• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
6,824 (1.59/day)
Location
Viking Land
System Name Ivy Biatch
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard ASSRockzz z77TOTHEEXTREME!!!!
Cooling bleh
Memory 2x4gb crucial 1866
Video Card(s) HD7770, yes it does BF3
Storage 120gb Vertex
Display(s) 226BW
Case whats that, oh my table
Audio Device(s) stock onboard thing
Power Supply HX850W
Software 7
i dont even own a optical drive, and if i were to get one it would def be a external drive, they dont really cost that much more than a regular drive
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (5.82/day)
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Yeah, I either remove the whole drive and get a external one or get a black rounded IDE cable.
Yup Koolance bracket, it BARELY fit the fittings, tight fit but it works and no leaks :)

Thanks btw :D

Black rounded IDE cable will be much better. If it's a optical drive I just got an external one, makes life sooo much easier :laugh:

i dont even own a optical drive, and if i were to get one it would def be a external drive, they dont really cost that much more than a regular drive

That's what I did :)
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
3,405 (0.78/day)
Location
Brunswick, GA
System Name Haz0
Processor i7-2700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling Chicken Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripshits X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5850
Storage Kingston 128GB SSD + WD Black 640GB + 2x 1.5TB
Display(s) 24" Acer G245HQ + 19" Lenovo L194
Case Antec NSK-4482 Orangified
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7: Electric Boogaloo
i dont even own a optical drive, and if i were to get one it would def be a external drive, they dont really cost that much more than a regular drive

Internal drives are very cheap, you can get a nice used dvd burner for $20 shipped. That mixed with the fact that they're easily installable in every case and that you're going to have to have a SATA power line out anyways for the hard drive(s) leads me to believe that there's no real reason not to have one. That's just my opinion anyways, I'd always have one. Although I don't burn a ton of stuff I wouldn't want to have to deal with an external one and its lower burn speeds and such.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
2,219 (0.48/day)
Location
Look up. Look way up.
System Name Ultimate Vortex III
Processor Intel Core i7-9700K
Motherboard Asus ROG MAXIMUS XI GENE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8Gb) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16
Video Card(s) Asus RX5700-8G Radeon RX 5700
Storage The usual
Display(s) You know, HDMI and DP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 Advanced
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 850W
Mouse Corsair RGB
Keyboard K70 Rapidfire with Cherry MX Speed
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I agree ^^ especially with my CM RC690 case. The 5.25" bays are well designed and easy to install/remove optical drives. My $25 LG 22x DVD +-RW treats me just fine :)
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2006
Messages
833 (0.15/day)
Location
UK, Brighton
Processor 9900k @ stock (direct die)
Motherboard Aorus Master z390.
Cooling Dual Loop, Custom
Memory 16GB Corsair RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080Ti SEAHAWK EK X
Storage Samsung 960 512, Samsung 860 2TB, Sabrent Rocket 1TB
Display(s) Asus MG278Q/Acer XB270HA
Case MM U2-UFO Extended CYO
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense & AKG K550 Headphones
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard Corsair K70 mk.2 Silent
Software Win 10 Pro X64
I can finally join the 4ghz club :rockout:

my rig sitting their happily @ 4.153ghz :rockout: bench stable.:laugh:

 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,242 (1.80/day)
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
Those fans make me think of milk. BRB.

Edit: Back. *looks in mirror at milk mustache*
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,141 (7.97/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) MSI MAG322CQR
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
I got my 2nd radiator in today, it didn't turn out as I hoped unfortunately. I had a couple angles off. I need a second 45 degree fitting to replace the 90 degree on the block so I can flip the rear radiator around. Had a leak.. fixed it. It's going to take a long time to get the air out of this thing. Even with just the pull fan and the cheapest 120 radiator I could buy, I shaved about 5 degrees off my temps.

 

Cold Storm

Battosai
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,010 (3.02/day)
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haro
Processor AMD 1700x
Motherboard AsRork x370 Taichi
Cooling EK Custom Loop - CPU only
Memory 32gb G-Skill Trident Z
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Superclock 2
Storage Too Many
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & LG 32 IPS
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 500
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
Glad to see it dropped 5c. Looking good man. what tubing size do you have?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,141 (7.97/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) MSI MAG322CQR
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Glad to see it dropped 5c. Looking good man. what tubing size do you have?

