• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel 13th Gen Support?

4x31

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2023
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Can you post a FIVR screenshot? ThrottleStop supports your CPU but Asus might have enabled Undervolt Protection. The FIVR window will confirm this.
Hello @unclewebb!

I'd like to try Throttlestop 9.5.x beta as well! Working on a 13500HX in my Legion Pro 5i. I have try 9.5 version. I have unlock (non-gray) undervolt it is only for p-core, not e-core.
Thanks!
 
Joined
May 23, 2023
Messages
34 (0.12/day)
System Name Gaming Workstation | Lenovo Legion 7i Pro Gen8
Processor Intel Core i9-13900K | i9-13900HX
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix Z690-E | Lenovo HM770
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280
Memory 64GB (2x32GB) G.Skill Ripjaws S5 DDR5 5600 CL28 | 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 5600 CL46
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4090 (MSI Gaming Trio) | RTX 4090 Laptop GPU
Storage 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro + 2x 2 TB 980 Pro + 3 TB SATA SSDs | 1TB 980 PRO OEM + 2TB 980 PRO
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DW 3440x1440 175 Hz | Lenovo 16" 2560x1600 240 Hz
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow | Lenovo Legion 7i Pro Chassis
Power Supply EVGA T2 1600W | Lenovo 330W GaN Charger
Mouse Logitech Pro X Superlight
Keyboard CMStorm QuickFire Mechanical
VR HMD Oculus Quest 2 (Virtual Desktop)
Hi @unclewebb - I have a Lenovo Legion 7i Pro 13900HX laptop that works with undervolting using TS 9.5. Could I also get access to the 9.5.1 beta? Thanks!
 

ProgUn1corn

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2023
Messages
16 (0.04/day)
It will depend on the implementation and OS configuration, but considered it is a 13950HX (essentially a 13900KS mobile edition), its binning and aggressive clockability might result in that slightly higher idle power you are observing, especially when accounting for things such as speed shift that cause the CPU to clock up and down at an insanely fast rate. That 4.5-6 W idle figure is the same I have with my 13900KS. Another thing that may be a factor is the memory used, wouldn't be surprised with a super high end laptop with that CPU would have faster clocked memory than the one with the 11800H.

As always see if your 13950HX isnt running things like Windows Update on the background, that will consume some CPU time.
Thanks, I've confirmed it's normal on every other 13950HX and 13980HX laptop.
 
Joined
May 23, 2023
Messages
34 (0.12/day)
System Name Gaming Workstation | Lenovo Legion 7i Pro Gen8
Processor Intel Core i9-13900K | i9-13900HX
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix Z690-E | Lenovo HM770
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280
Memory 64GB (2x32GB) G.Skill Ripjaws S5 DDR5 5600 CL28 | 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 5600 CL46
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4090 (MSI Gaming Trio) | RTX 4090 Laptop GPU
Storage 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro + 2x 2 TB 980 Pro + 3 TB SATA SSDs | 1TB 980 PRO OEM + 2TB 980 PRO
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DW 3440x1440 175 Hz | Lenovo 16" 2560x1600 240 Hz
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow | Lenovo Legion 7i Pro Chassis
Power Supply EVGA T2 1600W | Lenovo 330W GaN Charger
Mouse Logitech Pro X Superlight
Keyboard CMStorm QuickFire Mechanical
VR HMD Oculus Quest 2 (Virtual Desktop)
I was able to use Sync MMIO to force the CPU in my laptop to always have the 140 PL1 / 190 PL2 limits rather than jump all based on a mind of its own (80-125 etc).

I read that it is better to use "Lock MMIO" instead...what is the reason for that?
 

Krunkmonkey

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2023
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
I've been following this thread for some time and decided to enter the beta request queue if you're still accepting those for download requests.
@unclewebb

Take care
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
7,206 (1.25/day)
I read that it is better to use "Lock MMIO" instead...what is the reason for that?
The MMIO Lock box disables the secondary MMIO power limits. This simple trick prevents any software on your computer from changing these limits. I have always thought that there is no reason to have both MSR and MMIO power limits. If you disable the MMIO power limits, you can still use the MSR power limits to control the CPU. If you do not disable the MMIO power limits, they can change randomly at any time. I believe HWiNFO and some other monitoring software is calling the MMIO power limits the Dynamic power limits. That makes sense since some manufacturers like to change these limits depending on what power plan you choose or for a variety of other reasons that I am not aware of.

beta request queue
Not much of a queue. Ask and you shall receive. Check your mailbox for a download link. TS 9.6 should be available in the near future if you would prefer to wait for an official version instead of the beta version.
 

iMisterJay

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2023
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
I would rather hear about using ThrottleStop to set a new world performance record.

