCing it since it replacing the 1090T/990FX in my folder.

Its a 3930K and a RIVBE mobo. Even manage to nab the water blocks for the RIV.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
615 (0.28/day)
Likes
358
Location
Nebulas
System Name X99
Processor 5930K @ 4.7GHz @ 1.323v
Motherboard Rampage V Edition 10
Cooling EK
Memory Dominator Platinum 32GB
Video Card(s) 2x Gigabyte xtreme gaming 980ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 850 Pro & WD320
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @100Hz
Case Thermaltake Core P5
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply 120-G2-1600-X1
Mouse Mamba 2012
Keyboard K70
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6823139
#10
I miss my 3930k & R4BE, 4.7GHz around 1.325 volt.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
951 (0.23/day)
Likes
239
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#12
I miss my 3930k & R4BE, 4.7GHz around 1.325 volt.
Maybe you do, but considering you have same speed with what you got now you wouldn't go back to it:)

Thanks all for posting been away from the game too long and benchmarking and just enjoying it. So I will continue to fiddle with my new system see what I can get out of it...2666 was a no go won't post so far. However I don't know if RAM is capable of it or processor, I would need RAM rated for it at least to know how good the memory controller is. Barring that I will play with memory dividers and see if I can keep good timings with this RAM maybe get it near 2500 or something...stay tuned!

I have RIVBE and 4960X @ 4.6 GHz w/ 2800 MHz Dominator Platinums still running.
Yeah, Ivy Bridge e would be nice for the memory overclocking, and if you're lucky and can cool it down and get a good sample it can overclock well, however I saw lots of reviews and people who bought processors and they ran hot as hell and weren't great on mhz for OC'ng. Maybe down the road I can pick up a decent 4960 etc because at that speed and if you got decent timings and density at 2800mhz that's not a far cry from a decently overclocked x99 system...least not far enough away that you'd know the difference gaming etc.

Also those who do still have it feel free to post and leave screenshots etc, I'm particularly interested in settings/voltages etc. Obviously some may not help me but those that do great, and still cool to see what this board can do with newer Ivy Bridge too.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,422 (4.49/day)
Likes
3,821
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#13
Use "Multi quote" to reply to more than one post at a time in the one reply.
Mods get annoyed having to clean up multiple posts in to one.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,269 (6.14/day)
Likes
8,152
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+AMD VEGA FE (sometimes)
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#14
I run a 3820k/gb x79 at work for password crunching it does fine for what it is. Not really any slower than the 4770k that runs beside it in my hackintosh
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
522 (0.53/day)
Likes
337
Location
Beachy Gulf Beach
System Name RadActive Dragon & Black Dragon
Processor i7 5960X & 1090T
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD3P & Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling EK EVO & Corsair H50
Memory GSkill TridentZ 32GBs 3200MHz & Vegeance 8GBs 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x 980Ti & 960 FTW
Storage Samsung Pro 256GB & Intel 120GB
Case Heavy modded Haf X & NZXT Apollo
Power Supply AX1200 & AX1200i
Software Windows 7 & Ubuntu 15.04
#15
Once I get my slow butt to installing the 3930K into my folder I will take screenshots. Just warning it won't be running on Windows. My folder only runs on Linux distro.

Actually I will be definitely get it setup once the 5960x/x99 shows up for my main rig. Can do comparison runs with them. See how well a thread on each can haul butt through BOINC tasks. If wondering, no, I did not pay no where near a grand for that chip. I'm to cheap for that. Hehe, I lurk sales sites like crazy. Peeps be jelly enough for what I paid for the 3930k/RIVBE/16GB RAM when buying it off someone. Note, I have not bought a brand new computer part in years. All of it is used and 2nd hand. Heck, even the water blocks. :p
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
951 (0.23/day)
Likes
239
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#16
Use "Multi quote" to reply to more than one post at a time in the one reply.
Mods get annoyed having to clean up multiple posts in to one.
Sorry I forget that ability plus I have a bad habit of replying to one thing, then reading another or thinking of something else so I do it all individually and don't put it all together, thanks for reminding me! Also will make my thread more readable for the people on it not seeing 15 of my msgs all in a row with 2 sentences each.

Once I get my slow butt to installing the 3930K into my folder I will take screenshots. Just warning it won't be running on Windows. My folder only runs on Linux distro.



