• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bad Flash HD 6870

Doomy

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#26
you need to boot from a disk with a functional gpu so you can see whats going wrong with the flash
 

Doomy

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#28
find a old PCI video card and use that or take your gpu to a friends or a shop and have them reflash it
 

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#29
It means it may work with other motherboard. I baught a PCI VGA card but unfortunately it was not showing any display because it have only 8mb VRAM.
 

Doomy

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#30
do this
pull the 6870 out
and clean the cmos it won't boot with the other card untill do you do this!!!

boot the machine with either the onboard video or the pci card
go into the bios and set the display priority to either the PCI card or the onboard video ALSO REQUIRED it will not work unless you change the display adapter priority to something else(look for a setting labeled video device priority or display boot device or something similar )

reboot and shutdown
re-install the 6870 leave the video cable connected to the on board chip/pci card

boot from a usb key cdrom or something that has a dos prompt and a RECENT copy of atiflash
run atiflash -i find the 6870's number
then to flash run
atiflash # -p biosfilename.bin
reboot clear the cmos again and remove the pci card/switch the cable over to the 6870 and pray
#=the number of the gpu listed when you did atiflash -i
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#31
No I didn't tried a blind flash. I don't know much about blind flash. bridging EEPROM was not successful because I think I did not connected the two pins correctly. I used a copper wire for bridging. I stopped connecting the pins for now but I will try again tomorrow. Please tell me about blind flash I will try this.
put the usb stick to boot up first

then reboot with the 6870 hooked up to the screen and for it to boot with the pci-e wait a few mins so it can load the usb

atiflash -f -p 0 xxx.rom xxx

then enter

wait like about 5mins then press the power button then predd it it again see if it boots up with video

don't short the pins you probly just burned the chip :banghead: pin shorting is not for 6870's
don't try a blind flash either you will need a working gpu
why wont a blind flash work ? i did it on my 7970 the other day cuz i flashed a 7970 light bios and not the ref one

so idk where you got you need another gpu to flash a card
 

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#32
Here is what I did

Installed PCI VGA and when motherboard's bios came up I went in there and selected the option to use PCI VGA for primary display port. Then power down the PC and remove the monitor's cord from motherboard's video port and pluged it into PCI VGA and started the PC but nothing showed up. Shopkeeper told me that it is 8 MB VGA thats why it is not showing display. I did not clear the CMOS while using PCI VGA. Please tell me at what stage I should have cleared the CMOS??
I was also planning to take it to computer shop.
 

Doomy

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#33
Here is what I did

Installed PCI VGA and when motherboard's bios came up I went in there and selected the option to use PCI VGA for primary display port. Then power down the PC and remove the monitor's cord from motherboard's video port and pluged it into PCI VGA and started the PC but nothing showed up. Shopkeeper told me that it is 8 MB VGA thats why it is not showing display. I did not clear the CMOS while using PCI VGA. Please tell me at what stage I should have cleared the CMOS??
I was also planning to take it to computer shop.
shop keeper is a idiot and is trying to scam you
8MB is PLENTY for a dos console 8MB is plenty to run windows even :banghead:
if you can boot with the on board video thats fine use that that will work to boot from a DOS-usb key with a copy of ATI FLASH
this needs to be done FROM A DOS DISK NOT FROM WINDOWS
 

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#34
do this
pull the 6870 out
and clean the cmos it won't boot with the other card untill do you do this!!!

boot the machine with either the onboard video or the pci card
go into the bios and set the display priority to either the PCI card or the onboard video ALSO REQUIRED it will not work unless you change the display adapter priority to something else(look for a setting labeled video device priority or display boot device or something similar )

reboot and shutdown
re-install the 6870 leave the video cable connected to the on board chip/pci card

boot from a usb key cdrom or something that has a dos prompt and a RECENT copy of atiflash
run atiflash -i find the 6870's number
then to flash run
atiflash # -p biosfilename.bin
reboot clear the cmos again and remove the pci card/switch the cable over to the 6870 and pray
#=the number of the gpu listed when you did atiflash -i
will changing the jumper clear the CMOS??? I am going to try this now so please be with me I will reply in 5 min.
 

