• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop overclocking adventures

Nauzhror

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
If you feel like you're close to it's max power, just push it up in small increments, tweak the ram a bit if you can. Cards will vary so some might be worse some might be better depending on your luck.

Raising the GPU Core to 875, or the VRAM to 1175 caused artifacting, and there wasn't a substantial gain from 825 to 850 or 1125 to 1150 either so went with 825/1125 (stock was 700/1000) there to play it safe. CPU Though I imagine can go higher, used setfsb, but only have the shareware version at the moment, so was only able to raise 00h, 10h isn't editable without paying, but raising 00h from 29 to 41 raised the base clock rate from 1600 mhz to 1755 mhz so far and appears plenty stable.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
690 (0.13/day)
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz @ 3000MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 25" Dell Ultrasharp U2515H / 1 x 15" ASUS MB169+
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) 2 x Tannoy Reveal 502 / Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO 250 Ohm / Behringer Xenyx X1204 USB / MXL 770
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS / Corsair K95 RGB / Anne Pro 2 / 2 x Elgato Stream Deck
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
Raising the GPU Core to 875, or the VRAM to 1175 caused artifacting, and there wasn't a substantial gain from 825 to 850 or 1125 to 1150 either so went with 825/1125 (stock was 700/1000) there to play it safe. CPU Though I imagine can go higher, used setfsb, but only have the shareware version at the moment, so was only able to raise 00h, 10h isn't editable without paying, but raising 00h from 29 to 41 raised the base clock rate from 1600 mhz to 1755 mhz so far and appears plenty stable.

I've been in your same situation with my GO 7950GTX, going any higher will just be a waste of time if it doesn't even give benchmark improvements. As for SetFSB, I did donate for it to try overclocking my mobile i5s, didn't work but I still didn't regret donating towards it.

What I did when I was at the point of max OC on my laptops, was bring SPDtool in the mix and tweak my ram modules. It would be safe to test on 1 chip other than 2 (if you have 2), so if the system becomes unbootable, you put the "untouched" stick in and both chips use its values since it would be at lower clocks/timings.
 

Nauzhror

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Hmm, possible to overclock 1066 mhz DDR3 to 1333 mhz, or is SPDTool just meant for altering timings and not the actual speed of the RAM?
EDIT: Doesn't seem to work on my motherboard anyway so moot questions it seems.
 
Last edited:

vladmire

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
118 (0.02/day)
System Name vladmire
Processor Intel E2140 1.6Ghz OC'ed to 2.8Ghz
Motherboard MSI P965 neo-f v2
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120
Memory 2 x 2GB kingston ddr2-667
Video Card(s) 8600GT
Storage 4 x 500GB Seagate Sata2
Display(s) Viewsonic 22" VX2240w
Case Frontier Achilles
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2 zs
Power Supply Hec Win+ 550
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit
i'll try this on my acer 4738zg^^ lol. i hope it'll work. still, my gpu temp is whooping 92deg using furmark max temp T_T
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
88 (0.02/day)
Location
Slovakia
Processor Core i7 5820k
Motherboard MSI x99s Mpower
Cooling Zalman Reserator 1, XSPC RX120, Koolance QDCs, Koolance MVR-40, EK Supreme HF, EK vga supreme HF
Memory 4x8GB crucial 3000MHz
Video Card(s) R9 290x 4GB with EK fullcover waterblock.
Storage Intel SSD 330 180GB, Samsung HD103UJ 1TB, Seagate ST31500341AS 1,5TB, Seagate ST4000DM000 4TB
Display(s) HP LP3065 30"
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI audio device -> Yamaha RX-V1600
Power Supply Corsair AX860 80plus platinum
Software Windows 8.1 prof. x64 eng retail.
Hello. I have HP nw8240 with ICS954215AG and none of the listed programs supports this clock generator. Any advice what to do? SoftFSB 1.7 supports PLL inport. Does anyone knows how to create my own pll inport file?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
690 (0.13/day)
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz @ 3000MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 25" Dell Ultrasharp U2515H / 1 x 15" ASUS MB169+
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) 2 x Tannoy Reveal 502 / Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO 250 Ohm / Behringer Xenyx X1204 USB / MXL 770
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS / Corsair K95 RGB / Anne Pro 2 / 2 x Elgato Stream Deck
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
Try contacting the developer of SetFSB, I'm sure he'll look into it.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
88 (0.02/day)
Location
Slovakia
Processor Core i7 5820k
Motherboard MSI x99s Mpower
Cooling Zalman Reserator 1, XSPC RX120, Koolance QDCs, Koolance MVR-40, EK Supreme HF, EK vga supreme HF
Memory 4x8GB crucial 3000MHz
Video Card(s) R9 290x 4GB with EK fullcover waterblock.
Storage Intel SSD 330 180GB, Samsung HD103UJ 1TB, Seagate ST31500341AS 1,5TB, Seagate ST4000DM000 4TB
Display(s) HP LP3065 30"
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI audio device -> Yamaha RX-V1600
Power Supply Corsair AX860 80plus platinum
Software Windows 8.1 prof. x64 eng retail.
Try contacting the developer of SetFSB, I'm sure he'll look into it.

He refused even to talk to me prior to payment. So I don't know even if this clock generator support software control via system management bus. And I'm not comfortable about buying license key for software that is useless for me.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
690 (0.13/day)
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz @ 3000MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 25" Dell Ultrasharp U2515H / 1 x 15" ASUS MB169+
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) 2 x Tannoy Reveal 502 / Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO 250 Ohm / Behringer Xenyx X1204 USB / MXL 770
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS / Corsair K95 RGB / Anne Pro 2 / 2 x Elgato Stream Deck
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
He takes time even to process the payments themselves, so I wouldn't be too sure he won't answer if he takes his time. About SoftFSB, I have no idea...it seems like an old tool, I haven't even heard of it. Hopefully someone around here has and maybe can give you some assistance.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
55,492 (8.37/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.175V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
this thread needs updating for modern hardware and software.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
690 (0.13/day)
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz @ 3000MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 25" Dell Ultrasharp U2515H / 1 x 15" ASUS MB169+
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) 2 x Tannoy Reveal 502 / Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO 250 Ohm / Behringer Xenyx X1204 USB / MXL 770
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS / Corsair K95 RGB / Anne Pro 2 / 2 x Elgato Stream Deck
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
We'll need assistance with that, dear moderator.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,212 (0.82/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i7 8700K (@4.8 Ghz All-Core) / R7 5900X
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML360 / CM ML240L
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz / 16Gb Hynix @3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac 3080 / Colorful 1060
Storage 750G MX300 + 2x500G NVMe / 40Tb Reds + 1Tb WD Blue NVMe
Display(s) LG 27GN800-B 27'' 2K 144Hz / Sony TV
Case Xigmatek Aquarius Plus / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III Gold 750W / Andyson TX-700 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero / K400+
Keyboard Wooting Two / K400+
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9758
I would love to lower the voltage on my i3. Does anyone have any idea what program I could use?
 

Shadow565

New Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Location
Australia
I would love to lower the voltage on my i3. Does anyone have any idea what program I could use?

have you tried the programs on the first page?

Anyone got any good programs or limits for OCing a Compaq C700 Celeron 550 Dual-Core 2.00Ghz?

Planning on going upto 2.10 for both cores hopefully not causing any problems as the inbuilt cooling is actually quite good on it.
 

hinchie

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
help?

can someone help me please?

Im trying to overclock my toshiba satellite c660-13r, but cant find my pll listed in any of the OC softwares.

my pll is RTM890N-631-GRT :shadedshu
 

hinchie

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
i imagine specs would help:

type : Intel® Celeron® Processor 925
clock speed : 2.30 GHz
Front Side Bus : 800 MHz
2nd level cache : 1 MB
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,333 (1.30/day)
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Anyone know why my laptop doesn't boot at room temp but when I blow hot air in the vents via a blow dryer it boots up?

Otherwise I get a CPU is Malfunctioning error via the LED lights.

Its so odd, I opened it up and put thermal paste but still have the same issues. Its a HP DV4.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
System Name ASUS G60JX
Processor Intel i5
Memory DDR3 8GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTS 360M
Software Win 8 64bit
I'm just starting the process of learning how to overclock my Laptop (ASUS G60jx). I was reading the first post here, and trying to select the program to use for overclocking my CPU and GPU, but most of the links in the first thread don't work and have not been updating.

Anyone mind filling me in on the more current recommended programs? I did a site search, but I figured I'd ask here to insure I get the current recommended programs that work best for laptops. Thanks in advance!
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
55,492 (8.37/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.175V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
I'm just starting the process of learning how to overclock my Laptop (ASUS G60jx). I was reading the first post here, and trying to select the program to use for overclocking my CPU and GPU, but most of the links in the first thread don't work and have not been updating.

Anyone mind filling me in on the more current recommended programs? I did a site search, but I figured I'd ask here to insure I get the current recommended programs that work best for laptops. Thanks in advance!

if its AMD, try K10stat. i dont know anything about intel laptop OCing.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
690 (0.13/day)
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz @ 3000MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 25" Dell Ultrasharp U2515H / 1 x 15" ASUS MB169+
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) 2 x Tannoy Reveal 502 / Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO 250 Ohm / Behringer Xenyx X1204 USB / MXL 770
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS / Corsair K95 RGB / Anne Pro 2 / 2 x Elgato Stream Deck
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
Hi, Staxed, for the cpu SetFSB lists it as supported. http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/

AFAIK in the program settings, you don't have to choose a PPL number per se as it displays the laptop name.

For the GPU I'd try MSI's Afterburner at first. You might need a modified GPU driver as the clocks might be locked. If all else fails you can attempt to bios mod the GPU, it's the road I had to take in order to be able to upgrade my drivers.

Good luck.
 
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
1,150 (0.69/day)
Location
Upstate NY
System Name Dual Socket HP z820 Workstation
Processor Twin Intel Xeon E5 2673 v2 OEM processors (thats a total of 16C/32T)
Motherboard HP Dual Socket Motherboard
Cooling Stock HP liquid cooling
Memory 64GB Registered ECC memory kit (octal channel memory on this rig)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700 XT Gaming X 8GB
Storage 2 x 512GB SSD in raid 0
Display(s) Acer 23" 75Hz Gaming monitors 1080P x2
Case Brushed Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Integrated (5.1)
Power Supply HP 1125W Stock PSU
Mouse gaming mouse
Keyboard Dell
Software Windows 10 Pro
I just joined this forum today and happened across this post. I feel it is my duty to update it :)
Lenovo T61p - 15.4" - Intel X9000 Core 2 Extreme CPU - 4GB 667Mhz RAM @ 4-4-4-12. 60GB SSD - Custom BIOS - Stock CPU cooler
Using ThrottleStop 8.5 I was able to unlock the Core 2 Extreme CPU and overclock to 4.0Ghz (200 x 20)
I use TPFanControl v62 to mitigate heat and manage CPU fan speed.
I also use ThrottleStop to undervolt the CPU. For the most part, I have it running 3.4Ghz @ 1.2125v to keep temps under control.
I used AIDA64 CPUID to capture a screenshot as well as a screenshot from the ThrottleStop program window. No! Could this be the first T61 to shatter the 4.0Ghz barrier?

13.png

12.png
 
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
1,150 (0.69/day)
Location
Upstate NY
System Name Dual Socket HP z820 Workstation
Processor Twin Intel Xeon E5 2673 v2 OEM processors (thats a total of 16C/32T)
Motherboard HP Dual Socket Motherboard
Cooling Stock HP liquid cooling
Memory 64GB Registered ECC memory kit (octal channel memory on this rig)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700 XT Gaming X 8GB
Storage 2 x 512GB SSD in raid 0
Display(s) Acer 23" 75Hz Gaming monitors 1080P x2
Case Brushed Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Integrated (5.1)
Power Supply HP 1125W Stock PSU
Mouse gaming mouse
Keyboard Dell
Software Windows 10 Pro
One better, going for the 21x multiplier which equals 4.2 Ghz with a massive 1.5v core. Running at this setting requires the fan to be spinning at 100%.

CaptureBEAST.PNG
 

M0rafic

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2019
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
I feel I have a handicap using a laptop that was notorious for cooking itself and has had two motherboards replaced by Dell. It died at 3 months old and again about 12 months later..... :) So I very much doubt if I can get to close 4Ghz :) Anyway If you hadn't guessed it's an XPS m1330 and it gets HOT!!! Even without an X9000 in it :) I have never tried to get past 3.4GHz as per below but I shall give it a go.
m1330_1.jpg
 

Jetlee

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Hi I have a Lenovo ideapad y710 that I picked up from a guy for about 60$ us now that I got it I found that it has a overclocking switch to the right and it works just fine but I wanna push it more just to the max I bought it just to fool around but I found this is a much more interesting machine than I thought it's quite old it has a core 2 extreme processor and 4gb DDR2 RAM and a ATI Radeon mobility hd2600 and 4.1 Dolby digital surround sound anyone got some ideas on how to push this thing to it's max I just wanna see what it can do please help
 

Dranzule

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2021
Messages
18 (0.05/day)
Had a few adventures considering an Intel Laptop overclock before actually trying it. So, here's what I learned. It may help somebody, even if this thread is tad old.
I'm running an Acer Aspire F5 573 723q(based on i7 6500u/Intel HD 520). I have an InsydeH20 Rev 5.0 Unlocked BIOS, it is not modded though, it's the original Acer one. Version 1.27;
Most Acer laptops, from my own experience and digging have the Advanced/Power tabs hidden and can easily be unlocked by learning what's the specific lock used by the manufacturer. That will involve a little digging and testing. Mine revolves around powering off the laptop, holding Fn + Tab, then powering it on, and entering the BIOS by spamming F2 before the Acer logo appears(Yeah, requires good reaction timing). My digging shows that these advanced menus being hidden rather than non-existant is much more common than many believe.

Before considering if it's doable(heat and power brick), I considered if it's possible. At first, two things came to mind: the multiplier, and the BCLK.
Since in Skylake PCI became independent from the BCLK(sorta?) and I was running early DDR4 RAM(2133mhz) I could try my luck and increase the BCLK. Except I found no way to do this, as even my unlocked BIOS can't mess with the Intel ICC profiles. Software such as SetFSB didn't work either, changes didn't get applied. Which lead me to discard the possibility of even being able to mess with the BCLK without doing BIOS modding. As I have no programmer or SOCLI8 to mess with the BIOS(nor an spare device to actually fix the BIOS, lol) I gave up. Even if I could mess with it, I'd probably get caught up by the Intel ME(Management Engine). This little thingy doesn't tolerate even a few mhz and I'd probably get 50mhz at best, while being lucky if my BIOS didn't get messed up.

So, my only option was the multiplier. And you probably know how this went. OEM BIOS'es don't have multiplier settin-... oh. almost not.
I have access to the Flex Ratio Override and Turbo Override settings, that would allow me to mess with Base/Turbo speeds(Base 2.5, Turbo 3.1), but setting any illegal value registered by the CPU will either not allow me to type the value or the BIOS will just reset the value itself. Welp. Was an good attempt. My last clutch is the Overclocking Performance Menu.

Insyde "Power > Power & Performance > CPU - Power Management Control > CFG Lock" I could disable the Overclocking Lock and the CFG Lock, which hopefully exposed some memory addresses I'm not aware of(yeah, I'm not good with low level coding stuff, much less so with Firmware memory addressing). In the Advanced tab, I had an Overclocking Performance Menu which you can see in this same shot I've sent before.
For all except Uncore I can set Voltages, either Override or Adaptive mode, with either + or - offsets, and obviously, the offset/override values. For the CPU Cores, I can set Max OC Ratios, but can't mess with the multiplier. For the Ring, I can set a Min and Max OC Ratio. For the memories, I can mess with the frequency multiplier and all timings just fine, as well as voltages. For the iGPU, I can set Overclocking frequencies to both the Slice and Unslice, but those don't take effect. I can also give an "Extra Turbo Voltage" to them when they're running at higher frequencies(which is obviously the Turbo Mode they have).
I also have the IMON Scaling Support feature enabled and RSR disabled, as you may see on the shots.

One thing to point out is that, in the System Agent configuration menu inside the Advanced Tab, I could mess with a few settings for the iGPU, like "Gfx low power mode" which I set to disabled and "Graphics IMON Turbo Current" which I set to the max, 31(legal values were only 14 to 31, seemingly).

As a last thing I found out, doing some digging I found manuals that included info about the GT - Power Management Control menu which I can't access. The menu is there, along CPU - Power Management Control, but if I try entering it, the BIOS becomes unresponsive. My external keyboard dies although the internal one seems to work just fine as I press Numlock/Caps lock/Scroll lock and my LED's in the external keyboard light up. The BIOS won't come back, I need to forcefully shut down and re-boot. I point this out as many manuals I found actually had an "GT Overclocking Support" setting inside it which is by default set as disabled, which may be the reason applying any value to the "GT Overclocking Frequency" on both the Slice and Unslice doesn't change anything. And even then, I'm not sure whether the Intel ME would tolerate it.

Hope this helps somebody. If anybody knows anything that could help me or if they need to ask anything, feel free to.
 
  • Like
Reactions: L-C

L-C

Joined
Oct 3, 2021
Messages
31 (0.07/day)
That's very interesting, thanks! It would be nice to have all the known secret combinations to access the hidden menu on different manufacturers, i couldn't find a working one for my HP pavilion
 
Top