• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
Repair the MBR(Boot). That will fix all your boot problems.

Follow this guide, it's for Vista but it works for Windows 7 to.

http://www.lancelhoff.com/how-to-fix-vista-mbr-repair-broken-vista/

Don't forget to install Sli Patch again afterwards.

Edit: Use the bootrec.exe /RebuildBcd also, just to be safe.

OK that EasyBCD thing has erased the wrong line in my boot menu (the unpatched Win7 boot) and now I am in a perpetual loop of "windows cannot start, windows is attempting repairs" and "finished repairs, please reboot" and back to "windows cannot start, windows is attempting repairs"... ARGH...

I even tried restoring a 2-month-old backup (didn't have anything more recent) and that didn't help.

I think I need to edit the boot sequence manually and remove the patching that goes on at boot... Can anyone help me do that?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
So, you are using slipatch 1.5? Earlier patches do not work with the newest driver.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
OK that EasyBCD thing has erased the wrong line in my boot menu (the unpatched Win7 boot) and now I am in a perpetual loop of "windows cannot start, windows is attempting repairs" and "finished repairs, please reboot" and back to "windows cannot start, windows is attempting repairs"... ARGH...

I even tried restoring a 2-month-old backup (didn't have anything more recent) and that didn't help.

I think I need to edit the boot sequence manually and remove the patching that goes on at boot... Can anyone help me do that?
Ok, if bootrec didn't work
Problably the partition where you got Windows 7 installed it's not set as "Active".
This is done where you did the bootrec.exe commands(Command Prompt in windows recovery):

Diskpart
LIST DISK
SELECT DISK (followed by the number of the disk most likely 0)
LIST PARTITION
SELECT PARTITION (followed by your partition number where you got Windows 7 most likely 0 or 1)
ACTIVE
EXIT

Windows startup recovery should now work.
 

ezd

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi all sorry if this has been asked lots but there is so many posts....

I have a asus p5kc mobo and want to run sli with 2 8800gt i have tried few times and can't get it to work i've patched it and have the SLI Certification 987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for ASUS RAMPAGE II EXT 3287-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)

but still no sli in the nvida control panel please can some1 point me in the right direction =->

oh have used patch 1.5 and using nvida 270.61
 

kahboom

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2011
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Amd Gaming Rig
Processor Amd Fx 8350 5Ghz/Amd Fx 8320 4.9ghz
Motherboard Asus crosshair V-Z ROG 990fx Ek-FB version2 and Three Regular Chv5's
Cooling Custom waterloop/ Custom waterloop
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2400mhz 10-12-12-31 4x4gb
Video Card(s) Msi Twin Frozr III HD 7950 modded bios Swifttech waterblocks
Storage Intel 520series 180gb,Corsair G/S 180gb Sata III,1gb carvair black sataIII, 2Gb carvair green sataII
Display(s) 42" Vizio LCD TV
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Intergrated/ Intergrated
Power Supply Corsair 1200w AX-i
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores not yet listed

kahboom

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2011
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Amd Gaming Rig
Processor Amd Fx 8350 5Ghz/Amd Fx 8320 4.9ghz
Motherboard Asus crosshair V-Z ROG 990fx Ek-FB version2 and Three Regular Chv5's
Cooling Custom waterloop/ Custom waterloop
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2400mhz 10-12-12-31 4x4gb
Video Card(s) Msi Twin Frozr III HD 7950 modded bios Swifttech waterblocks
Storage Intel 520series 180gb,Corsair G/S 180gb Sata III,1gb carvair black sataIII, 2Gb carvair green sataII
Display(s) 42" Vizio LCD TV
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Intergrated/ Intergrated
Power Supply Corsair 1200w AX-i
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores not yet listed
Also on asus website the bios for the crosshair v rog is posted for download
 

kahboom

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2011
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Amd Gaming Rig
Processor Amd Fx 8350 5Ghz/Amd Fx 8320 4.9ghz
Motherboard Asus crosshair V-Z ROG 990fx Ek-FB version2 and Three Regular Chv5's
Cooling Custom waterloop/ Custom waterloop
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2400mhz 10-12-12-31 4x4gb
Video Card(s) Msi Twin Frozr III HD 7950 modded bios Swifttech waterblocks
Storage Intel 520series 180gb,Corsair G/S 180gb Sata III,1gb carvair black sataIII, 2Gb carvair green sataII
Display(s) 42" Vizio LCD TV
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Intergrated/ Intergrated
Power Supply Corsair 1200w AX-i
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores not yet listed
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=10505340290 New bulldozer is available for purchase in china, but its the first revision, its $308.00 plus shipping to usa is like 50.00, shit by the time you get it in 3 to 4 weeks the second revision will be out, use google translation tool to read web page.
 

