1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Sandy Bridge-E Overclocking thread

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by qubit, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Keep the info coming. I don't have on myself but I sure am learning. Good info ED. :rockout:
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    There used to be a time when you needed to know what was on the board in order to be able to overclock. The most notorious example I can think of is the Intel XBX1...changes in VRM design and different PLLs used in revisions meant certain boards were better for extreme clocking than others. But today's products take alot of the mystery out of it, so that isn't so much of a concern any more. X79 adds options in buckets that can be confusing.:laugh:

    I haven't been reading raja's guides yet..he does put out some good ones. I don't think I'll get another chip, and I'm hoping that I won't have the time for doing anything extreme with X79 yet. Once IvyBridge launches and I get a chip I can blow up some older 1155 stuff though. Not like 1155 is all that fun, anyway. Set multi, volts, go.:p
  3. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,136 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    As for now i have tested several X79 mobos and i can say only one thing

    God bless you Asrock!
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Bugger. No AsRock love for me yet.

    Got more info on that then?
  5. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,738 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,168
    bump to find this later
    cadaveca says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,136 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Sure, during testing for... uhh... some website i cannot really mention
    i have tested serveral X79 motherboards and i found the asrock extreme4 to be the best overclocker by a fair amount over boards like the UD5 and the GD65
    squizing 4.7Ghz with the stock watercooling kit was an easy mission
    I do not have any expirience with asus motherboards but i can only imagine they are as good as the asrock if not better
    UD5 - i couldnot get 4.4Ghz whatsoever
    GD65 - 4.6 was possible, 4.7 was kinda hard
    intel DX79 - meh, shity bios. 4.5Ghz was reachable
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2011
    cadaveca says thanks.
  7. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    I've got my cpu up to 4.8Ghz on my R4E but temps are to high underload because i only have the 2 fan pushing air though my H100 so i just run 4.25Ghz which is fine for what i use it for.
  8. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,136 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    We'll have to have a chat some time. My "foray" into SB-E has been very similar, it seems, but no AsRock products here.
  10. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,136 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    I only have expirience with the EXTREME4, not with EXTREME9 (aka "Overclock king") motherboard, but sure. If only erocker's ts server would be up and running...
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    erocker canned that some time ago. There's a BF3 TS.

    And yeah, I realize it's not the topdog AsRock board, so it's odd, to me. I mean, the best I can tell, it's VRM cooling that's key, but your info says maybe it's soemthing else.

    I have run into similar with 2 boards only hitting 4.4 GHz, the third does 4.6 GHz.


    Of course, I'm aircooling though...are you using water? Might explain things.

    THe only other thing is the two slow boards have a heatpipe joining the SB and the VRM cooler...the fast board does not.

    For your UD5, if you haven't tried, use 1000kHz VRM. If you did, and we are at the same limits, I'd say perhaps a BIOS update is needed there. I'll be working on the review later this week, but that's kinda my conclusion on that situation.
  12. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,136 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    hmm u say 1000kHz for the VRMs. thing is that i achived these results only by a quick settings of the Vcore, no fine-tuning of things like VRM frequency and PLL voltages.
    The cooling i use is Asetek's 3960X water-cooling kit (similar to antec's 620 Khuler)
    i wont lie, the VRMs of the mobo went high-temp and i wanted to eliminate any limitation by heat so i have placed a fan over it (testbench). I also tried bulldozer's watercooling (Asetek's 920)
    U gotta see the glowing FX logo on a X79 mobo, quite funny.
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    LuL, yeah I got my FX cooler on my G1.Sniper2. Made the FX logo green to match. ;) I never thought to put it on my 2011..how'd you mount it?

    And yeah, UD5, it really needed the VRM frequency change. Nothing else...Mind you loadline on that board is pretty screwy too, so if you keep that in mind, it makes dealing with the board easier.
  14. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,136 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    i just used 2011's mounting ring for the block, nothing else.
    Ill try the UD5's VRM frequency change, im really crossing my fingers this will work
    it will make the UD5 the best cantidate for making it into being the testbench's mobo for
    other product reviews (like some very interesting graphics cards trollface.jpg)
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Ah, you mentioning you have teh 3960X cooler didn't clue me in.:p I have no such ring yet...will have to get one.

    We'll have to chat at some point...but for right now, I gots to run my son to school. Until then!;)
  16. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,206 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,430
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Tried the extreme overclocking tool from AI suite II (yeah, i know it's cheating).

    [​IMG]

    Might re-seat my block as one core (0) was at 72 degress but the rest where between 55 and 65 degrees. Haven't ran this using any stress test but from what i hear the Asus utility is rock solid.

    Scored this http://3dmark.com/3dm11/2379719

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 19, 2011
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    For my CPU, the ASUS utility sets votlage too high, and then temperature gets in the way. I so need a better cooler.
  18. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,136 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    1.42~V is a line im not crossing. As i said, i was able to achive 4700Mhz using around 1.372V on the asrock
  19. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,131 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Thats incredible voltage for those clocks with all cores/threads.

    As far as the limits you guys are seeing. It is cooling limited. I hit a HARD wall with a UD7 at 4.494Ghz with custom water loop (PA120.2 + MCR320). Temps didnt break 70C, which is fine, but I couldnt break that number on the UD7 until I went 'sort of' cold. I put it under a woefully undepowered SS and got to 5.2Ghz.

    As far as the Asrock, I have the Extreme4-M and getting the Extreme4. That VRM heatsink gets HOT even on stock speeds so that thing needs some direct cooling to push high clocks.
  20. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,136 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Even a super-low RPM fan will make those heatsinks cool, no need to go fancy on those fans
  21. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,131 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    True. But still, why should I have to do this at STOCK speeds? I mean that thing is HOT to the touch.. (mounted properly and getting great contact).
  22. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,136 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Well, I didn't ran into this problem at all, on stock speeds they were warm yes, but not hot to the touch (ambient around 22C)
  23. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,131 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Did you have IES enabled on the board by chance? If that is enabled, and the VRM use 'throttles' with load, they are cooler. However I leave it disabled so its using all 6 phases regardless.
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Bleh to you guys and your AsRock boards. :p

    I wanna play with that UD7, too. I really like the new BIOS from Gigabyte, but I suspect the tiny VRM cooler on the UD5 affected my clocks. Looks-wise, having that DFi-like feel is pure win, for me.
  25. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,136 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    I also have the MSI X79A-GD65 8D, falls kinda between them. good mobo IMO

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page