That is 1/2" ID. I got some new white stuff, but that will go on after I get my fitting situation settled. :)
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,515 (1.74/day)
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 3.0
Processor i7 8700k @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus X APEX
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 16GB 3600 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 4TB
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
Yeah but can you still hold it in one hand? :p
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,141 (7.97/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) MSI MAG322CQR
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Nope, not anymore. :laugh: I just figured I could use the extra cooling with a Thuban on the way. Plus, I should be able to run my current processor a bit higher since things are staying below 45c.
 

Cold Storm

Battosai
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,010 (3.02/day)
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haro
Processor AMD 1700x
Motherboard AsRork x370 Taichi
Cooling EK Custom Loop - CPU only
Memory 32gb G-Skill Trident Z
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Superclock 2
Storage Too Many
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & LG 32 IPS
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 500
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
That is 1/2" ID. I got some new white stuff, but that will go on after I get my fitting situation settled. :)

Dang I got tons of 3/8th fittings sitting around. Sneeky got all my 1/2.

Yeah but can you still hold it in one hand? :p

Hell yes he can! it's called push/pull rad's!
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2006
Messages
833 (0.15/day)
Location
UK, Brighton
Processor 9900k @ stock (direct die)
Motherboard Aorus Master z390.
Cooling Dual Loop, Custom
Memory 16GB Corsair RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080Ti SEAHAWK EK X
Storage Samsung 960 512, Samsung 860 2TB, Sabrent Rocket 1TB
Display(s) Asus MG278Q/Acer XB270HA
Case MM U2-UFO Extended CYO
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense & AKG K550 Headphones
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard Corsair K70 mk.2 Silent
Software Win 10 Pro X64
erocker, you will be suprised of the temps from thuban chips, my 1090t is 5/6.c colder than my old 955.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
601 (0.14/day)
Location
Ireland.
Ooh when you said it was tight i had no idea


*giggles* thats what she said.... :laugh:

I'm looking at all the Gigabyte motherboards that people are using for thier builds.... goddamn they are sexy pieces of gear! I've ordered a UD7 myself, just waiting on it to arrive. :D
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,141 (7.97/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) MSI MAG322CQR
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
erocker, you will be suprised of the temps from thuban chips, my 1090t is 5/6.c colder than my old 955.

I'm thinking so. My memory controller on my 965 isn't very good, so I need to run close to 1.4v for a 2750mhz NB. That creates a lot of heat right there.



Before I would be at, at least 48-49c already. Having the rear radiator properly mounted with a push\pull should help even more. It is a PITA working in this tight space with little room to work. Getting the block mounted properly using a micrometer is really troublesome with the tubing in the way. :ohwell:
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2006
Messages
833 (0.15/day)
Location
UK, Brighton
Processor 9900k @ stock (direct die)
Motherboard Aorus Master z390.
Cooling Dual Loop, Custom
Memory 16GB Corsair RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080Ti SEAHAWK EK X
Storage Samsung 960 512, Samsung 860 2TB, Sabrent Rocket 1TB
Display(s) Asus MG278Q/Acer XB270HA
Case MM U2-UFO Extended CYO
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense & AKG K550 Headphones
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard Corsair K70 mk.2 Silent
Software Win 10 Pro X64
head over to the new vantage comp, i posted a new score on their, you will see my cpu temp using pcprobe, not full load temps but not far off, print screened soon as it finished.

sometimes i think it might not be telling the truth...
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (0.86/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
Internal drives are very cheap, you can get a nice used dvd burner for $20 shipped. That mixed with the fact that they're easily installable in every case and that you're going to have to have a SATA power line out anyways for the hard drive(s) leads me to believe that there's no real reason not to have one. That's just my opinion anyways, I'd always have one. Although I don't burn a ton of stuff I wouldn't want to have to deal with an external one and its lower burn speeds and such.
Newegg actually has a very nice Sony Optiarc for $20 shipped right now. I got one, just haven't felt like turning off my PC to install it yet :laugh:
Going to order another for a different PC as well.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (1.62/day)
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
My Prolimatech Megahalems and fan is here!!!:rockout:

