• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
WINDOWS XP x32

http://xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20WinXP%20x32%20alpha.zip

WINDOWS XP x64

http://xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20WinXP%20x64%20alpha.zip

WINDOWS VISTA x32

http://xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20WinVista%20x32%20alpha.zip

WINDOWS VISTA x64

http://www.xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20WinVista%20x64%20alpha.zip

WINDOWS 7 x32

http://xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20Win7%20x32%20alpha.zip

WINDOWS 7 x64

http://www.xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20Win7%20x64%20alpha.zip


To install patch run InstallSli.cmd
To uninstall patch run UninstallSli.cmd


RECOMENDATION ABOUT USING SliStringInstaller:
AFTER INSERTION THE STRING REBOOT YOUR SYSTEM TWO TIMES.


HAPPY NEW YEAR FRIENDS!!!
Nice going guys! :toast:
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
77 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Caracas/Venezuela.
System Name Main Rig.
Processor Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 Stepping OC 4005MHz
Motherboard MSI 975X Platinum PowerUp Edition.
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU Cooler, Cooler Master 80mm Case Fan, Cooler Master 120mm Case Fan x 3.
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX PC2-6400 4-4-4-12 4 DIMM 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI N260GTX T2D896 OCV2 216SP OC (666/1440/1107) MHz
Storage (WD3200AAJS 320GB, ST3120827AS 120GB) 7200 RPM SATAII
Display(s) LG E2360V 23" 1920 x 1080 16:9
Case Cooler Master Ceturion 5 RC534+.
Audio Device(s) None.
Power Supply Cooler Master Extreme Power 600 Watt.
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit.
Benchmark Scores Have never ran a benchmark... yet.
Does this works with the GT200 based cards? I've only read about people trying it with GeForce Series 9.
 

Frostee

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Virginia, USA
WINDOWS XP x32

http://xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20WinXP%20x32%20alpha.zip

WINDOWS XP x64

http://xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20WinXP%20x64%20alpha.zip

WINDOWS VISTA x32

http://xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20WinVista%20x32%20alpha.zip

WINDOWS VISTA x64

http://www.xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20WinVista%20x64%20alpha.zip

WINDOWS 7 x32

http://xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20Win7%20x32%20alpha.zip

WINDOWS 7 x64

http://www.xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch%200.2%20Win7%20x64%20alpha.zip


To install patch run InstallSli.cmd
To uninstall patch run UninstallSli.cmd


RECOMENDATION ABOUT USING SliStringInstaller:
AFTER INSERTION THE STRING REBOOT YOUR SYSTEM TWO TIMES.


HAPPY NEW YEAR FRIENDS!!!
I ran awdrifter's method once more, installed this patch, and SLI was recognized, and I was able to enable it without crashing! SLI is currently enabled...I'll get a bridge and run some benches.:toast:
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
Update HOW-TO document. If any errors, report please.

Happy new year to everybody.


 
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Processor Q6600
Motherboard Black Ops
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion v2, MCW30 + Swiftech MCR Drive 360
Memory 8 G Mushkin D9GTR/S
Video Card(s) 5870
Storage Intel X-25 + Raptors
Display(s) HP LP2475
Case CM Stacker TC101
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply PCP&C 910 Silencer
Software Win 7 64 bit Pro
Does this works with the GT200 based cards? I've only read about people trying it with GeForce Series 9.
You betcha. I'm running 2xGTX 260's on a Black Ops. It's pretty good stuff!
 

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
Win7 x64 Ult - Legal Copy

MSI 790FX-GD70
Phenom II X4 965 (on liquid)
8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
2x EVGA GeForce GTX260 (192core edition)

Installed 195.xx drivers and ran the 'install.cmd' patch for Win7 x64 and rebooted. No go, am I missing a step? (Can't find the how-to mentioned above.)
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
77 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Caracas/Venezuela.
System Name Main Rig.
Processor Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 Stepping OC 4005MHz
Motherboard MSI 975X Platinum PowerUp Edition.
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU Cooler, Cooler Master 80mm Case Fan, Cooler Master 120mm Case Fan x 3.
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX PC2-6400 4-4-4-12 4 DIMM 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI N260GTX T2D896 OCV2 216SP OC (666/1440/1107) MHz
Storage (WD3200AAJS 320GB, ST3120827AS 120GB) 7200 RPM SATAII
Display(s) LG E2360V 23" 1920 x 1080 16:9
Case Cooler Master Ceturion 5 RC534+.
Audio Device(s) None.
Power Supply Cooler Master Extreme Power 600 Watt.
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit.
Benchmark Scores Have never ran a benchmark... yet.
Wooow!!! If it does works on GT200 architecture I'll begin scratching to find a N260GTX-T2D896-OCV2 to match the one I already have and let's start some SLI fun XD.
 

