• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen Owners Zen Garden

Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,650 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,900
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#1
I'm posting this in case anyone wants a Ryzen thread for troubleshooting and guidance. As someone with a build about to happen, I have a feeling I might need some help. New wave of CPU'S means teething probs.
So, feedback on BIOS issues, memory hints and general tweaks could be useful.

Trolls are welcome because frankly, I don't mind a fight. I've moved from a stalwart i7 3930k to a completely alien and 'untested' environment. I put my money where someone elses mouth was.

Let's make Ryzen a trouble free experience...
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,686 (1.31/day)
Likes
830
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://i.imgur.com/gYkHqxU.jpg new pic soon.
#2
Oink!


My Biggest question will be about matching up a Vega with any Ryzen chip, which chip for gaming and will it help a Vega card perform better than a non-Vega card.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,010 (0.52/day)
Likes
279
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Subbing / Posting to the thread:

I went Ryzen 7 1700x + Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 and some 16 GB G. Skill Trident Z's, was targeting ASUS ROG CH6 but alas suppliers here were not able to get a hold of it. It was selling like pancakes, out of stock and they only bundle the proc and mobo here due to limited availability. It's either GB or MSI, I went and chose GB because it has served me well on my FX build. So why not with Ryzen.

But won't be able to post much since I haven't put them together yet. Still waiting for Noctua's mail for the am4 mounting kit. (Free is good :D)

Hoping to see/hear feedbacks from people who use or got the same board as I do. (Have not seen any reviews yet.)
This is my upgrade from my specs <--- Just replaced board ram and proc.

And soon upgrading gpu but I would like to play only at 1080p maybe at a higher refresh rate in the future.
Maybe VEGA or RX 5xx or maybe just a GTX1070.

EDIT: Or get an RX480 8gb now do me any good in the long run? (Thinking this is more of a sidegrade, considering the price of what I paid for my G1 Gaming GTX970 when it first came out vs. the price of the RX480... Php 21,000 vs 14,000 and now the 970 here sells like 8-10,000 pesos second hand...)
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
67 (0.12/day)
Likes
23
System Name Gaming PC / I7 XEON
Processor I7 4790K @stock / XEON W3680 @ stock
Motherboard Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII FORMULA / GIGABYTE X58 UD7
Cooling X61 Kraken / X61 Kraken
Memory 32gb Vengeance 2133 Mhz / 18gb Corsair XMS3 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward GLH 1080 / MSI Gaming X Radeon RX480 8 GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 500gb ,3 tb seagate, 2 samsung 1tb in raid 0 / Kingdian 240 gb, megaraid SAS 9341-8
Display(s) 2 SAMSUNG LCD 24" / Dell UP2716D LCD Monitor 27 "
Case Corsair Graphite Series 780T / Corsair Obsidian 750 D
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD / ON BOARD
Power Supply Sapphire Pure 950w / Corsair RMI 750w
Mouse Steelseries Sesnsei / Steelseries Sensei raw
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma / Cooler master trigger z
Software Windows 1064bit PRO / Windows 1064bit PRO
#4
vega and ryzen will do damn good cos of infinity fabric
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,698 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,928
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,010 (0.52/day)
Likes
279
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Upon reading some articles Ryzen plays well with some of those Samsung B-Dies and does ram manufacturers still print if they're single rank or dual rank rams on the packaging or stickers?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#7
Upon reading some articles Ryzen plays well with some of those Samsung B-Dies and does ram manufacturers still print if they're single rank or dual rank rams on the packaging or stickers?
Nope, which makes finding the right sticks a bit difficult. I can say, if you buy some G.SKill 3200 MHz C14 sticks, you should not have any problems. There are some kits ready for Ryzen from G.Skill already; at least, I have some they sent me, so I assume they will be in stores soon if not already.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,010 (0.52/day)
Likes
279
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Nope, which makes finding the right sticks a bit difficult. I can say, if you buy some G.SKill 3200 MHz C14 sticks, you should not have any problems. There are some kits ready for Ryzen from G.Skill already; at least, I have some they sent me, so I assume they will be in stores soon if not already.
I hope the one I bought works without issue or runs fine can't remember the product code will update once I get home. It's one of those Trident Z's non RGB in the silver black flavor.

I saw they release like FlareX or something like that with AMD compatibility.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#9
I have 3200 14-14-14-34 working perfectly; just enabled XMP and it works. I am using ASRock Taichi board.

I also have some 3600 MHz C16 sticks from G.SKill; the RGB ones; they work @ 3200 C16 by just enabling XMPas well; will try pushing higher, since the 3600 MHz divider offered in the BIOS I have now doesn't seem to work/isn't available.

I actually like Ryzen A LOT, issues at launch were minor for me.

And yes, the FlareX 3200 MHz C14 sticks are what I have, and they work great.
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,664 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,245
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#10
Trolls are welcome because frankly, I don't mind a fight.
Right, you asked for it! :p

But seriously, I wouldn't mind a 16 thread PC myself and if high framerates in gaming weren't so important to me, then the slight deficit there isn't so important really.

