• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Installing drivers, do you reboot after each one or install them all then reboot once?

Do you reboot after each driver or install them all then reboot?

  • I reboot after every driver.

    Votes: 4 8.9%
  • I reboot after every driver if the driver says I need to reboot.

    Votes: 22 48.9%
  • I install all the drivers then reboot.

    Votes: 19 42.2%

  • Total voters
    45

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,553 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,742
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
I was reformatting my livingroom HTPC and re-installing all the drivers and this question just kind of popped into my head. I'm just curious.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,624 (1.33/day)
Likes
2,795
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#2
I only reboot when asked :)
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
550 (0.19/day)
Likes
255
Location
Edmonton, AB, Canada
System Name Project Neverending
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus X Hero
Cooling Corsair HX 150 Pro, Corsair ML 120/ML140 fans
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 2666
Video Card(s) (2) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe, 2 Samsung 850 Evo 1TB, 2 Western Digital 4 TB for backups
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 (3440X1440), Samsung U28D590 (3840X2160)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX X-Fi, Logitech 5.1 speaker system
Power Supply Corsair AX 860i
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 28591 - Fire Strike 14300 - Time Spy Updates coming soon ®
#3
I'll reboot after doing a package, like after all the motherboard drivers, then I'll typically do the rest as a group as well.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,678 (1.66/day)
Likes
2,624
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#4
I reboot when asked, too. However, depending on the driver... I may just reboot anyway.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,137 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,221
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#5
Install all and reboot when done. Never had issues going through that process that I can recall in any of the dozens of systems I've deployed in recent years and saves time. Do what works for you or that you're most comfortable with.

I know some folks that believe its best to reboot after 2-3 driver installs. With modern systems and OSes I think this aspect might actually be less critical. YMMV though. :)
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
1,464 (0.86/day)
Likes
680
#6
I was reformatting my livingroom HTPC and re-installing all the drivers and this question just kind of popped into my head. I'm just curious.
As a general rule, I slipstream drivers into the setup iso's for my personal systems. For client PC's, it depends on the OS. In years past on the 9X kernel based Windows it was important to start with the chipset drivers then video card followed by everything else with a reboot inbetween each. Because of the way the 9x kernel handled/organized drivers, it was important to get them in the right order. With 2k & XP, drivers were handled better and it was important only to do a reboot after the chipset drivers were installed. Everything else could be installed all at once, in any order, rebooting only after everything was installed. With Vista on up, it became important to reboot only once, after all drivers were installed. However, there is no problem if you want to reboot after every driver install. It's just not needed anymore because of the way drivers are handled by the kernel.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,030 (0.52/day)
Likes
290
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F10
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 @ 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 +100 core / +550 mem
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
Got used to old fashioned way of rebooting after each install, but sometimes I reboot only when asked.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,769 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,450
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#8
I will always install the Chipset driver first and then reboot and install the rest of the Mobo drivers then reboot and let windows update from there
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
3,578 (0.85/day)
Likes
2,353
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#9
None of the above!

I reboot when "I" am ready to reboot, and not a second before! It would be very rare, if not totally unheard of, for one of my computers to need a reboot right now, before I could move on. So I finish what it is I am doing and when "I" am ready, I reboot.

If installing/reinstalling my OS, it is the same thing. A new graphics driver is not going to stop me from installing a new network driver, or new sound driver. So I install them all, then when "I" am ready to reboot, I will. Windows will not get confused. It knows the difference between a graphics driver, chipset driver, and SATA driver.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
1,464 (0.86/day)
Likes
680
#10
Windows will not get confused. It knows the difference between a graphics driver, chipset driver, and SATA driver.
True. From Vista forward drivers can be done all at once. But the 9x kernel OS's could easily get things mixed up. I think that is why people still wonder about it. I have clients that still do a reboot after every driver install on Windows 10. They don't realize they don't need to. But it doesn't do any harm. Microsoft has come a long way in the last 20 years in how Windows handles hardware interactions.
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,261 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,376
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#11
Clean Windows install: I install all of the drivers (often via batch which uses flags to forego reboot) then restart (shutdown -r -t 0) at the end.
Graphics driver update: uninstall -> restart -> DDU -> restart -> install -> restart

I remember Internet Explorer 9 required a restart before install because there's two KB updates that were required and one of those needed a restart or IE9 setup would fail. That's not a driver though.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,330 (3.49/day)
Likes
6,977
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#12
I follow the directions. Sometimes when I have a system that is problematic I reboot every time. But typically just when it says reboot

This of course is only in a Windows install. Now I have done it and wait till all drivers installed then reboot. Most of the time this works but I've seen errors because of this.

