• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Black Mesa: Source Gameplay

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,369 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,507
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Sorry Solaris I have to shoot you down.

Console can be enabled same as any Source game. Keyboard/Advanced/Enable Dev Console

I won't dig any deeper than that but ALL your favourite tweaks work fine there ;)

Don't think I didn't already mess with them ;)
 
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
I have played through a little bit, just got to the first tram sequence.

So far, I absolutely enjoy this rendition of Half Life 1 using the Source Engine. Both the radioactive liquids and the water make me say wow everytime I see them. They have removed some small things and added some other things in this rendition so as to make it more "fresh" if you will.

I absolutely love the music sequences too. Very Half Life/Valve -esque if you ask me.

Now, I wish that the developers of Guard Duty (Blue Shift Source remake) and Operation Black Mesa (Opposing Force Source remake) would release something, even if it is an unfinished product.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Sorry Solaris I have to shoot you down.

Console can be enabled same as any Source game. Keyboard/Advanced/Enable Dev Console

I won't dig any deeper than that but ALL your favourite tweaks work fine there ;)

Don't think I didn't already mess with them ;)
thats odd. i didnt have a box until i changed the cfg?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,369 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,507
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
thats odd. i didnt have a box until i changed the cfg?
Was right there where I remembered it. Will admit it did take me a minute or so after hitting tilde and the console not coming up to navigate my way back there to enable it :eek: Been a LONG time...
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
@qubit,

Never heard it called save "scumming", maybe spamming? I never feel the need to use quicksave in games that have checkpoints for the most part, and find it more challenging and realistic, but in my early Fraps days I remember being a quicksaveaholic because I was piecing Fraps demo clips together. LOL

@ Solaris,
Welcome back, even if you probably don't know me. I'm relatively new here compared to you.

It's been a LONG time since I played HL, but I also thought Gordon's jump seemed a bit low, esp on those pipes you were talking about, and that pesky crab head keeps biting you. I managed to stack a barrel on them and make it up though. Some items are no clipping that I'm not sure are supposed to though. Like after I got up that spot you need to crouch through a broken door, which I'd forgotten (Doh!). I was trying to hop on a barrel I'd placed in front of it thinking I had to crawl through the bigger upper window of the door when I noticed the barrel was no clipping through the door frame.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
@qubit,

Never heard it called save "scumming", maybe spamming? I never feel the need to use quicksave in games that have checkpoints for the most part, and find it more challenging and realistic, but in my early Fraps days I remember being a quicksaveaholic because I was piecing Fraps demo clips together. LOL

@ Solaris,
Welcome back, even if you probably don't know me. I'm relatively new here compared to you.

It's been a LONG time since I played HL, but I also thought Gordon's jump seemed a bit low, esp on those pipes you were talking about, and that pesky crab head keeps biting you. I managed to stack a barrel on them and make it up though. Some items are no clipping that I'm not sure are supposed to though. Like after I got up that spot you need to crouch through a broken door, which I'd forgotten (Doh!). I was trying to hop on a barrel I'd placed in front of it thinking I had to crawl through the bigger upper window of the door when I noticed the barrel was no clipping through the door frame.
ill work on his jump but atm im working on multi core rendering.

iv found a fix for the "read only" trick because i noticed it causes issues on chapter switches (the game works fine but it "unlocks" the chapter so when you start a new game you can select a starting chapter, the read only mode locks this but saves work fine) but im waiting until i make a few more advancements before submitting the changes ill try to squeeze jumping in.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,369 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,507
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
ill work on his jump but atm im working on multi core rendering.
Grasping here...(So long ago)

mat_queue_mode [-1,0,1,2]

Yes? No?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Grasping here...(So long ago)

mat_queue_mode [-1,0,1,2]

