• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bad Flash HD 6870

Doomy

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#51
Like hell you will. Blind flash the GPU ans stop listening to this guy.



These are the correct steps for a blind flash. I highly doubt you did anything shorting pins on the EEPROM. You can straight up hold power to ground on the EEPROM and it wont do anything to a corrupt BIOS.
you wanna read the thread ? again buddy
already confirmed that its bricked beyond all normal methods of recovery
dead or not you short the wrong set of pins you have a good chance of wreaking it is a last resort and its not something for someone with out a good bit of experience should attempt you can hold power to ground because its A GROUND you put power to one of the serial pins and good bye sally .... usually the reason for the stern tone was to make him STOP because he was playing with forces he didn't understand .... that usually ends badly
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,804
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#52
you wanna read the thread ? again buddy
already confirmed that its bricked beyond all normal methods of recovery
dead or not you short the wrong set of pins you have a good chance of wreaking it is a last resort and its not something for someone with out a good bit of experience should attempt you can hold power to ground because its A GROUND you put power to one of the serial pins and good bye sally .... usually the reason for the stern tone was to make him STOP because he was playing with forces he didn't understand .... that usually ends badly
ya i read through everything that was posted and he exhausted every means of recovery without taking it to a shop, but of course he possibly could have damaged the card by shorting pins out too.

Most PC shops i know of dont have that capability to reflash a video card. Some have a means of reflashing a PC Bios but thats about it
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#53
you wanna read the thread ? again buddy
already confirmed that its bricked beyond all normal methods of recovery
dead or not you short the wrong set of pins you have a good chance of wreaking it is a last resort and its not something for someone with out a good bit of experience should attempt you can hold power to ground because its A GROUND you put power to one of the serial pins and good bye sally .... usually the reason for the stern tone was to make him STOP because he was playing with forces he didn't understand .... that usually ends badly
He still has not tried blind flashing the card. So apparently he has not exhausted all normal methods of recovery. Maybe yet again you should let people who have tried this and had it succeed before running in screaming wolf.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,804
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#55
I baught a PCI VGA card but unfortunately it was not showing any display
Have you considered that maybe your PCI slots are fried, coz after reading the thread I have noticed that it seems your PCIs don't work by this i men the PCI-E & PCI coz both seem to show black screen.

Have you tried your cards in another computer or motherboard? If not please do so
 

Doomy

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#56
Have you considered that maybe your PCI slots are fried, coz after reading the thread I have noticed that it seems your PCIs don't work by this i men the PCI-E & PCI coz both seem to show black screen.

Have you tried your cards in another computer or motherboard? If not please do so
re read the thread please
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#57
re read the thread please
Mostly curious about the PCI VGA not displaying, some 8MB nonsense. About the 6870 its possible that its dead after shorting pins.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#59
Here is what I did

Installed PCI VGA and when motherboard's bios came up I went in there and selected the option to use PCI VGA for primary display port. Then power down the PC and remove the monitor's cord from motherboard's video port and pluged it into PCI VGA and started the PC but nothing showed up.
What's this then? does not appear to be working
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#60
play nice. no warnings.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#61
put the usb stick to boot up first

then reboot with the 6870 hooked up to the screen and for it to boot with the pci-e wait a few mins so it can load the usb

atiflash -f -p 0 xxx.rom xxx

then enter

wait like about 5mins then press the power button then press it it again see if it boots up with video
He needs to try this if it doesn't work the card is messed up

The command is to force the card to flash the bios that's how I flashed mine with the wrong bios a friend gave me XD

But I was able to blind flash it and its working again

Blind flash your not going to get any picture on the screen but the mb doesn't know that but it still boots on the usb and that's how you blind flash it
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#62
He needs to try this if it doesn't work the card is messed up

The command is to force the card to flash the bios that's how I flashed mine with the wrong bios a friend gave me XD

But I was able to blind flash it and its working again

Blind flash your not going to get any picture on the screen but the mb doesn't know that but it still boots on the usb and that's how you blind flash it
He could be really fancy and write an autoexe.bat to do those exact commands. Unluckily if memory serves me right it waits for user input at the end or you could run a -exit -shutdown command to prove it ran.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#63
Idk anything about that lol

But got mine to work again I new it was bad cuz I switched to the 1 bios and it showed the bios splash screen then ask what was wrong with the bios and he told me it might of been a lighting bios XD

But I also saved the stock and blind flashed it and it worked

But if he hasn't tried this he need to...

