1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATITool nearly killed my computer.

Discussion in 'ATITool Bug Reports' started by shoutanenjeru, Feb 26, 2007.

  1. shoutanenjeru New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    During the installation of ATITool, Windows XP crashed completely, getting the blue screen of death and everything. Then when I try to reboot into windows, it says that a ntfs.dll is corrupted or missing, then I couldn't get into the windows setup either. I had to call up Microsoft and they instructed me to remove and reinstall my memory sticks again. Sure enough that cleared up the problem, but I'm not installing ATITool again until this problem is fixed.
     
  2. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,761 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Hmm without more in depth detail about the issue, I cant believe that it would be the fault of ATItool.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Apa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    97 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Swedenland
    I don't think it was ATi tool specifically that did this problem. Far as I know, ATi tool does nothing but install itself during the installation process. I mean, it doesn't i.e. change anything specifically for the graficcards and such until it is installed and utilized. I don't think you really can point out it was ATi tool that did this until you re-try the installation and it happens again.
    That ntsf.dll stops working doesn't mean the PC will die, more windows crashes and a file gets corrupt. I'd suggest you to backup your stuff before using software like this anyway, I mean, you never know... but again, I don't think it was ATi tool itself that made the PC crash because of the isntallation since it wasn't fully installed and really couldn't do anything.
     
  4. Scavar

    Scavar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    It's possible that something happened to your memory. While unpacking, it hit a bad spot in your memory and went boom perhaps somehow.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,252 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,105
    well what hardware you have and what OS you running?
     
  6. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,979 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    could be one of your sticks be already bad and when atitool installed it used more memory and that happen, i seriously doubt atitool can done any harm to your computer during instalation and even use (user fault doesn't count)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,275 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,788
    Wow, another uneducated noob thread about how bad something that they have no idea how to use, or what it does, really is to them.


    Perhaps along the same reasoning if we put some rags with grain in a corner it will spontaneously evolve into mice?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  8. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,252 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,105

    lmao! where have i heard that before. maybe in biology class back in higschool. some experiement. ok this is going to bother me!
     
  9. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    That's enough of that. Get it back on topic. I don't want to hear the wanton insults.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,671 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,663
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Funny - according to him it was ATITool that killed it, but it happened when it was installing... bag of grain, mice... yep, that's it! Hmmm...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Scavar

    Scavar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    The only thing I can really think of is that your one, or both, of your memory modules have a corrupted sectors. During the install of ATiTool is used a sector, and boom. It might be that somehow Windows was already corrupted in some other manner, and the crash was completely unrelated to ATiTool.

    Oh wait, you said something about ntfs.dll. Thats almost certaintly HDD related. But could be that it went into virtual RAM during the install and hit a bad sector, or was installing into a bad sector of the HDD. I would suggest running Diskcheck(tick both options) and memtest for at least like 30minutes.

    That might help tell you if something is up with the system.


    One other possibility, though highly unlikely, is that your download of ATiTool was corrupt or malicious.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. blahblah318 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey now...easy with the trash talking people jeez....Don't be doggin on this person because of this. Why not try and help figure the situation out, unless it's something you can't do or figure out and you were just bored and wanted to type something up.

    ANYWAYS...

    I got the same issue as the first poster. i tried to install it and it crashed on me as well! then My comp. would get so far on starting up again and then BAM again blue screen of death. Once I got the comp. up and running again in windows (AS SOON AS IT STARTED) i instantly went to ATI Catalyst and set the overclocking feature in there back to default and it became stable again. I noticed my GPU temps were up there and climbing fast and once i clicked default the temps dropped back down like crazy then i noticed ATITool was installed... so I tried to uninstall it and BAM.... blue screen of death AGAIN, and had to do the same procedure to get my pc up again. THere was a couple times where i just had to shut it off and let everything cool off again.

    now i've ran all the tests to see if something was corrupt or bad on my pc and found nothing. This is the first and ONLY time this has ever happened on this computer, and it was build back in late April of this year.


    comp specs:

    OS: Microsoft XP Pro 64-bit Edition
    Motherboard: Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
    Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Windsor 3.2GHz
    Graphics: GeCube HD 3870 x2
    Memory: Kingston HyperX 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2
    HDD: Maxtor DiamondMax 500GB (x2)
    PowerSupply: Rosewill RX950-D-B 950W ATX12V


    EDIT:

    I also know tihs is and old thread but the problem is still floating out there...

