• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Readies 3.70 GHz Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition Processor

Dave63

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
106 (0.03/day)
Location
Hamilton, NY
System Name X-Tek
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE OC @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard ECS GF8200A Black Series
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory G-Skill PC2-6400 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC 768MB
Storage WD 320 GB
Display(s) ASUS 23" Full HD HDMI LED Backlight
Case Xigmatek UTGARD
Audio Device(s) Integrated 8-channel HD Audio
Power Supply BFG 550W GX Series
Software Windows 7 Home 64 Bit
With this new chip we may see some push it to hit close to 5GHz with the right combo.
 

xsever

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
System Name The Ultra Machine
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 720 @ 3.5GHZ 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte 790GP-UD4H
Cooling Core-Contact Freezer 120mm
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 4GB PC6400
Video Card(s) XFX 5770 1GB @970/1305 1.1V
Storage WD Black 1TB + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 2X Acer 20" LED
Case Ultra Wizard Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek (Onboard)
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 500 W
Software Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
If the 3.5GHz was their limit for 125W TDP, what is it for the 95W that is my max TDP on my mobo and I am at 3.5GHz stable. So I can see this new chip over 4.0GHz eazy, I will be holding off for bulldozer to be out to start the new build this fall and turn this one into a 24/7 folder for fun:rockout:
Since we have the same CPU at the same speed and the same memory, I am wondering at what voltage are you with 3.5GHz?

As for the 380, there might be a 385 or 390 coming to put the icing on the cake = 4.0!
 

Dave63

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
106 (0.03/day)
Location
Hamilton, NY
System Name X-Tek
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE OC @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard ECS GF8200A Black Series
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory G-Skill PC2-6400 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC 768MB
Storage WD 320 GB
Display(s) ASUS 23" Full HD HDMI LED Backlight
Case Xigmatek UTGARD
Audio Device(s) Integrated 8-channel HD Audio
Power Supply BFG 550W GX Series
Software Windows 7 Home 64 Bit
Since we have the same CPU at the same speed and the same memory, I am wondering at what voltage are you with 3.5GHz?

As for the 380, there might be a 385 or 390 coming to put the icing on the cake = 4.0!
I am at 1.475 and my temps do not go over 45c.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
3,343 (0.91/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /4790 fold&WCG /2700x fold&WCG/2700x full time WCG
Processor 3900X stock/ 4790K 4.4/2x2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/Maximus Hero/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D15/ 2xNH-U12S SE
Memory G Skill Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZ 3800 CL 16 /8 GB Corsair Vengance/2x16 GB XSkill Flare CL14
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/2070 Z/2060 X MSI + 2060 Ventus MSI/GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 480 GB SSD/2x250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / none/Lian test bench/NZXT 500 crap
Power Supply AX 850/AX 860/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7/Linux for AMD
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
I am at 1.475 and my temps do not go over 45c.
Whenever I see a AMD temp read out like this and many other it always makes me wonder if it is correct. I know that a 2% CPU load will not tell the truth (unless your really have a <15 C room), but 125 W contra 140 W can not differ 20 C as many realcore SS show. On the other hand if you/we think that the temperatures are in check we sleep well.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,013 (1.16/day)
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
Whenever I see a AMD temp read out like this and many other it always makes me wonder if it is correct. I know that a 2% CPU load will not tell the truth (unless your really have a <15 C room), but 125 W contra 140 W can not differ 20 C as many realcore SS show. On the other hand if you/we think that the temperatures are in check we sleep well.
i don't think many are correct, on these cpu's its easier just to look at cpu-z and see if its thermal throttling

