1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Yesterday I suffered some weird jam up's after I was playing intensive app's that stressed the system hard for a while, it happened when it was just idling along, it just froze and I had to kill power and start up. Not sure why it has just decided to start doing this. It is not jamming when being stress tested? I have had a fiddle on with the bios and have also updated it to the most recent bios (F6) I have also given it some more juice 1.35v. All seems stable now (touch wood)

    Temps on the CPU are fine but I have noticed the chipset temps go up a little, hwmonitor has seen it spike to 67c but usually ticks along at 62/63c. Is this an ok temp? I have also directed a fan to blow over it which hopefully is helping.
     
  2. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    No blue screen?
     
    More than 25k PPD
  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Same thing happened to me when i was ocing my 8320. I found out it was the board not giving the cpu the right volts. After i fixed that the freezing went away
     
    Alcpone says thanks.
  4. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I have had a few times it has bsod since I got it built but not every time it freezes. It has done it again today, grrr. It isn't doing it under testing though which you would of thought it would have. Could it be a corrupt driver possibly?
     
  5. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    try updating your BIOs
     
    Alcpone says thanks.
  6. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I have mate, did that last night. I hope I am not going to have to down clock. I can't understand how it has been running nice for ages then now its spitting its dummy out :(
     
  7. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Does your board have an option to change LLC
     
    Alcpone says thanks.
  8. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Yeah I've got it set to extreme. Could it be with c&q changing voltage and multi?
     
  9. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I've never had a problem with C&Q, but some people think it causes instability on higher OCs.

    Its odd that it does it with no load. Have you recently updated video drivers? Sometimes doing that wrong can cause odd issues.

    Does it usually do it after the computer has been powered on for hours?
     
    More than 25k PPD
  10. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Not updated the drivers lately. I will have a play about. Could it be the OS that is damaged from bsods while finding max oc?
     
  11. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I dont think it would be OS. Sometimes after major hardware changes it might be good to reinstall but just OC'ing I don't think that would cause problems. I've BSOD'd a bajillion times and dont have any problems. The reason I asked about if it had been running for a long time when it happens, is that sometimes if there isn't much airflow over the memory after hours and hours it can get hotter and hotter even under minimal or no load, until it finally crashes or BSODs. I have a friend who has had so many problems with RAM, idk what the deal is; but that was one of them. After hours of running it would crash while it was just sitting there at idle. Turned out to be memory
     
    Alcpone says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  12. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Th
    Luckily my gfx card blows up the ram so it has plenty airflow. It has behaved today. Hopefully it will behave itself now. I have turned off c1e and c6 so it sits at 4.3ghz all the time, should probs turn off c&q aswel and see if that is a total cure over next few days.
     
  13. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Sounds good. Let us know what happens:toast:
     
    Alcpone says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  14. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    check your windows update history see if you got platform for windows 7 KB2670838 if so go into programs and features and remove it it can cause all kinds of problems
     
  15. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Can't see it in the list, so probs not that.
     
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,791 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,914
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    The same happened to me on my 8350, until eventually it would BSOD before windows finished loading. I had to RMA my chip, it was faulty though they never said what was up with it.
     
  17. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Well I hope my chip ain't fubar. Can't be arsed rmaing it.
     
  18. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    go into the control panel then administrative tools then event viewer and see if you have any events in there like wei loger that would tell you if your cpu is faulty
     
    Alcpone says thanks.
  19. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I will do that. Cheers
     
  20. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Mark me down for an FX-8320, currently tuning the overclock. Hit 4.6 pretty easy and stable, trying for 4.8 but things get hot!
    The motherboard I am using for this is an Asus M5a97 R2.0. The LLC options seem to be pretty limited, and it is a 4+2 phase board.
    Is 4.8 a pipe dream on a lower end board like this?

    EDIT Was watching the voltage using hwinfo and cpu-z, my mobo likes to add huge voltage at load. I can get 4.8 game stable, but crazy high heat in any stress-testing software, and failures in intel burntest, p95, etc.

    This is a cheapie mobo, I bought it and got 3 free games, so I can live with 4.6ghz for now. This system runs DOTA 2 like a dream. I would test more games but every time I power on I start DOTA2.

    EDIT 2
    Here is a screenshot of CPU-Z, CPUID, and Cinebench, FX-8320 @ 4.8ghz.
    Can play DOTA 2 and do everything else fine @ 4.8, but core 7 or 8 fails during Prime95 due to excessive heat.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2013
  21. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Im haveing exactly the same experience with an 8350 ima get me some more rad and maybe a new gpu 《less blocks in my loop
     
    More than 25k PPD
  22. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
  23. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Prime95 is not the best stress test for these chips I have been led to believe. 4.6Ghz is a nice OC, I would be careful pushing it too hard incase you come unstuck.
     
    techtard says thanks.
  24. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    CPU Comparison





    Battlefield 3 Multiplayer 64 Comparison

    Settings: Maxed at 1920x1080 ( HD 7870 1200/1450 AMD CCC 13.3 Beta 2 )

    AMD FX 4100 @4.6GHz

    MIN~ 23
    AVG~ 40.063
    MAX~ 54



    AMD FX 8320 @4.4GHz

    MIN~ 40
    AVG~ 71
    MAX~ 89




    Batman Arkham City Comparison

    Settings: Maxed at 1920x1080 ( HD 7870 1200/1450 AMD CCC 13.3 Beta 2 )

    AMD FX 4100 @4.6GHz

    MIN~ 58
    AVG~ 98
    MAX~ 132



    AMD FX 8320 @4.4GHz

    MIN~ 50
    AVG~ 93
    MAX~ 127




    Sleeping Dogs Comparison

    Settings: Maxed at 1920x1080 ( HD 7870 1200/1450 AMD CCC 13.3 Beta 2 )

    AMD FX 4100 @4.6GHz

    MIN~ 24.9
    AVG~ 44.5
    MAX~ 97.6


    AMD FX 8320 @4.4GHz

    MIN~ 48.7
    AVG~ 76.6
    MAX~ 93.5



    Crysis 3 Multiplayer Comparison

    Settings: High Details w/ FXAA at 1920x1080 ( HD 7870 1200/1450 AMD CCC 13.3 Beta 2 )

    AMD FX 4100 @4.6GHz

    MIN~ 26
    AVG~ 43
    MAX~ 56


    AMD FX 8320 @4.4GHz

    MIN~ 52
    AVG~ 79
    MAX~ 106
     
    Irony, techtard, n0tiert and 3 others say thanks.
  25. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Little update on my stability issues. Seems to have sorted itself after I disabled C6 and C1E. Must have been something to do with the voltage going up and down with the multi. Might be using slightly more power but hey aslong as it is stable that's all that matters :)

    I am still waiting on my mosfets heatsinks from flaming china haha. Possibly I might try for a higher OC once they arrive but then again I am happy enough with the OC so no point in flogging the guts out of it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page