• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 6950

Status
Not open for further replies.

BZB

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2004
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
I had no issues doing the original bios flash posted here on my 2 Sapphire 6950s. I am able to push them to 920/1400 with no issues in 3DMark Vantage and 3DMark06 (I know, I need to download some newer benchmarks). However, my cards now idle around 60C, while they idled around 42C on the original bios. Did the bios flash increase my core voltage, causing the huge increase in temps? I like the performance bump, but not at the expense of heat / fan noise. Is there an easy way to reduce my voltage on the 6970 bios, or do I need to go back to my earlier bios and then do the shader hack?
The 6970 BIOS does up the core voltage to the GPU. More power running though the less meaty power system of the 6950 is going make it inefficient and produce more heat. I've also heard some people say the 6950 fan is slightly smaller, though I don't know if that's true.

You can try lowering clocks/powertune, or flash with a modded 6950 BIOS. You should still be able to raise clocks/powertune, but you won't get so as far on the lower stock voltage of the 6950 - but it should make less heat and be quieter.
 

bystander

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
52 (0.02/day)
Downloaded 3DMark11 Basic and ran the standard test, got the following results. I have 2 Sapphire 6950s in crossfire, both have the 6970 bios and are running at 920 / 1400. I have no idea if these scores are in line with other crossfire setups since this is my first time to use 3DMark11. Any other free utilities I can use to benchmark my setup?

Still concerned that my cards are around 65 degrees at idle and ramp up to 85 degrees under full load (although that's with the fans never going above 33%, which is the point where it gets too loud to be bearable).

3DMark Score
P8117
Graphics score
9775
Physics Score
5899
Combined Score
4754
GraphicsTest1
44.1 FPS
GraphicsTest2
47.08 FPS
GraphicsTest3
62.58 FPS
GraphicsTest4
29.23 FPS
PhysicsTest
18.73 FPS
CombinedTest
22.11 FPS
Your scores are good. You should have ran them before so you could see the difference.

As far as the idle temps go, are you running two monitors on it? If you do, the card does not idle nearly as low and that temp is about right. If you don't use 2+ monitors, it may be high.
 

Eluder

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Processor Intel i7-2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD6950 @ 880/1375 w/1536 shaders
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 120GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) BenQ G2400W
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Power Supply Seasonic M12D-850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Anyone find that when Sapphire's Trixx is running you can't change the Power Control setting in CCC? It keeps reverting to default before I can click Apply.
 

abirdie4me

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Location
Frisco Texas, USA
System Name MainRig
Processor Q9650 @ 4050MHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 8gb Mushkin DDR2 @ 1080
Video Card(s) 2 X Sapphire 6950 (6970 bios) 920 core / 1400 memory
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 LE / WD velociraptor 300
Display(s) BenQ E2400HD 1920 x 1080 (eyefinity soon!)
Case Silverstone Raven RV02-E (Evolution)
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
The 6970 BIOS does up the core voltage to the GPU. More power running though the less meaty power system of the 6950 is going make it inefficient and produce more heat. I've also heard some people say the 6950 fan is slightly smaller, though I don't know if that's true.

You can try lowering clocks/powertune, or flash with a modded 6950 BIOS. You should still be able to raise clocks/powertune, but you won't get so as far on the lower stock voltage of the 6950 - but it should make less heat and be quieter.
Thanks BZB. I've tried every clock between 800 and 940, and the temperature doesn't change. I found a post on another forum that using dual monitors won't allow the 6950 to drop to 2D mode, so I disabled my second monitor and the temps dropped into the low 50s at idle. Still too hot for non-gaming use, but not quite the furnace I've been feeling.

What overclocks have you guys been getting on the 6950 shader mod as opposed to the 6970 bios replacement? Are temps significantly cooler with the 6950 shader mod?
 

BZB

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2004
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Thanks BZB. I've tried every clock between 800 and 940, and the temperature doesn't change. I found a post on another forum that using dual monitors won't allow the 6950 to drop to 2D mode, so I disabled my second monitor and the temps dropped into the low 50s at idle. Still too hot for non-gaming use, but not quite the furnace I've been feeling.
Yeah, dual monitors doesn't clock down so far. IIRC, it's something to do with flickering caused by clocking up and down on dual setups, so they don't do it. Also they can put unoccupied outputs into power saving mode, with a second monitor plugged in, they have to keep it live the same as the primary.

What overclocks have you guys been getting on the 6950 shader mod as opposed to the 6970 bios replacement? Are temps significantly cooler with the 6950 shader mod?
Should be less as the core voltage is lower on 6950. The memory chips are also not being driven as hard. The memory and VRMs are all on the same heatsink as the GPU, so all that stuff is going to run hotter just from the higher voltage, which will make it innefficient and hotter again. I'd be surprised if you don't get less heat from the modded 6950 BIOS in place of the 6970 BIOS.
 
