• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

G.SKILL Releases Optimized DDR4-3800 CL14 Memory Kit for AMD Ryzen 3000 & X570 Platform

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
38,803 (8.41/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
G.SKILL International Enterprise Co., Ltd., the world's leading manufacturer of extreme performance memory and gaming peripherals, is releasing a highly optimized, extremely low latency Trident Z Neo series DDR4-3800MHz CL14 RGB memory kit in 16 GB (8 GB x2) and 32 GB (8 GB x4) capacities for the AMD Ryzen 3000 series CPU and X570 chipset platform. Built with the powerful Samsung B-die component, this is the perfect DDR4 memory kit for those looking to push the limits of memory bandwidth on your new AMD Ryzen 3000 platform.

At this point, it's well-known that memory performance with the new AMD Ryzen 3000 processor series is best when Infinity Fabric being tied to the memory clock at a 1:1 ratio. The G.SKILL R&D team is dedicated to push the performance boundaries even further and developed a high-frequency, low-latency memory kit at DDR4-3800 CL14-16-16-36 in capacity configurations of 8GBx2 and 8GBx4, reaching a superb memory bandwidth performance under the optimal 1:1 ratio.



As seen in the screenshot above, this Trident Z Neo memory kit is running at DDR4-3800 CL14-16-16-36 in 8GBx2 capacity with the AMD Ryzen 9 3900X processor and the MSI MEG X570 GODLIKE motherboard, reaching a tested memory bandwidth of 58 GB/s, 56 GB/s, and 58 GB/s for read, write, and copy, respectively.

Complete Stability & Reliability
Like any G.SKILL memory kit, the specifications must remain fully stable under a memory stress test, as shown in the screenshots below, showing the 32 GB (8 GB x4) memory kit operating on an ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VIII Formula motherboard with the AMD Ryzen 5 3600X processor and the 16 GB (8 GB x2) memory kit running on the MSI MEG X570 GODLIKE motherboard with the AMD Ryzen 9 3900X processor.

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
486 (0.55/day)
System Name Silent
Processor i7 8700k delidded and OC'd to 5.2 daily 5.3 benchmarking/R9 3900x
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4/MSI MEG ACE x570
Cooling Noctua D15/Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 14CAS/32GB Team Dark Pro 3200/14
Video Card(s) 1080ti w/morpheus cooler w/Noctua 140mm fans/Quadro RTX 4000
Storage Optane 905p 480GB, 2 x 1TB 970 Pro Raid 0/Optane 905p 480GB
Display(s) 240hz 1080p/4x1440p 60hz
Case Coolermaster Cosmos C700M
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 600w Fanless
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 1725
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
570 (1.00/day)
Did they mention how many kidneys it will cost ?

I barely noticed a tiny 1-2% difference between 3000 CL16 and 3600 CL16... what is this one going to bring, another 1% ?
Totally not worth it.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2019
Messages
74 (0.18/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus X570 TUF Gaming Plus
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory G.Skill 2x8GB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RTX 2070
Storage Samsung 850 SSD 500GB
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU
Case NZXT S340 Elite
I the screenshot there is the voltage for 3800mhz defined at 1.5v. I have a G.Skill 3600mhz CL16 kit, which runs at 1.35v. There is a high probability to hit the same speed and timing when I go to 1.5v
So what is the golden rule for Ryzen 3000, will every chip do 1900mhz on Fclock?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
570 (1.00/day)
I the screenshot there is the voltage for 3800mhz defined at 1.5v. I have a G.Skill 3600mhz CL16 kit, which runs at 1.35v. There is a high probability to hit the same speed and timing when I go to 1.5v
So what is the golden rule for Ryzen 3000, will every chip do 1900mhz on Fclock?
Probably with more voltage on the VDDCR SOC ( higher than 1.1 which is default), it will.
But at stock voltage, it most likely crashes after 1800, or fails to boot completely.

