• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

After a Windows 10 Update Today Overclocking is lost. WTF Microsoft and Intel???

Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,840 (1.48/day)
Likes
2,159
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 500GB Samsung 850//2TB WD Black
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
This is why the Windows Update Management Tool is such a good little program. It allows you to block updates just like previous Windows versions.
does it work on home editions? I found a tool like that but it won't work on home editions. My tablet has home. This is why I can't use the registry or the GPO. :(
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
11,668 (2.98/day)
Likes
16,634
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
does it work on home editions? I found a tool like that but it won't work on home editions. My tablet has home. This is why I can't use the registry or the GPO. :(
That I do not know the answer to at this moment. @Mussels has the link in his signature. Maybe he knows or the link has info. Probably not, though.

I can test it out on my HTPC this evening, since it is W10 home, and it hasn’t been turned on since this month’s updates came out.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,840 (1.48/day)
Likes
2,159
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 500GB Samsung 850//2TB WD Black
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
That I do not know the answer to at this moment. @Mussels has the link in his signature. Maybe he knows or the link has info. Probably not, though.

I can test it out on my HTPC this evening, since it is W10 home, and it hasn’t been turned on since this month’s updates came out.
well the app works itself. le's see if keeping that service disabled works the trick. Hope so!!
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
76 (0.35/day)
Likes
70
Processor i7 3770K @ 4600MHz 1.3v
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 Power/TY-143 2x38x120 Panaflo, 1x120x38 DC Centaur, TY-147A,FD140,FD120
Memory 4x2GB G.Skill TridentX+Perfect Storm @ 2133 9-9-9-24 1T
Video Card(s) GTX 980 Classified 3988-KR @ 1500/2053
Storage Crucial M4 256GB/WD Black 1TB, 3x Misc Spinners
Display(s) 22" Samsung, 50" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C TG White, No Foam, No Filter
Audio Device(s) NAD T748, Mission M Series, Monitor Audio FB-210, MIT Cables, Monster HDP-1800
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M850
Mouse Zowie EC2 eVo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Well, I spoke too soon, I found out yesterday that my oc with ht is not stable. If I turn ht off then its fine. That blows. I swear it was good to go when I ditched 10 and put 7 back on, but the next day it was back to its shenanigans. Not sure what to say! Havent had a real good look at AMD in about 10 years.. Looks like I maybe picking one up soon. At least the guys running newer Intel hardware have some hope left.

Edit:

I've got 4.4 nailed down with ht, 4500 and up is pretty difficult, it seems like it needs more voltage, but when it gets it, it becomes unstable. So, I've got 4.4 nailed down with ht, and with ht off I can do 4700. Not the doom and gloom I thought. But its not all sunshine and lollipops either. My x5690 is purring away just another day.
 
Last edited:

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,826 (2.39/day)
Likes
3,613
Download this stand alone tool and run it before windows updates.. http://download.microsoft.com/download/f/2/2/f22d5fdb-59cd-4275-8c95-1be17bf70b21/wushowhide.diagcab

Google how to use it properly.

Also you need to be aware the little tool will sometimes let M$ sneak a hidden update through so to have better control set your network connection to metered, that way it will prompt you about the update and you can then go and run the tool and block it again.. Trust me I have my system locked down from M$ bullshit firmware patches..
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
774 (0.72/day)
Likes
937
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
After update, interesting thing happend : AIDA64 cache benchmark isn't detecting OC... UNLESS Windows is put into "High Performance" power plan (I made 100% core clock as minimum) :
cachemem 1866MHz + InSpectre vs. Balanced Perf. mode.png

^"Balanced"
cachemem 1866MHz + InSpectre vs. High Perf. mode.png

^"High Performance", OC was done from BIOS level (FYI).
I was using latest microcode for IB-E : 0x42D (thank you R-T-B !), before update got downloaded/installed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,465 (2.58/day)
Likes
3,594
Location
USA
After update, interesting thing happend : AIDA64 cache benchmark isn't detecting OC... UNLESS Windows is put into "High Performance" power plan (I made 100% core clock as minimum) :
View attachment 107337
^"Balanced"
View attachment 107338
^"High Performance", OC was done from BIOS level (FYI).
I was using latest microcode for IB-E : 0x42D (thank you R-T-B !), before update got downloaded/installed.
It's kinda sad that an OC is needed just to get back up to the level of performance it had before a software update.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
774 (0.72/day)
Likes
937
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
WELL... I tested this on my new CPU :)
"RTX Off" :

"RTX On" :

Basicly, it's 75-100MHz perf. drop in my case (for Cinebench R15 multi score).
Interesting bit is that it made this CPU stable on a bit lower Vcore (which is good, when cooling high Vcore is a problem). I think reason for this is CPU does less stuff per cycle, so it's easier to stabilise.
Additional testing must be done to confirm that...
 
