1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 9.4 Released

Discussion in 'News' started by alexp999, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. TreadR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    79 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    That was only an inf compare... if you edit the inf to add your card you _might_ be able to use the new drivers.
     
  2. Bucknuts77

    Bucknuts77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Orlando Florida
    I dont have a X2 card but I do run crossfire, and had code error on 9.1 or 9.2 cant remeber wich one it was, but anyhow It was a Microsoft Visal C++ problem wich the x64 version from the microsoft website fixed the problem. So try update that, and hope it works for you
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,227 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,456
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    thats rather interesting. can you please find a link to that software, for people with the issue?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    AVIVO h264 playback has been working fine. You dont need the package either for playback, its in the regular drivers. On top of that the AVIVO never has magicly worked on its own. It has always depended on the media players to support it.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    GUYS. I came onto something big. Hit the test custom clocks button in the overdrive menu... :D
     
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Thats was one of the biggest features in this release is that they have fixed the overdrive feature.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,227 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,456
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    not overdrive, the test custom clocks. tis a fullscreen 3D tester now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Its all part of the same feature add surely.

    Test custom clocks is in the Overdrive section, no?
     
  9. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yay, Far Cry 2 resolutions are working for me now :D
    I can select other resolutions other than the 2 obscure resolutions.
    Now to test 1080p works in dx10 (i doubt it though, it switches down to 1080i).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,227 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,456
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    The fix for that is to add "HDTV" resolutions at 30, 50, and 60Hz.
    Its odd, but it works. its on the AMD forums.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Fragman

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark EU
    Hope this driver is gona give me some performance in crossfire now or if my gpu is still stuck at max 40% each
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Sorry I'm not sure what that means, where do I add it?

    CCC looks fine to me, all the settings are good.

    I was manually forcing 1680x1050 through shortcuts, but obviously that doesn't work for 1080p.

    Does this fix work for DMC4 as well?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. MopeyMartian

    MopeyMartian

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    197 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Overdrive looks like that too now. I tried it out and it seems to have found the real sweetspot for my 4850. Instead of 660/993 it is now 690/1103. Hopefully that's where I can keep it.

    If you run overdrive get ready to get trippy. I stared at that psychedelic screen for around 20 minutes :twitch: It plays some crazy tricks on your eyes.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Fragman

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark EU
    Grats on that i tryed OC in crossfire mode catalyst says its ok but pc crashes after about 30 min or so plying have no idear what to do enymore no oc for me in CF mode
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    9.4 Hotfix AGP ... are available too :)

    Got them , but i run a virus scan on the system , so i will delay a bit installation and testing .

    XP drivers are 38 megs ... not that compact size , after all this old cards removal .

    8.11 = 35.5 Mb
    8.12 = 34.5
    9.2 = 36.6
    9.3 = 36.7
    9.4 = 38.6
     
  16. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    After some playing around my conclusion is that Catalyst 9.4 SUCK. Furmark on min/max and average FPS took a heavy hit, average dropping 7FPS, max dropping 11FPS, and min dropping 5-8FPS (forget exactly). Catalyst 9.2 perform very well, although some may find the CCC will not run, easy fix, just use the CCC for 9.3.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. DBH New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    97 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I cant even get the overdrive menu to work on this install with my 4850 on vista x64 it's all greyed out :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    On Windows XP 32 .. the Hotfix install, got well .

    The only drastic change that I noticed, was that SmartGart registers it self silently ...
    No more pop up , that CCC will test AGP compatibility , and get enabled.

    Auto-tune , has nothing as 3D graphic test , just the ordinary panel .

    So far so good .
     
  20. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,838 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    New York
    9.4's installed flawlessly! Everything so far is working good...I see no gains nor losses with these drivers as of yet....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,838 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    New York
    Looks like AVIVO Converter is NOT AVAILABLE as of yet for Vista 64 ...So far I have not been able to get it to work.

    [​IMG]

    AVIVO.jpg
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,497 (11.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,880
    Did you try renaming furmark.exe? With past drivers ATi has intentionally crippled the card for that bench, maybe they've done it again? :ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,838 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    New York
    I still get a decent score but its a little less than the 9.2's but exceptable.Yes I renamed and have left it that way.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Why did ATi deliberately cripple their drivers with Furmark? :wtf: It only hurts them.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,497 (11.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,880
    When the 4xxx series was released furmark was responsible for burnin up quite a few cards.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)