• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Far Cry 3 - Island Survival Guide

Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
Fuck it drop it for FC3 and enjoy. This game is cool as hell. Hey Seattle open up a FC3 clubhouse. It will do a hellva lot better then my sad try on MOH Warfighter.
Yep, it's a great game. Highly recommended. Got a great deal at greenmangaming for preorder and was able to play on day one. It was one of the few games launched first in Europe before the US.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
Yep, it's a great game. Highly recommended. Got a great deal at greenmangaming for preorder and was able to play on day one. It was one of the few games launched first in Europe before the US.
I got an amazing deal! Free! Got to love Santa :D
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,158 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,704
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Question. Anyone else getting one single texture problem in the sp that appears to the left of the dock where you pick up the bow for the Man Eating Shark PotH quest? It almost looks like a big mountain shape and burred and greyed. It's just down the left of the dock where the beach bends.

I've seen it from the water while the sky was dark grey and the weather rainy when heading that direction, and in broad daylight while heading to the dock to do that quest. Last time I saw it though, when I headed toward it, it disappeared as I approached it, and I haven't seen it since.

I'm reluctant to think it's an artifact because I have no OCs running on GPU or CPU currently and this is the only spot in the game I've seen such a thing, nor has any other game had any such problems. I have to wonder if it's a corrupt texture in the game files from a bad install or download.

I'm doubting whether the game would even fully install if any of the download files were corrupt though. I'm leaving re-downloading as a last resort, because the Ubi download manager doesn't like to allow you to change install paths, and I have limited space on the C: partition of my SSD.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
Question. Anyone else getting one single texture problem in the sp that appears to the left of the dock where you pick up the bow for the Man Eating Shark PotH quest? It almost looks like a big mountain shape and burred and greyed. It's just down the left of the dock where the beach bends.

I've seen it from the water while the sky was dark grey and the weather rainy when heading that direction, and in broad daylight while heading to the dock to do that quest. Last time I saw it though, when I headed toward it, it disappeared as I approached it, and I haven't seen it since.

I'm reluctant to think it's an artifact because I have no OCs running on GPU or CPU currently and this is the only spot in the game I've seen such a thing, nor has any other game had any such problems. I have to wonder if it's a corrupt texture in the game files from a bad install or download.

I'm doubting whether the game would even fully install if any of the download files were corrupt though. I'm leaving re-downloading as a last resort, because the Ubi download manager doesn't like to allow you to change install paths, and I have limited space on the C: partition of my SSD.
I've had some crazy stuff go on with my game. There was one part of a dirt road in front of an outpost on the south island that warped as you moved around it. I regularly have full screen checkerboard flickers in some areas like Akamani Town and I even had to dial down my XFX 7950's OC to 1025MHz/1.000v core from 1050/1.037v as my card was constantly hitting PowerTune limits and this game makes it run at 90c with the side panel open and a fan blowing on the card. Would like to repaste my card but XFX isn't too keen on people removing the cooler thanks to warranty stickers on the screws.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,158 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,704
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I've had some crazy stuff go on with my game. There was one part of a dirt road in front of an outpost on the south island that warped as you moved around it. I regularly have full screen checkerboard flickers in some areas like Akamani Town and I even had to dial down my XFX 7950's OC to 1025MHz/1.000v core from 1050/1.037v as my card was constantly hitting PowerTune limits and this game makes it run at 90c with the side panel open and a fan blowing on the card. Would like to repaste my card but XFX isn't too keen on people removing the cooler thanks to warranty stickers on the screws.
Frankly, that sounds more like OC stability and/or driver problems than anything to do with specific game textures, esp the checkerboard bit.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
Yeah, could be my card is running too hot and baking the memory chips, or even Windows 8 is a problem, but I'm at a loss for now. I get decent FPS but this card is almost always at 100% GPU usage in the game which makes it super loud.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
Theres a lot of wierd ways things draw in. Some things will like be glittery when they draw in, and if you look away at a certain angle and look back, itll re-draw in the same wierd glitteryness.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,158 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,704
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
So no one's seen this big mountain-like blurry grey anomaly on the curved part of the beach near the Man-eating Shark quest?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,257 (1.11/day)
Likes
315
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
So no one's seen this big mountain-like blurry grey anomaly on the curved part of the beach near the Man-eating Shark quest?
Don't recall seeing that, and I've done all the story quests.

Anyhow, I think I fixed the problem with random split-second checkerboarding screen (except in the specific places where it always happens but differently than the checkerboarding I'm describing). I discovered that voltage adjustments in Afterburner don't work unless you force constant voltage, so I did that, raised the card to 1050/1400 @ 1.062v, and it seems the artifacts not related to that game (and the occasional desktop flicker I experienced) are gone! I'll try other games but I'm really optimistic about this. And no, my card wasn't unstable at the stock VID as reducing the OC on both the RAM and chip by 50MHz had no effect, and anytime the core voltage is too low, FC3 crashes within minutes.