Last edited:

vvulture

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
48 (0.01/day)
Location
Sydney, Australia
Which version of Smart Doctor to use ??
 

abirdie4me

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Location
Frisco Texas, USA
System Name MainRig
Processor Q9650 @ 4050MHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 8gb Mushkin DDR2 @ 1080
Video Card(s) 2 X Sapphire 6950 (6970 bios) 920 core / 1400 memory
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 LE / WD velociraptor 300
Display(s) BenQ E2400HD 1920 x 1080 (eyefinity soon!)
Case Silverstone Raven RV02-E (Evolution)
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Your scores are good. You should have ran them before so you could see the difference.

As far as the idle temps go, are you running two monitors on it? If you do, the card does not idle nearly as low and that temp is about right. If you don't use 2+ monitors, it may be high.
Thanks bystander, I found out about the dual monitor / 2D issue on another site and disabling my 2nd monitor drops my temps from 57C idle to 43 idle using a new profile I created for non-gaming activities. I hope a new driver will come out that will allow 2D idle when using a second monitor, I'm shocked that a second monitor can cause a 14 degree rise in temps. I can't imagine what temps will be like when I go 3 X 1 eyefinity soon!

I guess I'll search the Internet to find some similar 3DMark11 scores just to make sure I'm not too far out of whack, but all I really care about is performance in games. I'm about to fire up Metro and see if 920/1400 makes a noticeable difference.
 

bystander

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
52 (0.02/day)
Thanks bystander, I found out about the dual monitor / 2D issue on another site and disabling my 2nd monitor drops my temps from 57C idle to 43 idle using a new profile I created for non-gaming activities. I hope a new driver will come out that will allow 2D idle when using a second monitor, I'm shocked that a second monitor can cause a 14 degree rise in temps. I can't imagine what temps will be like when I go 3 X 1 eyefinity soon!

I guess I'll search the Internet to find some similar 3DMark11 scores just to make sure I'm not too far out of whack, but all I really care about is performance in games. I'm about to fire up Metro and see if 920/1400 makes a noticeable difference.
Trust me, don't hope there is a way to drop the idle clocks with 2 monitors.

When the 5000 first came out, their drivers treated two monitors the same way as a single monitor with the lower clocks. It causes unbelievable screen tearing on the 2nd monitor. It's insanely bad.

Later, they made it work at slightly lower clocks than normal (900 for the memory). That worked better, but still it flickered occationally.

Now it works great. I can live with higher temps. I can't live with insane flickering.
 

abirdie4me

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Location
Frisco Texas, USA
System Name MainRig
Processor Q9650 @ 4050MHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 8gb Mushkin DDR2 @ 1080
Video Card(s) 2 X Sapphire 6950 (6970 bios) 920 core / 1400 memory
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 LE / WD velociraptor 300
Display(s) BenQ E2400HD 1920 x 1080 (eyefinity soon!)
Case Silverstone Raven RV02-E (Evolution)
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Trust me, don't hope there is a way to drop the idle clocks with 2 monitors.

When the 5000 first came out, their drivers treated two monitors the same way as a single monitor with the lower clocks. It causes unbelievable screen tearing on the 2nd monitor. It's insanely bad.

Later, they made it work at slightly lower clocks than normal (900 for the memory). That worked better, but still it flickered occationally.

Now it works great. I can live with higher temps. I can't live with insane flickering.
I had a 5870 in this rig before I got the 6850s, I don't remember any visual issues with the second monitor and the temps always hovered in the mid 40s. I guess the additional card really adds a lot more heat. I'm going to stick with it for now, I could see a noticeable improvement in Metro for the few minutes I played it.

Thanks W1zzard, rui0317, and all others who have helped created this awesome mod, I thought I got a good deal on my 6950s and it turns out that I got a GREAT deal on a pair of 6970s!
 

mironicus

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Hi! I can't unlock my Powercolor 6950. Tried your batchfiles and ATIFlash. It does not want to erase the flash. Also the manual unlocking does not help.

I made a screenshot of ATIFlash. I am using a Asus M4A785TD-V EVO. This does have onboard graphics but it is disabled in the bios. Can someone give me a hint?
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
266 (0.07/day)
Location
Grand Prairie Texas
System Name Little Girl
Processor Intel Q9650 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte x48 DQ6
Cooling liquid cooling
Memory 4gb (2x2) OCZ DDR2 PC2-9200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 unlock to Asus 6970 specs
Storage Crucial CT128M225 128gb SSD
Display(s) Acer 27" LCD @ 2048x1152
Case DIY (spit & glue, ducktape, cardboard)
Audio Device(s) On-board HD Audio
Power Supply ABS Tagan 850w
Software Win7 64bit
Hi! I can't unlock my Powercolor 6950. Tried your batchfiles and ATIFlash. It does not want to erase the flash. Also the manual unlocking does not help.