Last edited:

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,536 (4.53/day)
Likes
4,711
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
lol @ RTX off/on

Though, again, these patches mostly impact performance in very specific applications. Cinebench isn't one of them.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
774 (0.72/day)
Likes
937
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Catch is, Ivy and earlier CPUs don't have the tech needed for low perf. impact of these patches (invpcid instruction if I remember correctly). That's why I get "Slower" perf. in InSpectre program, and why Cinebench score is indeed affected in my case (small impact of ~1,5%, but it's there).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,465 (2.58/day)
Likes
3,594
Location
USA
Basicly, it's 75-100MHz perf. drop in my case (for Cinebench R15 multi score).
Interesting bit is that it made this CPU stable on a bit lower Vcore (which is good, when cooling high Vcore is a problem). I think reason for this is CPU does less stuff per cycle, so it's easier to stabilise.
Additional testing must be done to confirm that...
Have you also tested drive access performance?
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
774 (0.72/day)
Likes
937
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Have you also tested drive access performance?
AS SSD.png

Anvil.png

AS SSD : ~7% slower read time, and ~5% slower write time.

If anyone wants to test this :
To disable fix, use this command in cmd prompt (with admin rights) :
reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverride /t REG_DWORD /d 3 /f

reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverrideMask /t REG_DWORD /d 3 /f
To enable it, use this (cmd with admin is again required) :
reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverride /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f

reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverrideMask /t REG_DWORD /d 3 /f
In both cases a RESTART is required for changes to take effect ("shuting down" and pressing power button, usually doesn't count as restart in Win 10).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
2,879 (1.24/day)
Likes
2,451
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name StreaMachine
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.15GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon R9 290 @ 1200/1366MHz
Storage 2x 256GB SSD, 240GB SSD, WD Green 500GB & 2TB
Display(s) 3x 1920x1080 (23" & 2x 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
How windows can disable something what is set in bios/uefi? Windows should have no access to bios settings.
Pentium G3258.. Even with Z87 board it forced itself to stock clocks, had to delete the microcode update file manually.

I just installed this update with an i7-5820K on Asus ROG Strix X99 Gaming.

The update had no effect my overclock of 4.5ghz.
Same here, 5820K @ 4.5GHz & Rampage V Extreme.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
476 (0.53/day)
Likes
364
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor E5645 (4,1Ghz) 6c/12t
Motherboard P6X58D Premium
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 24 gb DDR3 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 8gb/Red-Devil/
Storage 2 ssd/Samsung 128Gb/Kingston 240Gb + HDD 500Gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse SteelSeries Kana V2
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike 12501 Score(Graphics 15643,Physics 14182),Cinebench 963
lol @ RTX off/on

Though, again, these patches mostly impact performance in very specific applications. Cinebench isn't one of them.
Yep...agree,I noticed that on my old X58 platform with updated microcode performance lost in cinebench is almost negligible but for example in 3d mark Firestrike physics test performance lost is around 10%.....
Here I just do the Firestrike testing to make sure what is the exact lost in performance

MeltdownOFFOn.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
3,634 (5.84/day)
Likes
2,344
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 CL8
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X Trio 2GHz
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480 (games)/4TB of external HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) Mad Catz FREQ wireless
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
Contrary to what I wrote earlier,I do have some spectre/meltdown impact on my pc,so let me break it down.
My method of comparing it to older results was flawed,and since inspectre can enable or disable them at request,I could do some relevant testing.

so first let's start with cdm ssd perfromance,4K r/w is the only one I test.
on my adata 128gb: 30/85 with patch on, 34/118 patch off
on samsung 850s:32-34/88 patch on,35-39/122 patch off

difference is not noticeable on windows boot,but games do load faster and I'm not dreaming it.

watch dogs 2 - my go to game for cpu testing. note that what I achieved was in an extremely cpu heavy game with low settings and temporal filtering on,a scenario that is likely never actually used for gaming,but relevant for cpu testing

patch on: 100-102 fps patch off: 112-116 fps, 13% performance lost.