Doomy

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#35
let me get this strait
you can boot with the video connected to the onboard video AND the 6870 is still installed to a PCIE slot correct ?
then use the on-board video and don't bother with the card at all
and yes setting the jumper and waiting 15 seconds will clear the cmos I wold do this anyway before and after you flash
 

Doomy

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#36
either way what you need is to beable to boot and get a picture WITH the 6870 installed it doesn't need to be hooked up to a monitor just needs to be installed and have power once you can do that then you can make a dos bootable usb key and run atiflash and reflash the original bios
 

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#39
and I would use THIS bios
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/109591/HIS.HD6870.1024.110816.html
gpu-z doesn't always save a backup completely
I tried the method step by step you told me but no luck. And the bios saved by using GPU-Z is good one because one week ago I used this bios(which I saved using GPU-z) to flashe my GPU and it worked perfectly. But that time atiflash was reconizing my gpu so it was easy but this time it is not recognizing this GPU. I tried you method twice so it took much time sorry for that.:shadedshu
 

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#40
I can not understand why it is happening, as I am reading on internet for three days that people flashed their GPU in a weird way(Like flashing 4850 with 6850 and like) and their PC was not booting with the dead GPU installed but still they were capable of recovering but here in my case I have display, PC is booting fine with dead GPU connected and still can not recover?????????
 

Doomy

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#41
playing around with the pins might have fried it
atiflash -i doesn't list anything ?
if you forcably flashed the bios then you might have killed the recovery block built into the bios
so you have a 200 dollor paper weight nice ... what have we learned
now the only option is to have the bios reprogrammed with a flasher and someone brave enough to attempt to remove the bios chip flash it and reattach it .. pretty much impossible now adays
 

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#42
playing around with the pins might have fried it
atiflash -i doesn't list anything ?
atiflash -i show adapter not found . but when I hadn't touch the pins, atiflash was unable recognizing gpu. nothing is changed.
 

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#43
i will send it to repair and i will bear all coast. and if doesn't get repaired I am not gonna purchase another one for one year, that way I think I will learn something.
 

Doomy

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#44
most motherboards and gpus have a reserved part of the bios thats there to do one thing and thats make sure the the flash-logic can be initiated even if the rest of the card won't boot this is the boot block and every card is a little different normally when you flash the bios with atiflash -p this is left alone but if there is a check-sum fail and you force the flash sometimes this gets erased and you end up with a card that can not be re-flashed though software or probly at all I can't find any pinouts for that chip so you are SOL sorry
 

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#45
ok friend, lets see what happens. And thanks for trying to help me out. I am leaving now. Thanks again.
 

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#46
most motherboards and gpus have a reserved part of the bios thats there to do one thing and thats make sure the the flash-logic can be initiated even if the rest of the card won't boot this is the boot block and every card is a little different normally when you flash the bios with atiflash -p this is left alone but if there is a check-sum fail and you force the flash sometimes this gets erased and you end up with a card that can not be re-flashed though software or probly at all I can't find any pinouts for that chip so you are SOL sorry
There is a set of 8 pins on the back of GPU. Some numbers are written on it and I found a datasheet for its number.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,813
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#48
if the card is fried, might aswell get a 7770 then. and this time dont flash them! hard lesson learned indeed
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397 (0.21/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
#49
My system specs:

Motherboard: Intel DH55TC

Processor: Intel core i3 540

Power Supply: Corsair CMPSU-600CXV2UK 600 Watts PSU

GPU: AMD Radeon HIS 6870 IceqX 1 GB




Please help friends please
Sorry for your predicament. I just wanted to give you best wishes , I am not sufficiently informed to really help you, but I know you will find the help.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,569 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,468
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#50
don't short the pins you probly just burned the chip :banghead: pin shorting is not for 6870's
don't try a blind flash either you will need a working gpu
Like hell you will. Blind flash the GPU ans stop listening to this guy.

put the usb stick to boot up first

then reboot with the 6870 hooked up to the screen and for it to boot with the pci-e wait a few mins so it can load the usb

atiflash -f -p 0 xxx.rom xxx

then enter

wait like about 5mins then press the power button then predd it it again see if it boots up with video
These are the correct steps for a blind flash. I highly doubt you did anything shorting pins on the EEPROM. You can straight up hold power to ground on the EEPROM and it wont do anything to a corrupt BIOS.