• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Not all AMD Processors Support 'XP Mode' in Windows 7

Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.24/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#26
Emm..I didn't count Sempron, but you got the point at mobile CPU (anything older than Griffin) :lol:

any idea if Athlon NEO platform (HP Dv2) support AMD-V?
No, it doesn't support AMD-V.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#27
Saaaaawheeeeet! That means there should be zero backwards compatibility problems with trying to play XP games in Windows 7
Ah, no. you dont get 3D acceleration in virtual machines.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#28

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#29
I thought you could but it was more complicated.
with VMware, the most you can get is DX8.1 and its slower than the host machines. With Vmware fusion on macs you can get full acceleration, but tahts because they only have a very small amount of video cards and drivers to maintain compatibility with.


This virtual XP is for businesses - a good example is custom made database or accounting software, that they have no hope in hell of getting updated.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#30
to those complaining about the title, saying that it should say "amd and intel" or the like... its CNET's title. complain to them.
Ah, thanks for explaining the COPY+PASTE nature of news reporting.

Perhaps quote symbols "" would be a good idea to implement when C+P verbatim. It will help avoid users thinking that news posters have missed their morning coffee.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#32
Its because the article focuses on talking to AMD about it. Tho the title would have probably been better sans the word AMD.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,058 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,185
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#33
with VMware, the most you can get is DX8.1 and its slower than the host machines. With Vmware fusion on macs you can get full acceleration, but tahts because they only have a very small amount of video cards and drivers to maintain compatibility with.


This virtual XP is for businesses - a good example is custom made database or accounting software, that they have no hope in hell of getting updated.
We'll see. The only reason why accelerated graphics don't work very well on hypervisor is because of graphic cards constantly messing with the TLB. Once drivers are written to properly work in a virtualized environment, that bug will go away.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/961661
 

iStink

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
648 (0.19/day)
Likes
49
System Name The beast
Processor E6600@ 3.4
Motherboard P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 3GB G.Sill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) 8800GT @ 700/975
Storage (1)80GB With XP, (1) 320GB storage
Display(s) 205BW & 710N
Case XClio Windtunnel (I love it)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply OCZ gamerXStream 700W
#34
I've read articles that mentioned all the intel chips that wouldn't work without a word of AMD. There's nothing biased about reporting which AMD chips won't work without mentioning intel, because the info on intel is out there in the same light.

I can see the mac fanboys using this as another reason why "windows sucks". I hope I don't find myself constantly repeating why some chips will do it while others won't.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
970 (0.24/day)
Likes
150
Processor Intel e2180 2.0ghz @ 2.8ghz w/ stock volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K-e Wifi-AP
Cooling Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
Memory G.Skill Black PI's DDR2 @ 896MHz 4-4-4-12 1.9v
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GT w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage 2x Crucial C300 64GB, Samsung F3 2TB & 1TB, F1 1TB & 750GB
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" 16:9
Case Ultra / Chieftec Black Tower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeMusic -> Z-5300e's
Power Supply PCP&C 610 Silencer
Software Windows 7 x64
#36
Terrible title. When I bought my e2180 I thought I would never need to use hardware virtualization, and that bit me when I tried installing Windows 7 x64 in VirtualBox. The T7300 in my laptop has VT-x and it works just fine, however. You would think that virtualization would be more prominent in Intel's lineup by now.
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.02/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#37
I'm still sad that my new proccy wont be able to support this technology:(
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,724 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,634
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#38
OMFG!!!!!!!!!

Bad headline.

Theese dont support it either... i guess theyre from pretty much the same time.

Pentium D?
E7xxx
E4xxx
Pentium4
e2x `?

amd havnt done anything wrong, semprons are hard to find lol.
Pentium D 9X0 series chips support VT as do the P4 Prescott 2M cores. not that i am an intel fan. now just like everyone else is wondering why is the thread name some AMD chips don't support it when the only AMD series not to support it since athlon XP was the sempron series which is the absolute lowest line they sell in which the cpu's do not exceed $40. Intel however offers cpu's that exceed $150 that still do not offer VTand this is an AMD problem?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#39
Pentium D 9X0 series chips support VT as do the P4 Prescott 2M cores. not that i am an intel fan. now just like everyone else is wondering why is the thread name some AMD chips don't support it when the only AMD series not to support it since athlon XP was the sempron series which is the absolute lowest line they sell in which the cpu's do not exceed $40. Intel however offers cpu's that exceed $150 that still do not offer VTand this is an AMD problem?
well said
:toast:

Anything good AMD does is inferior to what crap Intel gives - thats the belief of the ignorants here.

Don't know why this is even a topic here, can't VMware be used in W7 and run whatever OS you want?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,724 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,634
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#40
well said
:toast:

Anything good AMD does is inferior to what crap Intel gives - thats the belief of the ignorants here.