so great job intel,you done fucked up. I'll be running with patches off since I don't really care and there's nothing for me to lose except for performance,but AMD got themselves a new customer when 7nm Ryzen drops. New intel cpus like 9700k will probably take less (if any) of a hit since they're newer and bios support is better too, but my points stands unless they offer me a free replacement.
From e6300,through q6600,2500k,3570k,4790k to 5775c,thank you for your service intel,you are dismissed.Time to go back to AMD :peace:
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
774 (0.72/day)
Likes
937
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
476 (0.53/day)
Likes
364
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor E5645 (4,1Ghz) 6c/12t
Motherboard P6X58D Premium
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 24 gb DDR3 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 8gb/Red-Devil/
Storage 2 ssd/Samsung 128Gb/Kingston 240Gb + HDD 500Gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse SteelSeries Kana V2
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike 12501 Score(Graphics 15643,Physics 14182),Cinebench 963
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Denmark
System Name Polar Claw
Processor Intel Core i7 6900K 3.2@4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI X99S SLI Krait Edition (socket 2011v3), BIOS N.80
Cooling Phanteks PH TC-14PE Black CPU Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 @2400MHz CL13-15-15-39-2T 1.35v.
Video Card(s) 2x Zotac GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB SLi 1480@1616MHz GPU, 1376@1468MHz VRAM
Storage SSD: Intel 120GB, Kingston 240GB, Kingston 64GB. HDD: Samsung 640GB, Seagate 750GB
Display(s) Acer XF270HUA 27" TFT IPS, 2560x1440@144Hz 4ms
Case orsair Vengeance C70 Arctic White case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w PSU
Mouse Logitech G9x mouse
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X6 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores Fast enough :)
I have an MSI X99S Gaming 7 (BIOS from 25th of may 2016) and a Core i7 5960X@4.1GHz and it isn't affected by this update.
However my main rig with MSI X99S Krait Edition (BIOS from 7th of july 2016) with a Core i7 6900K@4.2GHz is affected by this update. Installing it and I'm down to 3.7GHz. I have blocked the windows update with the MS tool and the CPU is running 4.2GHz again.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
774 (0.72/day)
Likes
937
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Maybe updated microcode in UEFI makes drop less apparent ?
I did not checked how my disk behaves with Windows before I updated the UEFI...
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
10,752 (2.52/day)
Likes
9,786
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Gentoo Linux x64
Benchmark Scores FS/TS ext: FS 10778:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/18092626 TS 3734:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6001589
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
476 (0.53/day)
Likes
364
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor E5645 (4,1Ghz) 6c/12t
Motherboard P6X58D Premium
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 24 gb DDR3 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 8gb/Red-Devil/
Storage 2 ssd/Samsung 128Gb/Kingston 240Gb + HDD 500Gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse SteelSeries Kana V2
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike 12501 Score(Graphics 15643,Physics 14182),Cinebench 963

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,092 (3.59/day)
Likes
11,517
After update, interesting thing happend : AIDA64 cache benchmark isn't detecting OC... UNLESS Windows is put into "High Performance" power plan (I made 100% core clock as minimum) :
View attachment 107337
^"Balanced"
View attachment 107338
^"High Performance", OC was done from BIOS level (FYI).
I was using latest microcode for IB-E : 0x42D (thank you R-T-B !), before update got downloaded/installed.
Oh, so power plans affect OC now... so the OS offer dynamic overclocking. Interesting. Funny how no one noticed this, and everyone thought things we just broken... and see to be ignoring the fact you said as much. I mentioned I wasn't having any problems myself...and I'm pretty sure I have high performance already selected. So this is all a bunch of drama for no reason...? Well, I guess it's not "no reason"... people simply didn't understand what actually changed. Myself included.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,536 (4.53/day)
Likes
4,711
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
You shouldn't need a high performance power plan to OC. If you do that you throw idle power saving features out the window. Most of us probably don't want our over clocked chips running north of 5GHz 24/7. Smells like a bug to me if that is indeed the case.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,092 (3.59/day)
Likes
11,517
You shouldn't need a high performance power plan to OC. If you do that you throw idle power saving features out the window. Most of us probably don't want our over clocked chips running north of 5GHz 24/7. Smells like a bug to me if that is indeed the case.
Yeah, it does, but it might also explain why some are seeing issues, and others are not. It'd also be nice if there was simpler ways to change these power plans... but in the grand scheme of things, this is something I would like to see developed further.
 
Top