Yes? No?
yes unfortunetely it seems to rely on certain steam dependencies not included in black mesa. as far as I can tell it uses the cvar commands from source 2007 however they are omitting certain ones. The problem is when their ommited completely i dont get an error so im cross checking it with l4d2 which does have multi core rendering for my machine and checking what is required for it to work.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I got 100 health and 100 HEV - no cheating! :rockout:

 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,369 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,507
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Hax!! :p:roll:

I'm keeping a close eye on Solariis and his progress tho. If he can fix the nasty "skip" that is supposed to be a jump he gets lots of Internetz :respect: Oh and sort out the Multi-Core Renderiing would be a bonus too ;)
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
alright chiefs I fixed it. the "jump" issue is just a patch for now i actually need to modify the C gamemovement file but it doesnt seem to be in black mesa. forcing multi core rendering for my specific machine has proved to work yielded a 100fps increase however forcing multi core has always yielded different results for different systems. That said some quick modification I have made are in the file below and here is what needs to be done.

First following my previous guide if you have added any commands like fps_max remove those now.

YOU CAN KEEP THE CHANGES MADE TO con_enable 1

now right click on config.cfg and uncheck "read only" hit apply and ok. now in my quest for answers I came across autoexec.cfg open this in notepad/wordpad and you will notice the line

Code:
//threading.cfg
is commented out and actually does not exist anymore. so I made it and testedit first with fps_max and found that it was not sanitized after a restart close or save. which means it is safe to modify and works for our purpose.

so in autoexec.cfg uncomment the line threading.cfg so it looks like the following

exec config.cfg
exec threading.cfg

NOT

exec config.cfg
//threading.cfg

and simply unzip the file below to your directory (the one were config.cfg is located in /BMS/cfg


if anyone is interested i will make a "tweak" list with various parameters modified to improve look etc. (but will probably come with an FPS hit)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
"they are waiting for you Gordon, in the test chamberrrr"
That made me grin

And all the nice/funny moments in the beginning of the game were all intact and "enhanced" :D

Oh and i poked dat caffeine machine enough times to get the achievement since the security guy said he would cover up for me about the mess lol
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Some items are no clipping that I'm not sure are supposed to though. Like after I got up that spot you need to crouch through a broken door, which I'd forgotten (Doh!). I was trying to hop on a barrel I'd placed in front of it thinking I had to crawl through the bigger upper window of the door when I noticed the barrel was no clipping through the door frame.
Im pretty sure I just fixed this. Ill probably have a more difinitive "eye candy" .cgf if people want it and i will move all the "bugs" to a diffirent one. I might have something out for this specific issue tommarrow. (today?) but grab the one above and lmk how jumping is.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I fixed my jumping "bug". It isn't a bug, I'd forgotten you have to crouch while jumping in this game to pick your feet up. It's just Valve's different way of doing physical things in the game. I can make all jumps easily now. Just me and my bad memory, not a bug. I recall now how this one thing threw lots of players a curve when HL came out.

Enjoy easier jumping by just holding crouch right after you jump. Makes sense really, because no one keeps their body upright when jumping over or onto something. Got to pick those legs up.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,812
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
Jumping is idiotic. You can jump 5cm high and for anything higher you need to crouch jump. be my guest doing that over laser beams in "We've got hostiles" segment of the game... Not to mention million other locations where you crouch jump like freakin idiot. What the hell were they thinking is beyond me really.

And second thing, they ruined the best weapon in the game. MP5. Sound is stupid silenced crap and it always fires in burst mode unless you hold the button down. WHY!? What was wrong with the way how it worked in original game? Single fire on taps and full auto when holding fire button.

Good thing i know where to replace sounds with a proper MP5 sound from some CS:S MP5 weapon, but is till can't figure out the burst fire thing... argh
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,818 (1.01/day)
Likes
262
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) R9 380X 4gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p12 093
yes unfortunetely it seems to rely on certain steam dependencies not included in black mesa. as far as I can tell it uses the cvar commands from source 2007 however they are omitting certain ones. The problem is when their ommited completely i dont get an error so im cross checking it with l4d2 which does have multi core rendering for my machine and checking what is required for it to work.
there is no Multi core rendering in source 2007 build only in 2009 and later
to show fps in game use net_Graph 1 to 3
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
there is no Multi core rendering in source 2007 build only in 2009 and later
to show fps in game use net_Graph 1 to 3
Or show fps..and 2007 supported multicore rendering it just did not get the work done to it like 2009 it's more unstable.