Actually I will be definitely get it setup once the 5960x/x99 shows up for my main rig. Can do comparison runs with them. See how well a thread on each can haul butt through BOINC tasks. If wondering, no, I did not pay no where near a grand for that chip. I'm to cheap for that. Hehe, I lurk sales sites like crazy. Peeps be jelly enough for what I paid for the 3930k/RIVBE/16GB RAM when buying it off someone. Note, I have not bought a brand new computer part in years. All of it is used and 2nd hand. Heck, even the water blocks. :p
Nice I look forward to it!

Ok, well feel free to share some of your bargain sites/secrets here as well:). Fleabay is where I often end up and get great deals on hardware, the RIVE is still a ridiculously expensive board to get when you can find it for its' age, I got this one and the processor in it on Ebay for roughly the price I've seen for the board itself anywhere and it works great.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
522 (0.53/day)
Likes
337
Location
Beachy Gulf Beach
System Name RadActive Dragon & Black Dragon
Processor i7 5960X & 1090T
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD3P & Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling EK EVO & Corsair H50
Memory GSkill TridentZ 32GBs 3200MHz & Vegeance 8GBs 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x 980Ti & 960 FTW
Storage Samsung Pro 256GB & Intel 120GB
Case Heavy modded Haf X & NZXT Apollo
Power Supply AX1200 & AX1200i
Software Windows 7 & Ubuntu 15.04
#17
I usually lurk here, OCN, craigslist (miss it when I was station in California, electronic goodness everywhere), and other forums for used parts. The x79 setup I grabbed off peep for like 300 bucks from OCN (they go through electronics like it is out of style). Right now it seems they are dumping x99 setups atm. Already seen used 1XXX GPUs too, but no where near the price range I would bite at.

At least there most peeps will tell what OC they get and tell you their BIOS setup to get it. Reason I can't wait for this 5960x to show up (peep had it at 4.6GHz). The 3930k suppose to be a higher clocker too, and that was on an air build. It going full custom water cool when I get it setup. Should allow me to push it farther.

Sometimes I find good deals on Ebay. It just getting lucky on the bidding at times.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
951 (0.23/day)
Likes
239
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#18
Capture153.jpg
Wow, you didn't really get entire x79 setup for 300 bucks? The Rive board by itself goes for more than that still everywhere I look, and even 3930k is 100 plus and 3960 more like 200 everywhere I look. Yeah I was in somewhat a hurry but little over 400 bucks for my rive and the 3930k and that was best I saw anywhere for this board...most sold it for MORE than that by itself!

Speaking of, this is my latest results I got 2450 stable with memory downclocking cpu to 4.1 and increasing bclock a few ticks. As well as loosening memory to 12 CAS and few voltage upticks on processor. So board will go over 2400 and so will memory while being higly stressed so not great overall settings but encouraging result.

I just managed to figure out minimum voltage for vcca and vtt or at least pretty close....1.275 is about the least I can give it where it will pass burntest as shown in latest photo.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
522 (0.53/day)
Likes
337
Location
Beachy Gulf Beach
System Name RadActive Dragon & Black Dragon
Processor i7 5960X & 1090T
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD3P & Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling EK EVO & Corsair H50
Memory GSkill TridentZ 32GBs 3200MHz & Vegeance 8GBs 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x 980Ti & 960 FTW
Storage Samsung Pro 256GB & Intel 120GB
Case Heavy modded Haf X & NZXT Apollo
Power Supply AX1200 & AX1200i
Software Windows 7 & Ubuntu 15.04
#19
Wow, you didn't really get entire x79 setup for 300 bucks? The Rive board by itself goes for more than that still everywhere I look, and even 3930k is 100 plus and 3960 more like 200 everywhere I look. Yeah I was in somewhat a hurry but little over 400 bucks for my rive and the 3930k and that was best I saw anywhere for this board...most sold it for MORE than that by itself!

Speaking of, this is my latest results I got 2450 stable with memory downclocking cpu to 4.1 and increasing bclock a few ticks. As well as loosening memory to 12 CAS and few voltage upticks on processor. So board will go over 2400 and so will memory while being higly stressed so not great overall settings but encouraging result.
Yep, the 3930K, the 16GB of Trident X ram, and the RIVBE all for 300 bucks. Saw it right when he posted it. So I went straight for it super fast. Reason I always keep spare bucks on hand when I see deals like that. Then right after another guy over there posted RIVBE mosfet water blocks. Nabbed those too. Sometimes just lurking about and waiting can pay off.

