1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU Eyefinity Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by t_ski, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,594 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,931
    IIRC you can just go straight to the hotfix.

    What model are your Asus monitors?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    229 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Iraq
    So am I in the club or what? ;) I don't see the OP updated to include new names!
    t_ski says thanks.
  3. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    sorry, they're ASUS VE276Q.
    t_ski says thanks.
  4. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,594 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,931
    Sorry, I was waiting on pics to add you, but did not see you go back and update your older posted. You and travva are added.


    Still waiting on pics, guys. :D
    avatar_raq says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. utnorris

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    232 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Dallas
    Yeah I know, I will try and get a pic today, had to work yesterday.
  6. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    229 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Iraq
    Guys lets share the cost of our eyefinity setups. For me I already had the gfx card and one BenQ display when I decided to go for EF. So the added cost was 2 x $139 (for 2 more displays) and $45 for DP->VGA adapter, ~$10 for some long cables (for better cable management of my table), so the EF actual cost was $333. I plan to get another 5870 once it's in the $200 range.
  7. utnorris

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    232 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Dallas
    Here you go:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    XFX HD6870's CF - $525
    3 x Dell U2211H (1920x1080) - $650

    Loving Black Ops on Eyefinity, but I cannot seem to get it to work in Portrait mode.
    t_ski says thanks.
  8. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,499 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Wow that screenie of Black Ops has me drooling. I use 3 monitors for work so i need to figure out what i need to change to get it done... right now i use a 4850x2 and use 3 dvi ports on the card to drive my monitors.

    I take it i need a newer ATI card to make it work.....
    looks like it's worth the effort,

    good thread! :rockout:



  9. utnorris

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    232 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Dallas
    It is pretty nice, but yes, you need a HD5xxx or HD6xxx to do it or two GTX260 or better Nvidia cards.
  10. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,499 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    I thought it was ATI cards only?



    I do have a HD 5670 in my HTPC but that isn;t really for gaming, lol :rockout:
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  11. utnorris

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    232 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Dallas
    Well Nvidia Surround is just like eyefinity, but requires two cards.
  12. NAVI_Z

    NAVI_Z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    man i love these posts! my monitors r still sitting in my closet due to not enough space for three rite now :cry:. my xfx 5870 is begging for eyefinity! the adapter i have is the AMD version.
    full active not passive. only $30 US. i wonder what NFS Hot Persuit looks like in eyefinity? does anyone have the game and if so, can you post some pics please.thanx.
  13. utnorris

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    232 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Dallas
    Make the space, especially for driving games. You will never want to play the game without it again, seriously.
    NAVI_Z says thanks.
  14. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,594 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,931
    If it's anything close to what NFS: Shift is like, it would be awesome. Between the Eyefinity and the force feedback steering wheel and the 5.1 surround sound, I feel like I'm actually in the race car (minus the G's).
    NAVI_Z says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    229 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Iraq
    I have both NFS : Shift and Hot Pursuit and I can tell that HP looks good in EF but Shift looks far better, especially when you consider the centered HUD and cockpit cam in shift. In a matter of fact Shift is the best game I came across in regard to native EF support.
    NAVI_Z says thanks.
  16. NAVI_Z

    NAVI_Z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    sweet! i'd love to see some pics in EF.you guys talked me into it. my wife is gonna kill me but it will be worth it!!:rockout: i'll check back when i have it set up.
  17. Avarice

    Avarice New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    ****update****
    [​IMG]
    count me in :p
    t_ski says thanks.
  18. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Going to mount all 3 monitors to my wall, will upload pics as soon as I get around to it. :D
  19. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
  20. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    My set up:
    3x Acer S211H <- $390
    XFX 5850 1GB <- Thanks to Xazax for the awesome deal! $190

    Now the picture:
    [​IMG]
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,594 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,931
    Added
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    229 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Iraq
    I figured out why my pics were not showing. Now they do. See post#60 .
  23. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    I guess I'm the first person to post an NVidia surround system on here, so I might as well share my experiences with it. I bought my 2 GTX 470's about 4 months ago to update my aging Q9450/HD4850CF system; I was considering 5850 CF, but the need for a $80 DP to Dual link DVI adapter turned me off (single link ones weren't available back then). I got my three 25.5" Asus VW266H monitors on the cheap ($60 MIR's for each!)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The biggest problem I had was that I have a small house and a small desk. I just couldn't fit three monitors on the stands on my current desk and I didn't have the space to fit a bigger desk that I could fit three monitors on. I solived this by buying $20 clamp mount brackets off Monoprice.com and modified them by drilling holes so that I could bolt them to the sides of the desk. To cover up the gaps between the monitors taped black electrical tape over the caps. It actually blends in very well with the bezels.

    [​IMG]

    I actually really like the way my case turned out considering that I didn't do any drilling/modifications. I was able to exhange my DFI LP UT X48-T3RS motherboard (CF support but no SLI) for a XFX 790i Ultra (SLI support but no CF) in an even trade through a great deal I arranged with someone else online. Better than that, my new MB was able to get an additional 266MHz out of the CPU.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I'm still frustrated that changing from surround mode to individual display mode requires you to click through 6 prompts, but I can't be the only one with this problem so I have hope that NVidia will implement hotkeys in the future.
  24. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,710 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    That's real nice mate.

    Would love to get two more of these monitors, but that's £500 right there! lol.

    Maybe one day in the future :p
  25. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,594 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,931
    Thanks for the info and the pics, but as of right now, this is just ATI Eyefinity. The idea was to share setups and info regarding Eyefinity and not Nvidia Surround, as the software and configurations are different.

    What's really nice is your avvy! :respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page