I made a screenshot of ATIFlash. I am using a Asus M4A785TD-V EVO. This does have onboard graphics but it is disabled in the bios. Can someone give me a hint?
When renaming the bios to unlock.bin, you don't have to type .bin because it's already a .bin file. Otherwise you have to type in the CMD unlock.bin.bin. Try that. I had problem at first but it's working after I remove the .bin when renaming.
 

bystander

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
52 (0.02/day)
"File not found" if you just use "unlock". Does not work.
What he means is when you rename the 6970 bios that you want to use to unlock. You do not add the .bin at the end, unless you turn on the folder option to show full filenames (something I do).
 

davetheshrew

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
91 (0.03/day)
@ the Asus 6950 Bios Modded. So, you used W1zzard's script? Shouldn't that only change the conditional jump (CMOVNS)? Why is there a NOP at the header? (XCHG EAX,ESI -> NOP) What is it NOP'ing?
so whats happening man is the voltage working its magic? Anyone tested with a multi meter yet?

i sent a bios to this guy and he wrote this.

http://translate.google.com/translate?js=n&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&layout=2&eotf=1&sl=auto&tl=en&u=http://pctuning.tyden.cz/hardware/graficke-karty/19680-pretaktovani-radeon-hd-6900-bios-powertune-a-spotreba&act=url
 
Last edited:

obsoletepower

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz (one day I will OC)
Motherboard GIGABYTE EP45-UD3P rev. 1.6
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS7500-ALCU Air Cooler
Memory 2x4GB OCZ PC2-6400 + 2x4GB Corsair PC2-6400 (same timings)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6950 2GB
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue 7200 RPM
Display(s) 23" Dell SP2309W LCD + Soundbar
Case Antec Performance P180
Audio Device(s) Build-in HD sound
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 650W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
I have an update regarding my Sapphire 6950 modding. So I used the utility posted by W1zzard and I can confirm that it all works properly. I am using the maximum gpu and memory clocks that overdrive will allow and so far no artifacts or crashes. Thank you rui0317 and W1zzard!
 

niemion

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
85 (0.03/day)
Processor i7 2600K @ 100x50 [5GHz] at 1.485v
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 (Bios ver. 1.30)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 in push/pull with stock fan 1300 RPM & Noctua NF-S12B FLX 1200 RPM
Memory Mushkin Redline 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-17000 9-11-10-28 Blackline
Video Card(s) GTX 570
Storage Vertex 3 120GB Max IOPS
Display(s) HP 2475W
Case Currently on table - Coolermaster ATCS 840 (sound dampened)
Audio Device(s) Meier Audio Dac
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 64 bit

ALBPM

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
System Name Mine
Processor i7 x980 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Scythe MUGEN-2 SCMG-2000 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler
Memory 12 Gb G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire 695
Storage Intel 160 GB SSD, WDC 640 GB
Display(s) DEL 2709W
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire
Software Win7 Ultimate SP1

niemion

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
85 (0.03/day)
Processor i7 2600K @ 100x50 [5GHz] at 1.485v
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 (Bios ver. 1.30)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 in push/pull with stock fan 1300 RPM & Noctua NF-S12B FLX 1200 RPM
Memory Mushkin Redline 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-17000 9-11-10-28 Blackline
Video Card(s) GTX 570
Storage Vertex 3 120GB Max IOPS
Display(s) HP 2475W
Case Currently on table - Coolermaster ATCS 840 (sound dampened)
Audio Device(s) Meier Audio Dac
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 64 bit
I just flashed both my Sapphire 6950's using W1zzard's batch files but I substituted the 6970 .bin (unlock) file with rui0317's unlocked Sapphire 6950.bin file. (Sapphire.HD6970.2048.101124 - renamed to unlock)


rui0317's Sapphire unlocked 6950 file:
http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=39827&d=1293648822


W1zzard's Batch files:
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1920/HD_6950_to_HD_6970_Flashing_Tools.html
Cool. Unlike the Asus 6950 BIOS, the Sapphire doesn't allow you to up voltage does it?
 

ALBPM

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
System Name Mine
Processor i7 x980 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Scythe MUGEN-2 SCMG-2000 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler
Memory 12 Gb G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire 695
Storage Intel 160 GB SSD, WDC 640 GB
Display(s) DEL 2709W
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire
Software Win7 Ultimate SP1
No it doesn't :(
 

acousticdank

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
I have no idea if this is good... 840/1325 +20%
unigine attached
Anyone have any thoughts?


Before 840/1325 +20%
3DMark Score P3755
Graphics score 4368
Physics Score 2696
Combined Score 2567
GraphicsTest1 19.26 FPS
GraphicsTest2 22.07 FPS
GraphicsTest3 27.31 FPS
GraphicsTest4 13.03 FPS
PhysicsTest 8.56 FPS
CombinedTest 11.94 FPS

After 840/1325 +20%
3DMark Score P4019
Graphics score 4876
Physics Score 2691
Combined Score 2547
GraphicsTest1 20.77 FPS
GraphicsTest2 25.02 FPS
GraphicsTest3 30.54 FPS
GraphicsTest4 14.75 FPS
PhysicsTest 8.54 FPS
CombinedTest 11.85 FPS

After 885/1385 +20%
3DMark Score P4121
Graphics score 5098
Physics Score 2672
Combined Score 2539
GraphicsTest1 21.72 FPS
GraphicsTest2 26.23 FPS
GraphicsTest3 31.86 FPS
GraphicsTest4 15.41 FPS
PhysicsTest 8.48 FPS
CombinedTest 11.81 FPS
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top