I wouldn't do it though, that's a 14nm die that contains the IF and Memory controllers, it might not like the extra voltage.
 

TheWonder500

New Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2019
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
I the screenshot there is the voltage for 3800mhz defined at 1.5v. I have a G.Skill 3600mhz CL16 kit, which runs at 1.35v. There is a high probability to hit the same speed and timing when I go to 1.5v
So what is the golden rule for Ryzen 3000, will every chip do 1900mhz on Fclock?
You have a high probability of being unstable even if you post, just FYI. I've done a lot of testing recently.

1.5V should be fine but if your temperatures get up to mid 50C, that can causes stability issues too.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,539 (4.12/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
At this point, it's well-known that memory performance with the new AMD Ryzen 3000 processor series is best when Infinity Fabric being tied to the memory clock at a 1:1 ratio
Isn't it also well-known that you get best results when using just two sticks of RAM?
 

mainlate

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
Specialized software, specialized hardware, 'validated for Ryzen' all kind of special hardware for AMD´s platform released...it´s AMD´s job to make their hardware compatible with everything that exists currently and have
same compatibility than Intel...not other way around.

Wondering how is the expansion card compatibility on X570 motherboards. I don´t mean graphics cards, they work, but for ex. SATA controller cards, especially those using Asmedia´s controller chip.

I have Crosshair VI hero and if this card:


is installed in any slot and some HDD connected to it, I can´t boot to windows because of 'Kernel security error' BSOD - two year old problem, multiple BIOS updates, Windows 10 OS versions and same problem persists. On my Intel systems, card works fine.

All tech review sites whenever they test motherboards, they only propably test graphics cards on them. If they work, five star score given for PCIe card compatibility.
 
Last edited:

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,539 (4.12/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Specialized software, specialized hardware, 'validated for Ryzen' all kind of special hardware for AMD´s platform released...it´s AMD´s job to make their hardware compatible with everything that exists currently and have
same compatability than Intel...not other way around.
Don't worry about it, these things are compatible enough. It's just that Zen was a little finicky at first (i.e. Zen, afaik the memory controller in Zen+ was already improved) and now everybody uses this as a means to earn a few more $$$.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2019
Messages
74 (0.18/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus X570 TUF Gaming Plus
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory G.Skill 2x8GB 3600CL16
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RTX 2070
Storage Samsung 850 SSD 500GB
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU
Case NZXT S340 Elite
Specialized software, specialized hardware, 'validated for Ryzen' all kind of special hardware for AMD´s platform released...it´s AMD´s job to make their hardware compatible with everything that exists currently and have
same compatability than Intel...not other way around.

Wondering how is the expansion card compatability on X570 motherboards. I don´t mean graphics cards, they work, but for ex. SATA controller cards, especially those using Asmedia´s controller chip.

I have Crosshair VI hero and if this card:


is installed in any slot and some HDD connected to it, I can´t boot to windows because of 'Kernel security error' BSOD - two year old problem, multiple BIOS updates, Windows 10 OS versions and same problem persists. On my Intel systems, card works fine.

All tech review sites whenever they test motherboards, they only propably test graphics cards on them. If they work, five star score given for PCIe card compatability.
How is this related to DRAM ? Is the PCIe Sata Card certified/compatible for/with ryzen? Crosshair VI hero has 8 SATA ports, you have 9 disk, and also the OS is on the SSD connected to the PCIe card, why?
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
325 (0.12/day)
System Name Potato PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450M Mortar MAX
Cooling All stocks
Memory 16GB Team Delta RGB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Mech OC + AMD Radeon Pro W5100
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 500GB + 10TB Toshiba
Display(s) Viewsonic XG3240C
Case Cougar MG120-G
Audio Device(s) crappy onboard to heavily modded Logitech z5500
Power Supply Seasonic X650 Gold
Mouse Logitech G304
Keyboard Logitech G613
Benchmark Scores Who need bench when everything already fast?
I have Crosshair VI hero and if this card:
is installed in any slot and some HDD connected to it, I can´t boot to windows because of 'Kernel security error' BSOD - two year old problem, multiple BIOS updates, Windows 10 OS versions and same problem persists. On my Intel systems, card works fine.
All tech review sites whenever they test motherboards, they only propably test graphics cards on them. If they work, five star score given for PCIe card compatibility.
How does this even DRAM related?
You have any M.2 populated? If so,try removing all of them. Asus are the one to blame here,not the "CPU maker" :rolleyes:

