1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    yea its alright iam happy with it, so what do u think of the el cheap board?
     
  2. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i have made good and bad experiences with biostar boards, they mostly overclock pretty good tho;)
     
  3. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    i am happy with it have it 4.2ghz now about to hit a game of bf3 see if its stable enough
     
  4. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Hey everyone. I can finally join now. Woohoo. I just picked up a Ph II X4 940 be, upgraded from a Ph X4 9600 be. I'll be lookin at oc'ing it eventually. I did get it to 3.4GHz but my pc kept shuttin down on me randomly. I did a little research and found out after the switch the bios set the cpu volts as high as they'd go lol. So I reset to auto and running smooth now.

    Anyone got any tips or similar sys to help me push it some? I'd like to get a lil more out of it for WCG.

    MSI K9N2 sli plat
    AMD Ph II X4 940 be 3.0GHz under a CM V8 at moment
    OCZ fatality 2GBx4 1066 running at 800.
    everything in my sys specs.
     
  5. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    That chip should hit 3.6ghz but you may want to set it 3.4ghz and play with the NB to get the most out of it^^
    I have this chip in my back up rig atm.
     
    popswala says thanks.
  6. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    What all benifits am I gonna get out of this chip? I know there better then first gen Ph's and is much faster then what i was running before. Do I just wana up the fsb or pair it with the multiplier also? or use the d.o.t iirc. I haven't done any oc'ing for a while now.
     
  7. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    U dont need to move the "fsb" just keep it 200x and try to get your NB up for more ram banwith and try to keep yout HT click locked@ 1800 or 2000. Maby try 5-5-5 15 for timmings@800 ram speed
     
    popswala says thanks.
  8. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Valid at 3.4ghz NB... it isnt stable, but amazing, how high i can go with the NB on this chip!
    [​IMG]
    2000 mhz also work, but arent stable.... the IMC does like NB clocking much more than ram clocking:D
    [​IMG]
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Velvet

    See your L1 write & copy? Try to get those in sync while maintaining a Memory read as close to 11GB/s as you can. 3.8Ghz on cores, anything above that is bonus!
     
  10. 50eurouser

    50eurouser New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    4th Dimension
    Higher NB speed ~2800 MHz with 1333-Dram 7-7-7-21 or 2000MHz NB with higher memory and slower timings ? Now testing PhenomII-C2 with High HTT 2600+ and results are about the same as with HTT2000.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
  11. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,775 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,030
    Tried to get my 960T to 4.0 Ghz.... didn't like it (blue screen on startup) tried upping the voltage a few times with no success :cry:

    Backed down to 3.8Ghz @1.40 and still running fine at that speed :rolleyes:

    Will do some more checking around and will try again in a day or two.:)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    This would give you more of an overall "snappier" feel. Now say if you could get closer to 1600 dram that would be good.
     
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    that are mere Benches, JR, as said, nothing stable.
    The 4.2 are pretty easy to keep stable, so that is a good base
    currently running these clocks, not sure if perfectly stable,but there was no jerkyness during general use, which usually is the case with instable settings on this rig, due to me going for 6-7-7 when 6-8-7 is stock at 1440 for these modules ;)
    [​IMG]
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well snap, go for that then with a nice 2.8Ghz nb frequency.
     
  15. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    why 2.8?
    3.0 are more than stable with reasonable volts, at that low memclocks;)
     
  16. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    i wished my chip had a better imc like your chip with my high clocks then i would be set
     
  17. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    for an unlocked proc, yours is already pretty awesome ;)
    unlocked,major clocks, not even bad NB and only c3 stepping!:D
     
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The history build is complete!

    [​IMG]
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Aavikkokettu

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    Hi. This is what i have done so far: http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2242274

    My point is i had to put my memories auto to get that far. How i get them work like they should be or should i just leave them to auto when try break 4.7Ghz with air? ( i actually done that already but forget take screenshot. Window open and out side was -25C :D )
     
  20. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    No way; that cpu should do 4.3Ghz easily.
     
    Norton says thanks.
  21. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Very nice clock. Your CPU voltage is 1.59 in that validation, its a bit high for 24/7 usage. The chip is only safely rated to run at 1.55, and 62c. Above that voltage and temperature potentially is causing damage to the chip. But it looks like your probably fine on temps for now with your window open. :D

    What is the rated speed of your memory? because if you just want to overclock the CPU and not change memory and northbridge speeds just use the multiplier, and leave the FSB at 200. For 4.4, multi would be x22 with FSB at 200.

    Hope some of that helps. ;)

    Edit: I looked at your system specs, and your RAM is rated at 2000? So now I'm confused. Because in the validation its 1366, (682X2) so your RAM is underclocked?
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2012
  22. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,784 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,058
    4.7 should not be very stable on that chip.
    anyways you have -25C temps :p
    so worth a try
     
  23. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
  24. Aavikkokettu

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes they are, and that´s the problem. I cant reboot even to desktop if i try push over 4.2GHz cpu with manual OC memories so i have to leave them auto. If i remember right, in bios the setup was: cpu/nb freguency= ~2800Mhz, cpu/nb voltage=1.3V and NB voltage 1.2V


    This clocks is only for Marks, not to 24/7 ;)


    Yes i will try run 3DMark CPU test when cold again. Now it´s only -5C :(
     
  25. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    New Results...
    I guess from here on i wont see any big gains without buying low latency memory that runs about 2000 at cl6 or cl7, or going subzero, with a chiller,peltiers, or a phase.
    If im able to get this thing to just even 4.3, without giving it more than 1.5 under load, and/or more than 3300 NB without giving it more than 1.45v NB, i gonna have to pat myself on the back, because that is something, i dont deem possible at the moment! :laugh:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page