edit: even if they carry on releasing these they won't go over 4ghz as they'll run out of numbers on the current numbering scheme
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.50/day)
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
Whenever I see a AMD temp read out like this and many other it always makes me wonder if it is correct. I know that a 2% CPU load will not tell the truth (unless your really have a <15 C room), but 125 W contra 140 W can not differ 20 C as many realcore SS show. On the other hand if you/we think that the temperatures are in check we sleep well.
And you are right to doubt it because it is in fact wrong. You have to add about ~12c more to it. Sometimes the temp sensor on the phenoms gets stuck like that
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,013 (1.16/day)
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
And you are right to doubt it because it is in fact wrong. You have to add about ~12c more to it. Sometimes the temp sensor on the phenoms gets stuck like that
makes sense as mine thermal throttles at 56'c according to the temp sensor and with a max temp of 71'c on these chips ~12'c seams about right
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
527 (0.15/day)
Location
Michigan
System Name Daves
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 4.00
Motherboard AsRock X370 Killer SLI/ac
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16 GIG GSKILL Ripjaw @ 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
Storage Crucial M.2 250 Samsung 840 EVO 250-Samsung 850 Pro-WD 1 TB
Display(s) LG 27
Case NZXT
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply EVGA 750
Mouse EVGA
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Windows 10 Home
Interesting... nice to know that the person I'm selling my mobo & CPU to after the Bulldozers come to light will still have plenty upgrade options. At least AMD doesn't just dump previous gen owners.
Neither has Intel,socket 775 is still easily had,NewEgg has over 100 MBs available.
 

IceCreamBarr

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
76 (0.02/day)
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Non Existent
Neither has Intel,socket 775 is still easily had,NewEgg has over 100 MBs available.
His comment is in reference to upgrading the CPU to a newer architecture. The 775 socket is strictly for the "core 2" family whereas the AM3 socket is good for multiple families as was the AM2 socket.
 

Dave63

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
106 (0.03/day)
Location
Hamilton, NY
System Name X-Tek
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE OC @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard ECS GF8200A Black Series
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory G-Skill PC2-6400 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC 768MB
Storage WD 320 GB
Display(s) ASUS 23" Full HD HDMI LED Backlight
Case Xigmatek UTGARD
Audio Device(s) Integrated 8-channel HD Audio
Power Supply BFG 550W GX Series
Software Windows 7 Home 64 Bit
Whenever I see a AMD temp read out like this and many other it always makes me wonder if it is correct. I know that a 2% CPU load will not tell the truth (unless your really have a <15 C room), but 125 W contra 140 W can not differ 20 C as many realcore SS show. On the other hand if you/we think that the temperatures are in check we sleep well.
Yes I looked at the temp isuwith AMD and my room is at 17c-19c most of the time it's been cold up here and have AC for summer time. So when I look at the temps I add 10c to them. I hope this will be fixed with the new chips.
 

xsever

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
System Name The Ultra Machine
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 720 @ 3.5GHZ 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte 790GP-UD4H
Cooling Core-Contact Freezer 120mm
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 4GB PC6400
Video Card(s) XFX 5770 1GB @970/1305 1.1V
Storage WD Black 1TB + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 2X Acer 20" LED
Case Ultra Wizard Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek (Onboard)
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 500 W
Software Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
It's also another story when you unlock the 720 to a quad core: the cores' sensors go dead and on the "CPU" sensor remains functional.

Still mine idles at 22c and loads at 40c tops. Are you guys saying that these numbers in reality would be ~32c and ~50c respectively?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,739 (0.32/day)
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle "Nostromo"
Processor RyZEN 7 2700X
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (X370) [BIOS v.7601]
Cooling Hydro H110i Extreme v2
Memory 2 x 8 GB HX429C15PB3A (2933MHz)
Video Card(s) 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage 960 M2/NVMe (500 GB) - 860 EVO (1 TB) - Red PRO (4 TB)
Display(s) VG248QE / C24G1
Case Lian-Li Test Bench
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse New model MX 518
Keyboard Drevo BladeMaster TE (MX Cherry red RGB)
Why worry.....my old 965 is running 3.9 GHz - stable for at least 7-8 hours a day.....
 

Dave63

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
106 (0.03/day)
Location
Hamilton, NY
System Name X-Tek
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE OC @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard ECS GF8200A Black Series
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory G-Skill PC2-6400 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC 768MB
Storage WD 320 GB
Display(s) ASUS 23" Full HD HDMI LED Backlight
Case Xigmatek UTGARD
Audio Device(s) Integrated 8-channel HD Audio
Power Supply BFG 550W GX Series
Software Windows 7 Home 64 Bit
It's also another story when you unlock the 720 to a quad core: the cores' sensors go dead and on the "CPU" sensor remains functional.