I guess saving the planet some energy is OK too. Download link sent.
How about I try both and report back?!

I’m sure I speak for most, thank you.
 

4x31

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2023
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Hello @unclewebb!

I'd like to try Throttlestop 9.5.x beta as well! Working on a 13500HX in my Legion Pro 5i. I have try 9.5 version. I have unlock (non-gray) undervolt it is only for p-core, not e-core.
Thanks!
Hello. I undervolt core, p-core and e-core with -125 mV and I set all p-core value 4200 MHz and e-core 3200 MHz for 13500hx and I have no more throttle in cinebench23 max temp 93 with laptop cooler pad and balance AI fans and in games like cyberpunk CPU and GPU doesn't exceed 70 Celsius. I tried to undervolt more but it's not stable. For 4500 MHz all p-core and 3500 e-core I need to set performance to Lenovo Vantage but I need to lower undervolt value and CPU goes to PL1 and PL2 power limits. Keep in mind that you can have crush on your system with messing around with ThrottleStop and Lenovo Vantage software at the same time. I want to thank you again Unclewebb for your hard work!
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2017
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Processor i7-3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory GSkill TridentX PC19200 2x8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1070 EX
Storage Plextor M5P 256GB
Display(s) Crossover 27Q-LED
Case Corsair Graphite C600T
Audio Device(s) Swan HiVi M50W 2.1
Power Supply Corsair AX860i 860 Watt
Mouse Logitech G304
Keyboard Razer Arctosa
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
@unclewebb Hello, please send me the beta as well! Thanks.
 

polar1911

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
TS 9.6 FIVR table does not work on Acer Swift Go 16 with 13700h. Do I need to wait for a new version or Acer just locked it? @unclewebb
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot (5).png
    Screenshot (5).png
    133.5 KB · Views: 149

healbunny

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2023
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
TS 9.6 FIVR table does not work on Acer Swift Go 16 with 13700h. Do I need to wait for a new version or Acer just locked it? @unclewebb
your laptop requires support to disable Intel undervolt protection in bios, also, 13700H may not support undervolt anyway.
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
7,206 (1.25/day)
TS 9.6 FIVR table does not work
That table looks perfect. Intel removed voltage control from the H series processors. Nothing ThrottleStop can do about that. Not Available means exactly that. You need a HX processor if undervolting is important to you.
 
Joined
May 23, 2023
Messages
34 (0.12/day)
System Name Gaming Workstation | Lenovo Legion 7i Pro Gen8
Processor Intel Core i9-13900K | i9-13900HX
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix Z690-E | Lenovo HM770
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280
Memory 64GB (2x32GB) G.Skill Ripjaws S5 DDR5 5600 CL28 | 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 5600 CL46
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4090 (MSI Gaming Trio) | RTX 4090 Laptop GPU
Storage 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro + 2x 2 TB 980 Pro + 3 TB SATA SSDs | 1TB 980 PRO OEM + 2TB 980 PRO
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DW 3440x1440 175 Hz | Lenovo 16" 2560x1600 240 Hz
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow | Lenovo Legion 7i Pro Chassis
Power Supply EVGA T2 1600W | Lenovo 330W GaN Charger
Mouse Logitech Pro X Superlight
Keyboard CMStorm QuickFire Mechanical
VR HMD Oculus Quest 2 (Virtual Desktop)
The MMIO Lock box disables the secondary MMIO power limits. This simple trick prevents any software on your computer from changing these limits. I have always thought that there is no reason to have both MSR and MMIO power limits. If you disable the MMIO power limits, you can still use the MSR power limits to control the CPU. If you do not disable the MMIO power limits, they can change randomly at any time. I believe HWiNFO and some other monitoring software is calling the MMIO power limits the Dynamic power limits. That makes sense since some manufacturers like to change these limits depending on what power plan you choose or for a variety of other reasons that I am not aware of.
Incredible, this thing even punches through the 65W limit on battery. I was able to cinebench sustained 140W on battery power.
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
7,206 (1.25/day)
I was able to Cinebench sustained 140W on battery power.
When your battery catches on fire and burns down your house, remember, it wasn't ThrottleStop that did this. Powerful features in the wrong hands can be dangerous.
Glad to hear that this feature works. :)
 