kahboom

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2011
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Amd Gaming Rig
Processor Amd Fx 8350 5Ghz/Amd Fx 8320 4.9ghz
Motherboard Asus crosshair V-Z ROG 990fx Ek-FB version2 and Three Regular Chv5's
Cooling Custom waterloop/ Custom waterloop
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2400mhz 10-12-12-31 4x4gb
Video Card(s) Msi Twin Frozr III HD 7950 modded bios Swifttech waterblocks
Storage Intel 520series 180gb,Corsair G/S 180gb Sata III,1gb carvair black sataIII, 2Gb carvair green sataII
Display(s) 42" Vizio LCD TV
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Intergrated/ Intergrated
Power Supply Corsair 1200w AX-i
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores not yet listed
Anyways back on the subject of the sli hack, when i use the new 1.5patch with the new drivers 275.33, in some games like crysis 2 or cod black ops i get this shadow flashing shit, it lasts for a couple of seconds and then it stops, then back again. Did clean install twice, then installed patch, reverted back to 270 drivers. Using 890fxa-gd70 msi motherboard with gtx 570oc msi cards.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
Well finally a SLI bridge showed up, and I am now SLIPatched!

Woohooo! Thanks guys! :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
336 (0.14/day)
Likes
51
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270I Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv Mini ITX Red/Black Windows
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Naga Hex Wraith Red
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Anyways back on the subject of the sli hack, when i use the new 1.5patch with the new drivers 275.33, in some games like crysis 2 or cod black ops i get this shadow flashing shit, it lasts for a couple of seconds and then it stops, then back again. Did clean install twice, then installed patch, reverted back to 270 drivers. Using 890fxa-gd70 msi motherboard with gtx 570oc msi cards.
Yeah, I get this with Crysis 2 patch 1.2 or higher. If you run Crysis 2 patch 1.1, you don't get the flashing stuff. Have not noticed that issue with black ops.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
336 (0.14/day)
Likes
51
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270I Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv Mini ITX Red/Black Windows
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Naga Hex Wraith Red
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Finland
Cheers, but didnt get it from there,

the authors' link worked now though :)

gonna test it later this evening, its hot like hell in finland atm, 33C so not gonna stay inside with weather like this :)
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Thank you very much your help, "⌐⌐
they finally figured out where the problem was solved and I got it, I confess that it is a real conundrum ...
Take care everyone and good luck. =]


 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
Works, no problems, no hassle.

Specs:
2xpny 460 gtx
asus p5q deluxe
nvidia 275.33

uniengine rockets from 733 to 1345 :love::love::love:
Hi matomaukka, I got the same specs as you but I got one annoying problem.
When I try to watch movies with VLC player I get some micro stutter/lag all the time. I wonder if you got the same problem if you use VLC player? Cause it works fine in all other video players.
I use Windows 7 Pro.
 

HiGGz

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Hi matomaukka, I got the same specs as you but I got one annoying problem.
When I try to watch movies with VLC player I get some micro stutter/lag all the time. I wonder if you got the same problem if you use VLC player? Cause it works fine in all other video players.
I use Windows 7 Pro.
Got it too.

solved it by doin' this:

- add vlc to ur 3D profiles
-> Threaded optimization: enabled
-> Power management mode: performance
-> Max pre rendered frames : 1

Don't think it's linked to the patch.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
Got it too.

solved it by doin' this:

- add vlc to ur 3D profiles
-> Threaded optimization: enabled
-> Power management mode: performance
-> Max pre rendered frames : 1

Don't think it's linked to the patch.
Looks like I still got the issue :(:

EDit*
Maybe I should add that I am using two monitors.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Finland
test with other softwares aswell, Gomplay, WMPL and see if they have the same problem.

im running with 1 monitor only and i dont have any problems
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
Uh, got a question here... I know it's not exactly ON topic but... Can Crossfire be done on a SLI motherboard?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
Uh, got a question here... I know it's not exactly ON topic but... Can Crossfire be done on a SLI motherboard?
it can, but i remember no one ever wrote a real implementation for it, as nearly any Mobo with 2 slots, is a crossfire one (except x58 and 990fx/gx);)
 

soundood

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
151 (0.05/day)
Likes
33
Location
Up to my Ears in Ye Yo
GeForce 275.50 beta driver

Finally a new GeForce that supports AMD chipsets: 990FX, 990X, and 970, the 275.50 beta. now does this make it easier or run better on previous AMD chipsets, like the 790 or 890, and as we all know these chipsets are basically the same, what would it take to 'fool' the driver into thinking it had landed on a 990 board?



New in Release 275.50

•Enables SLI technology on SLI-certified motherboards with AMD chipsets: 990FX, 990X, and 970.
•Improves 3D Vision performance with Duke Nukem Forever with 3-way SLI and Quad SLI technology.
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us