What really puts me off are those serious system bugs which I think are unacceptable for something that you're gonna dop over a grand on when you factor mobo and RAM in. @W1zzard's review summary pretty much echoes how I feel about the current state of the platform. I hope you manage to get a combination of hardware that minimizes these problems if you don't want to wait for the bugs to be ironed out first. :)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#11
Right, you asked for it! :p

But seriously, I wouldn't mind a 16 thread PC myself and if high framerates in gaming weren't so important to me, then the slight deficit there isn't so important really.

What really puts me off are those serious system bugs which I think are unacceptable for something that you're gonna dop over a grand on when you factor mobo and RAM in. @W1zzard's review summary pretty much echoes how I feel about the current state of the platform. I hope you manage to get a combination of hardware that minimizes these problems if you don't want to wait for the bugs to be ironed out first. :)
I think you need to place the blame for W1zzard's issues on his board, and not the CPU. ASRock Taichi worked perfectly from first boot, ZERO problems even before launch day, and it has only gotten better. So, Gigabyte's Ryzen BIOSes are poopy, not the system. :p Place the blame where it belongs, and that's firmly on Gigabyte. It doesn't help that AMD sent him crap ram, too.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,664 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,245
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#12
I think you need to place the blame for W1zzard's issues on his board, and not the CPU. ASRock Taichi worked perfectly from first boot, ZERO problems even before launch day, and it has only gotten better. So, Gigabyte's Ryzen BIOSes are poopy. :p
Oh yeah, it's the board all right rather than the CPU itself, but it's really up to AMD to ensure that all the vendor's products work properly at launch. This is something that W1z said so himself, so it's not just little old me thinking this.

Sounds like that trouble-free ASRock board could be one for 54th to get, maybe.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#13
but it's really up to AMD to ensure that all the vendor's products work properly at launch.
He only said that because AMD sent him the Gigabyte board. Yet clearly, AMD assumed that Gigabyte had their shit together, and was let down. Gigabyte isn't the only offender here either; ASRock just had their ducks all in a row for me, so my opinion is a bit different. Had I got the box from AMD like he did, I would have probably felt the same way, but since my experience was vastly different, my opinion about things differs as well. I was running 3200 MHz memory with ease, as mentioned above. W1zz should have had the same experience, and AMD should have taken the time to pre-test stuff before shipping to reviewers, and clearly did not, and that is on them for sure, but once you remove the AMD samples from the picture, and take, for example, my own launch-day fun, it is very easy to see who screwed things up here, and it wasn't but a single employee @ AMD (well, maybe two) who handed out those samples, and the board makers who had immature BIOSes, and then took time to provide updates (ASRock had updated BIOS well before launch day for me).

So, ASRock gave me CPU and board, and I chose my own memory from the sets I have on-hand, and I had no issues. ASRock did the right thing, and it seems they knew it. My review of this board will be done soon; I have taken great care in my testing and making sure I had other compatible hardware. AMD should have done the same, but did not, but we can only blame those that chose the parts for those boxes sent by AMD; not the entire company.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,010 (0.52/day)
Likes
279
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
I have 3200 14-14-14-34 working perfectly; just enabled XMP and it works. I am using ASRock Taichi board.

I also have some 3600 MHz C16 sticks from G.SKill; the RGB ones; they work @ 3200 C16 by just enabling XMPas well; will try pushing higher, since the 3600 MHz divider offered in the BIOS I have now doesn't seem to work/isn't available.

I actually like Ryzen A LOT, issues at launch were minor for me.

And yes, the FlareX 3200 MHz C14 sticks are what I have, and they work great.
Well hearing that gives me a bit of assurance hahaha.. Hopefully when I get everything together I can run them at their rated speeds and once I find it ok. Will try to OC to atleast boost speeds for all core 24/7 usage. But for now local post please don't fail me. I need that mounting kit ASAP :D
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,664 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,245
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#15
Cad, yeah I'll buy that explanation, especially as it doesn't let AMD wholesale off the hook. Looking forward to your review. :toast:

The other thing that foxes me is that SMT scheduler bug in W10, especially when it's not present in W7. How the hell did that manage to sneak in?! I mean, it's not like Microsoft only just saw Ryzen at the last minute and weren't able to fix it. Also, I'm surprised that there isn't a patch for it yet.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,650 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,900
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#16
I have 3200 14-14-14-34 working perfectly; just enabled XMP and it works.
Comforting to hear - I've bought the exact same (though due to stock in UK went for RGB option but they are F4-3200C14D-16TZ variants). Hopefully get them tomorrow and then I'll wait till I have a new gfx card too. I'll try the XMP option (if applicable on the crosshair, failing that I believe it has it's own preset).
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#17
The other thing that foxes me is that SMT scheduler bug in W10, especially when it's not present in W7. How the hell did that manage to sneak in?! I mean, it's not like Microsoft only just saw Ryzen at the last minute and weren't able to fix it. Also, I'm surprised that there isn't a patch for it yet.
W10 is a bit heavier load-wise than W7, so while it might be a bit weird, it makes perfect sense to me. While people may be overall happier with W10 since its launch, to me, there isn't much difference today than when W10 first came out, and people complained about the load W10 had vs W7 then, and now we see it here again? Perhaps Ryzen is just that little bit more sensitive to this workload because of its cache organization? You can look back and find many reports of W7 being faster than W10, and you'll find benchers choosing W7 instead of W10 for some things (if XP is not available)... ever since W10 came out.

