1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.5.8 Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,163 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,712
    Open context menu by pressing ALT on your keyboard, press down arrow to open menu, either scroll down to ASIC or use your mouse to click it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    not working for me o_O

    i push ALT (Left one) and than push arrow down but nuth happens, do i need to set keyboard language to english or what is wrong here?
     
  3. kaktus1907 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Istanbul
    ah i have a spare 9800GT(92b/55nm)but i see no support for asic reading -.-
    will be there any future update for older cards?

    [​IMG]
     
    blacksnoopy says thanks.
  4. Q9650

    Q9650

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    not working for me too pressing alt no menus
     
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,163 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,712
    You can also right click the window titlebar (as in where it says TechPowerUp GPUz 0.5.8) if you dont know how to use a keyboard :D
     
    1c3d0g and puma99dk| say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,730 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,535
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Lol my ASIC quality is 117.4% :rockout:

    I now vote we should have a ASIC quality performance table! :)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    my ASIC is only 62,6% o_O

    i am using beta driver 290.36 is the driver an issue or my ASIC is just terrible low?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    Just need some sucker to keep it updated. That's why I don't want to do it. I do have a suggested format:

    EVGA GTX 580 3072 MB
    ASIC quality: 72.3%
    Stock VDDC: 1.016v
    OC 1.113v @900/4600MHz

    VDDC as measured by GPUZ. 3D mode, no load.
     
  9. Q9650

    Q9650

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    EVGA GTX460 SC EE 1GB

    ASIC quality is 83.1%

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,730 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,535
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Was only kidding really.... these days there is very little that I am near the top at! i just checked, the rating seems constant.... I clocked it more but no change to rating, my card is at stock volts, it would be interesting to see if higher or lower volts at same GPU speed affects the rating though....... but thats probably me not understanding how the rating is figured lol.
     
  11. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    my asic is 57.4% on my current gtx 470. supposedly terrible. but i can push the oc slider all the way to 940mhz with extra voltage and game bf3 for hours and no issues.

    under water btw. on air i maxed at 825 before the fan speed was to annoying.
     
  12. ProPlayer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Genova, Italy
    hmm on my reference asus gtx 580 (watercooled) it reads an asic quality of 102.6%
     
  13. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,944 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,735
    looks like there are much better nvidia gpus out there than i expected, guess i'll have to adjust the scale for next release
     
    okidna says thanks.
  14. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,946 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    lol yeah, mine are all more than 100% :laugh::laugh:

    102.6% is the lowest.
     
  15. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,195 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    I'm using same driver and I got different readings on both my 460s. It's not driver issue.
     
  16. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    oki, bcs u never now, it's software readings ^^;
     
  17. voidshatter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Please don't! This ASIC quality may become a standard (and important metrics) for second-hand graphics card trading, and people would continue using 0.5.8 screenshots to fool people around... I'd say keep the current scaling that some cards can exceed 100% (and there's nothing terribly wrong with this), unless you really feel it's absolutely necessary to change it.

    If you do feel like to change it anyway, could you specifically list the RAW value (i.e. decimal value from the binary) on the screen, besides the percentile? This could avoid confusion and when trading second-hand graphics cards we could ask for a screenshot with the later version of GPU-Z, to avoid confusion with the abolished 0.5.8.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,691 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ASIC quality is derived from a hard-coded value from the GPU. Forget drivers, not even a BIOS change or soft/hard voltmods can change that measurement. On our end, we can only change the scale of measurement.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
    HTC and okidna say thanks.
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,691 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    FAQ #1: ASIC quality:

    Look at it this way, let's say there's an imperfect car manufacturing company, and not all the cars that come out of it have perfectly aligned and balanced wheels, and so to "increase yields", the car maker puts its cars (at the factory), through corrective studs that will align/balance out wheels.

    Not all GPUs are born equal, not even in the same wafer. Some have higher electrical leakage, some have low. So to correct them in the fab, their degree of leakage are measured and corrective fuses are added to the GPU package, and correct VID set for the chip's leakage characteristics. Later, NVIDIA/AMD segregate "good" chips from "normal" based on leakage/VID, the "good" ones are put into higher bins, the "normal" ones go to reference / low-factory-OC cards, the "good" ones go to high-factory-OC cards. Multiple SKUs based on the same physical GPU are also carved out this way. "normal" ones go to lower SKUs, "good" ones go to higher SKUs.
     
    HTC and okidna say thanks.
  20. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    hope you get the older cards sorted wizz, interesting and unique feature there:) , my 5800's and gt240 are presently incompatible.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  21. Epsi

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do you guys no longer support Geforce 8600M GT? :(

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    Relax man. I think we are the only ones here with the GTX570 until now and my ASIC is 67,7%. An oveclocked EVGA model 797MHz core.
     
  23. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,944 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,735
  24. Epsi

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeap, found a old copy and run it

    [​IMG]
     
  25. vipervoid123

    vipervoid123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    Erm...

    It seems like gt problem wif my EAH6850V2~
    No Vcore~
    and None-stop running the stress test ~
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.gif
      2.gif
      File size:
      18.6 KB
      Views:
      86
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page