Sailindawg

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Processor Q6600
Motherboard Black Ops
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion v2, MCW30 + Swiftech MCR Drive 360
Memory 8 G Mushkin D9GTR/S
Video Card(s) 5870
Storage Intel X-25 + Raptors
Display(s) HP LP2475
Case CM Stacker TC101
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply PCP&C 910 Silencer
Software Win 7 64 bit Pro
Win7 x64 Ult - Legal Copy

MSI 790FX-GD70
Phenom II X4 965 (on liquid)
8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
2x EVGA GeForce GTX260 (192core edition)

Installed 195.xx drivers and ran the 'install.cmd' patch for Win7 x64 and rebooted. No go, am I missing a step? (Can't find the how-to mentioned above.)
Reinstall the 191.07's and get SLI back. Run the install.cmd with admin privileges and reboot 2X. Then reinstall 195.xx. That's how it worked for me. Also, did you use string installer 2.0 before patch?
 

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
Reinstall the 191.07's and get SLI back. Run the install.cmd with admin privileges and reboot 2X. Then reinstall 195.xx. That's how it worked for me. Also, did you use string installer 2.0 before patch?
I'll give that a go, and I have the string installed. Had SLI working with the old patch for 191.xx drivers, just wanted to update was all.

I'll run driver sweeper to clear everything out and do as you mentioned above. Will post back.

EDIT:
Would seem I managed to break the install or something as even with 190.62, I can't get SLI working again.
(Following the steps I've used dozens of times to force SLI, mind you.)
 
Last edited:

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Already have the SLi String installed from previous mod

Installed the SLi Patch for WinXP and it doesn't work :(

SLi isn't available in control panel :(
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
Does everest report SLI certificate ok?
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Does everest report SLI certificate ok?
Where does it say that?



Despite this, and in GPU-Z it also reports SLi is supported but Disabled

There is nothing in nVIDIA control panel about SLi, but I really wanna fix this cos the updated drivers have helped my stability a whole bunch
 
Last edited:

dbphelps

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Since the original HAL mod is now replaced, I noticed you guys do not have any sort of uninstall for the HAL mod.

I regen'd the script and all and plan to just undo it manually. I figure if I can go back to pre-original HAL mod it would be a better starting place for the new hack.

I assume the SLI certificate is still required as well?
 

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
Do we still need the modded driver for the new patch in Win7 x64? (nvlddmkm.sys / forced signing, etc)
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
dbphelps

Yes, SLI sertificate string in DSDT table is essential as previously.

MikeTyson

Read article one more time. You should look ACPI/DSDT section for SLIC.
 

MarkWebber

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Can confirm working with:
Gigabyte EP45-Extreme
2x 8800GTX
Current drivers from Nvidia site.

Thnaks for the excellent work guys :toast:
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
MikeTyson

Read article one more time. You should look ACPI/DSDT section for SLIC.


Is that correct?

I've tried installing SLi Patch and SLi String Installer 2.0 and it still doesn't work?

But every time I install SLi Patch I get a new Operating System when I boot up called Windows XP Professional SLi Enabled x32, and each time I install the patch I get the same again but with an extra 'SLi Enabled x32' at the end, so now I have like 3...

And when I use uninstall, it doesn't work. Cos they're still there :/
 
Last edited:

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
Can we get a step-by-step on the new patch, including when (before or after the patch) we install the new drivers?

I've gotta be doing something stupidly wrong as nobody has said anything (including TiN's website) but install the patch and it works.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
http://img.techpowerup.org/100102/ok.png

Is that correct?

I've tried installing SLi Patch and SLi String Installer 2.0 and it still doesn't work?

But every time I install SLi Patch I get a new Operating System when I boot up called Windows XP Professional SLi Enabled x32, and each time I install the patch I get the same again but with an extra 'SLi Enabled x32' at the end, so now I have like 3...

And when I use uninstall, it doesn't work. Cos they're still there :/
i'm thinking about it.

does system boot ok?
make sure there are ntoskrnp.exe, halsli.dll files and SLI folder in windows\system32.
tell me what you see
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
It won't boot in any of the modes with SLi Enabled x32 on the end

It will only boot with Windows XP Professional

There is no ntoskrnp.exe or SLi Folder, and I've manually pasted halsli.dll but it didn't help