Dommy is making it more difficult cuz you can tell the op doesn't know much :ohwell:
 

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#64
Well, all of you are saying that I burnt the GPU by shorting the pins. And I don't know whether shorting the pins have burnt it completely. If shorting the pins burnt it then why its fans are spinning and it is producing heat like normal and PC is booting up with it installed?

I want to know that, if it is burnt by shorting the pins then, would it still produce heat and would its fan still run?? I mean if it shorting pins made it completely dead then it should have stopped showing any sign of life.
 

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#65
If you guys want, I am uploading photo of its pins that I had tempered with.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#66
Well, all of you are saying that I burnt the GPU by shorting the pins. And I don't know whether shorting the pins have burnt it completely. If shorting the pins burnt it then why its fans are spinning and it is producing heat like normal and PC is booting up with it installed?

I want to know that, if it is burnt by shorting the pins then, would it still produce heat and would its fan still run?? I mean if it shorting pins made it completely dead then it should have stopped showing any sign of life.
dude. there are billions of transistors in that card. its not a light bulb. burning one part doesnt mean you burned the fan motor with it.


you can try and re-flash it, or you can bin it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,804
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#67
http://www.bjorn3d.com/2010/05/flashing-your-video-cards-gpu-bios/

http://www.bjorn3d.com/2010/04/boot...-nvidia-gpu-bios-recovering-from-a-bad-flash/

http://www.bjorn3d.com/2010/04/boot...-nvidia-gpu-bios-recovering-from-a-bad-flash/

Auto Execute should help it all.

as long as you designate which slot the dead card is in.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=342247

Heres the Proper guide with all command switches for ATIFLASH
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57750&page=2



http://forum.techinferno.com/general-notebook-discussions/1738-[guide]-amd-vbios-flashing.html

http://forums.anandtech.com/archive/index.php/t-2188641.html

Well, all of you are saying that I burnt the GPU by shorting the pins. And I don't know whether shorting the pins have burnt it completely. If shorting the pins burnt it then why its fans are spinning and it is producing heat like normal and PC is booting up with it installed?

I want to know that, if it is burnt by shorting the pins then, would it still produce heat and would its fan still run?? I mean if it shorting pins made it completely dead then it should have stopped showing any sign of life.
Your GPU/bios can be fried and the fans will still spin because of power going to different power branches of the video card.

Honestly Id try the autoexec.bat method after creating the proper file and the proper directory path with command switches.


ATIFlash commands- there are tons that force/bypass certain checks so you could technically put any effin bios on the card.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,804
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#69

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#70
@eidairaman1

I am gonna try autoexec.bat method now. and report back asap.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#71

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,804
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#72
course before putting ATIFlash on the USB drive you need to extract it from the zip file.

@eidairaman1

I am gonna try autoexec.bat method now. and report back asap.
ok before you do. Follow directions on how to make a bootable USB drive.

after that Put ATIFlash on the USB Drive

Put the uncompressed BIOS File on the drive (Closest one from here to what your video card is, cross reference the files to the cards on the HIS site)


copy command to install bios into autoexec.bat without replacing anything else in the autoexec.bat. include all force switches from this site including proper bios file name (my last post below). Including a restart command

after everything is done save it. remove the USB drive, Restart the machine and set the first boot device to be the USB drive.

ensure your primary video adapter is set for the PCI E card (Remove the effin cable from the IGP to the video card)

shut the machine down and plug the USB drive in,

once it powers up, after awhile it should restart on its own, (normally see the Optical drive lights flash) once it restarts pull the USB drive and hopefully on the dead video card you will finally get your POST/Bios Splash Screen.
 
Last edited:

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#73
ok before you do. Follow directions on how to make a bootable USB drive.

after that Put ATIFlash on the USB Drive

Put the uncompressed BIOS File on the drive (Closest one from here to what your video card is, cross reference the files to the cards on the HIS site)


copy command to install bios into autoexec.bat without replacing anything else in the autoexec.bat. include all force switches from this site including proper bios file name (my last post below). Including a restart command

after everything is done save it. remove the USB drive, Restart the machine and set the first boot device to be the USB drive.

ensure your primary video adapter is set for the PCI E card (Remove the effin cable from the IGP to the video card)

shut the machine down and plug the USB drive in,

once it powers up, after awhile it should restart on its own, (normally see the Optical drive lights flash) once it restarts pull the USB drive and hopefully on the dead video card you will finally get your POST/Bios Splash Screen.

Ok I made a bootable USB with Windows 98 boot files.

Copied Windows 98 boot files into USB except those which were already present in USB (like, COMMAND.COM, IO.SYS and MSDOS.SYS)

Copied atiflash and Barts.rom (My GPU bios) to USB.