And I always install chipset drivers and SATA drivers first, unless its an old system that you need a gpu driver to get the correct resolution
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,418 (1.05/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#13
I reboot when it's convenient for me and not until...
Been doing that since Vista... Unless I need something installed to install something else...
Not sure when the last time that happened was... Been awhile.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
194 (0.18/day)
Likes
103
#14
It depends ... I have had the systems demand a reboot ... I have had multiple installs witha problem requiring a OS install. I have even had utility softwater (back up in this instance) currpt a driver install. Onew thing you should always do, unless you opted for the cheapest possible MoBo, is skip the installation of drivers "in the box".

1. The higher up you go in proce, the MoBo often comes equipped with special drivers and programs with additional brand specifc improvements. With utility software and some multimedia stuff, the "key code" is embedded in the code on the MoBo CD. Don't use the CD, don't get the license.

2. Also best to establish an 'out of box' working condition cause if ya call TS, that's what they may ask . First think ya learn in TS training is the job is not to help the customer but to get them off the phone. So yes, I have had those, please wipe the drive and reinstall the OS with supplied drivers first discussions with Asus.

3. Finally, also have to watch ... some drivers require that certain windows updates have been installed.

4. Finally, some drivers are mutually exclusive, at least according to Asus. Have no use for wireless on desktop but when PC is being build, mo ethernet cable nearby so I used the Wifi to build ... move no office, connected ethernet and, at least accoridng to Asus, can only have one active at a time.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
925 (0.48/day)
Likes
253
System Name N/A
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX
Cooling stock
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 1TB WD and 1TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 21.5" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT
Mouse R.A.T3
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#15
I reboot after every Driver is Installed "or when told to by the Program" usually now nVidia doesn't need a restart after a new Display Driver . I use a Program called Driver-Booster and it hasn't let me down since version 3 (Now on 5.2)

Note: upon after the Driver Downloads it creates a Restore-Point before the Install
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,282 (4.36/day)
Likes
5,483
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#16
Only when asked.

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,182 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,484
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#17
I reboot after chipset drivers, then GPU then Sound
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,245 (9.46/day)
Likes
13,777
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
With windows 10 i often dont even bother with the reboot

run all the installers at once, including my bulk VCredist, DX9, and dotnet installers, my commonly used programs (potplayer, MPC-HC, chrome) and then just fire up games or benchmarks before i even reboot

a very small amount of programs/drivers wont work correctly, but usually its something simple like manually starting their programs (launching the realtek exe, etc)
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
925 (0.48/day)
Likes
253
System Name N/A
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX
Cooling stock
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 1TB WD and 1TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 21.5" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT
Mouse R.A.T3
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#19
Me too. I have my pc as a EMBY Media Server and dont have to restart unless a update requires it
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,418 (1.05/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#20
I had to reboot after installing NZXT's CAM suite.
I knew something recent needed a reboot but it didn't effect anything including my overclock I was using on the previous version so even it waited until I was shutting down.
Just saying... OS install reboots don't count because you don't have a choice.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,791 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,395
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#21
None of them, really. I voted for reboot when asked as that's the closes. I may well reboot when a driver doesn't ask for it, depending on the exact situation, but not usually after every driver.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,410 (4.24/day)
Likes
6,322
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x HGST 3TB (RAID0) | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#22
Big stuff like chipset or AV anything that touches deep Ill reboot for individually.

Otherwise video editing reboot requests ,disk management software, GPU, USB etc. I will do in waves and reboot in one go.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,636 (2.75/day)
Likes
13,431
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#23
I tended in the past to do a 2 to 3 groups of drivers, installing each group and restarting. Last reinstall I did I ran through every one of them befor restarting. W10 figured things out just fine.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
392 (0.26/day)
Likes
182
Location
Riga
System Name capercaillie
Processor i5-4670K @ 4.2GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory Corsair Vengence 16Gb @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Windforce OC
Storage Kingston 240GB SSDNOW V300 (OS), Seagate BARRACUDA 7200 1TB, WD 500GB
Display(s) DELL S2417DG
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair RM550
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10
#24
Turns out I'm lazy, I only re-boot if I can't continue to work (the next driver fails to install/warning of a pending restart/the driver doesn't work).
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,449 (1.27/day)
Likes
1,067
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#25
Where's the doesn't reboot option