I fixed my jumping "bug". It isn't a bug, I'd forgotten you have to crouch while jumping in this game to pick your feet up. It's just Valve's different way of doing physical things in the game. I can make all jumps easily now. Just me and my bad memory, not a bug. I recall now how this one thing threw lots of players a curve when HL came out.

Enjoy easier jumping by just holding crouch right after you jump. Makes sense really, because no one keeps their body upright when jumping over or onto something. Got to pick those legs up.
Ya I realized that today to I was reading about the original HL1 and they mentioned something about crouch jumping and I was like um....wait a sec I'm starting to believe they are doing it on purpose.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,625 (0.35/day)
Likes
552
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X Base Clock @4.000.000.000 Hz
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (BIOS 1701)
Cooling Hydro H110i V2 High Performance
Memory 2x8 GB Dominator CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 500 GB w. EKWB EK-M.2 NVMe nickel heatsink / UV400 480 GB / Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / JDS Labs O2 AMP / K550 headphones
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse KANA
Keyboard K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64 / KIS 2018
Benchmark Scores 2141 lightyears per hour.......
When using this "fix" my game crashes every time i try to use the flashlight.....odd...

alright chiefs I fixed it. the "jump" issue is just a patch for now i actually need to modify the C gamemovement file but it doesnt seem to be in black mesa. forcing multi core rendering for my specific machine has proved to work yielded a 100fps increase however forcing multi core has always yielded different results for different systems. That said some quick modification I have made are in the file below and here is what needs to be done.

First following my previous guide if you have added any commands like fps_max remove those now.

YOU CAN KEEP THE CHANGES MADE TO con_enable 1

now right click on config.cfg and uncheck "read only" hit apply and ok. now in my quest for answers I came across autoexec.cfg open this in notepad/wordpad and you will notice the line

Code:
//threading.cfg
is commented out and actually does not exist anymore. so I made it and testedit first with fps_max and found that it was not sanitized after a restart close or save. which means it is safe to modify and works for our purpose.

so in autoexec.cfg uncomment the line threading.cfg so it looks like the following

exec config.cfg
exec threading.cfg

NOT

exec config.cfg
//threading.cfg

and simply unzip the file below to your directory (the one were config.cfg is located in /BMS/cfg


if anyone is interested i will make a "tweak" list with various parameters modified to improve look etc. (but will probably come with an FPS hit)
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
I appreciate your tweaks and you are the type to do it "just because" but seems most won't really *need* multicore rendering or any perf improvements anyway seeing as how I have it maxed incl. 8X AA and still had to turn on vsync due to too much tearing.

Now about any eye candy improvements... :)
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
this is the patch with some added stuff ill have another revision but I just wanted to make sure no ones games were crashing. run it inside the /cfg/ dir were the others are located. overwrite the fioles when prompted ALL of them (this will be the same for further patches)

also its a virus.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,625 (0.35/day)
Likes
552
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X Base Clock @4.000.000.000 Hz
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (BIOS 1701)
Cooling Hydro H110i V2 High Performance
Memory 2x8 GB Dominator CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 500 GB w. EKWB EK-M.2 NVMe nickel heatsink / UV400 480 GB / Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / JDS Labs O2 AMP / K550 headphones
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse KANA
Keyboard K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64 / KIS 2018
Benchmark Scores 2141 lightyears per hour.......
this is the patch with some added stuff ill have another revision but I just wanted to make sure no ones games were crashing. run it inside the /cfg/ dir were the others are located.

also its a virus.
Solaris17.cfg........:roll: