• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Secretly Firefighting a Major CPU Bug Affecting Datacenters?

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,403 (6.10/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Beginning of the end for Intel?

Thank God I went with Ryzen this time... yeah, crap can surface on them later too, but man, this is big!
I wouldn't say the end as they have plenty of profit and revenue to stay afloat, but they need to address this flaw quickly by allowing cpu replacements to the biggest "pay to play" companies and keep their stock holders happy.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,827 (2.17/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Literally every Intel processor supporting virtualization (VT-x). That's pretty much every Core, Pentium, Celeron, and Xeon processor launched since 2007.
Atom too I'd imagine?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.51/day)
One of two major CPU makers is enjoying this news XD Although I don't think this will affect Intel long term. They are just so sleazy they always get it their way no matter the size of a cockup. Just like NVIDIA. But if AMD had such cockup, it would basically be their end, because everyone would be endlessly pissy about it, even on platforms not even affected by it (sort of like drivers of hatchbacks and minivans refused to buy Pirelli tires because they had some issues in F1 one season)...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,403 (6.10/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Atom too I'd imagine?

I guess ATOMS could actually get slower considering they were slower than the fastest P3/K6-2/3 and the slowest P4/Duron...
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,467 (8.53/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
101 (0.02/day)
I just looked at Phoronix benchmarks for pre- and post- the fix, the performance hit does not seem to be across the board, but applies to only some types of loads.

I'm starting to think it will seriously impact those large corporations with datacenters/farms but not nearly as much the regular users... Still, Intel is gonna bleed some significant cash.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,403 (6.10/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I just looked at Phoronix benchmarks for pre- and post- the fix, the performance hit does not seem to be across the board, but applies to only some types of loads.

I'm starting to think it will seriously impact those large corporations with datacenters/farms but not nearly as much the regular users... Still, Intel is gonna bleed some significant cash.
Since enterprise is their biggest payers compared to us "peons" yes it certainly will
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
2,584 (1.09/day)
I just looked at Phoronix benchmarks for pre- and post- the fix, the performance hit does not seem to be across the board, but applies to only some types of loads.

I'm starting to think it will seriously impact those large corporations with datacenters/farms but not nearly as much the regular users... Still, Intel is gonna bleed some significant cash.
The I/O numbers are heavily affected i.e. big for servers & every enterprise customer. What's not shown though is the extra CPU cycles, so the penalty could be higher in terms of perf/W or even absolute performance.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
746 (0.23/day)
Reading what's been written regarding speculation and Intel's executions cheating for lack of a better word, not waiting for security checks before executing code ie. accessing kernel memory from user mode, this is seriously not kosher. I also read this "feature" of their highly speculative execution is in their white papers. No wonder their chips are, er were so fast?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
2,584 (1.09/day)
Reading what's been written regarding speculation and Intel's executions cheating for lack of a better word, not waiting for security checks before executing code ie. accessing kernel memory from user mode, this is seriously not kosher. I also read this "feature" of their highly speculative execution is in their white papers. No wonder their chips are, er were so fast?
What's interesting is how this potentially disastrous flaw could affect old OS, ATM's anyone? Unpatched systems like win7 or older (govt)infrastructure & the much bigger financial sector could be at serious risk!
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
162 (0.05/day)
Location
North-Rhine-Westphalia
Processor Ryzen 2700
Motherboard B450
Cooling Thermalright ARO
Memory 2x 8GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) RX 570 8GB
Storage 256GB SSD
Display(s) UHD 40" HDR TV
Case Sharkoon AM5 Window red
Audio Device(s) USB Headset
Power Supply beQuiet PurePower10 400W
Software Win10
https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=de&tl=en&js=y&prev=_t&hl=de&ie=UTF-8&u=https://www.computerbase.de/2018-01/intel-cpu-pti-sicherheitsluecke/&edit-text=&act=url

Cite:
" ... in all Intel CPUs. Apparently, a process can make an Intel CPU exploit a hardware bug speculatively load memory areas and then allow access to it without further testing, without the process having the necessary rights. This allows an unprivileged process to access the memory of the kernel, which can contain sensitive data. This is especially precarious for cloud providers such as Amazon and Google, who want to prevent breaking out of virtual machines. In addition, the kernel's Address Space Layout Randomization (ASLR) security technique, which is used as defense in depth, could be compromised."
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
745 (0.23/day)
Beginning of the end for Intel?
Hell no. Intel makes billions and owns 80% minimum of any market in X64/X86 market. But it is going to cost them ALOT of money, considering how many Intel CPU's are active in DC's all over the globe. This affects performance and people could state we bought the CPU for performance and this patch is just killing it.

Intel needs to go back to drawing board, and test their premium CPU's accordingly. Stop making things so complex with IME.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,403 (6.10/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hell no. Intel makes billions and owns 80% minimum of any market in X64/X86 market. But it is going to cost them ALOT of money, considering how many Intel CPU's are active in DC's all over the globe. This affects performance and people could state we bought the CPU for performance and this patch is just killing it.

Intel needs to go back to drawing board, and test their premium CPU's accordingly. Stop making things so complex with IME.
IME Reminds me of SMB...