I said before, some things just can't be fixed, and then later AMD agrees. Go figure. :p Intel Conspirators, UNITE!!! The SMT bug is real!!! :kookoo:
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,010 (0.52/day)
Likes
279
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#18
Hmmm I'm tempted by those shiny lights but I doubt this kit will work for my giga x370 k7.

I currently got
https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c14d-16gtzsk

I can still swap it to

G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB (8GBX2) DDR4 3000 F4-3000C16D-16GTZR

Hmmm they differ from mhz and timings
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.50/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#19
I love the title! Here's a like :)

And a question.. i plan on surprising my dad, build him a Ryzen rig for his birthday (he's a damn fanboy.. hardcore.. as i mentioned elsewhere, what with his age, it's either tragic or funny, you decide).
What i'm wondering is:

- If i plug an NVMe on a vertical PCIe x3.0 friendly mount, and then plug the mount into the mobo's PCIe 3.0 slot, will it run @ 3.0 x4?
Has anyone tried it?

(the GPU i will be slotting on the 2.0 x8, he doesn't play games ^^)
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.50/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#21
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
607 (0.40/day)
Likes
303
System Name Headshot
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8GHz 1.35V
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero ROG
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengence LPX DDR4 @ 2666 16-18-18-18-36
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix ROG RX 480 8GB OC
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Seagate 1TBx2 (Home/Data), 2TB Seagate (Games)
Display(s) 2x LG IPS235
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Stack (Schiit Audio Modi 2 DAC + Magni 3 AMP)
Power Supply eVGA Supernova 1000 G2
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Solus - Budgie 64bit (No Windows)
#22
I think you need to place the blame for W1zzard's issues on his board, and not the CPU. ASRock Taichi worked perfectly from first boot, ZERO problems even before launch day, and it has only gotten better. So, Gigabyte's Ryzen BIOSes are poopy, not the system. :p Place the blame where it belongs, and that's firmly on Gigabyte. It doesn't help that AMD sent him crap ram, too.
Did W1zzard have the Corsair Vengence LPX 3200 or 3000? I just ordered some Vengence LPX 3200 as it was listed on a press release from AMD and on the QVL list from ASUS *Crosshair VI Hero). I bought some G.Skill Ripjaws 5 Hynix 2800 on sale single rank and it wont do anything over 2133. Very rarely it will post at 2400 once it posted at 2666 but usually on reboot i get error 55 on the diagnostic LED or it will just power itself on and off again, even at 2133 on rare occassion. Hoping the new RAM resolves some issue. Also been getting some random hard locks.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,725 (6.36/day)
Likes
7,635
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#23
The asrock board is far from perfect I saw just as many annoyances with it as I have with the Asus board, minus the bricking issue with Asus right now.

Does the Asrock allow 3600mhz ram in your testing? I haven't gotten of 3200 stable when I tested
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,164 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,653
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#24
the tridentz 3200 mhz are the bomb... they are posting on the x370 prime at 3200 cl

unfortunately the board tops out at 3200... so meh.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#25
The asrock board is far from perfect I saw just as many annoyances with it as I have with the Asus board, minus the bricking issue with Asus right now.

Does the Asrock allow 3600mhz ram in your testing? I haven't gotten of 3200 stable when I tested
What issues? Maybe I can try to replicate, and of course, I can get in touch with ASRock and maybe get 'em fixed. 3200 is rock stable, 3600 only with bus OC right now. Just about to flash BIOS though, see if that gives me more mem multis. I got sticks rated all the way up to 3866 MHz to try.

Haven't got ASUS AMD boards yet, but that's because I have huge backlog of Z270 reviews; they sent me 5 boards all at once (3 ROG, 2 STRIX, never mind boards from ASRock, MSI and Biostar). :p

Did W1zzard have the Corsair Vengence LPX 3200 or 3000? I just ordered some Vengence LPX 3200 as it was listed on a press release from AMD and on the QVL list from ASUS *Crosshair VI Hero). I bought some G.Skill Ripjaws 5 Hynix 2800 on sale single rank and it wont do anything over 2133. Very rarely it will post at 2400 once it posted at 2666 but usually on reboot i get error 55 on the diagnostic LED or it will just power itself on and off again, even at 2133 on rare occassion. Hoping the new RAM resolves some issue. Also been getting some random hard locks.
Yeah, you'll have to refer to QVL lists for now to be safe, and without the same board to test, I cannot confirm nor deny anything as stable. :p Not sure what sticks he had exactly, although it should be listed in the review you would think...

The mobo's 'native' slot is @2.0 x4, hence my asking.
Ah. I'll have to pull out my adapter and try that, but you'd think it'd work fine. On the ASRock Taichi, SM961 is as fast as it is on Intel, and faster than some of those Intel boards too.