Don't really feel like installing it right now though(just got back from work), just thinking about taking my mobo out of the case right now is mind numbing.:ohwell:
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
3,405 (0.78/day)
Location
Brunswick, GA
System Name Haz0
Processor i7-2700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling Chicken Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripshits X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5850
Storage Kingston 128GB SSD + WD Black 640GB + 2x 1.5TB
Display(s) 24" Acer G245HQ + 19" Lenovo L194
Case Antec NSK-4482 Orangified
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7: Electric Boogaloo
Newegg actually has a very nice Sony Optiarc for $20 shipped right now. I got one, just haven't felt like turning off my PC to install it yet :laugh:
Going to order another for a different PC as well.

That looks like a really sweet deal Jebus. Back when I was putting my rig together I ordered 2 LG 22X burners at like $26 shipped each. One's in the case now, the other sitting in the closet. Both are excellent drives, never had a single problem with them.



I just reinstalled Win7 after about an 8 month run on the old install. Everything went without a hitch except one little problem. Here it is, a visible "System Reserved" partition, it annoys the living crap out of me:

There's nothing in there, I have no idea why it made that partition. Should I try to get rid of it? Also, that floppy drive has always been visible but I have no floppy drive installed. That also annoys me.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
6,824 (1.59/day)
Location
Viking Land
System Name Ivy Biatch
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard ASSRockzz z77TOTHEEXTREME!!!!
Cooling bleh
Memory 2x4gb crucial 1866
Video Card(s) HD7770, yes it does BF3
Storage 120gb Vertex
Display(s) 226BW
Case whats that, oh my table
Audio Device(s) stock onboard thing
Power Supply HX850W
Software 7
you need to go to bios and set your floppy to none or what you can
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
3,405 (0.78/day)
Location
Brunswick, GA
System Name Haz0
Processor i7-2700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling Chicken Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripshits X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5850
Storage Kingston 128GB SSD + WD Black 640GB + 2x 1.5TB
Display(s) 24" Acer G245HQ + 19" Lenovo L194
Case Antec NSK-4482 Orangified
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7: Electric Boogaloo
you need to go to bios and set your floppy to none or what you can

Oh that's something else. I can't make any changes in the BIOS without it doing the 3x power up-fail boot loop (like when you do some ridiculous OC that the computer can't handle). Whatever changes I make stay and take effect, it just fails to boot 3 times. I have nothing overclocked, everything is at stock.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
6,824 (1.59/day)
Location
Viking Land
System Name Ivy Biatch
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard ASSRockzz z77TOTHEEXTREME!!!!
Cooling bleh
Memory 2x4gb crucial 1866
Video Card(s) HD7770, yes it does BF3
Storage 120gb Vertex
Display(s) 226BW
Case whats that, oh my table
Audio Device(s) stock onboard thing
Power Supply HX850W
Software 7
hmm sounds like a semi dead battery?
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (0.86/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
I just reinstalled Win7 after about an 8 month run on the old install. Everything went without a hitch except one little problem. Here it is, a visible "System Reserved" partition, it annoys the living crap out of me:
http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/6418/problemo.jpg
There's nothing in there, I have no idea why it made that partition. Should I try to get rid of it? Also, that floppy drive has always been visible but I have no floppy drive installed. That also annoys me.
I have no idea about the extra partition, but I think "Black Backup" should be renamed to "Blackup" :roll:
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
3,405 (0.78/day)
Location
Brunswick, GA
System Name Haz0
Processor i7-2700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling Chicken Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripshits X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5850
Storage Kingston 128GB SSD + WD Black 640GB + 2x 1.5TB
Display(s) 24" Acer G245HQ + 19" Lenovo L194
Case Antec NSK-4482 Orangified
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7: Electric Boogaloo
hmm sounds like a semi dead battery?

Can you or anyone else confirm this? I know they're not very expensive but there's no reason why mine should be going out so soon.
 
Top