1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI with different cards

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by anatolymik, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. ZcK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GTX 680 + GTX TITAN Possible?
  2. Snuffy10 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    gtx 690 and 680?

    Hey guys, i was wondering if a sli with gtx690 and 680 would work?

    Anyone got experience with this setup??

    Thanks :)
  3. brocacochi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, I have exactly the same problem as post # 376.
    My team 2500k
    GTX 460 1 GB
    GTX 460 SE 1GB
    MSI P67A-GD65 (B3) NATIVE SLI

    accompanying photographs, apparently did not accept the new firms

    http://imageshack.us/a/img843/4852/dsc0399gz.jpg

    http://imageshack.us/a/img854/352/dsc0398n.jpg


    "Windows can not verify the digital signature for the drivers required for this device. Maybe a change of hardware or software recently installed a file that is not properly signed, is corrupted or malicious software from an unknown source (code 52)"


    :(
  4. brocacochi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    He could fix it? as he did? thanks


  5. mik3ls New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello everyone, it seems the this thread has very interesting topic and Kudos! to ANATOLYMIK for sharing the great tweak of SLI cards.

    I almost get my time to stop and retire to find a solutions on my problem when I got this forum just now.

    Can somebody answer if I can run SLI or help me find a way to run in SLI from my Palit GTX 570 and Palit GTX 460 both in Sonic Platinum Edition?

    Will these be possible?

    I'm using an ASUS Formula Crosshair II motherboard for this setup.

    Thank you in advance.
  6. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Well both cards got the same architecture so it should work.
    Your motherboard supports SLI right ?
    Just give it a try.
    mik3ls says thanks.
  7. mik3ls New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for your kind response.

    Yes my motherboard supports 3 way SLI card.

    But what modded drivers will I going to use based from anatolymik's creations?

    Thank you!
  8. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Use the last ones he modded:
    310.70 Windows Vista&7 x64

    But remember you'll need to install the original version of the same drivers.
    Follow the tutorial and good luck :)
  9. Luis New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I´m not a complitly noob. I read everything, Nvidia FAQ ect., I even changed the BIOS of the graphics card to achieve SLI, did not help. Only those drivers who went straight away. I changed the slots, bios up to date, all new drivers, only this hack work, and I'm more than happy.
  10. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Just curiosity, Do the cards have the same amount of vram ? If you weren't able to SLI I suspect 1 card has 1gb and the other 768mb
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
  11. Whitestar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I'm have no experience with SLI, so bear with me ...

    I don't really understand why modded drivers are necessary.
    In the SLI FAQ I found this:

    "Q: Can I mix and match graphics cards from different manufacturers?
    A: Using 180 or later graphics drivers, NVIDIA graphics cards from different manufacturers can be used together in an SLI configuration. For example, a GeForce XXXGT from manufacturer ABC can be matched with a GeForce XXXGT from manufacturer XYZ."

    Can someone help a noob understand? :) (I didn't read the whole thread)
  12. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    375 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Theoretically it should be possible. They're of the same core design.
  13. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Different manufacturers is one thing, different cards is another... thats why you need modded drivers, to be able to SLI different cards.
  14. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    GK 110 in Titan is different than GK104 in GTX 680.
  15. Whitestar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Ah, right! That's what's meant by different cards.
    Thanks
  16. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    375 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Gee. You don't say...

    I know that. It doesn't change the fact that they're of the same core design (as in, they're both Kepler chips).

    If he wanted to SLI a Titan, and a GTX580, that would not work. They're differing core designs. Kepler for Titan vs. Fermi for GTX580.
  17. dogchainx

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    UTAH 84341
    In that thinking, you could SLI a GTX 670 and a GTX 680. But you can't. with regular drivers.

    They have to be the same model #, but can differ in clocks (EVGA GTX 680 with EVGA GTX 680 SUPERCLOCKED can work)
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  18. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    I have done SLI and with GTX 560ti 448 and GTX 470 which are built on simlar core from Fermi family.

    SLI with different cards works when the cards share the same series in the core with this modded driver

    Titan has been given the Kepler family name but it is a different gpu core name.

    GTX 660 ti, GTX 670, GTX 680, GTX 690 all have the same GK 104 core name and have the same number of transistors 3540 million. They are similar and could possibly be SLI with a modded driver.


    GTX Titan is much different even though it also has been given the Kepler family name. Titan is based on GK 110 core name and has 7080 million transistors.

    Though these cards share the same family name they are very different. I will wait for OP to address this but to me it seems like SLI is not possible between GTX titan and other Kepler cards.
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  19. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Pics or it didn't happen.
  20. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344


    I meant to write GTX 470 which is also based on similar transistor fermi core. GTX 470 is named GF100 and GTX 560 ti 448 is name GF110. Different name but bother are very similar in design and are both members of fermi family and can be put in SLI with these moded drivers.

    It did happen.

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1212071/1xgtx-470-1x-gtx-560ti-448-in-sli-huh
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  21. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Pics or it didn't happen, and you select pics. Good choice, sir.

    I'm even more surprised in this case, the 470 is not GF110 as you say , but the closely related GF100.

    I note that you had to use a modded driver.

    Is there a list anywhere of valid combinations of cards?
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  22. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    375 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69

    Yup, GTX470 is a GF100. Not GF110.
  23. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    Thanks. That is what I meant. The naming gets confusing.


    I don't think a Titan will SLI with a GTX 680 or a GTX 690 but I would try it anyways if I had the cards for confirmation.
  24. Whitestar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    How about just believing someone when they tell you, or ask for pictures in a polite manner.

    Just saying. No offence meant whatsoever. :)
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  25. Snuffy10 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Gtx 690 and gtx 660

    Tried this with my GTX 690 and with a new GTX 660, didn't seem to work.

    The install batch runs perfectly, but i can't sli them together in nvidia control panel

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page