MxPhenom, I noticed that too. It's weird how things render in as blocks of pixels and sometimes it screws up on things right in front of you. I noticed the game uses only about 800MB of VRAM on 1080p Ultra settings.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.81/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
Just started a new game and when I get to the part where I'm kicked into the water with a cinder block I can't escape my bonds. Space bar is working, but no escape and I have tried a dozen times. :wtf:
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,158 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,704
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
@ricks,
Are you mashing the Spacebar quickly? It's always worked for me, though that is one QTE that takes a little while to get through.

The only glitch I've had there is I got waterfall spray following me everywhere after emerging from the water on my 2nd run through. It may have been due to using the cave's sunlit hole at it's top to orient me to the surface, which is something I didn't have to do the 1st run. Reloading the checkpoint solved the problem though.

This game certainly has it bugs.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,821 (3.63/day)
Likes
8,959
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
Thought I'd upload a few Nice pics of the island, Taken W/ afterburner on My "old" HD6950 , 1Gb. and it handles it pretty good.












 
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
276 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Texas
System Name Alienware Aurora
Processor i970 @3.8
Motherboard Alienware x58
Cooling Alienware liquid
Memory 12 gigs Corsair XMS tri-channel
Video Card(s) Visiontek 7950 3 gig
Storage Barrucuda 500 gig sata II x 2
Display(s) Dell U2312HM
Case Aurora
Audio Device(s) Realtec 7.1
Power Supply 875 watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Anyone else not able to connect to the farcry3 servers there forums say they have been down for a couple of weeks got the game xmas and have not been able to play co-op or multiplayer yet.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.81/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
@ricks,
Are you mashing the Spacebar quickly? It's always worked for me, though that is one QTE that takes a little while to get through.

The only glitch I've had there is I got waterfall spray following me everywhere after emerging from the water on my 2nd run through. It may have been due to using the cave's sunlit hole at it's top to orient me to the surface, which is something I didn't have to do the 1st run. Reloading the checkpoint solved the problem though.

This game certainly has it bugs.
Yeah, I finally managed to slip the bonds. This is also my second time thru and I experienced that waterfall spray as you did too...I had to end the attempt and go again to get rid of it. There are some bugs for sure, but overall I've had a blast with the game. :toast:

Anyone else here have thier names on rocks yet? I think I have about four so far. Also, I can't figure out how to zoom a scope with my set-up...I use a trackball and have no scroll feature on it.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,158 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,704
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I can't figure out how to zoom a scope with my set-up...I use a trackball and have no scroll feature on it.
That's going to be tough. I looked for a file that has control bindings to edit, but didn't find one. The game's menu has no provision to rebind mouse wheel zoom either. I even tried setting my keyboard to scroll lock to see if the up/down keys would work, but no go.

Does your keyboard have a scroll wheel by any chance?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.81/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
That's going to be tough. I looked for a file that has control bindings to edit, but didn't find one. The game's menu has no provision to rebind mouse wheel zoom either. I even tried setting my keyboard to scroll lock to see if the up/down keys would work, but no go.

Does your keyboard have a scroll wheel by any chance?
My keyboard is a Saitek Cyborg...no scroll wheel. This is the first game I've encountered this problem. Wonder why they would do something so silly.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,158 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,704
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Zoom being bound to the scroll wheel is quite common, and it's not always re-mappable. Most gamers have a scroll wheel to use.

That said, for as good as the graphics are, the game could have better control support. I suggest emailing Ubi and see if they can offer a workaround.

They did after all add in FOV adjust and other features before release. There's a chance they might patch in an option to rebind zoom for those with no scroll wheel too. It's a slim one, since few don't have scroll, but it's worth a shot.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.81/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
Zoom being bound to the scroll wheel is quite common, and it's not always re-mappable. Most gamers have a scroll wheel to use.

That said, for as good as the graphics are, the game could have better control support. I suggest emailing Ubi and see if they can offer a workaround.

They did after all add in FOV adjust and other features before release. There's a chance they might patch in an option to rebind zoom for those with no scroll wheel too. It's a slim one, since few don't have scroll, but it's worth a shot.

Every other game I have ever played I have been able to edit to zoom thru the keyboard...this is the first one without an option.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,158 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,704
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Every other game I have ever played I have been able to edit to zoom thru the keyboard...this is the first one without an option.
I didn't say it's always re-mappable, I said scroll zoom is common. Again, you're better off making that argument to Ubi, just in the chance they might offer to patch it in.

If not, there's a Pixxo mouse on Newegg for only $5.50 with a 4 egg average rating out of 69 reviews with free shipping. You might be able to plug that in simultaneously with the trackball just to use the scroll. I wouldn't advise installing any mouse software though. Just use the windows driver.

Or, if you've by chance been looking to replace your KB, there are some that have scroll wheel, though they may not be as rugged or gaming oriented as your Saitek. There's also trackballs with scroll.

Given your frustration, the cheap mouse seems the best route though.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.81/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
I probably won't do anything just for this game...I've still been able to hit everything I aim at regardless. It's just an aggravation. :ohwell:
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,158 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,704
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I probably won't do anything just for this game...I've still been able to hit everything I aim at regardless. It's just an aggravation. :ohwell:
And it's really only a problem with the first two sniper rifles if you don't have the suppressor for them. Once you get the Z93 at the first mission where you deal with Privateers, sniping is an easy one shot kill.