    I found the log file and this is what was in it. I dunno if htat will help or not, but here it is

    2008-11-12 10:37:16 ATITool v0.24 started.
    2008-11-12 10:37:17 Detected GPU Chip: 0x0 (0), 8 Pipelines, 3840 MB
    2008-11-12 10:37:17 Temperature monitoring: not supported
    2008-11-12 10:37:17 Could not locate ATI BIOS - assuming 27.000 Mhz Ref. clock
    2008-11-12 10:41:39 Application terminated.
    2008-11-13 22:17:50 ATITool v0.24 started.
    2008-11-13 22:17:50 Detected GPU Chip: 0x0 (0), 8 Pipelines, 3840 MB
    2008-11-13 22:17:50 Temperature monitoring: not supported
    2008-11-13 22:17:50 Could not locate ATI BIOS - assuming 27.000 Mhz Ref. clock
    2008-11-13 22:18:23 Application terminated.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2008
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,055 (10.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,273
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    as people have said, ATItool just cant cause this on its own. At the most, its a software conflict with another OCing tool (and even then, it cant cause NTFS errors - thats a corrupt HDD, or bad ram)

    So that you guys know: if you load windows in safe mode, ATI tool isnt loaded - if your problems persist there, its got to be hardware related. If you cant even load safe mode, then its definately not ATI tool that caused it.

    P.S - thanks thermo... this could have turned into a flamefest pretty easily there.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. blahblah318 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok so why won't it let me uninstall ati tool? i get the blue screen screen of death when I just trying to uninstall the program. The first time was when it was about to finish installing and the wtf came into play...when i got the BSOD so i restarted my computer and the BSOD came up again...restarted again and i got into my ATI catalyst set it back to defaults (the temps were up in the 60's within 30-45 seconds for windows to load) and the temps dropped like crazy as if it was overclocked. it settled down to about 40 degrees C after all that and it ran fine without a problem. I even opened ati tool to see if it even installed correctly and the program opens and everything. I didn't set any values just opened and closed it.

    When I tried to uninstall it, it happened again BSOD....now every time i start my computer up i get the BSOD. I scanned my harddrives and no error or any bad sectors nothing! I even took all my ram out and put them back in individually and tested them with orthos to see if i could get it to do it again (BSOD) as people have said "hardware issues". I can't get the pc to give me the BSOD when i test anything or even stress test it. I just don't understand why nothing ever happened until i installed atitool, and why now i can't uninstall it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2008
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,441 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,777
    Most likely driver conflicts between ATi Tool and your ATi drivers. Uninstall your drivers, use a driver cleaner, then uninstall ATi tool. Since ATi tool doesn't support your video card, you may have to re-write your O/S if this doesn't work.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Why don't you just use system restore, restore before atitool...problem solved.;)
     
  17. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    without the exact stop error reference from the BSOD, there's no way to specifically say whether it's hardware of software related.


    But, as has been pointed out, ATITool v.24, AFAIK, is not compatible with a 3870x2. I think 0.27b3 is, but I haven't gone digging in the ATITool beta threads in a very long time, so I can't guarantee that.

    Go into safe mode to uninstall/remove the application, run a registry cleaner to clean it all up - if you're still BSODing, write down the error address references, any files that are being referenced, and post that information up here . . .
     
  18. blahblah318 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ya I just went in and deleted all the files off the C: drive and then went through the registry and cleaned out all the ATITool's and so far no problems. So thanks guys (for the ones that helped!) That's good to know that ATITool is not compatible with the 3870 x2's lol...won't be trying something like that again for a while.:nutkick:
     
  19. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    It can't be ATI Tool specificaly. Maybe some other software / hardware someone how didn't like installing ATI Tool.
     
  20. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    well . . . if you had tried installing 0.24 . . . again, that version isn't compatible with the 3870x2.

    I don't remember which version is - I want to say 0.27b3, but I'm not sure on that. I've been using ATI Tray Tools in place of the ATITool and CCC for so long now, and never had any issues . . . I used to use ATITool for verifying OC settings, but GPU-Z is much better suited for that purpose ATM. Although, the fuzzy-cube render in ATITool is much better for GPU loading than the render used with ATT . . . :ohwell:
     
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (3.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    holy thread revial :eek: nothing like a thread that is almost 2 years old
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,055 (10.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,273
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    *facepalm*

    i hadnt even noticed that at the time i posted.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)