Still mine idles at 22c and loads at 40c tops. Are you guys saying that these numbers in reality would be ~32c and ~50c respectively?
Yes I am a member of the x3 700 club at OCN and alot of members say the same thing with the unlocking and temps.

I am unable to unlock mine do to the mobo.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,013 (1.16/day)
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
Still mine idles at 22c and loads at 40c tops. Are you guys saying that these numbers in reality would be ~32c and ~50c respectively?
no, closer to ~32c and ~55c from personal experience
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,649 (5.66/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
Those TDP ratings are what they are rated and guaranteed to work with is all.

My mobo is 140w max but I could run 200w through it, it just isn't designed for it.
It entirely depends on the mobo I have pushed just over 95w on a 95w board and smoked mosfets. I also have pushed well over 200w thru my asus ch2/ch3/ch4 and m4a78t-e.

As for everyone looking at temps. Amd spec says they are up to 10-14c off until the cpus hit 55c @ 55c they are correct. They are also safe temp wise all the way up to 95c as that's when the silicone begins to degrade. The 62c "safe temp" leaves a huge safety net for coolers and amd.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
1,453 (0.40/day)
System Name 2K Gamer
Processor AMD 8370 @ 4.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Pro Gaming / Aura 970
Cooling Corsair H60 AIO
Memory 16GB G. Skill RipJaw @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP! GTX 1070
Storage Samsung 600 Gig HDD (Raid 0 @ 7,500) / WD 1TB Blue @ 7,200 / PNY 128 GB SSD For Linux
Display(s) 27'' ASUS 144MHZ G-SYNC Read 1400p Gaming Monitor / 23'' LG LCD Flatron W2361VG 1080p @ 50,000:1
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Realtek
Power Supply 750w Corsair HX
Mouse Cougar Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse
Software Windows 10 64bit Education Edition



Snooki want's smoosh smoosh and benchmarks!
 

Dave63

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
106 (0.03/day)
Location
Hamilton, NY
System Name X-Tek
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE OC @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard ECS GF8200A Black Series
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory G-Skill PC2-6400 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC 768MB
Storage WD 320 GB
Display(s) ASUS 23" Full HD HDMI LED Backlight
Case Xigmatek UTGARD
Audio Device(s) Integrated 8-channel HD Audio
Power Supply BFG 550W GX Series
Software Windows 7 Home 64 Bit
It entirely depends on the mobo I have pushed just over 95w on a 95w board and smoked mosfets. I also have pushed well over 200w thru my asus ch2/ch3/ch4 and m4a78t-e.

As for everyone looking at temps. Amd spec says they are up to 10-14c off until the cpus hit 55c @ 55c they are correct. They are also safe temp wise all the way up to 95c as that's when the silicone begins to degrade. The 62c "safe temp" leaves a huge safety net for coolers and amd.
That is why if my temp readings are 45c max in core-temp w/prim95 then I am safe. Thanks did not know about the 95c, AMD spec's say max 73c I think back when I look them up.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,649 (5.66/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
That is why if my temp readings are 45c max in core-temp w/prim95 then I am safe. Thanks did not know about the 95c, AMD spec's say max 73c I think back when I look them up.
For phenom ii it says 62c unless you look at mobile chips which for the most part are labeled higher. Odd since they the same process. Also these chips won't throttle untill 95c
 