Joined
May 23, 2023
Messages
34 (0.12/day)
System Name Gaming Workstation | Lenovo Legion 7i Pro Gen8
Processor Intel Core i9-13900K | i9-13900HX
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix Z690-E | Lenovo HM770
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280
Memory 64GB (2x32GB) G.Skill Ripjaws S5 DDR5 5600 CL28 | 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 5600 CL46
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4090 (MSI Gaming Trio) | RTX 4090 Laptop GPU
Storage 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro + 2x 2 TB 980 Pro + 3 TB SATA SSDs | 1TB 980 PRO OEM + 2TB 980 PRO
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DW 3440x1440 175 Hz | Lenovo 16" 2560x1600 240 Hz
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow | Lenovo Legion 7i Pro Chassis
Power Supply EVGA T2 1600W | Lenovo 330W GaN Charger
Mouse Logitech Pro X Superlight
Keyboard CMStorm QuickFire Mechanical
VR HMD Oculus Quest 2 (Virtual Desktop)
When your battery catches on fire and burns down your house, remember, it wasn't ThrottleStop that did this. Powerful features in the wrong hands can be dangerous.
Glad to hear that this feature works. :)
Uncle "Webb" Ben says "With great power..."

So I was originally using "Sync MMIO" but switched to "MMIO Lock" instead. I noticed some...interesting behavioral differences between the two:

ScenarioSync MMIOMMIO Lock
CinebenchOccasionally fluctuates in power level, performs a bit worse (< 1% plugged in, 20% worse on battery)Steady power level (plugged in and on battery), performs best
3DMark CPU Test18 492 (performs 16% better)
15 983
Battlefield 2042 frame time stabilityTighter frame timesSlightly worse frame times

Not sure if this is expected behavior, or if there's any way to get the best of both worlds? :D
 
Joined
May 23, 2023
Messages
34 (0.12/day)
System Name Gaming Workstation | Lenovo Legion 7i Pro Gen8
Processor Intel Core i9-13900K | i9-13900HX
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix Z690-E | Lenovo HM770
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280
Memory 64GB (2x32GB) G.Skill Ripjaws S5 DDR5 5600 CL28 | 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 5600 CL46
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4090 (MSI Gaming Trio) | RTX 4090 Laptop GPU
Storage 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro + 2x 2 TB 980 Pro + 3 TB SATA SSDs | 1TB 980 PRO OEM + 2TB 980 PRO
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DW 3440x1440 175 Hz | Lenovo 16" 2560x1600 240 Hz
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow | Lenovo Legion 7i Pro Chassis
Power Supply EVGA T2 1600W | Lenovo 330W GaN Charger
Mouse Logitech Pro X Superlight
Keyboard CMStorm QuickFire Mechanical
VR HMD Oculus Quest 2 (Virtual Desktop)
So I was originally using "Sync MMIO" but switched to "MMIO Lock" instead. I noticed some...interesting behavioral differences between the two:

ScenarioSync MMIOMMIO Lock
CinebenchOccasionally fluctuates in power level, performs a bit worse (< 1% plugged in, 20% worse on battery)Steady power level (plugged in and on battery), performs best
3DMark CPU Test18 492 (performs 16% better)
15 983
Battlefield 2042 frame time stabilityTighter frame timesSlightly worse frame times

Not sure if this is expected behavior, or if there's any way to get the best of both worlds? :D
 

H Seldon

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2023
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
So I was originally using "Sync MMIO" but switched to "MMIO Lock" instead. I noticed some...interesting behavioral differences between the two:

ScenarioSync MMIOMMIO Lock
CinebenchOccasionally fluctuates in power level, performs a bit worse (< 1% plugged in, 20% worse on battery)Steady power level (plugged in and on battery), performs best
3DMark CPU Test18 492 (performs 16% better)
15 983
Battlefield 2042 frame time stabilityTighter frame timesSlightly worse frame times

Not sure if this is expected behavior, or if there's any way to get the best of both worlds? :D
I think when it's locked, your gpu isn't getting the power it needs.
 
Top