Don't know why this is even a topic here, can't VMware be used in W7 and run whatever OS you want?
oh and if anyone wants proof VT works on PD930's i'm on one right now posting from linux while running revit in XP
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,491 (9.19/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#41
To make things clear, this is a news post on AMD making clear which of its chips don't support XP Mode, rather than a general issue description. "neutrality" to the post by mentioning that not all CPUs in general support XP mode was only complimentary from my side. If you know which chip doesn't support virtualization, that's all you really need to care about.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.31/day)
Likes
68
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
#42
Virtualization is a somewhat limited idea in the first place, since here in Canada it only costs $75 CAN to get a 500GB hard drive.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#43
What I want to know is WHY Virtualization is even required? The current Virtual PC does not require it, having it just improves performance. Put for the intended purpose of the Virtual PC included with Win7, I don't see why Virtualization would be a requirement, it should run without it.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#44
Virtualization is a somewhat limited idea in the first place, since here in Canada it only costs $75 CAN to get a 500GB hard drive.
Thing is some people don't want to boot between two differen OS's and dont want to pay £75 just to use xp and win7.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#45
Microsoft said:
In addition, Windows Virtual PC requires a PC with Intel-VT or AMD-V enabled in the CPU, as it takes advantage of the latest advancements in hardware virtualization.
I find this interesting, and have a funny feeling "requires" is the wrong word, as Virtual PC alone does not require either Intel-VT or AMD-V to actually run. Makes me wonder if someone at Microsoft just wrote it wrong, anyone actually use it with a non-supported processor?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,724 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,634
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#46
I find this interesting, and have a funny feeling "requires" is the wrong word, as Virtual PC alone does not require either Intel-VT or AMD-V to actually run. Makes me wonder if someone at Microsoft just wrote it wrong, anyone actually use it with a non-supported processor?
but this is microsoft ;)
 

Slessum

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2009
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#47
Ah, no. you dont get 3D acceleration in virtual machines.
and

with VMware, the most you can get is DX8.1 and its slower than the host machines. With Vmware fusion on macs you can get full acceleration, but tahts because they only have a very small amount of video cards and drivers to maintain compatibility with.


This virtual XP is for businesses - a good example is custom made database or accounting software, that they have no hope in hell of getting updated.
I refer you to the VMware Workstation website
http://www.vmware.com/products/ws/new.html
Richest Desktop Experience
Access applications within virtual machines as if they were part of the host operating system desktop with “Unity” view
Support for DirectX 9.0c with Shader Model 2 3D graphics
Configure a virtual machine to span multiple monitors, or multiple virtual machines to each display on separate monitors.
Create shared folders and drag-and-drop, and copy-paste data between guest and host OSes
Connect high-speed USB 2.0 devices, including webcams and iPods
Resize the guest’s screen resolution automatically to fit the size of a window or full screen, or run virtual machines in the background without using the Workstation user interface
Map a virtual disk to a drive letter on Windows host
Capture all screen activity in a running virtual machine with movie record and playback feature
maby you need to check your facts before you post things, that way you dont give out FALSE INFORMATION to people, kind of like the Poster of this news topic.......

Im sorry but posting false, misleading information as news as if it where FACT is pretty low, and people complain about the inq and fudzilla......
 

Slessum

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2009
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#48
Richest Desktop Experience
Access applications within virtual machines as if they were part of the host operating system desktop with “Unity” view
Support for DirectX 9.0c with Shader Model 2 3D graphics
Configure a virtual machine to span multiple monitors, or multiple virtual machines to each display on separate monitors.
Create shared folders and drag-and-drop, and copy-paste data between guest and host OSes
Connect high-speed USB 2.0 devices, including webcams and iPods
Resize the guest’s screen resolution automatically to fit the size of a window or full screen, or run virtual machines in the background without using the Workstation user interface
Map a virtual disk to a drive letter on Windows host
Capture all screen activity in a running virtual machine with movie record and playback feature
vmware supports dx9.........

I also like Virtual Box(free) it works VERY well for basic virtual machien work :)

ms virtual pc had to go free, nobody was going to buy it after they messed it up.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#49
OK WAIT.

Isnt virtualisation possible even on a CPU that doesnt have VT feature set? Yes. The whole idea IIRC of VT chipset features was INSTANT bank switching of CPU register sets. That means you can virtualise without performance penalty due to register housekeeping. Whereas without VT feature set, you can implement VT but dont have the hardware acceleration, so it adds latency to the process.

Are we SURE than XP doesnt work on Win 7? Or is it just suboptimal and not going to run without causing a bit of performance loss.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,742 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,157
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#50
I find this interesting, and have a funny feeling "requires" is the wrong word, as Virtual PC alone does not require either Intel-VT or AMD-V to actually run. Makes me wonder if someone at Microsoft just wrote it wrong, anyone actually use it with a non-supported processor?
This i believe supports the hardware Directly and doesnt require you to buy additional software, Most Companies are still on Windows XP and this should make the transition a little easier, Now how efficient it will be all depends on how much the developers care about it, which i highly doubt they do as they want you to get the newest version of Office Etc anyway, office 2010 anyone?