Also nabbed both my Tis from other there. Peeps over there tend to dump a few months out before new GPUs drop. Usually since they want to get rid of the GPUs bad enough you can talk them down or fix up a deal if they have more than one for sale. Reason I found it so funny when the 1080 came out and other Ti owners felt butt hurt. I'm over here with my two that I bought with water blocks and backplate installed way cheaper than they bought theirs for on launch day. That considering if I don't count on the money I made back from selling the two OG Titans earlier this year. Darn crazy how those held value for so long.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
951 (0.23/day)
Likes
239
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#20
Still playing around with just shy of 2500 mhz on memory and boots etc just not stable, lot left in the tank of this cpu/memory. Biggest enemy I have is heat even around the cpu socket when I touched the transistor boxes etc they were hot hot so lot of stress to run memory at high speed on this platform.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,269 (6.14/day)
Likes
8,152
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+AMD VEGA FE (sometimes)
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#21


This is the one I use at work.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
951 (0.23/day)
Likes
239
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#22
Well thanks to that wonky sensor I have unless I really lower the clocks on this to push memory it thermal throttles trying 2500 mhz even at only 4.2 ghz or so because the vtt and vcca voltages are fairly high...I'm kinda tired of this nh-d14 cooler anyway it's so huge and there are newer air coolers that I'm sure can beat it. I may try another high cfm fan on it and see how far I can get this to go but ultimately I'd like the absolute best air cooler out there now or probably better yet the best AIO watercooling which will take up much less space and not stress my board with weight and I imagine would work better...any thoughts on this?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
897 (0.27/day)
Likes
470
Location
austria
Processor 2500k
Motherboard ud4
Cooling water
Memory 4gb
Video Card(s) 560ti
Power Supply 300sfx
#23
you could try to lower cpu pll volts.
i always set mine to 1,60 to 1,70 volts.
you have to test every cpu behaves little different on that volt
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
951 (0.23/day)
Likes
239
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
#24
Thanks, part of the problem is that sensor starts at about 65 degrees in idle and this cpu has a fairly low tjmax 82 so appears the sensor is more accurate under load but still gets to 82 quicker than I'd like if I start stressing heavily in burntest etc. I'm not sure how low I can go with pll considering the memory is so overclocked but I will try to lower it and see how far I can go before it won't pass the test.

Success today! I finally got all the cables in my case and put the side cover on....which isn't easy with a non-modular power supply and the GPU is setup so the connections face out rather than towards front of case where cables wouldn't be so hard to hide etc, only thing I don't like about the msi gtx 980 custom is yes it's easy to get cables to plug in when they are facing out but that means your cables are arced out of the case and hard to bend in particularly since they aren't that pliable they're so damn thick. Anyway, I also added one fan to the dh 14 Noctua so now I have three rather than two plus now the pressure is much higher in the case with the side closed so it really pushes the hot air out like a wind tunnel. Anyway all those things together got me my first 2500 mhz ram result! With the cpu at nearly 4.5 ghz with bus overclocked to get the memory higher from 44 multiplier.
Capture157.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,815 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,497
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 6.7
Processor Intel Core i7 3960X, overclocked at 4.5 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 / 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Sniper 4x4 GB DDR3 1866, CL9-10-9-9-2T, 1.5 V
Video Card(s) G1 Gaming GeForce GTX 980 Ti, overclocked to ~1350-1400 MHz Core / 1928 MHz RAM for daily usage
Storage Samsung SSD 830, 128GB & SSD 850 Evo, 500GB & F3, 1TB 7200RPM / Seagate Barracuda Green, 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) iiyama 27" 1080p 120Hz & 22" 1680x1050 60Hz / Samsung 40" 1080p HDTV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Music/Sony HD AVR@PC&HDTV @ Teufel Concept F &Theater 80 & Razer Carcharias
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ in semi-passive mode
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX
Keyboard Logitech G11
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 4144 UG Superposition 1080p Extreme|6302 Time Spy|P16615 Firestrike|P21524 3DM11|X37002 3DM Vantage
#25
Got myself a 3960X from ebay for 190 bucks. Clocks like hell I mean very good. Got it up to 5 GHz (didn't try more) halfway stable with auto voltage, just didn't want to push it further, was running with 1.45V. After that I got 4.8 GHz stable with auto (1.45V still) and decided to clock it to 4.5 GHz and undervolt it to 1.3V (-50mV) for stable economic daily use. CPU is a C2 revision, seems I got lucky in the lottery.
 
Top