By the way

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/amd-lobbies-to-be-excluded-from-intel-vt-flaw-kernel-patches.240187/
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
990 (0.25/day)
Location
I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
System Name 3 sys spec seperated by "|"
Processor R9 3900| R7 1700 3.75 | Xeon 2680v2
Motherboard Asrock X570M | AB350M Pro 4 | HP Z620
Cooling Water1x360,1x240 | Air | air
Memory 64gb G.skill SniperX 3466mhz CL16 | 64gb | 128 gb
Video Card(s) EK-FC - RX Vega 64 | server | GTX970
Storage 960 Evo 500gb, 860 evo 1tb, Intel 660P 1tb PM871 256gb | various intel ssd's.
Display(s) AOC 28" 4K something + 1440p 144hz something.
Case Phanteks EvolvX M-Atx
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse G402
Keyboard TT Meka G1
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
5,273 (1.79/day)
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
331 (0.19/day)
System Name Marmo / Kanon
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K / Intel Core i7 9700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270X-Gaming 5 / Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi
Cooling Thermalright TRUE Spirit 120M / Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 21300C16 / 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 21300C16
Video Card(s) Palit GTX980 Super Jetstream / MSI GTX1080 Gaming+ X 11Gbps
Storage Intel 760p 512GB, Toshiba 1TB / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2414H / Dell UltraSharp U2715H
Case Lian-Li PC-60FN / Lian-Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Creative SB ZxR
Power Supply SeaSonic Platinum 660W / SeaSonic X 750W
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech G413
Software MS Windows 7 Professional SP1 / MS Windows 10 Pro
We need more details regarding this.
Personally I don't want an Windows update to gimp my CPU performance just because it might have a memory leak if I run a VM software. Screw that. I'm not using my desktop to run VMs anyways, or if I do, is for my own personal access anyways.
Same here. I'll postpone all Windows Update until I figure out which patch (KBxxxx) is targeted at this issue then hide it. As for my Fedora desktop and CentOS home server I'll just exclude kernel update from my monthly dnf/yum runs.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,732 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
IMO such a large flaw is only disclosed/fixed when vendors are forced to. So either ~

a) some white hat was gonna disclose this exploit pretty soon.
b) there are a sizable number of exploits in the wild, so this needs to be patched asap.

OR all of the above.
Exactly , take this and IME and intel have a busy period ahead of them.
On the positive i can't wait for five years when the ramifications of all this are buyable in silicon:),by me , what with the competition in the field people are going to have to do some extraordinarily good work to compete.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
628 (0.67/day)
Location
Tanagra
Processor Intel i5-9600K
Motherboard ASRock H370M-ITX/ac
Cooling Gammax 300
Memory 16GB DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 570 4GB
Storage Inland 512GB NVMe
Display(s) LG 27UL500-W
Case Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) My ears
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Software Windows 10
I guess this is one way to help with slumping PC sales. I’m sure Gen 9 Core will fix this, but magically require a new chipset too. I wonder if the patch will ever get sorted out so unaffected CPUs don’t see the performance hit, or if that will only work when “genuine Gen9 Core” is detected. I know that sounds a bit ranty, but it’s been done before.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
2,584 (1.09/day)
I guess this is one way to help with slumping PC sales. I’m sure Gen 9 Core will fix this, but magically require a new chipset too. I wonder if the patch will ever get sorted out so unaffected CPUs don’t see the performance hit, or if that will only work when “genuine Gen9 Core” is detected. I know that sounds a bit ranty, but it’s been done before.
This is a design flaw, it won't get fixed with a mild upgrade from gen 8 to gen 9, assuming gen 9 is even real & not the same respun SKL 8 cores aka WHL. They'll have to rewrite the memory subsystem or something, the only fix is a patched kernel atm.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
25 (0.02/day)
That's what most errata is. It will likely require an on-silicon fix to not hurt performance.

AMD had a pretty big one around Ryzen launch too. It just only affected linux, so no one cared.
AMD Linux issue was fixable with a micro code adjustment. This is not a Micro Code Fix
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,618 (2.62/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k @ Stock
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3400 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) USB Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,145 (1.03/day)
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
seems like this would be a big headache for AWS, Azure, and google.

not so much if you host your own infrastructure. After all it appears you have to already have access to a vm on the machine to read the contents from another. Within an organization that's less of a concern than say me having an AWS node that can read the contents of another companies AWS node...
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,644 (5.72/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
I'm betting the number will go massively up following it's disclosure.
I mean for it to be relatively unseen in the past 10+ years is interesting to say the least. I wouldn't want to know the actual count on cpus affected.
 

deu

Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
336 (0.26/day)
System Name Bo-minator (my name is bo)
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO Z87
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory G-SkiLL 4x4GB RAM 2133 Mhz (CL 9)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX 1080Ti OC
Storage Samsung EVO 850 1TB
Display(s) ACER XB271HU + DELL 2717D
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Antec HCP 1000W
Mouse G403
Keyboard CM STORM Quick Fire Rapid
Software Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Benchmark Scores XX
Well... If you can write code to exclude AMD CPUs from running optimal instructions sets for a decade then you can exclude AMD CPUs from your own panic code when it comes to crippling CPU's due to issues. God damn I feel the karma is strong with this one. If Intel does not bow down an take the plow on this one they should get banned from EU servermarkets. This might be the thing that actually makes me go for AMD even though they might not have the best product for me. :S
 
Top