-= edited=-
hzy4 caught it first :shadedshu:
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
5,850 (1.03/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
I thought the 1:1 ratio was only preseved until 3600?
Depends on the CPU, the UEFI and what the board makers have done.
3800 is possible, but it's a rare combination of things that needs to come together for it to work well and be stable.

Testing below by HiCookie

128176
 
Last edited:

mainlate

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
How does this even DRAM related?
You have any M.2 populated? If so,try removing all of them. Asus are the one to blame here,not the "CPU maker" :rolleyes:

-= edited=-
hzy4 caught it first :shadedshu:
Not related to DRAM in any way...that X570 Meg Ace review thread would have been better place probably... 'Is the PCIe Sata Card certified for Ryzen' - probably not cause it has been in market long before Ryzen was released, but why it should be, still works in all Intel z77,z87,z270,H370 mainboards I have tested. And yes, may be ASUS related or Asmedia´s chipset or something...I only have one Ryzen mobo.

I don´t have M.2 drives - 8 HDDS and 2 SDDs so 10 SATA ports needed.
 

DanteAlighieri

New Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2017
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
But isn't that a pure manual FCLK/UCLK overclock?

I'm also seeing some contradictory information in the posts above.
Yeah, it is .. both need to be set at the same freq so you don't have a latency penalty.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
455 (0.22/day)
Location
Scotland
Processor 1800x
Motherboard ax370 - k5
Cooling full - custom liquid loop
Memory 16gb
Video Card(s) vega 64
Storage nvme evo970 1TB + ssd 750gb
Display(s) S3220DGF
Case h630 - modificated
Power Supply 750W - gold
Software 10 - 64bit
60c under load its okey for rams, get passive cooling and stop cry

sure 1.5v is a bit to high in 2019

1.5V...i bet They run like hot chips. I am betting 60c during gaming / rendering ?
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
325 (0.12/day)
System Name Potato PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450M Mortar MAX
Cooling All stocks
Memory 16GB Team Delta RGB DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Mech OC + AMD Radeon Pro W5100
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 500GB + 10TB Toshiba
Display(s) Viewsonic XG3240C
Case Cougar MG120-G
Audio Device(s) crappy onboard to heavily modded Logitech z5500
Power Supply Seasonic X650 Gold
Mouse Logitech G304
Keyboard Logitech G613
Benchmark Scores Who need bench when everything already fast?
Not related to DRAM in any way...that X570 Meg Ace review thread would have been better place probably... 'Is the PCIe Sata Card certified for Ryzen' - probably not cause it has been in market long before Ryzen was released, but why it should be, still works in all Intel z77,z87,z270,H370 mainboards I have tested. And yes, may be ASUS related or Asmedia´s chipset or something...I only have one Ryzen mobo.

I don´t have M.2 drives - 8 HDDS and 2 SDDs so 10 SATA ports needed.
AFAIK, x370 only support 6 SATA native with additional 2 being M.2 so total 8 storage possibility. CHVI only had 1 slot M.2 in exchange 2 SATA port, but adding 3 PCIe 3.0 x1 from PCH, so in theory if you had all (8) SATA populated you had "nothing" left.Kinda bummer.
I might suggest using docking if your drive not critical though, or if that not your taste you wanna cek ASRock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming .
... or better yet the new x570 :D
 
Top