The link you have give me http://www.bjorn3d.com/2010/04/boot...ios-recovering-from-a-bad-flash/#.UJdmwVFcD1U. says to make a Autoexec.bat file, but whe I create a Autoexec.bat file using notepad and save it to USB, it says that Autoexec.bat file is alrady present in USB. should I replace that????

Now you say that " copy command to install bios into autoexec.bat without replacing anything else in the autoexec.bat. include all force switches from this site including proper bios file name (my last post below). Including a restart command "

Does it mean that, I should go to USB and right click on autoexec.bat then click EDIT and when a notepad opens up, should I write atiflash -f -p 0 Barts.rom and save it????

or should I use -fa or -fm or -fs or -fp instead alone " f ".

What is the command to restart the PC and should I add it to Autoexec.bat file???


I am really sorry for my ignorance but if it can recover I don't want to do anything myself. I will follow your instructions and would not do a single thing without a confirmation from you guys.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,804
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#74
course before putting ATIFlash on the USB drive you need to extract it from the zip file.

Ok I made a bootable USB with Windows 98 boot files.

Copied Windows 98 boot files into USB except those which were already present in USB (like, COMMAND.COM, IO.SYS and MSDOS.SYS)

Copied atiflash and Barts.rom (My GPU bios) to USB.

The link you have give me http://www.bjorn3d.com/2010/04/boot...ios-recovering-from-a-bad-flash/#.UJdmwVFcD1U. says to make a Autoexec.bat file, but whe I create a Autoexec.bat file using notepad and save it to USB, it says that Autoexec.bat file is alrady present in USB. should I replace that????

Now you say that " copy command to install bios into autoexec.bat without replacing anything else in the autoexec.bat. include all force switches from this site including proper bios file name (my last post below). Including a restart command "

Does it mean that, I should go to USB and right click on autoexec.bat then click EDIT and when a notepad opens up, should I write atiflash -f -p 0 Barts.rom and save it????

or should I use -fa or -fm or -fs or -fp instead alone " f ".

What is the command to restart the PC and should I add it to Autoexec.bat file???


I am really sorry for my ignorance but if it can recover I don't want to do anything myself. I will follow your instructions and would not do a single thing without a confirmation from you guys.
use the existing autoexec.bat, right click on it and edit it using notepad, use all of the -f* (* being the other letters following -f) commands, -f -p 0. honestly id make the rom file the original file name from where you downloaded it from in autoexec.bat



@echo off
cls
@ECHO OFF
x:atiflash -fa -fm -fs -fp -f -p 0 biosname.rom
@ECHO OFF
REBOOT.COM
 
Last edited:

nona

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#75
use the existing autoexec.bat, right click on it and edit it using notepad, use all of the -f* (* being the other letters following -f) commands, -f -p 0. honestly id make the rom file the original file name from where you downloaded it from in autoexec.bat



@echo off
cls
@ECHO OFF
x:atiflash -fa -fm -fs -fp -f -p 0 biosname.rom
@ECHO OFF
REBOOT.COM
One more thing,

this thing .............

@echo off
mscdex /d:Micron /m:10 /l:R
set cddrive=R:
call mouse.bat


................................is already present in autoexec.bat file of USB. and there are four ways to edit and save it:

FIRST Method

@echo off
mscdex /d:Micron /m:10 /l:R
set cddrive=R:
call mouse.bat
C:atiflash -f -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fa -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fm -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fs -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fp -p 0 Barts.rom
@ECHO OFF
REBOOT.COM




SECOND Method


@echo off
mscdex /d:Micron /m:10 /l:R
set cddrive=R:
call mouse.bat
@echo off
cls
@ECHO OFF
C:atiflash -fa -fm -fs -fp -f -p 0 Barts.rom
@ECHO OFF
REBOOT.COM



THIRD method


@echo off
mscdex /d:Micron /m:10 /l:R
set cddrive=R:
call mouse.bat
@echo off
cls
@ECHO OFF
C:atiflash -f -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fa -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fm -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fs -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fp -p 0 Barts.rom
@ECHO OFF
REBOOT.COM


FOURTH Method

@echo off
cls
@ECHO OFF
C:atiflash -f -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fa -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fm -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fs -p 0 Barts.rom
C:atiflash -fp -p 0 Barts.rom
@ECHO OFF
REBOOT.COM

Which one should I use?? Please you write final lines I will copy them to Autoexec.bat file(and will remove the files which were already in Autoexec.bat) and save it.
:banghead: