1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7,208 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,467
    Location:
    Up North
    MoonPig says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,780 (10.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,412
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Surprisingly good for that kind of heatsink. Q9550 is at 4GHz and it's under 70c MAX load...
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  4. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Could someone tell me exactly what HDD interface I'm looking at here on this laptop. What came out of it was a "WD400" (40GB) "Enhanced" IDE drive.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Could it be "IDE Ultra ATA100"?
     
  5. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    if you wanna use that in your desktop i have a converter for it if you want it?

    i dont use it any more so its yours for free

    looks a bit like this [​IMG]
     
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    16,413 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,056
    that is known as Mini IDE, it can be adapted to IDE or SATA depending on the adapter used.
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  7. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24,525 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,626
    Location:
    Houston
    ChaoticAtmosphere and phanbuey say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Well it came out of that laptop there and is failing. I'm getting BSOD's, boot-up fails, and I put HDTune on there and it has a couple bad sectors. I was able to back up all of the files to a flash drive. Now I'm just looking for a replacement. Preferably something larger than 40GB, but it can't be anymore than like $25. Any ideas?
     
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,528 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,156
    Location:
    Austin Texas
  11. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24,525 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,626
    Location:
    Houston
    thanks i like the size of it made it easy to fit two very large rads without major modification even with the fans in a push/pull setup. need some modders mesh for the back were i turned the PSU on its side and some sleeving for all the loose fan cables. i also cant decide if i should swap the MCR320 for a 420 at the bottom or not it would fit but the last 120 would only be able to fit a single 120mm fan no push/pull like the rest of the system.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    16,413 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,056
    My Laptop from 2004 had a 60 gig, dropped in a 100 gig, also you have to realize laptop parts are gonna cost more.
     
  13. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    [​IMG]
     
  14. starams5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    81 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    California, USA
    Your post gave me an idea, something I should have thought of before. I have two HP laptops that were given to me with bad screens. Can I use the enclosure below for the laptop hard drive? Thanks.

    RX81U-ES-25B 2.5" External Enclosure
    Rosewill RX81U-ES-25B 2.5" IDE to USB 2.0 External...

    Fujitsu 100GB Hard Drive
    http://www.superwarehouse.com/Fujitsu_100GB_Hard_Drive/MHV2100AT/ps/624276
     
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    id say you could, but im only 95% sure:laugh:
     
  16. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,512 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,136
    Location:
    Kansas City
  17. starams5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    81 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    California, USA
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    well, you can always get the enclosure, you can use it again if you want a bigger 2.5" external;)
     
    starams5 says thanks.
  19. starams5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    81 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    California, USA
    That is so true......thanks again.
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Any more memory than that is just a waste with that little processing power 99.99999% of the time anyway.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,633 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,040
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    128MB is enough for anything non gaming, and cards that low spec are never used for gaming anyway.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. adam99leit

    adam99leit

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    293 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Spring lake
    got bored did this in one night after a 7 hour trip to micro center show off fitseries3 custom dtek dual outlet block

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  23. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,017 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,850
    That's pretty sweet:toast:

    Two 3.120 rads cooling just the CPU? That must run darn cool, even at 4 ghz.

    By looking at the pics, your pump goes to the block, then exits the block to both rads, then Ts. back into the pump? Do you have a res hidden? Neat.


    Here's mine after a minor overhaul. I already posted it in the NatAspWC thread. New Panflows and fittings on the res and vga, took about 13" of tube out of the loop.

    [​IMG]
     
    adam99leit says thanks.
  24. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    495 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Got a new desk today. Old one was falling apart, I had it almost 10 years and it survived 4 moves. My cable management is nonexistent right now. Not sure if this is the final positioning yet. Bookshelves arrive tomorrow so I need to make sure everything fits.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  25. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    I can't see it :(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)