1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    GIGABYTE 990FX-UD3 might be $150 or less.

    P.S. Have they corrected the issue with some older games like Valve Titles and Deus Ex BSOD when using the updated BIOS with a Bulldozer?
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2011
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    My buddy just got that board but he's running a 1090T on it though. However, for 4GHz, it does it effortlessly.

    As far as your question, what about this Gigabyte? Has good reviews on the egg, seems like a popular choice. Looks great too!

    GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
     
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I've got that board, it's the worst board I've used in years. (990fxa ud3)

    Bios is useless, latest bios causes massive v-droop issues and even if you set the voltage higher to compensate you'll still require more volts just to get things stable ( but you need the latest bios for APM features)

    Also their support is awful.


    *edit*

    New beta f6f fixes v-droop issues but only if the voltage is set to normal.

    If you increase voltage v-droop is enormous still.

    Setting + 100mv results in stock voltages give or take.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2011
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Good info, thanks for chiming in. Just looked really good for the price and reviews were good.
     
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I got it because it looked pretty : [

    Wish I got an Asus now :laugh:
     
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :laugh: Deep down inside we all know a pretty board has more kudos when choosing a board. :laugh:
     
  7. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Fatal1ty looks good; and it has good points. Like 12+2 power phase. Thats unique.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Just took a look at that board on Newegg, looks really good! Not badly priced either I would say.
     
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Well going by specs all the boards In in my price range ( £130 max) were similar so it came down to layout and aesthetics ( since none had bulldozer reviews yet I didn't know how they would do with it, all had similar x6 over-clocking capabilities)

    And with an all black/grey design and good layout for crossfire the ud3 won out.

    Unfortunately when it came to bulldozer support well, gigabyte didn't do so well :laugh:

    A shame really because the ud5 and 7 get frequent updates.


    Damn it's nice clean layout swaying my buying decisions
    [​IMG]
     
  10. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
    pantherx12 and Daimus say thanks.
  11. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    New potential 24/7 overclock.

    Let me know if you guys think it's safe ( not used to pushing far with voltage)

    4.6 ghz @ 1.42v

    General usage temps don't go over 50c ( HWMonitor)

    Intel-burn in test temps don't go over 60c (default settings until it passes also HW monitor )
     
    Daimus says thanks.
  12. PolRoger

    PolRoger

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    225 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    I'm running 4.7Ghz with ~1.425v load "crunching" 24/7.

    On my Intel rig I'm running 4.7Ghz with ~1.31/1.32v load "crunching" 24/7. I usually prefer to run with lower vcore for daily o.c.'s but I decided to go with 1.4v(+) so I could scale MHz as much as possible to make up for BD's lackluster ipc performance.
     
  13. JustaTinkerer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    272 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Scotland
    Woohoo....water went in today....have never played with any the features on the M/B and CPU so I started off light.

    Turbo got me up to 4GHz and all I had to do was make myself a coffee, good times.
    Temps on Intel burn didn't go over 36c...
    Going to tidy up my living room (parts everywhere for looking out my cooling gear) then spend the next 3-4 hours trying to break 5GHz...I have a water chiller that needs some TLC for the coming months but right now:
    Me.
    Some water.
    Some fun.

    EDIT: 30 min later 4.6GHz
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    What cooling are you using with that? :toast:
     
  15. JustaTinkerer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    272 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hmm well, 5GHz....
    used alot of volts to push it through right enough...just spend a few hours polishing and run it @4.5GHz for the rest of its days.

    IF I find bench stable I dont mind running benches with 5GHz at those volts but only a madman would run that 24/7...Still finding my way round this board and AMD overclocking last OC I had with results was a Q6600 @ 4.25GHz on a P5K so much simpler than all the options I have now.

    [​IMG]

    Intel burn was giving me max 63c....forgot to SS, ach well, no doubt I will post again tonight.

    EDIT:

    Ach, found 5GHz under 1.5v but cant find 5.5Ghz yet...getting it to boot but just no where near stable.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 5ghz.jpg
      5ghz.jpg
      File size:
      86.1 KB
      Views:
      662
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  16. PolRoger

    PolRoger

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    225 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    I'm running a Alphacool NexXxos UT60 triple rad with an XSPC RayStorm block.

    My Fluke DMM is showing ~1.425v load from CHVF's read points:
    [​IMG]
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Would love to try my chip underwater, seems like it could be a goodun :D

    I'm going to try 4.7 with air now lol


    *edit*

    I failed : [

    Nothing can make it work, cept extra voltage and well, then I go past 62 degrees and that just isn't fun.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  18. JustaTinkerer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    272 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Scotland
    Going round in circles here....what is happening with the temp readings.... only clock I have on it right now is 10MHz above base so its running 3.26GHz

    IDLE
    [​IMG]

    LOAD
    [​IMG]

    BIOS is reading the same as ASUS system info, cant be right can it?

    AMBIENT TEMP 21c

    For cooling I'm using:

    Black ice GT 360 rad

    MCP655 Laing D5 Vario pump

    OCZ Hydro block

    The fans on the rad are generic, lost my loons in a house move. Would that cause my temps.

    I have re-seated, and I'm using MX-2 tim.

    Last processor I had under this water was a Q6600, @ 1.46Vcore 3.8GHz and I still have screens of the temps hitting 45@ load (with loons though)

    Is this processor that hot?
    Is the generic fans ruining a good loop?
    Do I need a new waterblock?
     

    Attached Files:

    • temp.jpg
      temp.jpg
      File size:
      180.5 KB
      Views:
      1,155
  19. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,341 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,135
    that's nothing for temps @ that frequency. I dont wanna say but yes these fuckers run hot and draw alot of power for what they do. my 8150 was yanking 799W from the wall and water cooling was not working very well under extreme cpu burnin... 82c :cool:
     
  20. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    [​IMG]

    CPU temp is correct (red)
    Core temps are incorrect (blue)
     
  21. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    He's posted up the same picture twice guys.

    Repost the correct picture and I'll try to help :p


    Idle temps on these chips always seems to be way off by the way, currently reckons I'm running at 13c but under-load I go to 60c so load temps are generally correct. ( or seem to be anyway)
     
  22. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,341 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,135
    Load temps are more correct then idle. Wanna see how your cooling is up to the task? Run linX max mem and you'll see how hot these chips run.
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,791 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,168
  24. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I googled it, no links that were relevant in first page of results.
     
  25. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,341 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,135
    What?:wtf:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page