Dave63

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
106 (0.03/day)
Location
Hamilton, NY
System Name X-Tek
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE OC @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard ECS GF8200A Black Series
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory G-Skill PC2-6400 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC 768MB
Storage WD 320 GB
Display(s) ASUS 23" Full HD HDMI LED Backlight
Case Xigmatek UTGARD
Audio Device(s) Integrated 8-channel HD Audio
Power Supply BFG 550W GX Series
Software Windows 7 Home 64 Bit
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
490 (0.14/day)
System Name BlackDeath
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE c3 3.5GHz OC
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AM3 790X ATX
Cooling CM Hyper 212+ Noctua Fan
Memory G.Skill Ripjaw 2x4gb, Kingston HyperX 2x4gb DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770
Storage Seagate 7200.11 3x1.5TB RAID5 + Intel 520 180gb
Display(s) Samsung 2494 - 24"
Case CoolerMaster HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Software Windows OS
Benchmark Scores Microsoft Sidewinder Mouse
Last hurray of the PIIx4 before AM3+ lands?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,355 (1.11/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Fractured puke.
Processor Intel I7-8700k/G4400/AMD 2200g/Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard MSI z370 Gaming M5/h110/ AMD a320/ AMD B450-ASRock pro 4 atx
Cooling Corsair H110i/Intel/AMD/H60
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ/8gb 2133mhz/8gb 2400mhz/8gb Viper 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1070ti/integrated/apu/rx570
Storage 960 EVO 500gb/256gb WD Black 2280 M2/Patriot Ignite 480gb SSD/ Inland Pro 256gb SSD/Patriot Scorch-&
Display(s) AOC 32" QHD/Acer 32" QHD/ ViewSonic 24" FHD/ TV
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C/ Rosewill FBM-01/ Rosewill FBM-01/Sigma eclipse
Audio Device(s) creative audigy/nboard/ onboard/inboard
Power Supply Seasonic/TT/TT/Cooler Master white80+ 500w
Mouse Red Dragon/red dragon/Razer/Razer
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker/red dragon RGB/Red Dragon 502/Razer
Software Windows 10Pro x64///
My guess is these are disabled Thubans.....I hope someone can chack this for us...
It would be cool to hear a couple of unlock stories before PII is done
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
354 (0.09/day)
Location
Brazil - São Paulo
System Name "I2I3 Overclocking Team"
Processor Phenom II x6 1090T 3.2
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Stoock
Memory G.SKILLl Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Geforce 9800gx2 EVGA
Storage Sansung 500GB
Display(s) LG
Case Box motherboard
Software Windows 7
Benchmark Scores Hunt3r
AMD is very crazy
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
956 (0.23/day)
Processor i7 5820K
Motherboard ASRock X99 Extreme4
Cooling Swiftech ApogeeXT + EK D5 + Swiftech 360 Rad
Memory 16GB Gskill DDR4
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti
Storage Corsair ForceGT 120GB + Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 8TB WD Red
Display(s) Benq XL2730Z (1440P 144Hz, TN, Freesync) & 2x ASUS VE248
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Aune T1/Fiio E17/Realtek, SE535, TH-X00, ATH-M50 modded w/ V-Moda Boompro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Sharkoon Fireglider optical
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
My guess is these are disabled Thubans.....I hope someone can chack this for us...
It would be cool to hear a couple of unlock stories before PII is done
AMD is looking to give its Phenom II series a finale, with a new quad-core Phenom II X4 model, the Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition. The new chip will be clocked at 3.70 GHz out of the box (18.5 x 200 MHz). It achieves this speed while staying within the 125W TDP envelope. Based on the 45 nm "Deneb" silicon, the X4 980 BE features four x86-64 cores with 512 KB dedicated L2 cache each, and a 6 MB shared cache. Compatible with AM3 and AM2+ sockets, the chip packs a dual-channel memory controller that supports DDR3-1333 MHz or DDR2-1066 MHz memory standards. AMD will unveil the new chip soon, as the company gears up to launch next-generation chips in June.

[url]http://www.techpowerup.com/img/11-03-18/119a_thm.jpg[/URL]

Source: DonanimHaber
Guess not :ohwell:

But this isn't straight from AMD as source, so who knows...
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.50/day)
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
For phenom ii it says 62c unless you look at mobile chips which for the most part are labeled higher. Odd since they the same process. Also these chips won't throttle untill 95c
Not exactly. The laptop cpus are higher binned cores with less transistor leakage so that they can work at lower voltages. And they also don't have a heat spreader which helps with the temps too.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,922 (1.15/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
My guess is these are disabled Thubans.....I hope someone can chack this for us...
It would be cool to hear a couple of unlock stories before PII is done
Negative!!
 
Top